What is your research on?, What is your PhD in and what's it about?

Critical_Fallacy
post Mar 19 2013, 12:15 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 18 2013, 08:30 PM)
Still, my phD field involves Seaweed Biotechnology
And I work on the taxonomy and phylogenetics of commercially important seaweeds (Kappaphycus and Eucheuma Sea Bird's Nests), and also on ways to increase overall production yields, whether directly or indirectly tongue.gif
Hello Tanji, laugh.gif

Can I buy Eucheuma Cottonii Sea Bird's Nests at Carrefour, JUSCO, & TESCO? unsure.gif

I want to make soup in a slow cooker for my loved ones. wub.gif

By the way, do you have Soup Recipes? sweat.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Mar 20 2013, 01:51 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 20 2013, 12:41 PM)
The seaweeds are only added as extras in soups/drinks because of the good texture for "chewing"; and the main trick is to not cook them until they dissolve and become gel (much like Cincao)  tongue.gif
Thanks for the tips and recipes! I used to cook Shark’s Fin Melon Soup 鱼翅瓜汤.

Critical_Fallacy
post Mar 20 2013, 03:54 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ Mar 20 2013, 03:35 PM)
This reminds me of pain research where researchers inject carrageenan into the paws of mice to induce inflammation and swellingsweat.gif
Gosh! shocking.gif What can you tell me about food-grade carrageenan? Is Carrageenan SAFE? Can you recommend Anti-Inflammatory Diet source?

According to the reports below, scientists have raised serious concerns about the safety of carrageenan in food, based on laboratory animal studies showing gastrointestinal inflammation, ulcerations and colitis-like disease in animals given food-grade carrageenan in their drinking water or diet.[1] [2] [3]

[1] Tobacman JK (2001) Review of Harmful Gastrointestinal Effects of Carrageenan in Animal Experiments. Environmental Health Perspectives 109(10): 983-994

[2] Watt J and Marcus R (1981) Danger of carrageenan in foods and slimming recipes. The Lancet 317(8215): 338

[3] Watt J and Marcus R (1981) Harmful effects of carrageenan fed to animals. Cancer Detection and Prevention 4(1-4): 129-34
Critical_Fallacy
post Mar 21 2013, 01:47 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ Mar 20 2013, 04:02 PM)
There seems to be conflicting evidence in the net. Maybe [PF] T.J. can help answer?
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 20 2013, 04:03 PM)
The causative compound is actually poligeenan, a breakdown product of carrageenan  nod.gif
Thanks for clearing that up for me! And the success of medical advances depends on the frontiers of Farmer's research in the activation of adenosine receptors. smile.gif

By the way, have you ever heard of Exon Skipping? It is a method being heavily researched for the treatment of Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD). Recently, Lowyat Kopitiam got 1 user passed away because of DMD. sad.gif

Critical_Fallacy
post Jul 18 2013, 04:22 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ Mar 21 2013, 01:25 PM)
Congrats. So what was your research about?
Could you tell me, what are the similarities between Medical Biochemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences? icon_question.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Jul 19 2013, 02:46 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ Jul 18 2013, 07:15 PM)
Your deep explanation is satisfying and opens up my eyes to lots of potentials in this field. notworthy.gif
Critical_Fallacy
post Feb 19 2014, 09:56 AM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(WK123 @ Feb 18 2014, 09:20 PM)
I'm working on tsunami. Is there anyone in the similar field?
Interesting! Can you post a picture of your Synthetic Tsunami? sweat.gif

0.0183sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:30 AM