Simulation SimCity v2, Goodbye Mr. Riccitiello

RAMChYLD
post Mar 16 2013, 08:04 PM

1,715 posts

Cloud-based saves and easy access from any computer are another advantage of our connected features.  You can pop from work to home, play the game and have your cities available to you anywhere.

I admit that the above is the only advantage of cloud-based gaming for me. Since in the daytime I only have my laptop and Yes dongle, but at night I have my gaming rig to play on over UniFi, never play collab before because I'm afraid I do something wrong and effect everyone else.

Btw, anyone know how I can increase the limit of resources I'm buying? Right now DavidReka v10 I have one city specializing in water production (Ageia) which is producing 109k water, but will only sell 24.1k to Daveburg. I want to increase the limit to at least 60k. How do I do it?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 16 2013, 08:06 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 16 2013, 08:14 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dOtcOm @ Mar 16 2013, 08:12 PM)
not sure but isn't it based on our excess supply? if you want to supply more you have to produce more i think
That's the problem. The city is producing four times as much as what I'm importing. The game did pop up a window telling me to tell the other player (which is also myself- private region) that I can offer more. But it didn't tell me how to make the offer. Nor can I find an option to increase the export, or make an offer to increase the import from the other city.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 16 2013, 08:14 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 17 2013, 11:59 AM

1,715 posts

So I dumped DavidReka v10 and started DavidReka v11 already. V10 went down the craphole quite quick after the sewage got out of control.
RAMChYLD
post Mar 18 2013, 02:34 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Mar 18 2013, 02:20 PM)
Normally minus 12 hours our time. Of course la past 12 am and you think they will work at 12 am? Be logical.  nod.gif
You will probably know what games you will get tonight around midnight.
Unfortunately I'm afraid that they're running PST, minus 16 hours. I stayed up for the SimCity 4 10th Anniversary event and it only started at 2AM. Show is supposed to be 10AM previous day their time.

That means that the e-mail will most likely come at 4-5PM.
RAMChYLD
post Mar 18 2013, 02:43 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Mar 18 2013, 02:38 PM)
Ermm now that you have mentioned it, I think it's on PST as well. Those are the standard timezone for them I guess.
Not getting excited about the free games, might end up with a stupid game that i'll never play. So many backlogs already, don't really mind unless it's a new game, which most likely won't happen.
Well, I hope they let people choose which game they want. I don't mind downloading SimCity Societies just to see how bad it is on my own.
RAMChYLD
post Mar 18 2013, 06:19 PM

1,715 posts

Hmmm, 6 PM already and no e-mail. Nothing in my spam mailbox. hmm.gif
RAMChYLD
post Mar 19 2013, 03:33 AM

1,715 posts

I suppose I can buy SimCity 4 again. I already have the box version of both the main game and Rush Hour from 10 years ago (first ori games I've ever bought!) and I cannot use the key to claim digital version from Origin because apparently only The RM200 Deluxe version can be used to do that. Way to go for punishing me for buying original, EA!

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 19 2013, 03:34 AM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 19 2013, 07:23 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Mar 19 2013, 05:58 AM)
I'm wondering why you would want to register SC4 into Origin...  hmm.gif
Pop the CD into dc drive & play, no string attached.

Just make sure to patch up the old game if intend to use some custom mods: http://community.simtropolis.com/topic/514...on-116380-help/
Because I don't want to take the CD to work with me? With Origin it authenticate over internet. Dun need CD.

Really pamper the CD, scared scratch. If scratch then what? Cannot play anymore, no more selling, what to do? Right now I'm using a NoCD crack with it even though I did pay up for the ori game just to avoid using the CDs and scratching it. I'm now wondering if the game randomly quitting and dropping me to desktop is anti-crack kicking in.

I still remember the hardship of getting the RM120 for the game. It was from my 2003 Chinese New Year ang pau money sad.gif The Rush Hour expansion pack was the same thing- bought it the next year with ang pau money also sad.gif Cannot forget how painful it was to part with all my ang pau $$$ sad.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 19 2013, 07:25 AM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 19 2013, 02:15 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Mar 19 2013, 09:27 AM)
(except DRM loaded cd/dvd that won't work with ISO method somehow...)
Ehhh, SC4 discs has SecuROM DRM lah.

In any case tho, I'll see what game worth buying before I buy. Bejeweled 3 also got already, PvZ also got already. I don't really like FPS much. Will need to think carefully.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 19 2013, 02:18 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 20 2013, 01:50 PM

1,715 posts

End up getting SimCity 4 Deluxe as planned anyway. The other titles not interesting to me >.<

I'd have gotten SimCity Societies if it was on the list tho, just to see how bad it is for myself.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 20 2013, 01:51 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 21 2013, 12:16 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(anip94 @ Mar 20 2013, 11:14 PM)
lol is there anyone pick plant vs zombie and bejewed against the likes of Battefield and mass effect
Idk why anyone would do so. IMO Bejeweled and PvZ imo is unplayable without touch screen. Once you use touchscreen, you won't go back.

Heck, I was angry that the trial of Bejeweled I got for PC cannot support my Acer touchscreen properly vmad.gif
RAMChYLD
post Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(bendotchen @ Mar 21 2013, 10:05 PM)
can i know how to earn money in gambling? am losing money. already built ferry, train station and bus terminal
Balance out by zoning more housing and commercial. You may also need to demolish utility like sewage, water and electricity and buy from neighbour instead (which is usually cheaper).

And I agree on building parks as well, although that isn't very practical since it only attracts higher wealth residents. Also, upgrade roads around residential area to increase density.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Mar 21 2013, 10:36 PM
RAMChYLD
post Mar 23 2013, 11:40 AM

1,715 posts

Just played some SimCity4. Went into my old town, and noticed that the fire engine are indeed more sane and stops at the opposite side of the road when fighting fire. Not like this new version where they all try to U-turn to right in front of the building first.
RAMChYLD
post Mar 31 2013, 07:14 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(totorohui10 @ Mar 30 2013, 11:29 PM)
I got a problem here. When I tried to play on another computer, thinking the game was cloud saved, I should be able to continue my game, but I cannot. Anyone know how to resume my previous game?
Check your server. The game does save the games to the cloud, but not the last played server. You have to manually make sure both computers are using the same server.
RAMChYLD
post Apr 1 2013, 10:26 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Apr 1 2013, 04:31 PM)
planning to buy the game but saw lot of bugs...guess its not the time yet? suggestion? thanks!
Confirm not time yet. Wait for version 3.0 ish. The path finding bugs are extremely annoying >.< It even renders the fireworks fun quest unsolvable since your fire trucks will be too busy following each other instead of scattering through the city to put out all the fires.
RAMChYLD
post Apr 3 2013, 10:05 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Apr 3 2013, 09:48 PM)
Yup, stable. But game still ridden with loads of bugs.
Agreed. Game doesn't seem to have server disco problem now, but the bugs... mad.gif vmad.gif

Bug ranges from stupid pathfinding AI i.e. fire trucks and school buses following each other or going in circles, sims not finding shopping and/or jobs on one end of the map while shopping area on the other side complain no worker and/or shopper, sims not finding a park and/or school even though one is right in front of their house; to incredibly inaccurate statistics i.e. the game says that my city has 2000 garbage cans and only 600 was cleared by trucks. Yet I followed the garbage truck view for the whole day and I see that everything has been cleaned off, school claims that only half of the students attended classes even though if I follow the school bus map I see that only 1-2 kids are missed out, more than often no kids left out, power/water/sewage in region is grossly inaccurate; to serious game breakers i.e. maps can take forever to load, game suddenly claim that processing fail and ask you to roll back, etc.

And then of course there's the problem that it's horribly unbalanced- the prices of utility buildings and roads are very steep, and you have very little room for mistakes at the start of the game. More than often you will end up taking out bonds to build the necessary utilities >.<

Don't get me started about the missing flyovers, subways, etc.

Seriously, this game is a horribly rushed beta >.<

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 3 2013, 10:08 PM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 4 2013, 10:00 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(carbonytte @ Apr 4 2013, 12:09 AM)
actually you're wrong on that sentence. I found out that I was always too greedy in plopping stuffs during my first few days. So I kept on loaning from the bank. And then I realize that I can actually start slow, plopping only when it is really needed.
Well, sometimes I feel like it's forcing me. I haven't have enough money to build a clinic and the game starts throwing death counts at me. then, before I can even save up enough for fire station the game starts setting my town on fire. And then before I can save up for police station, the game starts letting criminals into my town. It's very frustrating- the game appears to be programmed internally to introduce the elements by amount of days elapsed instead of city population, meaning if you start a small city without all the necessary utilities and then go watch a movie, chances are the city will be in deep s**t by the time you come back.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 4 2013, 11:21 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 4 2013, 11:23 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Apr 4 2013, 10:17 AM)
thanks for the info man, although i still holding on my money, but I really eager to play this game...
Well, don't let my judgement of the game stop you. If you want, you can always buy the regular version first (which should be cheap enough that you won't feel so much pain when the bugs start biting) and then upgrade to deluxe pack once you feel that you know how to work around the bugs or the bugs have been fixed.

I forgot to mention this in my previous post: I do outsource utilities to several cities (for example, I have two cities working on power, two cities doing water and two cities handling sewage, and I make them exchange duties as well as sell utilities to "work" cities. This exposes one more bug in the game related to the one where simoleon sent from one city sometimes doesn't reach the other city: When my power load at max capacity already, I go back into the power providing cities to upgrade the plant. The upgrade will not be reflected when I go back into the work city- it will still stick at the old production rate. Maybe I have to wait a few days, but then I cannot wait a few days to find out!

---

As for now, I am abandoning my region to start DavidReka version 15 or so already. Stupid Godzilla, go attack my nuclear plant and cause radiation in my work city! (And the reason there's a nuclear plant in the work city? The abovementioned bug where the stupid game is not updating my power production city!)

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 4 2013, 11:28 AM
RAMChYLD
post Apr 5 2013, 04:47 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Apr 4 2013, 02:43 PM)
I fix this by building elementary school 1st.... higher education = lower crime, deaths, fire....
Just tried out that tactic. Apparently, you're lucky, it doesn't work for me. The Health tab went red on my prediction as before.

Abandoned region and rebuild three times again just to get things back up. Each time I do I refine my play method based on past experiences.

I wish EA will give us a way to backup regions tho sad.gif This is very tiresome- just because of one city, entire region have to abandon...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 5 2013, 04:49 PM

0.0360sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:23 AM