132 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread V2, Calling all owner and future one...

nacier5
post Jun 17 2013, 12:19 PM

greetings all EB owners,

am experiencing these "seeeeeeeeeeesssss" sound when applying brakes for some time now..am not sure if the brake pads has dirt or sand trapped..yesterday, back home after an hour half drive i had burning smell and it smells like metals being heated up..what smell would this be?? will these of a reason having the wobble discs plate ?

has anyone experience these issue, appreciate to share

This post has been edited by nacier5: Jun 17 2013, 12:20 PM
zakinawi
post Jun 17 2013, 02:13 PM

82 posts

brake pad worn out? how long u use your eb? mine brakes for my eb only last for 1 year..
zakinawi
post Jun 17 2013, 02:16 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(mat_tepets @ Jun 17 2013, 11:27 AM)
apa lagi racechip la bro  biggrin.gif
rase chip.. install on eb, naik 5 hp.. i install open pod naik 5.4hp and 10% torque.. save fuel by 1 ltr/100km.. more pickup.. so.. y must i install racechip where the output is almost the same.. rm 600 over 1800.. hehe.. brows.gif brows.gif
nacier5
post Jun 17 2013, 02:57 PM

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 17 2013, 02:13 PM)
brake pad worn out? how long u use your eb? mine brakes for my eb only last for 1 year..
mine is 15 month old..the sound that been generating is getting louder now..maybe a service will do ?? or i guess the best thing to do is get them replaced huhhh..
2die4
post Jun 17 2013, 04:14 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 17 2013, 02:16 PM)
rase chip.. install on eb, naik 5 hp.. i install open pod naik 5.4hp and 10% torque.. save fuel by 1 ltr/100km.. more pickup.. so.. y must i install racechip where the output is almost the same.. rm 600 over 1800.. hehe..  brows.gif  brows.gif
bro... share laa picture engine bay..
dreamKrusher
post Jun 18 2013, 02:56 AM

217 posts

i wrote this review, solely on my own perception.
link: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2556542&hl=

Hi guys & gurus,
I seriously in need of advice before purchasing a new vehicle.
My monthly budget is about RM1.2k installment.

I need a car in carrying plenty heavy stuffs in boxes.
So I need a spacious car.
Maybe 2-4 mths once, I'll use the car on a long trip back kampung with 4 adults and 3 children.

After looking at the showroom, I'm more inclined to innova with full spec.
But the sales person told me that innova is under-powered compared to avanza (example, going up Genting with 6 adults).

I cant afford RM150k car (mostly at RM100k with current financial ability).

My primary concerns will be:
1st, Space for carrying stocks.
2nd, Fuel Consumption.
3rd, Engine Power (I can accept lack sudden pick-up, but not on declined acceleration with heavy load)
4th, Comfort on going holiday or long trip with family.
5th, Part availability and maintenance cost.

I am worry if innova is really high on FC and terrible speed when carrying heavy stuffs.
It looks spacious to me compared to avanza, exora, alza, grand livina etc.
But if innova doesnt live up to my expectation, I could save up that 40k and get a lesser-space-cheaper more value for money car (like exora bold CFE or Avanza)

I dont know how to check the condition of 2nd hand car, so buying a 2nd hand car like estima could spell trouble for me.

Should I stick to innova, or is there other spacious car out there with 100k budget?
That can fit my needs.

HERE IS MY DECISION : dated 18 Nov 2012.
waiting for 2013 model

as compared to my previous rating on avanza 1.5G rm75k vs innova 1.5G rm110k.

total weight = car + 4 adults + 2 children + 1 SA

moving from standstill on normal level road,
exora > avanza > innova
*suprisingly, avanza has better pickup power than innova. it vroomed directly with power than the turtle innova.
*exora dashed out if u press the pedal, and i havent pressed it all. exora definitely more powerful than avanza here.

moving uphill,
exora > avanza > innova
*avanza gets better and better on uphill climb with D, while innova struggling to get pickup in D, but maintaining a steady uphill speed too. avanza is faster
*excellent pickup on exora. bravo on proton.

onto bump,
innova > exora > avanza
*innova felt more gentle while avanza, it's an ouch for 3rd row adults.
*exora still fell bumping, but not so rough, acceptable la.

going into rough road with minor pot holes (repaired),
innova > exora > avanza
*innova is more comfortable, and you and passengers will feel only slight uneasiness moving on the rough road. avanza is hard and bumpy.
*exora, still bumpy but better than avanza. innova is the best.
as corrected by Optiplex330, exora bumpiness may arise from overinflated tyre. if remember correctly, yes the tyre does feel tougher on road = over pumped.

on straight road,
exora > innova & avanza
*while innova is slow at first, but gradually when it collects the momentum it will accelerate faster and has better potential pickup than avanza when moving.
*exora should change its name from Bold to BOLT. the acceleration, or even the drive was a speedy powerful one.

braking after reaching 70km/h,
no test on exora. skip. innova > avanza
*innova is more better in gripping the road and brake, while avanza u will feel as it will lose control.
*raining day, dont dare to drive so fast and brake immediately. but, when driving accidentally toward bump, with almost immediate brake, it has good grip. can feel four wheels good grip even with medium braking. raining day some more.

stop at hill, reverse uphill,
exora > innova = avanza
*both innova & avanza has no problem reversing from standstill toward uphill.
*exora more power.

stop at hill, move forward uphill,
exora > innova > avanza
*innova will move slowly, and very slowly...collecting speed uphill.
avanza will vroom for 1s, not moving for that 1s, then slowly move uphill. but in term of power and pickup, avanza is faster in collecting speed, while innova, the same lame machine..
*in D mode, exora doesnt move an inch (without applying brake / handbrake). press pedal, vroom up. it didnt move backward like what other car owner felt, it stays at same spot and shoot up << should be exceeding 2k rpm for its turbo to work. if below that rpm, it just...stay stagnant & move slowly.

sterling control,
innova > exora > avanza
*somehow today i felt avanza isnt obedient. it has a slight feel of locking the sterling, thus giving me some "rough time" estimating the turning.
*i didnt like the feel of exora sterling wheel, and it requires a bit of more energy to turn it (keras). but the handling is good. even on rain.

air cond,
exora = innova > avanza
*3 rows of air cond in innova beats avanza flatly, even avanza has the blower in mid row to push the cold air to the back.
innova cools faster.
*every rows have its own air cond, no one complaining. so it's good.

space,
innova > exora or avanza
*you know...innova win.
*exora a bit cramp on 3rd row for adults (for children only). avanza is bigger in space on 3rd row.

comfort of passengers,
innova > exora > avanza
*spacious, not bumpy, two adults at 3rd row even claim can sleep on long journey home in innova. avanza, well short distance can, long distance torture.
*exora in mid rating, leather seat isnt our type i guess, it's hard. and i can feel long term uncomfortable sitting it. would consider trading it away for a more comfy fabric.

warranty,
cant remember
*2yrs vs 3 yrs, forgot which car but applied only to engine and gearbox. other small "stuffs" all 1yr warranty..
*3 years on exora bold

maintenance 0-100km,
dont know coz SA doesnt know on innova & avanza.
*1st five time service free. what free dont know. didnt ask too detail today.

noise from engine,
innova > exora > avanza
*avanza is cranking like mad when u step full pedal, while the sound from innova is...well as usual, gentle...because no matter how hard u step the pedal, it will just take it leisure time to accelerate.
*exora is loud. but not as loud as avanza when on speed. best is innova.

height,
innova > avanza > exora
*innova is higher thus good for going thru low flood area. but bad for elder to climb up car.
*i doubt exora and avanza can go through flood steadily like innova.

internal design,
innova > avanza
*avanza felt more like cheap plastic. but hey, that a 35k difference, so unfair to compare.
*exora, cheap plastic.

conclusion:
avanza
more those fast power driven person, and if you dont intend to carry passengers most time. because the comfort isnt there for them.
it accelerates without problem.

innova
for family guy that drive slow and steady (safe). this sure will be fuel drinker if u frequent to traffic jam area due to its heavy body and initial energy required to be spent to push it, but once moving it will accelerate with power. you just need to be extra careful when moving out from standstill, like in a junction.

exora
power & speed demon. a lot of gadgets like dvd player, GPS, rear sight on the rear mirror bla bla bla.
so all these add-ons cost money. and it's free. it's a good to go car with family. dont expect a very comfortable ride like innova, but definitely a better one than avanza. now there one thing that bother me is...the seats....

whoever owns this exora that i drove today, surely is a blessed one (dont ask me to check oil leaking, coz it's raining cat n dog!).
it doesnt have the idling and die off engine. i did it by stopping it, neutral, or brake with D. engine no die.
i did it with reverse, forward, reverse, forward, fast, engine no die.

fuel consumption no idea yet on this car, 1.6cc behaving with the power of 2.0cc, shouldnt be too much a menace.
and the power is awesome, with cash 80k. coupled with the cvt gearbox, no more hold, surge forward, feeling again. it's a smooth comfortable ride.

this model i driving is nov 2012. which batch no idea.
but well, if no competitor comes out at that price range 80k, with such spec and driving experience, i'd go for exora bold next year.
holding my urge and waiting for 2013 model out in Feb-March.

car model confirmed - Proton Exora Bold Premium.

Conclusion: i bought Exora CFE Standard, and saved that 11k for something else.

zakinawi
post Jun 18 2013, 06:38 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(2die4 @ Jun 17 2013, 04:14 PM)
bro... share laa picture engine bay..
before is like this,

- a bit noisy
- sound like vacuum cleaner sucking air
- loud sound Kepish kepisH!!
- filter become hot due to no heatshield..car become less pickup with the heat..

after that, become like this.. the best setup..(plug n play without any drilling)

- low noise ( nice to hear )
- no more vacuum cleaner sound
- kepiSh kepisH is still there (yay!) and sharper..consider to change aftermarket BOV
- filter is supprisingly cold.. i mean it.. its COLD,
even after hard drive 180 all the way from senawang to shah alam..
-pickup? sure got higher.. now can go uphill more faster..
- direct cold air from the front
- make sure u leave the existing air scoop for better air intake..

thanx speedwork.. kah kah kah kah.. worth my 600..duno if still got promo at speedworks.. if dunt have, maybe u guys can Diy the heatshield.. im planning to add insuflex later on.. for better heat insulation.. o yeahHH... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zakinawi: Jun 18 2013, 06:51 AM
zakinawi
post Jun 18 2013, 07:04 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(nacier5 @ Jun 17 2013, 02:57 PM)
mine is 15 month old..the sound that been generating is getting louder now..maybe a service will do ?? or i guess the best thing to do is get them replaced huhhh..
get them checked 1st.. i think the brake pads are worn out.. if change original proton , it will cost you around 300.. try consider other brand.. i think Nbk already have for exora cfe.. exora cps n exora cfe brake is different.. even the disc size is different.. but i dunno if the caliper size is the same.. should be different also..
mat_tepets
post Jun 18 2013, 11:44 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 18 2013, 06:38 AM)
before is like this,

- a bit noisy
- sound like vacuum cleaner sucking air
- loud sound Kepish kepisH!!
- filter become hot due to no heatshield..car become less pickup with the heat..

after that, become like this.. the best setup..(plug n play without any drilling)

- low noise ( nice to hear )
- no more vacuum cleaner sound
- kepiSh kepisH is still there (yay!) and sharper..consider to change aftermarket BOV
- filter is supprisingly cold.. i mean it.. its COLD,
  even after hard drive 180 all the way from senawang to shah alam..
-pickup? sure got higher.. now can go uphill more faster..
- direct cold air from the front
- make sure u leave the existing air scoop for better air intake..

thanx speedwork.. kah kah kah kah.. worth my 600..duno if still got promo at speedworks.. if dunt have, maybe u guys can Diy the heatshield.. im planning to add insuflex later on.. for better heat insulation.. o yeahHH... icon_rolleyes.gif
woww thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

custom heatshield ke tu bro. nampak macam air scoop tu kena potong. aku nak buat jugak tapi tunggu habis warranty la dulu biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
zakinawi
post Jun 18 2013, 11:57 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(mat_tepets @ Jun 18 2013, 11:44 AM)
woww  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

custom heatshield ke tu bro. nampak macam air scoop tu kena potong. aku nak buat jugak tapi tunggu habis warranty la dulu  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
mana da potong.. boleh cabot lah.. benda ni plug n play je.. heatshield je kene custom.. kalau boring boleh pasang semula OEM air filter.. but for now, i think will never go back to OEM.. kah kah kah.. brows.gif brows.gif
mat_tepets
post Jun 18 2013, 12:13 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 18 2013, 11:57 AM)
mana da potong.. boleh cabot lah.. benda ni plug n play je.. heatshield je kene custom.. kalau boring boleh pasang semula OEM air filter.. but for now, i think will never go back to OEM.. kah kah kah.. brows.gif  brows.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif inagtakan kene potong. apa material heatshield tu bro. allumunium??
zakinawi
post Jun 18 2013, 01:24 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(mat_tepets @ Jun 18 2013, 12:13 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  inagtakan kene potong. apa material heatshield tu bro. allumunium??
stainless steel sheet.. quite thick o.. tak boleh bengkok pakai tangan.. blink.gif
jemmi
post Jun 18 2013, 01:39 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 18 2013, 11:57 AM)
mana da potong.. boleh cabot lah.. benda ni plug n play je.. heatshield je kene custom.. kalau boring boleh pasang semula OEM air filter.. but for now, i think will never go back to OEM.. kah kah kah.. brows.gif  brows.gif
Wow plug & play, we could removed it before go to SC. Fix it back after that, warranty still on.
zakinawi
post Jun 18 2013, 02:14 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(jemmi @ Jun 18 2013, 01:39 PM)
Wow plug & play, we could removed it before go to SC. Fix it back after that, warranty still on.
if dont want to change open pod, try change the drop in type.. already got for exora cfe.. can still feel the difference.. brand works/simota.. K&n not yet produce drop in type for cfe..

so far, so good.. no problem at all.. been using open pod since january.. hehe..sc people also surprised i have change to open pod with heat shield.. if can find other shop than speedworks, can custom the heatshield..

heat shield need to custom, around 1-2 days.. so i use the open pod without filter, still the filter can get cold air..
YouDontKnowMyName
post Jun 18 2013, 03:43 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(dreamKrusher @ Jun 18 2013, 02:56 AM)

i wrote this review, solely on my own perception.
link: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2556542&hl=

Hi guys & gurus,
I seriously in need of advice before purchasing a new vehicle.
My monthly budget is about RM1.2k installment.

I've read your thread before awhile back i believe. thanks for your reply! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by YouDontKnowMyName: Jun 18 2013, 03:44 PM
vinnlim
post Jun 18 2013, 10:31 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 18 2013, 02:14 PM)
if dont want to change open pod, try change the drop in type.. already got for exora cfe.. can still feel the difference.. brand works/simota.. K&n not yet produce drop in type for cfe..

so far, so good.. no problem at all.. been using open pod since january.. hehe..sc people also surprised i have change to open pod with heat shield.. if can find other shop than speedworks, can custom the heatshield..

heat shield need to custom, around 1-2 days.. so i use the open pod without filter, still the filter can get cold air..
try see this page
http://www.mudah.my/Works+engineering+high...RA-21513233.htm

hear not bad
akchang
post Jun 19 2013, 06:37 AM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 17 2013, 02:16 PM)
rase chip.. install on eb, naik 5 hp.. i install open pod naik 5.4hp and 10% torque.. save fuel by 1 ltr/100km.. more pickup.. so.. y must i install racechip where the output is almost the same.. rm 600 over 1800.. hehe..  brows.gif  brows.gif
Bro,
With racechip it is more la ->http://www.racechip.com.my/product/details.aspx?id=168
zakinawi
post Jun 19 2013, 07:23 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(vinnlim @ Jun 18 2013, 10:31 PM)
u notice how long the pipe is? longer pipe, not good.. wink.gif
even its an open pod, its so small.. 2 inch type..
if u go for looks, can go for it..
my fren already bought this, the feedback was not good, then changed like mine..
direct intake to the turbo turbine..
the shortest distance.. hehe
jemmi
post Jun 19 2013, 08:51 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(zakinawi @ Jun 18 2013, 02:14 PM)

I already put Redline drop-in can feel little bit extra pick-up but feel FC increase too.

may be you could recommend the place to order custom heat shield. Or may be we can order thru you. brows.gif
zakinawi
post Jun 19 2013, 11:45 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(jemmi @ Jun 19 2013, 08:51 AM)
I already put Redline drop-in can feel little bit extra pick-up but feel FC increase too.

may be you could recommend the place to order custom heat shield. Or may be we can order thru you.  brows.gif
before this is use works/simota drop in filter..

after change to openpod, my FC is now 11.5l.. coz always drive fast fast fast.. but when i reset it, drive normaly around 80-100..the fc become 10.3l..it always change.. depends on how we drive..

the heatshield, can go direct to speedworks, PJ.. they can custom it.. around 300..got another place at sungai buloh, GME racing, but super duper expensive.. a custom heatshield using thick aluminium around 700-800..huUhUuuu..

This post has been edited by zakinawi: Jun 19 2013, 11:46 AM

132 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:48 AM