Start your engines....
V10 - Property Prices (Up, Down or .....), and the debate goes on and on and on ...
Mar 15 2013, 04:18 PM, updated 13y ago
10,314 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
Ladies & Gentlemen,
Start your engines.... |
Mar 15 2013, 04:33 PM
peri kor, i am going to raub this weekend. dropping by bentong to eat some kaw poh ice kacang. where's the site?
kekeke. |
Mar 15 2013, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(peri peri @ Mar 15 2013, 04:42 PM) we dropped the deal for JV, too far too big. don't go so far lah.We are now like dengkil, banting, salak tinggi, semenyih and rawang these few spots which having new link of highways connected. D/S price starting rm300k but modern facade. shah alam still si beh lotsa land. punt some near elmina lah. or better yet, accumulate in selayang, templer or gombak area lah. am sure it would be faster moving and about the same cost. |
Mar 18 2013, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 18 2013, 05:03 PM) Why not wait till downturn and save that even 30-40%? boss, your calculation is true IF there's a downturn.30% of 300K = 90K. You've just saved yourself RM90k, adding in interest savings and everything it could be as much as RM150k over the course of 20-30 years. That 150K you can use to treat yourself to a brand new nice Toyota Camry. So, why not wait? alternatively, let's assume there's a 5% net yield out there. if the guy bought it immediately before the downturn, do not forget to factor in the yield he would be getting from now till the downturn. please also do not forget the potential cap app before the downturn. if it's for own stay, please do not forget the $$$ he would have saved from paying rental to their present landlord. guess the debate is still on when the downturn would strike and how severe. |
Mar 20 2013, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 20 2013, 11:20 AM) This is an interesting but quite unlikely scenario. You will very rarely find rental rates in a certain development diverging by as much as that. Comparing RM3.6K vs RM2.8K that is divergence of almost 30%, assuming all are similar type units (intermediate vs inter or corner vs corner). Even on location wise for commercial, unless the popularity is extremely uneven (ie shops facing main road all busy but shops behind extremely quiet). truly you have not surveyed in detail.But to your question: a) Market has not dropped but you are paying over the odds of market price - ie bigger risk. If rents fall to the level of Lot C gradually, you lose yield (ROI). If you need to dispose of your property urgently (short sale), the odds of you finding a buyer are lower, as buyer would need to top up RM80K on top of 15% downpayment. b) Same as A except even worse - in case of sale buyer would need to top up RM210K extra on top of 15% just for you to breakeven. c) I would buy C (unless some external subjective factors like condition sucks or location really bad) - as the risk is all covered. You match the banks valuation. If rents drop to match the lower level, you are still unaffected, and if rents increase to match the level of Lots A or B you profit. me myself am charging my tenants 40% below the market rates. any typical development would have a range of asking rental rates and selling prices. not uncommon to see an absolute 40% gap from lowest to highest. could be even more. |
Mar 20 2013, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(AMINT @ Mar 20 2013, 01:06 AM) Like this is not fair bro. one owner may sell higher or lower than another. so how do you categorize this? I give u one example. I have been looking for a shoplot in one area (not in KV) i'll choose the one with the most likelihood of staying on and with good and profitable business.Lot A: asking price RM680K, Rental RM3300/monthly Lot B (next to A only): asking price RM810K, Rental RM3600/monthly Lot C (in another row but not so far from Lot A and B): asking price: RM600K, Rental RM2800/month Bank valuation for all stucked at: RM600K. So how do you categorize this? You will also pening, I guarantee you. a) If I buy Lot A, would you say the market has dropped? Valuation is still below asking price. 85% loan only. But ROI is at 5.8% b) If I buy Lot B, what is your comment pulak? Valuation is still below asking price., Same 85% loan. ROI is at 5.3% c) If I buy Lot C, what is your comment pulak? Valuation is at par with asking price. Same 85% loan. ROI is at 5.6% Not easy to categorize this part |
Mar 20 2013, 05:49 PM
Mar 24 2013, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(tat3179 @ Mar 23 2013, 09:41 PM) I still do. In my opinion, props in kl city centre, mont kiara and damansara are insane. I cant make up my mind......And I NEVER said that I won't invest. I just said I won't touch anything more than 500k with a barge pole. Which is true. I only bought it as it is only 410k @ 617 sq feet. Whether to laugh or to cry..... Probably i would do both...... And i am also undecided ..... To congratulate you or to offer my condolences.... Nevertheless, i admire your honesty... Salute! |
Mar 24 2013, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(tat3179 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:06 AM) Thanks. Again u fall into a dangerous category.Besides, it is fun trolling u bbb fellas once in a while.. What to do, I am the type who don't drink, womanize, smoke, buy fancy gadgets, drives a 7 year old car and can't bear to spend money on hobbies and just love to save. Trolling in this forum is free so here I am lah...good cheap entertainment.... Those who do not drink might become an alcoholic one day bcos he cannot control the urges. Those who do not womanise might abandon his wife one day bcos he never experience such lust. Those who do not smoke might become a chain smoker bcos he cannot fight the addiction. Those who do not indulge in gadgets or luxury goods/vehicle might one day be obsessed with it. Am not saying it would happen to you but in all things, modesty is the best policy? Again....admire your honesty mr. Lawyer. |
Mar 25 2013, 01:27 PM
so, shall we buy more singapore and korea's props?
Mar 26 2013, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(accetera @ Mar 26 2013, 01:25 AM) Depending on the election, Malaysia's growth story still has alot of room for expansion. looking forward to the TRC project write-up.When consumption increases, GDP increases. One of the best way to increase consumption is via Debt money. Developers will join in to woo more people taking debt money. The challenging part is to woo the Mass Bumiputera segment... and is pretty high credit risk as well. Malaysia generally (not just KL) is alarmed with high supply rate vs demand rate now. Somebody needs to do some checks. Btw more projects are coming... (a new list of upcoming 20 more projects just arrived onto my hands... will post the threads when more info - i.e. a new apartment project near Jalan Imbi and today's announced TRC-Prasarana Soho, condo, shopping mall project in Ara Damansara) Thanks for sharing. |
Apr 1 2013, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 1 2013, 09:27 AM) not being a bumi, never did pay attention to all this asb thingy or its equivalent.question. 200k is it cap with dividend cashout or can be snowballed/cumulative into account? eg. asw2020. they put a capped into the account and thus dividend is paid out by cash. so the % paid is always limited by the principal. does this apply to asb? if yes, no way they are gonna get the 2mil from 200k. |
Apr 1 2013, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 1 2013, 09:34 AM) Boss, he just make an assumption. yeah... when i was a schoolboy, big G say put $$ into asw2020 pay high dividend, gua goody goody just listen and put.1st few years, dividend is good. >6% to even >10% sometimes. happy. then suddenly announce quota capped liao and start giving divvy based on amount in fund only. there goes my million dollar snowball chansi... damn! |
Apr 1 2013, 09:42 AM
Apr 1 2013, 01:47 PM
Apr 1 2013, 01:55 PM
Apr 1 2013, 03:11 PM
Apr 1 2013, 03:29 PM
Apr 19 2013, 10:47 AM
too good not to share
http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/546212-gol...nd-in-africa-or “[Gold] gets dug out of the ground in Africa, or someplace. Then we melt it down, dig another hole, bury it again and pay people to stand around guarding it. It has no utility. Anyone watching from Mars would be scratching their head.” ― Warren Buffett |
Apr 19 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(joeblows @ Apr 19 2013, 11:13 AM) He's somewhat wrong with that argument though. yeah you are right. hence mona lisa's potrait is invaluable.Gold always has an intrinsic value, plus is used as a hedge against inflation, which is its real utility. Just because it is rarely used in daily life doesn't mean it has no value. A Toyota Altis that one uses as a daily driver is not worth more than a Lamborghini that he only uses on weekends simply because it has greater utility. but only intrinsic value. but buffett's style is always looking for practical stuff and point of view. which i wholly agree with him. am not sure gold is hedge against inflation. usually that's applied towards props. |
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:31 PM |