V10 - Property Prices (Up, Down or .....), and the debate goes on and on and on ...

ay@m
post Mar 17 2013, 12:02 PM

248 posts

Sorry but isnt it newly launched is usually cheaper? Once u get the OC the subsale price usually increase...

So far what I can see is subsale price is higher... thats why new launches hot hot hot!

QUOTE(Nikmon @ Mar 17 2013, 11:14 AM)
Why auction and  new launch still hot but sub sale so slow How average home buyer think, isn't a sub sale now is more worth where price alway cheaper and ready for move in. Why why why....
ay@m
post Mar 17 2013, 12:03 PM

248 posts

May I ask your friend when was the last time we have property bubble in malaysia and ask if the price stayed down even if there is bubble?

QUOTE(sheanhung @ Mar 17 2013, 02:56 AM)
I vote up too, but some friends here insisted there will be a big big bubble going to burst very soon.......
ay@m
post Mar 17 2013, 03:12 PM

248 posts

Yea... I think you better ask your lawyer friend when in malaysia history got property bubble....

Well, given the benefit of doubt... if there is really bubble happening in the past, did the price recover after that?

Key word is location... for good location I doubt it will drop to half of that value...

Cyprus is not malaysia... who knows ppl in msia damn rich with lots of savings... even if the price drop in half... ppl will just keep...

Never say never... but I doubt property in msia will be hit hard... even in 1997... the property price has already recovered and is on positive earning region...

QUOTE(sheanhung @ Mar 17 2013, 02:13 PM)
One of them said the price might drop by half.....some more he is a lawyer.  sweat.gif
ay@m
post Mar 17 2013, 10:07 PM

248 posts

ok la...when i read the reply...didn't really answer my question...but looks like your lawyer friend trying to imply that the property bubble is happening now, but did not happen in the past at all... well, until it burst... we won't really know if this is a bubble or not...

my main point here is if you can buy and hold over the years...long term... bubble or no bubble...it should be alright as the price sure UP... when you buy the property at the right location...

good points for discussion anyway...i'll try to open my eyes more for the questions you posted below...still haven't really observed much Bank Lelong signs around and For sale, there's always the subsale going on...

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 17 2013, 05:22 PM)
When in Malaysian history:

a) Did property increase 40-50% in just a few years (2009-2012)?
b) Did you see so many speculators rushing to queue to buy property?
c) Did you see so many "For Sale" signs right after a certain property VP?
d) Did you see so many "Bank Lelong" signs on traffic lights, lamp posts, forums, everywhere?
e) Did you hear of so many ordinary working joe taking loans to own 4, 5, 6 or even 7+ properties? Not business tycoon mind you, ta kung zhai?

Even in 1997 most people will tell you they didn't see so many "Bank Lelong" signs, despite many people having their house possessed by the Bank.

Draw your own conclusions lo.
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 09:56 AM

248 posts

good point, i have also think of that before...

if you look at US case...it is worse as any ah beng, ah kow, muthu and ahmad can get loan...that is really a big bubble happening cause the buyer's financial is not stable at all...

but on the other hand, the banks here at least are not giving free money away.... in fact yesterday, i just heard from an agent that there are loans getting rejected...well...i don't know if the agents are telling the truth or not but i don't see any reason why the agent want to lie to me about this...

so in my opinion, we can't compare this to the US case...US ppl not much savings...but in Malaysia, lots of ppl got savings and backup... maybe not all but i'm sure we're better off than US....

until that happens in Malaysia, i mean about the dubious loans scheme to anyone...i won't compare this to US... but good point brought up by you to take note of...

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Mar 18 2013, 08:02 AM)
But my question is this, should the worst occurs and we experience what the Americans experience during the '08, even thou you have holding power but your props are 30-40 percent underwater, how long must you wait for the prices to even return to the level you bought, much less increase, if it ever does.

For example, some houses in the us never went back to the level it was first sold during the bubble.
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 11:16 AM

248 posts

yes, agree with you on the cycles... there will be ups and downs and generally on the long term, it should be uptrend...even if it means earning 2-3% capital appreciation per annum... i am just simply quoting example of a low gain...

bear in mind that we will have population increasing as well and between now and 2016, there will be new fresh grads joining the employment market and then we will have new buyers and first time buyers as well...

so it is not like the supply will keep on increasing by a big quantity, where else for demand, you will have a stagnant number of a pool of buyers only...

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 18 2013, 10:39 AM)
I think we need to be clear on a few things. Firstly, property will rise and fall in accordance with cycles. It wont be down forever and neither will it be up for good. There is no question about IF a slump happens. What's more of a concern is the extent of the fall when it does happen.

Right now the concern is mainly in 2015/2016 when about 35,000 residential units come into the market here. How many of purchasers today have the financial muscle to withstand a slump when they get VP of their units? How many can afford to continue paying monthly installments when they can't sell, refinance or rent out their property?

Look at the new developments which have obtained VP in 2012/2013. Look at how many are on sale or waiting for tenants. Its actually shocking. Look at Solaris Dutamas for instance. Despite having Publika below which is doing quite well, there are many original owners who cant sell or rent out their units. The last i checked, there were >500 units for rent and many have been empty since getting VP. Is the actual occupancy even 50% now? Just drive by at night and ull see. And thats a similar sight at many of the new developments.

So the question here is, if this is the state in 2013, what can we expect in 2016 with even more expensive properties? What are your thoughts?
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 04:05 PM

248 posts

what if the owner doesn't need to flip and bought the property for rental yield and keep for long term?
not necessary have to flip and sell in 6 years right?

i tried to read a book from Milan Doshi, one of the advice is buy and assume to keep like forever... i recall reading this statement...

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 18 2013, 03:41 PM)
Unless you rent it out or sell it off, any profit or loss is really on paper.

If the owner still hasn't managed to flip it off in 6 years, he must either be really really stubborn or the price hasn't appreciated beyond his purchase price in 6 years. Quite difficult to understand really.
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 04:34 PM

248 posts

hmm... no need statistic...but what about real case example?

Bought in 2007, apartment A, cost about RM160k for example. Now selling price listed around RM300k ... assuming there is downturn and price drop 40% or 50%...it will be back to the original buying price. just continue to rent it out and the rental is enough to cover the loan repayment...

so those who bought earlier before the property 'boom'... i don't see any reason to worry about the crash... if they are not going for capital appreciation gain...

QUOTE(Nikmon @ Mar 18 2013, 04:12 PM)
Any statistic to support ur view?
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 05:24 PM

248 posts

those bought late 2011, i am not sure what is their strategy...most likely should be for capital appreciation since rental yield may not be enough to cover...

do take note that i am responding to the discussion on flipping after 6 years... and explain why the owner is not selling because the original intention is to have consistent rental yield... about 7-8% ....

QUOTE(Nikmon @ Mar 18 2013, 04:57 PM)
How about those bought late 2011?
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 05:29 PM

248 posts

assuming if we want to buy new property now?

well, if there's property available out there where the rental is able to cover the loan...do you want to wait further?
i don't have a good understanding or i cannot predict when the so called bubble will crash...if wait...wait until when?

or if you can find a property about 20% below the market rate, do you wait or just buy now?

main problem now is no one knows when the downturn will happen...although i strongly agree there should be a cycle up and down...but no one has the crystal ball and predict when it will happen right?

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 18 2013, 05:03 PM)
Why not wait till downturn and save that even 30-40%?

30% of 300K = 90K.

You've just saved yourself RM90k, adding in interest savings and everything it could be as much as RM150k over the course of 20-30 years.

That 150K you can use to treat yourself to a brand new nice Toyota Camry.

So, why not wait?
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 08:14 AM

248 posts

I have US colleagues and they personally told me that they will never buy any properties ever....especially the younger ones (about less than 35 years old)...they prefer to just rent a house their whole life...based on their experience during the 2007/2008 housing crisis...

this is actual comments from my own colleagues in US... i don't make this up... smile.gif

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 18 2013, 10:19 PM)
It's precisely because we don't have that many years in our lives that one should be very very cautious about buying something on 20-30 yrs loan especially when price is at record high.

You would not wanna throw 30 years of your hard earn money down the toilet because too greedy and buy in when the market is high right.

Ask the Americans how it feels like to be working hard on 2 jobs to pay off your house mortgage but the value is actually underwater....
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 08:51 AM

248 posts

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21826176#

For today's reading... still going up for China... smile.gif
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 10:31 AM

248 posts

believe it or not... i know someone who actually just bought a landed property from an agent and according to that agent, the price quoted is based on the actual developer's price about 1-2 years ago...this landed property just obtained OC....

and comparing to other similar listing from other 'flippers', the selling price quoted by other owners or flippers is about RM180k more expensive...

weird eh...but for once, this agent actually sold this landed unit for about more or less the same price compared to 1-2 years ago...

QUOTE(AMINT @ Mar 19 2013, 09:24 AM)
Yes, i got that a lot too. 1) that was 1 year old price. Now owner wanna sell higher 2) my staff put the price wrongly. Cannot be so cheap. Now market is at this price that i am telling u maa.
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 10:50 AM

248 posts

ok...the listing price by other owners, i think they simply quote the price...it is listed around RM840k...

but there's another unit sold by an agent for RM660k.... already paid RM5k deposit so i think the selling price can be considered confirmed...

Location is Teluk Kumbar area in Penang... smile.gif double storey landed...

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 19 2013, 10:46 AM)
Mind sharing the price tag and the location? Curios to noe y actually they decided to sell at developers price... But actually tat should be the case since developer always puts in "Future price" during launch.. nt add  another few hundred K's on top of tat price tag..
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 10:52 AM

248 posts

interested to read your blog as part of my learning and appreciate you sharing your experience...

may i have your blog URL pls? if you cannot post it here, do PM me...

thanks...

QUOTE(agentdiary @ Mar 18 2013, 10:49 PM)
Appreciate your compliment. One thing I learn the hard way from the 3 years writing blog is that most readers like to ridicule honest analysis  sweat.gif

What I have seen happened with family in 82' and 97' really a nightmare that I vow never to see it from my home.

Been in this industry since early 2000 and consider myself not lazy spending spare time to learn finance and economics. All I can tell is assets class opportunity is always moving from one to another from time to time. Real estate in Malaysia is near its end at least for mid term.

Thus, I sold most last year and urging close friends and family to realize profit first. I walk my talk. Always believe paper 'profit' is just a mirage. It is like masturbation, period.
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 11:53 AM

248 posts

this unit bought direct from developer and the agent was appointed by the developer to sell the unit...

i am not sure if the developer kept the unit previously to try gain more profits...or maybe the developer now needs cash and decided to sell...or there's something wrong with the unit...i really have no idea.... and i don't care as i'm not the buyer...hehe...

QUOTE(katijar @ Mar 19 2013, 11:15 AM)
believe it or not... i know someone who actually just bought a landed property from an agent and according to that agent, the price quoted is based on the actual developer's price about 1-2 years ago...this landed property just obtained OC....

and comparing to other similar listing from other 'flippers', the selling price quoted by other owners or flippers is about RM180k more expensive...

weird eh...but for once, this agent actually sold this landed unit for about more or less the same price compared to 1-2 years ago...

---------------------------

sorry but sometimes i worry to buy this kind of house also ... dunno whether got anything "wrong" with or/and inside the house or not...
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 12:00 AM

248 posts

haha...greater fool theory...i have been waiting for years to see if this theory is true.... oh well...still waiting...

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Mar 22 2013, 10:27 PM)
Aiya, the only argument you have left is "pessimistic guy".  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif Show us some substance, why you ignore the depressed secondary market? Why you never mentioned the official falling property prices? Why you don't bother to look at the huge volume of empty units listed for sale?

It is because you are a real estate agent who could not tell the truth, no?

Qaseh again? Go talk to I&P, and see how many units in the secondary markets waiting for the next greater fool. You should go suck up those empty units and make a handsome profit, walk the talk, will you?
ay@m
post Mar 27 2013, 06:48 PM

248 posts

this is the problem most of us have out there...
we tend not to measure up to ourselves and have unrealistic expectation.

who ask you to stay in 500k house when all you can afford is just 150k apartment as an example?

if everyone thinks like that, of course it feels long to save up to 50% of house price...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I am reminding myself this as i'm writing because sometimes i tend to get excited and go beyond my means...

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 27 2013, 06:20 PM)
If leverage 50%, at wat age can a person effort to buy hse? Nt talking bout ppl from rich family or sponsored dp..

By the time u save the other 50%, do u think the hse will be at the same price?

Think again... unless u r cash rich or earning five figures monthly wic will allow u to save super fast... In average how many percentage of ppl even belong to this category.. Ntg wrong wif leveraging debt, but play safe.. nt to stretch too far..
ay@m
post Mar 27 2013, 07:17 PM

248 posts

i couldn't agree more with you on this part --> I can sleep well at night..

QUOTE(Halamdar @ Mar 27 2013, 05:03 PM)
Very true biggrin.gif

As for myself, the house I am staying > fully paid up. No debt on the house.

400 K cash > my kids education fund ( IMO, MY best performing investment fund !)

Have some equities (divident play).

But as i said, depend on your risk appetite. And dont be envious of the ppl next to you " that make a few million on speculating property". If they make it, congratulated them.

For me, its most important that I can sleep well at night biggrin.gif

Just my 4 cp !

0.0567sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:34 AM