HDDLife, cock of century

TSwednesday
post Apr 7 2006, 01:09 PM, updated 20y ago

491 posts

Lol, kena conned by that stupid program, the program reports that my maxtor's health is 85% but the harddisk itsefl failed to load twice, my computer major lags are caused by this stupid harddisk and the HDDLife can still report my maxtor harddisk is still in good position. doh.gif
Vervain
post Apr 7 2006, 01:28 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

the software kenot read the status of your hard disk head la. how you know the head might crash on the disk. the software is used to read the circuit board of the hard disk.

This post has been edited by Vervain: Apr 7 2006, 01:30 PM
skma
post Apr 7 2006, 01:30 PM

Occam's Razor In Problem-solving!
546 posts

ya..my aged and old 40gb hdd is reported as 75% but I'm still using it to store data.

So far no crashes smile.gif
theodore_kh
post Apr 7 2006, 01:46 PM

It's me again !
1,297 posts

It is just like an estimation I guess.

It reported mine quite okay.

Has a performance of 75% ..I use it to test my malfunctioning HDD.
TSwednesday
post Apr 7 2006, 02:29 PM

491 posts

85% is totaly out la, bad estimation i say, that particular hard disk, load damn slow, makes alot of noise, atleast 50% also can say the program quite ok but 85% is jut too much.
Ultima
post Apr 7 2006, 05:00 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

my hd notebook, it says 45% health... wtf? i juz use it 3 month.... and summore, the program not stable... when i close the program and start it again, the setting is set to default again... i hate the alarm sound, wiiiwiiiwiiiwiiiwiii when the temperature naik sikit..
Vervain
post Apr 7 2006, 09:10 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

try speed disk. its all estimation only la. maybe the motor or some mechanical mechanism didn't work properly
navilink
post Apr 7 2006, 11:59 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

hddlife not good lah...the option to slow down the hdd performance and spin cannot be ticked one....and the Life % is truly inaccurate
imisu29
post Apr 12 2006, 12:34 AM

853 posts

Meaning that this program is useless?

i am a using a pragram called "Hard Disk Sentinel"
quite accurate .. in my opinion la...
RangerRed
post May 2 2006, 10:57 PM

2,083 posts

Try dling the trial verison of activesmart... its give an eta of when ur hdd dies... of course u need to have Smart enabled in bios.
allvin
post May 3 2006, 06:32 PM

4,506 posts

Har? how to check HDD lifespan?

My 6years old HDD still working. Now using to install macosx86! laugh.gif
TSwednesday
post May 4 2006, 11:56 AM

491 posts

Yeah. I hate hddlife, gave me a bad estimation that i took it for granted that my maxtor is ok, in the end, my 7k songs gone. stupid hddlife. any other good hdd monitoring software ?
jaya_pc87
post May 4 2006, 07:07 PM

Workaholic Mode on
748 posts

never trust any kind of softwares, none are more accurate than your common sense and feelings ... You should be able to notice when a hardisk starts to fail right?
Sky.Live
post May 5 2006, 12:10 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

what is the pre- event b4 hdd fail then.... i am scared too... my 10k songs and lotsa movies/dramas
nickenstein
post May 5 2006, 01:49 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ May 5 2006, 12:10 AM)
what is the pre- event b4 hdd fail then.... i am scared too... my 10k songs and lotsa movies/dramas
when ur hdd starting to have bad sector and starting to make some ticking noise.. lol

better burn out ur songs before it's too late. so u wont lose that much. biggrin.gif
Sky.Live
post May 6 2006, 01:54 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

my hdd have ticking sound 3 years ago... still without any bad sector or what.... i use some program to check that it indicates this baby(maxtor) still have ages to go b4 it dies..... anyway it's my primary drive i wont cry so much if it dies
SUSMuhammad Nur Hanief
post Jun 6 2006, 08:55 PM

555 posts

Basically all the computer hardware kinda unpredictable... they are similar as us... human and the accidents...

The key is to backup, backup and backup.... to where?
- FTP Server
- DVD
- HD DVD
- CD
- Tape Drive
- HDD
- FDD
quintessential
post Jun 7 2006, 10:28 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

i found out that hdd life is limited in terms of features. i think speedfan is hell lot better albeit complicated readings.
gestapo
post Jun 7 2006, 10:30 AM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

i got a 42 MB classic western digital. still functioning well. thumbup.gif

wish can get good price for this one day . laugh.gif collector's item.
Renovatio
post Jun 7 2006, 03:52 PM

~ Enthusiast low on cash ~
1,942 posts

I have a 4Gb Quantum Fireball that's around 7 years old, still working fine, 0 bad sectors. Gotta love Quantum... too bad Maxtor acquired it but never keep up with Quantum's excellent QA

0.0170sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:45 PM