BIOS and CPU-Z processor speed different

TSDiazepam
post Apr 7 2006, 11:22 AM, updated 20y ago

289 posts

Hello guys,

I just got myself an Opteron 165 and an Asus A8n-e mobo. I've been trying to get a modest overclock, but now the BIOS says 2.1Ghz, but when XP loads up everything indicates that it is still at 1.8Ghz.

Here's roughly what I did before hitting this stage.

I first used AIBooster to ramp it up to 2.0Ghz using just HTT. When I realized that everything I did on AIBooster to go higher just hung my machine, I uninstalled that and went to the BIOS.

At the BIOS level, it still displayed 2.0Ghz even without AIBooster. So I managed to push it up higher by increasing the HTT and also RAM and CPU voltage. I got to slightly more than 2.1Ghz.

Anything I did after 2.1Ghz wouldn't remain stable (windows would flicker, menus would disappear in XP etc), so I maintained it at 2.1Ghz and tried to play with some RAM timings. As soon as I changed any timings (even CAS latency from 3 to 2.5 or 2T to 1T), windows wouldn't load up (would hang on the hardware loadup screen). The worst was at first when the computer wouldn't start at all (not even BIOS). I had to reseat the RAMs.

Anyways, so I installed AIBooster again (wanted the temperature gauges) thinking that I'll just stick at 2Ghz. But now when I restart the machine, it would constantly reset to 1.8Ghz.

So I uninstalled it again, and found that the BIOS would show whatever Ghz that I wanted it to, but when WinXP loaded up, CPU-Z and my system would ALWAYS show that it is at 1.8Ghz.

Any ideas why this is happening and how I can rectify it?

Again, I'm using an Asus A8n-e mobo, Corsair Valueselect RAM, and Opteron 165.

I'm using Prime95 for burn-ins, and Memtest for RAM.

Thanks!
gengstapo
post Apr 7 2006, 11:26 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

try update to latest BIOS. last time i oso face the same prob

TSDiazepam
post Apr 7 2006, 11:30 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Apr 7 2006, 11:26 AM)
try update to latest BIOS. last time i oso face the same prob

Hi Gengstapo,

Running at Bios v.1010 now, I think. Will update to the latest 1011 if that will help.

gengstapo
post Apr 7 2006, 11:34 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Apr 7 2006, 11:30 AM)
Hi Gengstapo,

Running at Bios v.1010 now, I think. Will update to the latest 1011 if that will help.

juzz give a try 1st. latest BIOS shall fixx some bugs or issues error thumbup.gif

gud luck dood
kulus
post Apr 7 2006, 12:22 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Apr 7 2006, 11:22 AM)

Anything I did after 2.1Ghz wouldn't remain stable (windows would flicker, menus would disappear in XP etc), so I maintained it at 2.1Ghz and tried to play with some RAM timings. As soon as I changed any timings (even CAS latency from 3 to 2.5 or 2T to 1T), windows wouldn't load up (would hang on the hardware loadup screen). The worst was at first when the computer wouldn't start at all (not even BIOS). I had to reseat the RAMs.

i think cas latency should stay at 3..why u decrease it to 2.5 ? doh.gif

TSDiazepam
post Apr 7 2006, 12:58 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(kulus @ Apr 7 2006, 12:22 PM)
i think cas latency should stay at 3..why u decrease it to 2.5 ? doh.gif
It was a recommendation from another friend . . .

Seriously, I have no clue when it comes to RAM timing . . . any other suggestions on it?

I'm using Corsair Valueselect 2x1Gb.

Thanks!

p.s. will be updating BIOS after lunch and will update then.
TSDiazepam
post Apr 7 2006, 01:06 PM

289 posts

hmm, updated to latest BIOS already.

Still the same thing.

Anyone has any ideas?

HELP!! tongue.gif
TSDiazepam
post Apr 7 2006, 02:35 PM

289 posts

wierd, came back from lunch and voila! My modest 215x9 is reflected as 1.9Ghz! Hope it'll be fine at higher speeds.

Any ideas on what Ram timings I should try?

TQ . . . you guys are life savers. tongue.gif

kulus
post Apr 7 2006, 03:08 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

for value ram..u should use loose timing to gather more mhz..try 3-3-3-8
Cyclone87
post Apr 7 2006, 03:23 PM

1,254 posts

Easy..CPU Spread Spectum is Enable. Disable it when u wan to Overclock. If not..bios report ..2.0ghz..window at default speed.
TSDiazepam
post Apr 7 2006, 06:00 PM

289 posts

Ok, will try both the RAM timings and Spread Spectrum.

Thanks guys!
PeowYong
post Apr 7 2006, 06:09 PM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

try oc-ing like this,
loosen ur ram timing to da max and increase ur ram voltage to at least 2.8v, then only u play with the proc...
after u found the max oc that can be done on ur proc, only then u tighten ur ram timing...

kulus
post Apr 7 2006, 10:35 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

yeahh..thats the way to know what the highest speed of ur proc..
TSDiazepam
post Apr 8 2006, 03:44 AM

289 posts

Okie PeowYong,

Will try loosening the RAM timing first then - although I'll have to read up on what that means in all the numbers and which numbers means which . . .

Kulus, when you said try 3-3-3-8 timing, do you mean:

Cas latency - trp - trcd - tras ? If so, what about the other values?

Also, how do you guys know which number to try based just on what RAM?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Diazepam: Apr 8 2006, 03:45 AM
TSDiazepam
post Apr 8 2006, 10:37 PM

289 posts

Ok. This has been really frustrating.

So when I updated my BIOS that day, I tried 215x9 and got about 1.9Ghz, hence why I said it worked.

So today, I set the RAM timing to 3-3-3-8, and tried to look for the spread spectrum as advised. Couldn't find the spread spectrum thing, btw.

So I pushed up the voltage to 2.8V for DDR and pushed HTT up to 225 to get another 1Ghz.

Now its back to the same thing. Windows is back at 1.8Ghz.

So I flashed the BIOS again, but its still the same no matter what I do.

Even tried putting the DDR voltage and Vcore voltage at AUTO.

HELP!

This post has been edited by Diazepam: Apr 8 2006, 10:37 PM
TSDiazepam
post Apr 8 2006, 11:02 PM

289 posts

Ha. Super-wierd.

Found that once I turned off 'Disabled' for my Legacy floppy drive, it works now.
kulus
post Apr 8 2006, 11:09 PM

|||||||||||
904 posts

hurmm..did u try to increace ur vcore?
gengstapo
post Apr 9 2006, 08:02 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

yaww starter, have u try out this :

1. turn off the Cn'Q features?
2. when overclock, lower ur LDT multi??
TSDiazepam
post Apr 9 2006, 12:37 PM

289 posts

Hi.

Yup. Increased Vcore incrementally.

I tried lowering LDT multi before, and the machine hung at the loadup. I tried 225x8, for example. RAM was at 3-3-3-8. Vcore was at 1.37, and DDRV was at 1.6.

I did not install the CnQ features, and they are not enabled in BIOS.
gengstapo
post Apr 9 2006, 10:52 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

can u detail the settin' tat make ur windowz hang??

cpu vcore, dram vdimm, LDT multi, RAMs speed etc..
TSDiazepam
post Apr 10 2006, 09:42 AM

289 posts

Ok.

Its damn stable now at 2.1Ghz.

Tried these settings to bring it up another 1Ghz, but whenever it loads up XP, the screen goes crazy.

Settings are:

CPU Frequency : 245
Multiplier : 9
DDR Voltage : 2.8 (also tried 2.75 -same)
CPU Voltage : 1.3875 (in CPU-Z, it shows 1.4) (also tried 1.375)

I set the DRAM to auto because I'm not too sure how to set it, but the AUTO settings set it to:

Speed : 245.45mhz
CAS : 3T
Tras : 8T
Trcd : 3T
Trp : 3T
Trc : 22T
Trfc : 24T
Trwt : 6T
Twr : 3T
1T/2T Mem timing : 2T

Hope this makes it clearer.

Oh, Hypertransport is set to AUTO.
PCI is 100mhz
PCI clock is set to AUTO (the one which is maxed out at 33.33mhz).

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Diazepam: Apr 10 2006, 09:44 AM
gengstapo
post Apr 10 2006, 10:08 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Apr 10 2006, 09:42 AM)

browse this menu, set manually to x4 or x3, if dont have, set to 800 or 600(asus mobo usually like this) wink.gif
TSDiazepam
post Apr 10 2006, 12:17 PM

289 posts

LOL.

Even worse wor. Got the blue screen of death with the Hypertransport set to either of those 2 settings . . .
kev da man
post Apr 10 2006, 06:35 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Apr 10 2006, 09:42 AM)
Ok.

Its damn stable now at 2.1Ghz.

Tried these settings to bring it up another 1Ghz, but whenever it loads up XP, the screen goes crazy.

Settings are:

CPU Frequency : 245
Multiplier          : 9
DDR Voltage    : 2.8 (also tried 2.75 -same)
CPU Voltage    : 1.3875 (in CPU-Z, it shows 1.4) (also tried 1.375)

I set the DRAM to auto because I'm not too sure how to set it, but the AUTO settings set it to:

Speed : 245.45mhz
CAS    : 3T
Tras    : 8T
Trcd    : 3T
Trp    : 3T
Trc    : 22T
Trfc    : 24T
Trwt    : 6T
Twr    : 3T
1T/2T Mem timing : 2T

Hope this makes it clearer.

PCI  is 100mhz
PCI clock is set to AUTO (the one which is maxed out at 33.33mhz).

Thanks!
i think the answer would be setting your PCI clock to 33.33 and not auto....and that HT divider should be set to 2 if the rest of the settings fail tongue.gif
TSDiazepam
post Apr 11 2006, 01:16 PM

289 posts

Ok,

Set PCI clock to 33.33, HT to 3x, and reverted settings to what I've posted before for 245x9 to get 2.2Ghz.

So, everything loads up fine and its stable. I set it to run Prime95 and I wake up to find that it has restarted.

Event viewer says that a save dump occured and the bug check was:

0x1000008e (0xc0000005, 0xbf804996, 0xb507a7bc, 0x00000000)

So I try Prime95 again with HT now set to 4x, and within 30mins, I get another blue screen with event viewer saying:

0x100000d1 (0x00000000, 0x00000002, 0x00000008, 0x00000000)

Any ideas?

Would increasing the Vcore help? Or the DDR voltage? Or should I be trying with 2x (isn't that like reaaaally low? Would I gain from the extra Ghz, even if this is set so low?)?

gengstapo
post Apr 11 2006, 01:55 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

well, try to reset BIOS into default setting & try OC'ing slowly. no need rush as u gain nuthin' later. each step u raise any setting, need to be bench to know the stability of ur rig.

okies icon_idea.gif
TSDiazepam
post Apr 11 2006, 02:04 PM

289 posts

But gengstapo, I have been OC'ing it slowly.

I raise it by only 1Ghz every 1-2 nights (200x9, 215x9, 225x9, 235x9), and do a 4-8hour Prime95 torture test on both cores everytime I up the HTT.

Its just that I can't get it to work past 2.1Ghz without something going wrong.

Would resetting the BIOS still work in this case?

TSDiazepam
post Apr 12 2006, 03:34 PM

289 posts

Ok.

Seems to be stable for now at 2.208Ghz.

Changed the BIOS memory speed from AUTO (400mhz) to 333Mhz. That made all the difference. Everything else is as per my post above.

Now under CPU-Z, the memory reads 200.8MHz instead of 245.45mhz.

Question, what does FSB:DRAM in CPU-Z means? Initially it was CPU/12, now it is CPU/11.

What does that mean?

Thanks!

This post has been edited by Diazepam: Apr 12 2006, 03:35 PM
sniper69
post Apr 12 2006, 06:33 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

QUOTE(Diazepam @ Apr 7 2006, 01:06 PM)
hmm, updated to latest BIOS already.

Still the same thing.

Anyone has any ideas?

HELP!! tongue.gif
i once xp this wif my a8n-sli premium, my solution is after PCCrazy did tell me in one of the thread, i played wif boot.ini file, just disable DEP, i cant tell exactly how is it, do at ur own risk k, edit the boot.ini, n find /noexecute after "/noexecute" (without quotes) shud b "opti something rclxub.gif " replace that wif "AlwaysOff". after that, it solved... but if dun believed it, try search that thread...kinda lost the thread already...
TSDiazepam
post Apr 13 2006, 12:22 AM

289 posts

Thanks Sniper69.

Its now running at 2.4Ghz with HT set to 4x and its pretty stable . . .

Going to slowly try for 2.7Ghz . . . biggrin.gif

Just worried about the heat.

This post has been edited by Diazepam: Apr 13 2006, 12:22 AM

0.0181sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:19 PM