Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V19, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMB4

lol4291
post Mar 9 2013, 08:42 PM

550 posts

Hi.. new user here biggrin.gif Bought it yesterday... Titanium Grey 16GB SME.. extremely happy with this set biggrin.gif
major upgrade from my previous xperia x10 rclxms.gif

Been reading since V17, juz wana confirm few things sifus, if its ok:

1) planning on rooting using the method posted in 1st page.. Rooting does not increase counter right? Only flash custom rom/kernel..

2) noticed that users are having problem with sandisk memory cards.. can recommend me some good brands? price high a bit ok.. tongue.gif

3) planned to get Spigen Oleophobic SP... As for the casing, im stuck.. UAG, Kraken AMS, Ballistic SG and Otterbox Defender, all four are attractive.. Any1 has experience with the other cases except UAG (read in previous thread) tongue.gif

Appreciate any help.. Thanks.
lol4291
post Mar 9 2013, 09:46 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 9 2013, 09:32 PM)
Welcome to the community.

Samsung implemented a checksum in the bootloader to detect rooting, so all rooting attempts will raise the flashcounter. The only way to avoid this is if you are on firmware DLL5 and below with the old bootloader, by using Exynosabuse. However, since you have a brand new unit, I'm pretty sure you are on DLK7 and above with the new bootloader.
The only way to zero-ize the counter is to root and use Triangle Away.

Happy flashing.
Thanks biggrin.gif btw, firmware is the baseband version right? Mine is in N7100DXALJ1.. probably cuz still in 4.1.1.. If i update normally to 4.1.2, root and use triangle away is ok right sifu?
lol4291
post Mar 9 2013, 10:14 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 9 2013, 09:57 PM)
LJ1? Still LJ1? There is no multi-windows yet then.
Try to long press back button and see if the multi-windows thingy appears.

When I bought mine in mid of October last year, it was already LJ3...
yep multi-window is working sifu..

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Mar 9 2013, 10:00 PM)
firmware is build number . Baseband version is the modem currently in use in your phone . LJ1 ?
baseband is N7100DXALJ1...and Build is JR003C.N7100XXALJ3..
lol4291
post Mar 11 2013, 02:51 AM

550 posts

sifu, i have rooted my note 2 as the following method.. XDA Newbie Guide..

1. Download all the files you need below! Galaxynote2root.zip
2. Make sure that USB debugging is on=> setting->developer options->enable usb debugging
3. Extract the download .zip file into a place you can access easily
4. Run ODIN...exe
5. Turn you device into recovery mode=> HOLD POWER+VOLUME DOWN+HOME
6.Connect your device to the PC
7. There should be a yellow box appear in odin, if not DO NOT PROCEED! Try restarting your phone into download mode again, and please ensure that you have usb debugging on and also have samsung usb driver installed in you computer.
8. Click on "PDA" and choose the file cwm6-root-note2.tar
9. Click start and wait for a few second.......DONE! You will now have a rooted device+CWM (What is CWM? Read first post) You're now not a NOOB!
10. Hit the "thanks" button!

However, when i want to boot to recover mode, it glitches and nothing appear... Should i redo it again using the files in Uncle benny's blog? If so, the counter will further increase by 1 right? So i can juz use triangle away to reduce from 2 to normal right?

lol4291
post Mar 11 2013, 12:50 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 11 2013, 08:37 AM)
Yes please redo using the method in uncle benny's blog.
QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 11 2013, 10:07 AM)
Dear sifu, would you suggest any other newbie friendly link ? I saw that the OP for the NOOB Friendly link in post 5 http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2055827 was last updated in December, and now lol4291 seems to have encountered a problem.

Should uncle benny's post be used instead?
Rooted again using Uncle Benny's method and it works now notworthy.gif notworthy.gif can boot into recovery as well rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

juz 1 question sifu.. after Triangle Away, they count will be 1.. is it correct?

Thanks..
lol4291
post Mar 11 2013, 01:23 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 11 2013, 12:58 PM)
Yes cos u still on custom recovery.  No point to reset unless u already back to stock rom n recovery.
QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 11 2013, 12:59 PM)
Count will be 0 if your kernel supports the TA interface directly.
thanks for the advice sifu biggrin.gif might try custom rom now..
lol4291
post Mar 19 2013, 10:32 AM

550 posts

Sifus, planning on flashing custom rom today.. planning on trying few roms biggrin.gif juz want to confirm if the following steps are correct..

1) Backup nandroid
2) Backup apps
3) Backup sms and others
4) Boot into recovery
5) do factory reset
6) wipe cache
7) wipe dalvik cache
8) install zip from sd..

am i right?

1) Does doing steps 5-7 delete my backup data from step 1-3?
2) once flashed, just use TA to reset again right sifus?
3) oh and.. if i want to update to new samsung updates; do i need to revert back to stock, update, then flash custom again? or can i just use Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper to temp un-root, then update, and restore root?

lol4291
post Mar 19 2013, 03:11 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 19 2013, 11:39 AM)
1. usually i'd do a full back up of everything using TBPro
    http://goo.gl/pL1rw
    then i'd do a nandroid backup via TWRP
    http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/115
2. 6 and 7 no. just wipe system (if you are using twrp)
    better still, use this SuperWipe thingy
    http://goo.gl/razYM
3. why want to use TA when you are just going to flash again in a week LOL. don't waste your time and effort on all this resetting it back to normal until and unless you are sending in the phone for warranty claims. even so, speaking nicely with courtesy will usually get you further although phone is rooted
4. When new samsung updates come out (let's say, 4.2.1), alk you need to do is to wait for a few days and walla, xda will have the latest custom roms for you to flash happily every after
Thanks sifu biggrin.gif

1. i have backup using TBPro too sifu..
2. used CWM as my custom recovery.. did a nandroid backup.. copied both TBPro and CMW backup to pc as safety..
3&4. haha.. ok sifu biggrin.gif

So i just proceed to flash custom rom right sifu?

lol4291
post Mar 19 2013, 03:45 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 19 2013, 03:16 PM)
the name is alex lol smile.gif

anyways correct flash and enjoy your new rom!

what rom are you flashing to and why? flashing any kernels?
planning on flashing to Emotion Note II rom first.. look nice and want to try some customization biggrin.gif

As for kernel, most probably perseus as i notice a lot of sifus using it and getting good response.. unsure yet.. maybe stock kernel first..

is kernel flashed the same way too alex? biggrin.gif

lol4291
post Mar 19 2013, 03:50 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 19 2013, 03:47 PM)
yup

download Perseus' 33.4 from the xda thread then go to stweaks (which magically appear in your app drawer) and go to screen (2nd to last screen, swipe till you reach it) then tick both hook something and master sequence.

behold a somewhat calibrated screen!
Thank you! rclxms.gif
lol4291
post Mar 21 2013, 02:14 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 20 2013, 09:23 AM)
since we all bought the phone for its amazingly saturated blues and greens, we would not go install some crummy kernel that removes that don't we! haha

however, i now cannot live without perseus 33.4. if i play candy crush (the most colorful game in my arsenal of games) now, i don't feel too much eye strain due to the lesser saturated colors  laugh.gif

fruitie, assasin rom 2.0 is out too. just wandered into xda and some also updated to DMB6 too. wasted my time flashing monx's 9-1 dmb5 now sad.gif

even more customizations now.
flashed Emotion Note II with perseus 33.4 biggrin.gif Love it compared to stock biggrin.gif Thanks for the perseus suggestion alex biggrin.gif will try for a week before next rom biggrin.gif

Had to flash it twice due to some error in TBPro restore.. Just wondering.. The freeze function in TBPro, can it be used to freeze unwanted apps?

Thanks biggrin.gif
lol4291
post Mar 21 2013, 03:00 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(spitrix @ Mar 21 2013, 12:35 PM)
My home screen

My lock screen

awesome biggrin.gif if you dont mind sifu, can i know how this is done? what application?

lol4291
post Mar 27 2013, 04:53 PM

550 posts

Just migrated from Emotion Note II to Du@lnote V9 with latest persues kernel.. noticed improvement in the response and battery life rclxms.gif planning on trying another rom in a week.. any suggestions sifu? biggrin.gif

lol4291
post Mar 27 2013, 05:31 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 27 2013, 05:01 PM)
Try whatever you want and report the results smile.gif Some reported that some roms suck, some are fantastic....
ok sifu biggrin.gif will provide feedback.. planning on trying all the roms tongue.gif

0.0496sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:18 AM