Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V19, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMB4

kevintth
post Mar 9 2013, 11:09 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 9 2013, 02:37 AM)
Does anyone tried wireless charging??
Actually I dont seem to see the logic behind this..
Since the output power of the wireless charger is tantamount to a usb charger,why dont you just bring the wall charger and get the job done in about 3 hours instead of more than 10 hours..
rclxub.gif
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 9 2013, 08:01 AM)
Wireless charging concept work great when not using the phone just imagine reach home just put phone on table with mat it be charging while away and not for ppl that cant live without a phone on bed or toilet
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Mar 9 2013, 08:07 AM)
Wireless charging not for user who use their device 24/7.  smile.gif
QUOTE(yyt @ Mar 9 2013, 10:44 AM)
i thought the wireless charging is for people like that, so that they no need to plug in to charge.
also anyone can roughly explain how the wireless charging works?
Yea supposing wireless charging is like that lolx... anyway, wireless charging will go mainstream on Apple and Samsun g phones...

as reported today : http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_apple_to_u...s-news-5664.php
kevintth
post Mar 11 2013, 12:26 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 10 2013, 05:50 PM)
To be honest I'm kinda tempted to jump to Xperia Z... Though the battery capacity is much smaller than Note II's but the battery seems to last quite long. I'm impressed...
Xperia Z battery endurance rating is only 48h... compare to Note 2 63h. But surprisingly, its talktime hour almost can beat Note 2 despite Note 2 has larger battery mAh.. Other than that... shakehead.gif

Source: http://blog.gsmarena.com/sony-xperia-z-bat...ome-the-scores/

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Mar 10 2013, 08:06 PM)
Wow Ubuntu  brows.gif
The first picture quite grainy...but good shots, especially the second and third one  rclxm9.gif
well, no choice, Note 2 camera designed to be like that laugh.gif

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 10 2013, 09:37 PM)
Some closeups

[attachmentid=3340145]

[attachmentid=3340149]
Sifu praise you already haha ... by the way, where is this? Japan?

This post has been edited by kevintth: Mar 11 2013, 12:30 AM
kevintth
post Mar 11 2013, 12:29 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Mar 10 2013, 10:29 PM)
just sharing some info, Camera Shootout: Sony Xperia Z vs HTC Butterfly

IMO, it's seems like Xperia Z's camera isn't that good as I thought...
blink.gif

i was surprise... HTC camera takes better photo than Sony hmm.gif
All the time i thought htc fit with lousy camera. Sony is just so so.. .with the marketing gimmick Exmor R tech lolx... laugh.gif

still, Nokia lens is better nod.gif
kevintth
post Mar 12 2013, 12:09 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 11 2013, 04:12 AM)
My shots are different from his. I am just a point n shoot guy n I would say I am a better photographer than him. Something very obviously wrong with his xperia shots as I think he had adjusted the settings n not using default
I see....

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 11 2013, 01:02 AM)
If u have seen soya cincau previous works he have lack of expertise in photography and camera. Then the joke how can you compare a dslr sensor vs a tiny phone sensor like those crappy tiny sensor?

If a fella can even compare a dslr with a phone why cant ppl compare a phone with a phone
I think the point here is he wants to compare HTC vs Sony Xperia Z camera not dslr. We all know dslr can always capture more accurate photo. So which phone can took the photos that get closer to the dslr wins lor.... laugh.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 11 2013, 05:33 PM)
shorter version note 2 + front view same as s3 = S IV eh ?

http://sammyhub.com/2013/03/11/pictures-of...he-galaxy-s-iv/
If this is real... samsung fans really butthurt... ifans sure say Samsung never learn... plastic toy phone again ! see the teaser, personally think is like overdone lolx... the teaser shows something very promising, but eventually come out like that... then doh.gif

This post has been edited by kevintth: Mar 12 2013, 12:11 AM
kevintth
post Mar 12 2013, 12:27 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 12 2013, 12:19 AM)
My 2 cents:
I don't really see any issue if the phone is plastic polycarbonate, and neither do I see any issue if it looks like a smaller Note 2 or a larger S3. Please try dropping an aluminium-bodied device.  brows.gif

IMHO, all modern phones are large glass slabs with a bezel. Obviously you don't want a sharp edge, so you make the bezel a round-edged rectangle. And then some silly company comes along and starts suing  shocking.gif  over a rounded rectangle. The same silly company has got its new aluminium bodied device chipping paint and they're not doing anything about it.

LG, Lenovo, Huawei all have very similar looking phones. Nobody's really complaining about design there are they?

BBZ10 looks VERY much like that silly company's device.... does anyone smell a lawsuit coming?
not to say Samsung designer is bad or what.. .somehow i think those rendered s4 spread around have much better design lor... i think samsung is follow apple footstep.. .just changing here and there on the outlook then release much better specs phone only...

see ... these are much better looking IMHO laugh.gif

kevintth
post Mar 12 2013, 09:54 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 12 2013, 12:55 AM)
your saying is like

you take myvi , proton preve and maybe vios which car can chase closest to a ferrari wins lor.

You notice like cars when they have supercar they will compare with other supercar or horsepower as close as possible.

Similar in photography you must compare with the similar class first. Then maybe a special edition with supercar.
Lol... car u can see the speed how fast it is no need to compare with supercar, ferrari...

er how to say ler... what im trying to tell is, because we users not on the spot when taking photo, it is hard to judge which one take better pic, photo nice or not very subjective... so for review, dslr is the best choice to show how the actual scenery/object look like. See, the xperia Z, the sky is like going to rain lolx...

of course I understand that 13mp cannot compare with 8mp (must use the same class cameraphone), but the point here is many of them, normal ppl, only know what is megapixels all about and not camera sensor or lens, if 8mp can outperform than 13mp camera phone, isnt that good? In this review, it turns out some of the photos HTC took better...

Same like cars, normal ppl only know how to compare engine cc, see who faster... u say myvi… but 1.5cc only, Preve 1.6 (not cfe), no need to race already know sure is preve win lor... but actually is Myvi win.. coz its body weight is light mah... biggrin.gif

anyway im not trying to offense u or defense soyacincau review lolx.. just my personal opinion why they use dslr la biggrin.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 12 2013, 01:26 AM)
the 13MP still lose to 3 years old Nokia N8
unless S4 fit with carl zeiss lens laugh.gif

QUOTE(Xirality @ Mar 12 2013, 01:28 AM)
yeahh, Samsung is known for their "megapixel race" same goes to LG I think
Sony was the one first to start mp race on android phones smile.gif
S4 is Samsung first 13mp camera phone lor...
kevintth
post Mar 12 2013, 04:17 PM

1,618 posts

off topic.. S4 teaser

no earpiece man... how to make phone call? :hmm
kevintth
post Mar 13 2013, 09:22 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 13 2013, 02:02 AM)
Making your Whatsapp status "invisible"

http://www.addictivetips.com/android/how-t...ddictiveTips%29

Now available the application that would love to have the Invisible Man!

Do you have a friend who gets angry heavy if you go online to WhatsApp and not you answer? Want to read your WhatsApp messages without your girlfriend knowing it? It's annoying that people control you by your WhatsApp's state?

No bones about it, become you invisible with WhatsApp Shadow. This application lets you read your WhatsApp messages but nobody see you've connected. Enter Whatsapp, read messages, answer them... totally invisible.

Hahahahaha
wow thanks bro... this really come at the right time biggrin.gif i was searching this yesterday but couldnt find it... but only whatapps ios has this feature to disable timestamp on status.
kevintth
post Mar 13 2013, 09:47 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Mar 12 2013, 06:15 PM)
Looks like a fake rendering  laugh.gif
Haha.. hope so it is fake. I think Samsung better surprise us with the S4. If you follow Samsung page on FB, you can see this "big thing" ads everywhere in New York.

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 12 2013, 06:35 PM)
Don't you see? What's different is the INSIDE, not the OUTSIDE !!!

You can have the hottest looking casing but if you are using a socket 478 P4 with 1Gb RAM, 20Gb HDD, what can you run?

Samsung is using a slightly tweaked casing with the current generation of internals, so that's the difference.

So what if it looks like an S3? I use my PC casing over 3 generations of motherboard/CPU.

I just shake my head when people keep saying they're completely turned off just because it doesn't look different enough or sexy enough, or metallic enough or whatever external appearance enough.... as if the casing is going to give you a better user experience?

If you had a HOT HOT GF who is a complete airhead .... how's the user experience? Only nice to see. Let's see how fast you get bored.

Read the X Z thread for posts since yesterday. There's already dissatisfaction after just 1 or 2 weeks of ownership despite the supposedly "sexy" design over poor Samsung's "horrible designers" whistling.gif
what a nice example. laugh.gif
Just like AE86... old outlook... but the specs are great smile.gif

Xperia Z... human difficult to get 100% satisfaction lolx… ...

QUOTE(kfthoo @ Mar 12 2013, 09:04 PM)
My company gave out few ipon 5 and note 2 during annual dinner last Saturday. ..both of these are hot item nowadays. ..
wah … I wonder how was their reaction those iphone lover hates Note 2, but dunno is lucky or bad luck if they won Note 2 hahaha

Anyway, i know some of u are gadget maniac, which homemade UI is better? HTC Sense, Touchwiz, or Sony or others?
kevintth
post Mar 13 2013, 12:24 PM

1,618 posts

tot31 last seen was on 27th February 2013 - 10:07 AM...

Maybe not yet back to Msia bah ... i guess
kevintth
post Mar 13 2013, 07:45 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 13 2013, 05:09 PM)

yet, s4 got 2 different CPU depending region ??
I just want international version (exynos) !!

http://pocketnow.com/2013/03/13/samsung-ga..._medium=twitter
wah... s4 really keng hoh...
how much Samsung spent on this marketing event? big billboard everywhere in NY, now this, and teasers... i remember S3 dont have these kinds of thing before the launching event last year.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 13 2013, 07:40 PM)
Yea I agreed I have mastered the the stylus i go to seminar and  event I use stylus to write down all the speaker wrote and speak

rumour says iphone 5s will feature a stylus also.. if it comes true.. .it may affect the Note series sale...
kevintth
post Mar 13 2013, 10:44 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Mar 13 2013, 07:59 PM)
And when it does, it will be biggest joke for Apple as Steve Jobs once said " “Who wants a stylus? You have to get them and put them away, you lose them, yuck! Nobody wants a stylus.”  and recently , the Apple patent a stylus

Also , anyone here remember the windows mobile days ? O2 mini , TYTN II , etc ? Remember how hard was it using a stylus on it ? Or Sony Ericsson with it's P series Symbian based phones . Unless Apple can increase their screen size , I dont c users want a stylus on a 4" ....... Oh wait , it's Apple ,  4.5" screen maybe
sigh... stylus also want to apply patent... doh.gif Why Apple so kia su 1 ... wink.gif
kevintth
post Mar 14 2013, 12:19 PM

1,618 posts

Guys check it out... HTC One vs Note II camera shootout
Looks like HTC One camera looks nicer not that grainny… but colour of the object a bit wash out
I wonder why Note 2 camera not as good as S III though...

Note 2 better than Xperia Z in low light lolx... laugh.gif

but... this s3 looks better... note 2 doh.gif

source: http://www.technobuffalo.com/2013/03/12/ht...#post-section-6
kevintth
post Mar 14 2013, 05:31 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 14 2013, 04:26 PM)
btw LG troll Samsung using its optimus G at times square
I don't know what to say, at least use optimus g pro sweat.gif

http://www.engadget.com/2013/03/14/lg-trol...-optimus-g-4-a/
the lawsuit is otw now haha...

LG copies samsung phone and design, now... even more.. the ads ! n trolls samsung pula... doh.gif
from this pic... it is so obvious the big brand name LG can attract more ppl to see the ads instead of S IV lolx...

kevintth
post Mar 15 2013, 09:44 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 15 2013, 08:31 AM)

Just read the s4 thread.....so it's just faster n bigger than s3 with sw tweaks. I don't expect more than that so I'm not disappointed but for all those who expect thenextsupersexydesign were. laugh.gif

Note 2 ftw over everything else. All we need is an upgrade to 1080p and another half inch to pwn the next 3 generations of phones. brows.gif
Already predicted. Nothing much Samsung can innovate or invent... not like Apple... hahaha

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 15 2013, 08:58 AM)
Like i kept saying, wtf do u expect for a technology product? Faster,bigger,maybe better.....design doesn't really matter except when it gets too weird ass like that sharkfin shaped Ericsson or the lipstick shaped Nokia that it impacts its usability. Crapple is the one largely responsible for making the masses expect tech to look sexy.
Design nice or not is very subjective lor... Apple and Samsung is simple and "elegance".... I bet note 3 will have the same design lolx... Since S4 share the same look as note 2 but hope note 3 got no home and capacitive screen button... u know.. sometime when using s-pen want to tap "back" or "menu" button,... have to use finger

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 15 2013, 09:00 AM)
i wonder why is everyone complaining that GS4 and GS3 looks similar

when apple released 3G and 3GS, 4 and 4S it is even more similar, heck even down to the mm. that is even worse and lazy engineering. they just upped the proc and sometimes not even the memory, what crazy stuff is that

S4 let's you pause your movie without you knowing it. S4 has NFC and wireless charging for god's sake. S4 has a 441 ppi screen and the first non-nexus phone shipping with 4.2.2 (heck, even some nexus 4 phones is shipping wiht 4.2.1!)

blogs are saying that they are adding a bunch of useless features. well, siri is useless, so is facetime, so is 95% of the apps on both app stores! S4 has a pedometer built in for god's sake, that's like ipod nano in the iphone, which apple will call the invention fit for god himself/herself. what a load of crap.

samsung, from a 19% market share 2011, topped 30+% 2012 thanks to the success of the wildly successful S3. now they upped every single crap on that phone! its thinner, lighter, better FULL FREAKING HD screen (that's more than my TV), LTE, octa core, if this were an apple, those dumb apple-esq blogs (gizmodo / engadget) will be dripping saliva out of their nostrils and then line up since last month to buy the phone available next month.

this is absurd. S4 is revolutionary and rightly so. in what sense does any freaking iphone beat this? heck, htc one might be "way faster" as noted by engadget's blog but htc usually launches 1 phone then leave it to die without upgrades / accessories / terrible marketing / aluminium dents when u drop-em. in s4, if you crack the rear case, u go lyn and buy one for RM80

ok rant over. whoever says otherwise will never get to see a picture of my hot boss

additional rant which will make those apple fans say its useless but secretly want them. like how girls say they hate me but secretly want me so badly (during my uni years, not now) :

S Translator: translates nine different languages in real-time – both text to speech andspeech to text.
S Voice Drive: Control your phone with your voice while in the car – it can even read SMS messages and the like back to you.
S Travel
S Health: With accompanying accessories – S Band, Body Scale, and Heart Rate Monitor – the GS4 will help you get healthy. Given that you actually use the stuff, of course.
Air Call accept: simply wave your hand over the screen to answer a call. Neato.
Group Play: not as dirty as it sounds, this lets users share music, photos, documents, and games with devices around without the need for Wi-Fi or even a cellular AP. It's magic.
Share Music: Plays the same song on multiple devices in real-time.
sauce tiram oystersos
Last time Sammy fanboy laugh ifans.. .ip5 is just the same old design.. .just extend longer haha... now they can "laugh back" already la... design is really subjective la... many of em like nicer design but lousy specs haha... just tell them lor like a hot and sexy lady (out) but her heart very cruel, brutal, and garang (specs).. u want ar? hahaha

If notice closely, the s4 screen corner is slightly curve not a sharp corner like on s3 or note 2...somemore they bring back the infrared port ... and most of those features pack in S4 is just a software tweak in 4.2.2... dunno when they release for Note 2... and what is S-School?

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 15 2013, 09:06 AM)
The thing is, people are disappointed with S4. BUT no one is comparing with iphone, i mean who cares about them. tongue.gif

But seriously S4 itself is disappointing in terms of new things compared to previous phone releases from Samsung. S2 was superb. Note series was a different class of its own. S3 was not so good (didn't even make me look twice). S4 is just another letdown.

Can i still see a pic of your hot boss?  brows.gif
Disappointing? then should blame Samsung... It was Samsung itself done lot of works to get the hype so we of course expect something surprise from S4... who knows it turns out like that... mini note 2 with better specs doh.gif

kevintth
post Mar 15 2013, 10:09 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 15 2013, 10:06 AM)
wait and see the hand on ourself 1st
normally I skip it, since design wise just bigger s3 (smaller note 2)

software wise, most of the feature s3 and note 2 will get
we.. gave too much pressure to Samsung already haha... S3 just released 10 months, ago.. .the life of S3 is so short now S4... hmm.gif of course not much time to think of ideas to put in s4 .. wait Note 3... maybe got something surprise just like things got for note 2 first then come for S3 laugh.gif
kevintth
post Mar 15 2013, 10:26 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 15 2013, 10:11 AM)
yeah quite short, but they release in market in end of April (let it be May)
shorter 1 month cry.gif
1 things I hate s4, the speaker at behind is a bottom left instead beside camera just like what they do on s3
like this my finger will cover it 1 ==
i like the speaker on the side of the phone not at the back... when the phone put on flat surface.... already cover the speaker when phone ring or listen ... the sound not clear from the back speaker... sad.gif

btw... this S4 side profile really nice metallic trim

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 15 2013, 10:17 AM)
and s3 (bigger version) + IR blaster whistling.gif
no... is mini Note 2 laugh.gif

see u cant differentiate is note 2 or s4

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 15 2013, 10:21 AM)
I don't  think we'll get any real surprise for note 3 since they innovated on the stylus already. We shd expect it like Intel's tick-tock iterative improvements until something revolutionary happens,probably  foldable screen.

Fhd screen,faster cpu and larger battery,perhaps up to 6.3". Next revolution is 64bit ARM with higher addressable memory for 4gb/8gb ram. Then u can kiss yr notebook goodbye for most uses. See post 4 3rd para or something I have a link to an article about your phone being a computer.
dont forget apple will invent most useful the stylus to kick the samsung ass again laugh.gif
kevintth
post Mar 15 2013, 10:37 AM

1,618 posts

hahahahhahaa... sometimes reading other ppl comment is quite enjoyable laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif die laughing lolx..

kevintth
post Mar 15 2013, 11:41 AM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 15 2013, 10:57 AM)
They forgot to comment - can you take a sauna bath in a pot of hot steaming soup ?
There was this video ( quite dumb I'd say ) of xperia z in a pot of hot boiling soup with spices and all sorts of vegetables thrown in and of course the xperia z survives. The lengths some dumb guys will go to just proof his point. There was even a video this guy pisses on his xperia z to proof its waterproofing but queries whether he really piss as cannot see his little brother in the video
erm... there was someone posted before about torturing note 2 in microwave and fridge too .. it survive as well biggrin.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 15 2013, 11:14 AM)
Its funny for different os. Same os not funny.

Xperia z can troll can put in water

Htc one can say build quality, speaker,camera and interface
i say funny... is how the person replied to the one list down everything S4 can do others cant la lolx... "Are you fish, sorry it just came "? laugh.gif
kevintth
post Mar 15 2013, 03:36 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 15 2013, 03:26 PM)
As expected. They took all Note 2 feature and gave to S3, S2 and N1 as well.  tongue.gif
haha it is just the matter of the time when they release for Note 2

0.0542sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:21 PM