Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V19, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMB4

ay@m
post Mar 16 2013, 11:26 PM

248 posts

dear users...

anyone here tried to disassemble the note2 casing on your own? I am referring to the middle or some ppl refer to as rear housing where the whole chrome bezel piece... from the video..looks like it is not too hard to remove with only the need to remove the screws and slowly peel or push out the rear housing...

but just want to confirm from other users here as well...
some scratches on my chrome bezel and plan to replace it by DIY...

thanks!
ay@m
post Mar 17 2013, 09:47 AM

248 posts

SME refers to Samsung original?

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 16 2013, 11:52 PM)
If you do so, you will probably be the first Malaysian DIY dude doing it. AFAIK, most Malaysians do not want to bother with DIY since labour is fundamentally cheaper compared to developed nations.

I recommend that you go ahead and post pics for us.

You will need the small torx screwdrivers which can be obtained at Pasar Road. I disassembled and reassembled my Nokia N8 and N82 before, it's not too difficult.

Of course I would suggest this only if you have an AP set. If SME, might as well pay 150 for bezel replacement.

And bro, get a nice casing with full bezel cover please.

Last Edit: If you don't mind trial and error, I can also try doing it for you if you give me the parts. I give no warranty of course, and, like any good Open Sourcer, I will say : "If it breaks, you get to keep both parts"  icon_rolleyes.gif
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 09:53 AM

248 posts

if you want good bassy portable speaker, use one hand also can carry...

then Jawbone Jambox...i'm using it now and paired with my Note2...it is my portable sound system all over my house....moving it around whereever i go...

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 17 2013, 11:46 PM)
Hey I was just wondering does anyone here uses the external speakers for the note 2?
I mean portable speakers??
Any recommendation for good bassy portable speakers??
tongue.gif
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 01:54 PM

248 posts

1. I bought the replacement part from ebay and now shipping on the way. however, my unit is about 3 mths plus old and I am considering just waiting until year end to do my DIY. It's just a small ding and scratch but since it's quite new, i felt gatal to change and let it look 100% like new...

2. Called samsung and was told to go to service centre and get quoted on the replacement. I heard from you it's RM150?

i tried youtube on the disassemble process, and the back casing, looks like pretty much DIY capable...if i'm taking my own time and patient enough. I open up my note2, i saw the warranty sticker covering one of the screw hole...so i guess i'm not doing anything yet for the time being...

thanks for your video, it helps.

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 18 2013, 09:57 AM)
How did yr bezel replacement go?
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 01:55 PM

248 posts

typically how long before the SD card starts to give problem?
mine about 3 mths plus usage and no issue so far...

QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 18 2013, 12:33 PM)
After reading those failed sd card. Been backup like crazy 1 week 3 times to my mac lol. Hopefully this thing doesnt go crazy
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 02:08 PM

248 posts

hmm...when i bought the jambox, it was easily more than a year ago i think...can't remember exactly when...but back then, beats pill portable speaker not yet available...

the best is to try demo yourself at outlets selling these speakers...i know Harvey Norman do sell Jambox..not sure about Beats portable speaker...

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 18 2013, 01:56 PM)
Hey I checked the jambox already..
It was 199 US dollars..
May I ask whether have you tired the beats pill portable speaker??
Sounds very clean and bassy...
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 02:10 PM

248 posts

the bezel or 'back casing' replacement set cost around RM50 from ebay...

sure...you can add me to the list of owners...

i also bought the blue piece of plastic shown in the video you posted...that's like about USD1 only for 5 pcs of them...haha... the one used to pry open and separate the back casing and the LCD screen...

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 18 2013, 02:01 PM)
Yes the Samsung sticker over one of the screw holes smile.gif so you have an SME set. Want me to add you to the owners' list?

There was this forumer by the user name Emino in one of the very early threads who got it replaced at the SC, and he reported that amount.

The good thing is that most Samsung devices are DIY capable, and that's a very important thing in my opinion. How much did you get the bezel for?
ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 02:11 PM

248 posts

i'll try to update here once i get the so called 'OEM' back casing for note 2...sometimes the quality is lousy but sometimes you really get equally good replacement part from ebay... smile.gif

it's only RM50, so i decided to take a shot at it....

ay@m
post Mar 18 2013, 10:48 PM

248 posts

the only problem is the rear facing speaker...
sometimes when i want to let it lay flat on the table...the sound will be muted/muffled... then sometimes when i am holding the phone and want to watch video...usually i use my hand and form a cup shape to bounce the sound from the speaker...it does sound louder when i do this! try it to believe it! hehe...

overall, not really that satisfactory for me...but still OK la... for non fussy user...it will be no problem at all...

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 18 2013, 09:48 PM)
What do you all think about Note 2's speakers?
For me they are quite clear, never break up at low volumes..
But I don't know why the speakers lack the depth, it's just flat.
But I don't blame Samsung, I think even the best smartphones speakers which is the Nokia 5800 has bass but still lack the depth..
sad.gif
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 05:12 PM

248 posts

for anyone wishing to change the rear housing or back housing due to scratches or some damage...i went to check with samsung service centre and was quoted RM168...so it's more or less the same as what Joytest mentioned before about RM150....

smile.gif do protect your precioussss note 2 carefully... like me, just a minor scratch i already cannot stand looking at my baby with some scratches... so i'll change next week...need to send in the morning and should be able to get it in the afternoon itself...

ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 06:07 PM

248 posts

Not battery cover... the chrome part around the phone...
The battery cover is attached to the back housing...

QUOTE(lkoky @ Mar 23 2013, 05:32 PM)
Actually WHR is the scratch? U meant the battery cover?
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 06:09 PM

248 posts

Speaking of which, how do we protect our info if we send to service centre?

Is it sufficient to use screen lock password? smile.gif
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 08:59 PM

248 posts

yaya...bezel, spot on!

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 23 2013, 08:44 PM)
It's called the "bezel"
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 09:01 PM

248 posts

well, if the phone over a year, i don't care already... like my old iphones...all scratches and dents, i don't care also and give to my family members to use adee after upgrade..
hehe...

my note 2 about 3 months old, still very sayang the phone...

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Mar 23 2013, 08:54 PM)
i don't mind the scratches, even the small dent on my corner bezel doesn't annoy me as much as the gap i have between the bezel and the screen that accumulates dust!! i can fit multple papers in the gap and it's annoying me endlessly!! ;(

If Samsung service centre could fix it within the same day i would, but they told me it'll take a few working days...
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 10:27 PM

248 posts

anyone here bother about the over saturated color for note 2? i actually loved it but to some of my photography friends...they think the color reproduction of amoled screen is not correct...

haha...but i still love the so called oversaturated colors of note 2....

just wondering since this is about colors, are we able to tweak and change the color settings? i tried and i think there's just a few pre-set option available for note 2....

no manual setting available right? thanks
ay@m
post Mar 23 2013, 10:30 PM

248 posts

weird...my case is i'm using non flip...and got some exposed part on the top and bottom of the bezel...that's why kena scratches...

QUOTE(cocooh @ Mar 23 2013, 10:25 PM)
flip  sweat.gif  the weird thing is, the covered part of the bezel is scratched instead of the exposed
ay@m
post Mar 26 2013, 12:13 AM

248 posts

guys, wanna ask here, is it possible that if we send our phone to SME service centre, what is the likelihood that our personal data/info might be hacked?

if i use the screen lock, is that secure enough?

thanks!

0.0505sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:34 AM