Sound Dampening., Share what you use.

TSwildwestgoh
post Mar 8 2013, 04:18 PM, updated 13y ago

2,215 posts

I wonder how many of you would actually use sound dampening material to lower the overall noise coming from the casing?

I have a casing of which all the fans already at their minimal spindle speed but still generate noise when the environment is quiet, well it's at my bed room and only couple of meters away from my bed so it could get annoying if I turn off my desk fan (yes, my desk fan actually louder) when the weather getting cold.

I was thinking of purchasing those acoustic foam but it's quite expensive.

Anyone using other material? Cheap and practical, I'm a serious cheap-stake tongue.gif
Will polyfoam works the same? I kinda have plenty of them around, even the compressed one hmm.gif

Thank you all... notworthy.gif

Oh, you can discuss here as well. wink.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Mar 8 2013, 04:19 PM
kherel77
post Mar 8 2013, 04:41 PM

Noobie
1,435 posts

Polyfoam won't work as it not absorb the sound well. But still worth to try as it's free.. tongue.gif
Try ask from car accessories shop for sound dampening mat. Pick most thinner (1/4 - 1/2 inch). Maybe can got more cheaper compare from computer shop.

To minimized fan humming sound, do not obstruct airflow with thick filter or smaller fan grill holes. Better if direct opening. Put rubber washer for each screw. That how I do... biggrin.gif
@meno
post Mar 10 2013, 12:30 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

Not sure if there are new products on the market, but back then we used to use these:
http://www.dansdata.com/foam.htm
JakeGFX
post Mar 10 2013, 12:49 AM

660 posts

for me, I just use soft foam to prevent any vibration.

0.0143sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:17 AM