Apr 5 2006, 09:12 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,952 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sector 1921B, Delta Quadrant |
Apple betrayed me once again.... |
Apr 5 2006, 09:18 PM
951 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Penang |
erm... wads really goin on with apple?? merger with microsoft???
then becos OS Ms? |
Apr 5 2006, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(geejun2 @ Apr 5 2006, 09:18 PM) i had wished i hadn't wished it two years ago.... sometimes wishes do come true, in an eerie way... Apple is getting cheaper and cheaper by the day.... This post has been edited by Eithanius: Apr 5 2006, 09:24 PM |
Apr 5 2006, 09:27 PM
1,754 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Balham, London |
It's about damn time I say...
Apr 5 2006, 09:28 PM
951 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Penang |
u mean u wish for tht befoer?!?!?!
OMG>... erm.. cheaper by the day..?? DUN THINK SO... kekekek |
Apr 5 2006, 09:38 PM
996 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
OMG.. really cham lah.. but Apple will earn more i think.. so they do this is becos of people who use apple can use windows also..
Apple really betrayed all of Mac user and it will be come together with Leopard.. |
Apr 5 2006, 09:52 PM
1,119 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
This is a good thing. It'll help more and more Windows users to make the switch over to a Mac.
Apr 5 2006, 09:57 PM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
money is the biggest deal...they wont care the tradition..as long they can make more money, sure they will integrate it..
Apr 5 2006, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(fly @ Apr 5 2006, 09:52 PM) and this means it will make OSX more and more of a target for security concerns just like Windows now, no matter how invulnerable OSX appears to be...PS: and if you guys think i'm being paranoia, go ahead and shoot, but make sure you shoot your ownself first.... QUOTE(howiechoo @ Apr 5 2006, 09:57 PM) money is the biggest deal...they wont care the tradition..as long they can make more money, sure they will integrate it.. that's why I've said Apple is getting cheaper and cheaper.... sooner or later it will just be another Micro$oft.... |
Apr 5 2006, 10:14 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think it is good news. More flexible and do not need to keep 2 PCs.
Apr 5 2006, 10:33 PM
232 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Apr 5 2006, 10:40 PM
1,119 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 5 2006, 10:03 PM) and this means it will make OSX more and more of a target for security concerns just like Windows now, no matter how invulnerable OSX appears to be... OSX already is a target right now with or without Windows users and I still think that OSX is an inherently more secure that WinXP will ever hope to be because of it's FreeBSD lineage. All the supposed OSX vunerabilities so far have been pretty tame affairs.PS: and if you guys think i'm being paranoia, go ahead and shoot, but make sure you shoot your ownself first.... that's why I've said Apple is getting cheaper and cheaper.... sooner or later it will just be another Micro$oft.... |
Apr 6 2006, 12:19 AM
1,121 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: random! |
with boot camp, there will be more and more switchers. maybe soon we will see a bunch of sleek imacs instead of boring old beige (or in dell's case, grey) PCs.
people are afraid to jump on the mac bandwagon because they are afraid of compatibily. now that windows can run natively, apple will definitely make more money! although hardcore mac fans will not like this though. |
Apr 6 2006, 02:54 AM
251 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Good move Apple!
Apr 6 2006, 03:10 AM
9,511 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
yup.. this is a nice evolution.. more convenient for us.. can experience both side at lower cost
Apr 6 2006, 07:17 AM
1,754 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Balham, London |
Here's a tiny bit of trivia for all you mac fanatics out there:
"The PC wars are over, Done" says Steve Jobs. "Microsoft won a long time ago." - quoted from Fortune magazine in 1996. Sourced from this article = http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/04/05/ap...ndows_timeline/ |
Apr 6 2006, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Apr 6 2006, 10:17 AM) Here's a tiny bit of trivia for all you mac fanatics out there: While we're at citing old meaningless quotes, here's a good one:"The PC wars are over, Done" says Steve Jobs. "Microsoft won a long time ago." - quoted from Fortune magazine in 1996. Sourced from this article = http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/04/05/ap...ndows_timeline/ "The desktop computer industry is dead. Innovation has virtually ceased. Microsoft dominates with very little innovation. That's over. Apple lost. The desktop market has entered the dark ages, and it's going to be in the dark ages for the next 10 years, or certainly for the rest of this decade." - Wired magazine, February 1996. And then OS X was released in the following decade (2001), SPOT ON! |
Apr 6 2006, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Apr 6 2006, 07:17 AM) Here's a tiny bit of trivia for all you mac fanatics out there: oh puhleazzz.....!!! "The PC wars are over, Done" says Steve Jobs. "Microsoft won a long time ago." - quoted from Fortune magazine in 1996. Sourced from this article = http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/04/05/ap...ndows_timeline/ Call me a fanatic if you want, but i'd really have to say this. Mac is like a cult, like one's religion. Devouts get angry when their religion is desecrated, hardcore mac-fans get dishonoured (if you will) when their cult is oppressed, in this case - Apple's abandoning innovation in favour of dominion. |
Apr 6 2006, 11:28 AM
Dude you need to calm down, Apple making life easier for some people to install Windows on their Macs doesn't mean they're gonna produce cheap quality Macs in the future. They know what they're doing.
Anyway, I like how Apple lets you install Windows on its machines and openly mocks it at the same time. QUOTE EFI and BIOS Niceeeeee.Macs use an ultra-modern industry standard technology called EFI to handle booting. Sadly, Windows XP, and even the upcoming Vista, are stuck in the 1980s with old-fashioned BIOS. But with Boot Camp, the Mac can operate smoothly in both centuries. Word to the Wise Windows running on a Mac is like Windows running on a PC. That means it'll be subject to the same attacks that plague the Windows world. So be sure to keep it updated with the latest Microsoft Windows security fixes. |
Apr 6 2006, 11:32 AM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
hohoho... now i love my G3 & G4 more... long live PPC.
Apr 6 2006, 11:41 AM
Apr 6 2006, 11:47 AM
wait for another 20 years when Apple decide to switch again
Apr 6 2006, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 6 2006, 02:41 PM) Just so you know, Gear Live put the new MacBook Pro (2GHz Intel Core Duo with 1GB of RAM) head-to-head against a Dual G5 PowerMac (2GHz G5 with 4.5GB of RAM) to see which computer would come out on top in a Java compiling test, and the MacBook Pro wins (Result: 32 seconds vs 50 seconds).But obviously you don't care. Have fun with your G5. |
Apr 6 2006, 12:50 PM
97 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
"Shares of Apple Computer soared nearly 10 percent on Wednesday to close at $67.21 after the company announced a piece of software that will enable users of its new Intel Mac systems to run operating systems from rival Microsoft Corp.."
http://www.appleinsider.com/article.php?id=1654 This post has been edited by hazx_one: Apr 6 2006, 12:50 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 12:50 PM
I installed into my apple.. it really can run.. nice..
![]() ![]() planning to do some games test to it... |
Apr 6 2006, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(aaronchin @ Apr 6 2006, 12:06 PM) Just so you know, Gear Live put the new MacBook Pro (2GHz Intel Core Duo with 1GB of RAM) head-to-head against a Dual G5 PowerMac (2GHz G5 with 4.5GB of RAM) to see which computer would come out on top in a Java compiling test, and the MacBook Pro wins (Result: 32 seconds vs 50 seconds). it doesn't matter which is top and which is not.... owning a mac is not about speed.... and you've just failed to see it.... so i don't need you to lecture me what's good and what's bad.... But obviously you don't care. Have fun with your G5. |
Apr 6 2006, 01:08 PM
No no no, to you owning a Mac isn't about speed, don't speak for the rest of the Mac users in the world.
By the way, wasn't lecturing you tiger. Chill. This post has been edited by aaronchin: Apr 6 2006, 01:12 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 01:50 PM
i think old time mac user will gonna be pissed off or already accepted the truth as stevie announced the intel switch. their goal is to get more ppl to join in, those that waiting outside the door. Now u have no more excuse not to get a mac
Apr 6 2006, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Apr 6 2006, 01:50 PM) i think old time mac user will gonna be pissed off or already accepted the truth as stevie announced the intel switch. their goal is to get more ppl to join in, those that waiting outside the door. Now u have no more excuse not to get a mac i guess you can say, no more excuses to get infected with a virus.... QUOTE(aaronchin @ Apr 6 2006, 01:08 PM) No no no, to you owning a Mac isn't about speed, don't speak for the rest of the Mac users in the world. if speed is all you want, then go back to PC.... why the hell you need a mac for...? By the way, wasn't lecturing you tiger. Chill. This post has been edited by Eithanius: Apr 6 2006, 01:56 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 03:06 PM
More...
I installed Warcraft III, wow.. it pretty fast then the speed when i playing using Mac OS X.. This post has been edited by siawgu: Apr 6 2006, 03:07 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 03:30 PM
siawgu, is that a legit copy of WinXP....? lolx...
EDITED: btw, try crashing it and be the first to report a BSOD on a Mac.... This post has been edited by Eithanius: Apr 6 2006, 04:46 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 6 2006, 03:30 PM) siawgu, is that a legit copy of WinXP....? lolx... is original copy of winXP.. office one.. just try it..EDITED: btw, try crashing it and be the first to report a BSOD on a Mac.... btw.. Mac not responsible for Windows.. heheh. maybe if got time, i try to make it BSOD.. wd the easier way to make it BSOD ?? ehehe |
Apr 6 2006, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(siawgu @ Apr 6 2006, 04:52 PM) is original copy of winXP.. office one.. just try it.. easier way...? i don't know.... from my past experience, unplugging a live-USB peripheral is enough to cause just that, but that was on my el-crappo junk.... btw.. Mac not responsible for Windows.. heheh. maybe if got time, i try to make it BSOD.. wd the easier way to make it BSOD ?? ehehe This post has been edited by Eithanius: Apr 6 2006, 04:55 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 06:23 PM
19,042 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Soleanna |
Apr 6 2006, 06:30 PM
Apr 6 2006, 06:37 PM
16,825 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Siberia |
Will this be good for developer? Think about Photoshop. Adobe only needs to make a Windows version and when people b**** about no Apple version, Adobe will say "Oh - just boot into Windows and use Photoshop."
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 6 2006, 03:30 PM) siawgu, is that a legit copy of WinXP....? lolx... heheEDITED: btw, try crashing it and be the first to report a BSOD on a Mac.... http://www.eng.bu.edu/~anc/macosx_bluescreen/blue2.jpg (really big image) |
Apr 6 2006, 08:21 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
nope... Adobe is already committed to making Adobe CS 3, which will run Universal (meaning it will run native on both PowerPC and Intel chips.)
Apr 6 2006, 08:23 PM
Apr 6 2006, 08:37 PM
whoops
Apr 6 2006, 08:39 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
OMG , now gonna save up money for an iBook
Apr 6 2006, 08:41 PM
Benchmarked ..
3DMark2001SE Score : 4982 http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8942870 3DMark03 Score : 1440 actually i got BSOD when i want to down shut my cmputer ..lol.. HIDClass.sys Error This post has been edited by siawgu: Apr 6 2006, 09:12 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 09:18 PM
16,825 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Siberia |
3d mark 2006 scores on the macbook pro core duo 2ghz:
1518 marks. athlon xp 2800+ with an x800 got: 1558 marks athlon xp 3500+ with a geforce 7800gt: 3334 marks. http://www.mactechnews.de/index.php?function=2&id=145 very promising.. This post has been edited by fariz: Apr 6 2006, 09:21 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 09:24 PM
194 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Cyberjaya & Hokkaido |
ermm.. do you guys think that we can run Vista in mac using Boot Camp??? just wanna know...
This post has been edited by joehan: Apr 6 2006, 09:25 PM |
Apr 6 2006, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(joehan @ Apr 6 2006, 09:24 PM) ermm.. do you guys think that we can run Vista in mac using Boot Camp??? just wanna know... apparently Apple released a firmware update around the same time as Boot Camp to all Intel-based Macs to enable BIOS support on EFI.... since Vista continues it's legacy under BIOS, yes it's possible.... |
Apr 6 2006, 10:39 PM
ooo..thanx Eithanius for the information...
Apr 7 2006, 07:21 AM
1,896 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
Somebody go bulk MacBook Pro
This post has been edited by Futura: Apr 7 2006, 07:21 AM |
Apr 7 2006, 09:52 AM
22 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Cyberjaya |
no need for hacker to hack Apple machines anymore. Apple guy themselves hacked them first (successfully).
Apr 7 2006, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(joehan @ Apr 6 2006, 10:39 PM) don't gets your hopes up just yet....Currently, I've got a source to claim that Vista can be installed without problem, but cannot run... http://blogs.zdnet.com/Orchant/?p=64 |
Apr 7 2006, 01:29 PM
here more facts:
- Boot Camp can load Vista. Or at least the Vista installer. Marc Orchant at ZDNet is one of those using a borrowed MacBookPro, and he was able to load the Vista installer with no problem. Alas, his lender insisted on doing a full backup before allowing Orchant to go any further, so we have yet to see whether a full Vista install is possible -- though we remain optimistic. - Boot Camp can load Linux. Or at least a Linux installer. Torifile at applenova.com also got cold feet, and aborted an Ubuntu install after confirming that the setup loaded and was able to recognize a keyboard and other hardware. - International editions of Windows will work with Boot Camp. This should come as no surprise, but with a beta product that's designed to do something that isn't supposed to work, you never know. But the PC Watch team in Japan wasted no time and installed the Japanese version of XP Pro without a hitch. - Boot Camp can load Windows XP Media Center Edition. Now the Mac mini really is a media PC! - Third parties are already filling in some of the gaps. With a basic Boot Camp setup, you can't access your Mac OS X partition from your Windows XP partition. However, MediaFour's MacDrive software solves that problem. Now you can boot into Windows and read and write to your Mac partition, which could allow you to have common settings files for some cross-platform apps. Whether or not it will also allow you to share your iTunes library between partitions remains to be seen. - You can boot from external drives, even though Boot Camp's installer won't allow you to set it up. Actually, that may not be true. However, you can create external boot disks using narf and blanka's boot manager (see, there's still a use for it!). And we're pretty confident that someone will find a way to do so within Boot Camp as well very quickly. my next mac will be Mac Mini loaded with media center This post has been edited by wei: Apr 7 2006, 01:32 PM |
Apr 7 2006, 01:41 PM
1,978 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: winter brings the spring again |
i bet u this set will cost 500 ringgit
hmmm,might wanna try it,if it arrives in KL |
Apr 7 2006, 01:43 PM
1,978 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: winter brings the spring again |
ARGH
only for Intel MACS!! this cant be looks like i'll have to be getting anew windows rig then i Love my G5 |
Apr 7 2006, 02:14 PM
ah sc*** apple..changing this and that
No more new mac products for me I think I would rather join the dark side..get a clone and run OSX86..[which is against all odds..but] |
Apr 7 2006, 02:56 PM
Apr 7 2006, 03:17 PM
well, atlease not my gang.
Apr 8 2006, 07:29 AM
307 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang, Malaysia |
Personally I have tried it myself, and it is great (althought I hate it).
Few pros: 1) Doesn't destroy your current partition. Not like last time, where those methods which need you to bless the xom.efi file. If you don't it wrongly(my first time), I have to format all and do it all over again. This is just amazing, easy and fast. 2)Drivers built for you. Finding driver in my last Mac+XP is just bad. Well now, most of the driver is built for you, and the most important thing is, video driver!! I feel so happy. 3) Windows does shines. Damn hell, windows is running smoothly in this machine. I just can't believe it. The performance is so so unbelieveable. A RM5000 custom PC plus a 17 LCD can't match the performance, and yet you can get to run 2 OS in one!!!. Few Cons: 1) Some hardware still can't be use. If I'm right, no remote (for sure), no iSight (not sure). 2) It's running Windows!!! Don't you think it feel wired, Windows on Mac? Although it is real GREAT, yet, it has lost the meaning of Apple-Mac. I just hate it. 3) SP2 and above ONLY. If I'm I get this right, Boot Camp just allow WinXP SP2 and version above only. Other than that, no way. (Sad, I have SP1 original). Conclusion: Until here, that's what I can say. Please share your experience here. I'm glad that all Mac users gather and share. This post has been edited by Jaffar: Apr 8 2006, 07:31 AM |
Apr 8 2006, 07:38 AM
436 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
hope this is not a repeat. lets say that i have both winxp and mac osx installed using bootcamp. what happens if the winxp os gets infected with a virus? will that have any consequences to the mac partition? will the whole hd get infected?
This post has been edited by hellfried: Apr 8 2006, 07:40 AM |
Apr 8 2006, 08:39 AM
28 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
- deleted -
This post has been edited by ButterCupS: Apr 8 2006, 08:39 AM |
Apr 8 2006, 08:39 AM
nope.. only windows partition got infected.. cos Windows kenot read HFS Drive.
Apr 8 2006, 08:44 AM
hehehe... yes if u have Macdrive installed.
Apr 8 2006, 10:06 AM
Apr 8 2006, 10:18 AM
575 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: 1 Infinite Loop, Cupertino |
I'm no virus expert, but AFAIK the damage a virus could cause varies widely so I wouldn't be surprised to see the Windows partition being attacked and affects the entire system, say to the EFI or (some kinda) damage to the HDD, that's destructive enough.
On the other hand, like some pointed out, it really got me wonder what are the incentives left to the developers to port their softwares to Mac environment from now on, seeing that asking the users to install Windows on Mac is hell lot easier than porting software across the platform. |
Apr 8 2006, 10:53 AM
btw.. i redo my computer back to Mac OS X.. haha
what for use Windows XP in Apple Mac? |
Apr 8 2006, 11:11 AM
19,042 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Soleanna |
Apr 8 2006, 12:03 PM
Apr 8 2006, 05:53 PM
Good one! But it didn't say if the viruses like the new neighbour or not, did it?
Apr 8 2006, 06:09 PM
4,662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
QUOTE(siawgu @ Apr 8 2006, 10:53 AM) a lot of apps dont seem to run on mac. especially games.*whistles* QUOTE(hellfried @ Apr 8 2006, 07:38 AM) hope this is not a repeat. lets say that i have both winxp and mac osx installed using bootcamp. what happens if the winxp os gets infected with a virus? will that have any consequences to the mac partition? will the whole hd get infected? no. because OSX instructions and winnt instructions are diffrent. notice how OSX is in capital and winnt is is in smallcase I wish I could use bootcamp, but OSX is on the other partition lalala This post has been edited by Joey-kun: Apr 8 2006, 06:15 PM |
Apr 8 2006, 06:12 PM
Yawn....I still love OSX
I still love playing KoTor on my mac...w00t , i!!!! |
Apr 8 2006, 06:24 PM
Apr 8 2006, 06:29 PM
1,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sungai Petani |
woahahahaahahaa i think gonna buy mac soon....
Apr 8 2006, 06:34 PM
1,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sungai Petani |
i wonder how windows work with single mouse button
Apr 8 2006, 07:41 PM
1,852 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 8 2006, 07:42 PM
it doesn't. the single click becomes very irritating... on the other hand, all intel based iMac comes with Mighty Mouse (2 button). MacBook Pro and intel Mac Mini... get your own 2 button mouse la
Apr 8 2006, 10:20 PM
415 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
just curious... can ms visual studio 2005 be installed onto boot camp?
if the OS can i dun see why cant... really wanna try vs2005 on the mac... |
Apr 9 2006, 10:08 AM
Of course , Half-Life 2 runs on Mac....Lol , S2 2005..it will work
Apr 9 2006, 02:44 PM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: PJ, Malaysia |
QUOTE(siawgu @ Apr 6 2006, 12:50 PM) Hey Siawgu,I noticed that you also had problems detecting the a "PCI device" on your Mac mini. I assume that you've also got a problem with audio? I've installed a friend's hacked copy of Windows XP SP2 on a Core Duo 1.66MHz Mac mini, which works fine except that the sound card wasn't detected by the operating system (Hence, the "Unknown Device" under the System Hardware Profile panel). I just curious to know if you've really got a legit, non-OEM retail copy of Windows XP SP2 installed coz nobody else seems to have this problem. -Chris |
Apr 9 2006, 04:16 PM
2,442 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: pJ |
why is this a bad thing for apple?
more windows users will want to get a mac now, because they do not need to worry if they do not like apple's OS. if apple's OS is that good, naturally even windows users will start to use apple's OS... ONLY! |
Apr 9 2006, 04:34 PM
1,316 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: (GMT+08:00) Kuala Lumpur |
More reason for me to switch from PC to Mac. Yeah. I'm going to buy myself Intel Mac Mini as my next upgrade. I use it as media center, workstation etcetc. If I want to play games, I just buy myself a consoles like PS3 or Nintendo. Price doesn't matter to me.
This post has been edited by APIITian: Apr 9 2006, 04:41 PM |
Apr 9 2006, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(prancingHORSE @ Apr 9 2006, 04:16 PM) why is this a bad thing for apple? i do worry about the future though.... the more macs are produced, the more the quality spirals downhill hardware-wise, and also the more it will grab the attention of virus writers and hackers onto OS X....more windows users will want to get a mac now, because they do not need to worry if they do not like apple's OS. if apple's OS is that good, naturally even windows users will start to use apple's OS... ONLY! |
Apr 10 2006, 06:16 PM
4,662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 9 2006, 04:43 PM) i do worry about the future though.... the more macs are produced, the more the quality spirals downhill hardware-wise, and also the more it will grab the attention of virus writers and hackers onto OS X.... Apple is kind of famous for quality. They will jaga wan lah |
Apr 10 2006, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Apr 10 2006, 06:16 PM) lets hope so....imagine few years back ACPPs are kinda waste of money.... nowadays, I'm getting headaches worrying about my mac without an ACPP.... but as for my mac is concerned, so far so good... 7 months left til first year expires... |
Apr 10 2006, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(chrtien @ Apr 9 2006, 02:44 PM) Hey Siawgu, as i knowI noticed that you also had problems detecting the a "PCI device" on your Mac mini. I assume that you've also got a problem with audio? I've installed a friend's hacked copy of Windows XP SP2 on a Core Duo 1.66MHz Mac mini, which works fine except that the sound card wasn't detected by the operating system (Hence, the "Unknown Device" under the System Hardware Profile panel). I just curious to know if you've really got a legit, non-OEM retail copy of Windows XP SP2 installed coz nobody else seems to have this problem. -Chris PCI device = IrDA Unknown DEvice = ??? i have no problem with the sound card... |
Apr 10 2006, 07:21 PM
715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
what's the real point of buying a mac ... to use windows??
but i like the idea anyway that a mac can use both windows and osX... which is great.... |
Apr 10 2006, 07:52 PM
6,866 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
It's still beta mode...anyway, it's a good thing if we bought MAC pc's. Can switch to Windows anytime.Even can use 2 OS in one PC cool
Apr 11 2006, 03:46 PM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
Any idea on will it supports Vista??
Apr 11 2006, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Apr 11 2006, 03:46 PM) hints from OSx86 Project forum.... http://forum.osx86project.org/index.php?showtopic=14448 |
Apr 11 2006, 09:50 PM
Does anyone know how to change the Windows icon in the bootloader? |
Apr 12 2006, 12:49 AM
2 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: PJ, Malaysia |
Apr 12 2006, 07:17 AM
1,737 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 10 2006, 06:21 PM) lets hope so.... ACPP a waste of money?imagine few years back ACPPs are kinda waste of money.... nowadays, I'm getting headaches worrying about my mac without an ACPP.... but as for my mac is concerned, so far so good... 7 months left til first year expires... I've bought ACPP for my last 3 PowerBooks. In every case it's been money well spent. I've even managed to get a replacement battery for two of them on ACPP.... Desktop macs on the other hand suffer less than portables and are cheaper to repair. Quality issues? You have to have suffered the "Perfoma" line of Macs in order to experience shoddy Mac build and quality. |
Apr 12 2006, 03:33 PM
623 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: somewhere over the rainbow.. |
QUOTE(Eithanius @ Apr 6 2006, 11:15 AM) Call me a fanatic if you want, but i'd really have to say this. Mac is like a cult, like one's religion. Devouts get angry when their religion is desecrated, hardcore mac-fans get dishonoured (if you will) when their cult is oppressed, in this case - Apple's abandoning innovation in favour of dominion. wahahah..but its a good move to "bridge the gap" of both OSes. Though the feeling of exclusiveness might wear off for mac devouts, but on the bright side, we consumers can get the best of both worlds. And perhaps cloned Mac Machines might be available soon at a cheaper price (HOPE!). |
Apr 14 2006, 06:08 PM
94 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(joehan @ Apr 6 2006, 09:24 PM) ermm.. do you guys think that we can run Vista in mac using Boot Camp??? just wanna know... Leopard, (OSX 10.5.0) will be released wayy before Vista. Leopard will have visualization built in.. Apple will be stupid to not include Vista in the list of working OSes..QUOTE(Jaffar @ Apr 8 2006, 07:29 AM) ..Not like last time, where those methods which need you to bless the xom.efi file.. I, salute you, for you have braved trying out narf and blanka's solution before Apple's. There aren't a lot of people who are willing to risk their "shiny new macs".. QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Apr 8 2006, 07:42 PM) it doesn't. the single click becomes very irritating... on the other hand, all intel based iMac comes with Mighty Mouse (2 button). MacBook Pro and intel Mac Mini... get your own 2 button mouse la I read somewhere that ctrl+click works in XP as well.. |
Apr 25 2006, 10:24 AM
3,544 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: United States of Cybertron |
what happened??
1. they use Intel CPU 2. they can support Ms OS?? |
Apr 26 2006, 03:20 AM
Why??? Is anything wrong if apple switch to Intel processor??? And then can boot XP???
This shows that apple is more advance than micro$oft... just my opinion... |
Apr 27 2006, 02:47 PM
7 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(youngkies @ Apr 6 2006, 03:10 AM) Yeap. I downloaded boot_camp and install it in my MacBookPro 15'...running faster then my Intel P4....well, I love my apple..I love MacBook pro....Installation is not that difficult ....guys..try it out..running Window XP on a MacBook..Cool... |
Apr 27 2006, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Apr 11 2006, 03:46 PM) If you compare M$'s and Apple-Intel's roadmap, you'll come to realize that current range of Intel Macs are most likely out of luck to run Vista. 1. Microsoft had change its mind of supporting OS boot up in EFI, so it's a NO for Intel Macs now. 2. Wait for future Windows (as promised by M$ that they will then support EFI) you say? If you wait with the existing Intel Mac (32bit Intel chip), you'll be 32bits shorter to run the god-knows-when "future" release of Windows because it "should" be running 64bits. 3. Ultimately, like others said, if M$ keep up its tortoise pace, the industry will pretty much look for other alternatives - OSX or Linux. My take: Install XP to do whatever that you have to do with M$, then slowly move over to OSX, it's growing |
Apr 28 2006, 03:12 AM
QUOTE(Deadman.Inc. @ Apr 27 2006, 10:16 PM) If you compare M$'s and Apple-Intel's roadmap, you'll come to realize that current range of Intel Macs are most likely out of luck to run Vista. This might change.... 1. Microsoft had change its mind of supporting OS boot up in EFI, so it's a NO for Intel Macs now. 2. Wait for future Windows (as promised by M$ that they will then support EFI) you say? If you wait with the existing Intel Mac (32bit Intel chip), you'll be 32bits shorter to run the god-knows-when "future" release of Windows because it "should" be running 64bits. 3. Ultimately, like others said, if M$ keep up its tortoise pace, the industry will pretty much look for other alternatives - OSX or Linux. http://macdailynews.com/index.php/weblog/comments/9392/ QUOTE(Deadman.Inc. @ Apr 27 2006, 10:16 PM) My take: Install XP to do whatever that you have to do with M$, then slowly move over to OSX, it's growing This post has been edited by Eithanius: Apr 28 2006, 03:45 AM |
Apr 28 2006, 03:04 PM
Instead of getting paranoid, why don't you learn how to protect your system? I've used Windows for many years and my computer only got infected with virus once, and that was back in the 5.25" floppy days. You really shouldn't worry too much about viruses on Mac, if you know your stuff.
Apr 29 2006, 11:00 PM
Mac needs AV to protect the pc fr any virus or no need anything to protect the mac pc?
May 3 2006, 09:38 AM
1,715 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE and yes if the virus "mutates".... What about MBR boot virus like AntiCMOS... kena that one one time on my PC, scared oredi. Damn difficult to remove- format also cannot kill it, fdisk cannot kill it, must low level format. In the end the virus kill my HD first. But cannot say Mac no virus. I kena Autostart worm before. Dunno come from where, maybe a Mac CD I need to convert to PC CD format for a friend. QUOTE Mac needs AV to protect the pc fr any virus or no need anything to protect the mac pc? Mac got AV. I using Norton SystemWorks 2003 for Mac (which killed the Autostart worm for me). I think there's also Virex and a few more. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 3 2006, 09:38 AM |
May 15 2006, 05:18 PM
288 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJKL, KLPJ |
I'm addicting !!!
Actually wat can a mac do I also dunno, but bought a mini duo for exploration! |
May 15 2006, 05:28 PM
627 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Terengganu |
May 16 2006, 04:54 PM
715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
better than buying a macbook pro for demo...
May 16 2006, 06:50 PM
2,919 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: tanah melayu |
May 16 2006, 11:34 PM
59 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(joehan @ Apr 26 2006, 03:20 AM) Why??? Is anything wrong if apple switch to Intel processor??? And then can boot XP??? MacBook Pro run MAC OS 10.4, Win XP and Linux.This shows that apple is more advance than micro$oft... just my opinion... Acer notebook run Linux, Win XP and Tiger x86. who advance?? Apple or IBM PC |
May 17 2006, 10:29 AM
1,153 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
May 17 2006, 01:18 PM
59 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 17 2006, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(an2blues @ May 17 2006, 01:18 PM) You cannot compare Macbook Pro with Acer la kawan....mana sama.... Don't says Acer la, Sony Duo Core also I tested already.... This post has been edited by SEP910: May 17 2006, 02:54 PM |
May 17 2006, 02:57 PM
627 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Terengganu |
May 17 2006, 03:59 PM
May 17 2006, 04:24 PM
320 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
man... not a good news for me.. apple is not a pure apple anymore.. (or issit because i hate microsoft?)
more and more people using apple.. it means apple brand is not only for executive like years before.. i cant proud using apple because millions of ppl are using it to... |
May 17 2006, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(WisePrince @ May 17 2006, 04:24 PM) man... not a good news for me.. apple is not a pure apple anymore.. (or issit because i hate microsoft?) You should proud because you realise it before other people, I mean there is got other OS than MSmore and more people using apple.. it means apple brand is not only for executive like years before.. i cant proud using apple because millions of ppl are using it to... |
May 17 2006, 05:39 PM
2,919 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: tanah melayu |
apple sold out? poser use apple?
nah. |
May 17 2006, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(WisePrince @ May 17 2006, 07:24 PM) man... not a good news for me.. apple is not a pure apple anymore.. (or issit because i hate microsoft?) Having been a Mac user for years, I know exactly what you mean. I still remember people going ga-ga over my first generation iPod years ago when it was a novelty, and now everyone has an iPod. But then good things are meant to be shared, I'm just glad more and more people are using Mac now. more and more people using apple.. it means apple brand is not only for executive like years before.. i cant proud using apple because millions of ppl are using it to... |
May 18 2006, 09:46 PM
Well if you still wanna be proud, be proud that you're now an experienced Mac user than many other new switchers
May 18 2006, 09:50 PM
Back to the topic of Boot Camp, was asked this question when I was promoting Mac being able to run Windows now - Is there an integration between OSX's iTunes Library and Windows' iTunes Library on a BootCamp'ed Mac? I mean... it would be stupid to jump between 2 OS for games on 1 side and songs on the other; or having to duplicate the entire library to the other partition...
May 19 2006, 02:41 PM
The way I do it is that, I put all my songs in my Mac partition, installed MacDrive on Windows and have iTunes on Windows accessing the same folder in the Mac partition.
May 21 2006, 12:59 PM
44 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Penang |
well for those who using mac for sometimes might feel your not superior high class,proud anymore.Less is more valuable.
Mac is quite expensive wif it limitation though.If we are rich i don mind getting a seperated Mac and XP.For an everage financial user that expect more out of our cash would definately go for pc's. Now it make me wanna own mac,if it look odd wif xp on mac then dress it wif OSX cloth |
May 24 2006, 04:46 AM
545 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Tee Tee Diy Eye |
Can the 1.33GHz iBook use Bootcamp?
May 24 2006, 07:48 AM
May 24 2006, 01:59 PM
Jun 10 2006, 07:27 PM
629 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Bharu |
If I'm not mistaken, INTech had an article on this. Inside the article, I think the editor mentioned another program similar to BootCamp. Could anyone direct me to the relevant information?
Added: Thank you! Eithanius. This is what I was looking for! This post has been edited by Two5Kid: Jun 10 2006, 11:31 PM |
Jun 10 2006, 07:35 PM
QUOTE(Two5Kid @ Jun 10 2006, 07:27 PM) If I'm not mistaken, INTech had an article on this. Inside the article, I think the editor mentioned another program similar to BootCamp. Could anyone direct me to the relevant information? I haven't been reading In Tech for the past few issues, but is this what you're looking for....?Parallel Desktop for Intel Mac |
Jul 22 2006, 07:06 PM
53 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: München, DE |
hi guys... i just installed bootcamp and successfully installed XP Professional with Service Pack 2 last night.
Problem is: The Mac driver CD that i burnt before installing Win XP, doesn't work in XP... An error message pops up saying that the software is not compatible with WinXP. Therefore, I can't copy all Mac drivers into XP. What did i do wrong, and what should i do? Thanks in advance... |
Jul 22 2006, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(artyca @ Jul 22 2006, 07:06 PM) hi guys... i just installed bootcamp and successfully installed XP Professional with Service Pack 2 last night. Macs does Windows... not Windows does MacProblem is: The Mac driver CD that i burnt before installing Win XP, doesn't work in XP... An error message pops up saying that the software is not compatible with WinXP. Therefore, I can't copy all Mac drivers into XP. What did i do wrong, and what should i do? Thanks in advance... Therefore Windows files can work with Apple via Boot Camp but Macs files can't work with Windows.... |
Jul 24 2006, 04:34 AM
658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just go to Intel's website and download the hardware's driver from there or else you can try to burn it for the second time. BTW u use Windows for what? I can't find any reason for me to use Windows except to do Visual Basic Project
..and oh yes, AutoCAD when i'm in 1st and 2nd semester of my study |
Jul 30 2006, 02:50 AM
according to the bootcamp manual, you should be able to burn a CD of Macintosh drivers using Bootcamp, and then install these drivers in XP. I'll try again and let you guys know the outcome if u're interested....
Jul 30 2006, 12:39 PM
nope... still not working
I will check the apple support forum for this now... vandetta... i'm just installing WinXP for fun, but at least i want it to work correctly. Now, there's XP installed already but no drivers are available |
Jul 30 2006, 10:39 PM
Run bootcamp installation on your Mac OSX again, there should be an option to burn the driver CD, assuming that your 1st CD wasn't burnt correctly...
Jul 30 2006, 11:46 PM
deadman... thanks for the reply. Yes, i ran bootcamp again and there is an option to burn a Mac drivers CD there. But when i ran the newly burnt CD in XP again, it still doesn't work and the same error msg pops up
Jul 31 2006, 01:09 AM
Then the last guess I'd give is that your Windows may not be the compatible version (I'm not sure if there's any...) for Bootcamp - assuming that your Mac is working all fine...
EDIT: Hang on, how did you say you were doing with the CD again? "Copy" the drivers over? Are you sure that's the way to do it? This post has been edited by Deadman.Inc.: Jul 31 2006, 01:10 AM |
Jul 31 2006, 02:34 AM
658 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I think the aplication wil automatically burn for you when you agree and choose to burn the drivers, right?
Remember you need at least WinXP SP2 (and WinVista) CD/DVD to install using the bootcamp. One more thing, I think if you can't use the driver CD, you can just simply go to Intel's website and download the driver from there. I use this way to install the display driver for WinXP in Mac (I'm using Parallels Desktop so there will be no driver provided) Gudluck and Cheers. |
| Change to: | 0.0407sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:02 AM |