Driving Test in Malaysia, how many lessons do u take?

TSchoomun
post Mar 6 2013, 02:25 PM, updated 13y ago

Seriously, im a girl and i know im suck in driving coz during my 4th driving lesson my car engine still mati for a few times...

So can i ask normally u guys take how many hours of driving lessons before the test?

which part is the hardest/trickiest?

MasterAlvin
post Mar 6 2013, 02:33 PM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

took me 5 minutes to get through the parking and slope test. but i failed the on the road test once.

i only did the minumum hours on the driving classes back then.
Tokyonite
post Mar 6 2013, 02:34 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(choomun @ Mar 6 2013, 02:25 PM)
Seriously, im a girl and i know im suck in driving coz during my 4th driving lesson my car engine still mati for a few times...

So can i ask normally u guys take how many hours of driving lessons before the test?

- 10 hours / 5 sessions. If suck, take double.

- no hardest part if give kopi-o.

- if give kopi-o, hardest part will be balancing clutch and accelerator over the slope only.
- outside drive test i mati enjin 5 times, but due to rm150 kopi-o, i passed
omgimahero
post Mar 6 2013, 02:38 PM

479 posts

erm i think theres a minimum of 18 hours? i did 20 i think...
ecitenoid
post Mar 6 2013, 03:44 PM

558 posts

my advise u need to focus on the clutch.. sure can punye. smile.gif

goodluck.!!!
deodorant
post Mar 6 2013, 04:11 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

I took two lessons. first lesson bukit and then the guy give me the formula for reverse parking. 2nd lesson go road check out the driving test route. then go for test and passed on 1st try liao.
zamanjaafar
post Mar 6 2013, 06:11 PM

NOT DUPIN' SINCE '03
1,122 posts

i took a total of maybe 18 hours or so, failed 2 times road before passing

never paid coffee, never got into accident
darkdkay
post Mar 6 2013, 11:05 PM

10 hours... The last lesson by the senior teacher made me pass the exam.... My only driving experiences were from those lessons only... Family dun hv car... The senior teacher asked me to follow his step by step instruction... Did well without duit kopi... All thanks to him...
Chisinlouz
post Mar 7 2013, 11:28 AM

848 posts

come i teach u how to handle gear brows.gif brows.gif

driving is learn and drive drive drive. U learn nothing if u ask here. Go practice
siong62630
post Mar 7 2013, 12:26 PM

the trick to not let the engine dies is do not let go your left foot on clutch so much, let it go slowly, if the car is going to die, step on some acceleration pedal.

when you going upfill that's the tricky part dont let your car dies. side parking is hard for girl too, just remember the trick which poll to look for when you do the parking.

finally all the best in your test soon thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
xing87
post Mar 8 2013, 07:50 PM

94 posts

during my test, there's a girl failed the slope test and crying while running out of the car biggrin.gif

as for tips for the slope test, accelerate your pedal until you see the front part of your car floats up then slowly release your clutch
shinnsohai
post Mar 9 2013, 02:28 AM

145 posts

2 times lesson
(I train at home, during mid nite curi bawak kereta ayah)
-ermmm, just call ur dad to accompany u to train during nite la
so that not tat hot
I hate the car trainning lesson "HOT"

(Just the day before test, my dad take me to slope to train
Tim-Tadashi
post Mar 10 2013, 05:59 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(choomun @ Mar 6 2013, 03:25 PM)

if i wasn't mistaken, i took 5 lessons each consist of 3 hours.

i thought now all of the new driving lessons and test can be able to request to change to auto gear?
tanhks
post Mar 10 2013, 06:45 AM

608 posts

20 year ago, me took 20 hours driving lessons !
Because the driving school provide us with guaranty pass package. (the fee is a bit expensive for this package.)
It means if fail the test, the school will provide us more free driving lesson and also free registration fee for the 2nd test.

This post has been edited by tanhks: Aug 8 2013, 01:29 PM
herojack41
post Mar 10 2013, 09:53 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

my experience.....7 hours in total + kopi o for on teh road

and the only part i fail were undang....fail two times coz taking BM *all aunty uncle told me BM easier* third time take english pass in 1 shot
junebaby
post Mar 11 2013, 10:29 AM

40 posts

I din pay kopi. I did minimum. pass first time.
NINJIAO
post Mar 11 2013, 05:43 PM

214 posts

10 min brief on how to operate d car. then okie liao. 1st time drive already pecut 80km/h

but test time, fail parking.

becos no computer game simulation on car parking.

true story.
Green_lemontea
post Mar 11 2013, 06:39 PM

233 posts

If you failed like that, and afraid to fail further, just pay duit kopi and only focus on your slope balancing. smile.gif
During the exam, you only need to appear for 1 hour, just for the slope test.
Other things? You paid duit kopi already. XD
netmatrix
post Mar 11 2013, 09:43 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

I took the required lesson hours. But i have to retake on the road 3 times. hahaha.
xchaosdragon
post Mar 12 2013, 11:04 PM

297 posts

Practice je, slope tekan gas, as for parking and 3 point turn asal tak langgar tiang then okay already
BlackWoods
post Mar 13 2013, 03:46 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

4 times, total 8 hours, this is the minimum requirement before you can take the test.

If you are not so good after the 8 hours, you may request to practice more from your trainer, they may charge extra though.
Johannlo
post Mar 13 2013, 09:39 PM

Kuli
372 posts

Just passed everything today. The Kancil tyre I drove in just now was totally botak. So yeah, alot of wheel spin on the slope. Haha! Parking and 3 point was easy. On the road? Bagi duit je laa. Hardest part? Waiting for your number to be called.
HappyCrazyFreak
post Mar 14 2013, 03:27 AM

Just got my P in late February. Finally overcame my phobia of driving on the road. Almost got into an accident because of another driver's reckless driving, but thank God, instructor was fast enough to step on his brake. So damn traumatised after that, reminded me of the accident I survived a few years ago. Almost gave up on pursuing my license. mellow.gif

Anyway, initially I had to take 16 hours, according to the package offered. But uncle (the instructor) added on 4 hours for me, as he said I should practise more. Failed the track test the first time, at parking (passed actually, but langgar tiang depan when trying to get out of the parking space). If you ask me, I would say that the trickiest part is actually the car that you'll have to drive during the test. Got a goddamn lousy Kancil the first time, I couldn't reverse no matter how hard I tried, in the end, I moved forward and deswai langgar tiang. Never in the history of my lessons had I knocked down the front pole before. shakehead.gif (And I thought that my instructor's car was lousy enough due to non-power steering wheel...)

For on-the-road test, I got to drive a new Viva. Damn smooth until I wasn't very used to it. Even ter-changed to gear 5 when I wanted to masuk gear 3 only. laugh.gif doh.gif But thankfully, passed that lah. I swear, there was nothing wrong at all with my confidence and skills, but it was the lousy Kancil's fault. I could pass bukit, which many people failed at. Second time I retook the track test, I was blessed to have a much better Kancil (my friends and I thought that they had probably serviced the car, driving was so much smoother compared to the previous experience) and passed my track test without any problem. Phewww...

Sorry for the wall of text. sweat.gif

But the TL;DR version is:

Hours for lesson: 20 (16 plus another 4 extra hours for more practice) + 4 (retake for track test)

Trickiest part: The car you are driving for the test ('cause no matter how good your skills are, if the car you get happens to be really awfully lousy, then sorry lah, it's gonna take a miracle for you to make it, and this is not my sole opinion, my friends also failed because the clutch was faulty).

ALL THE BEST TS! thumbup.gif
t3arsCulprit
post Mar 14 2013, 11:32 AM

769 posts

I pass my slope, side parking, 3 point turn easily..

On the road just pass one shot..

And I attend training for the minimum or normal hours..
dkk
post Mar 14 2013, 11:09 PM

11,400 posts

If you must engage in corruption, please don't go and boast about it. Are you trying to promote corruption and make everybody more corrupt? This will make your country a better place to live in?

People who pay (or receive bribes) should be so ashamed of it, they never mention it to their family or friends. Like the farmer who screws his sheep when nobody is looking. He doesn't go blabbing about it in the pub.

This post has been edited by dkk: Mar 14 2013, 11:09 PM
dkk
post Mar 14 2013, 11:22 PM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(HappyCrazyFreak @ Mar 14 2013, 03:27 AM)
Trickiest part: The car you are driving for the test ('cause no matter how good your skills are, if the car you get happens to be really awfully lousy, then sorry lah, it's gonna take a miracle for you to make it, and this is not my sole opinion, my friends also failed because the clutch was faulty).

I too failed my first parking test due to the clutch problem. But my opinion is exactly the opposite of yours. It was my fault for not having enough skills to overcome that bad car. Now, many many years later, and after driving many worse cars and trucks, I know that a proper driver would not have been so easily "defeated" by those bad cars at the testing center.

In the real world, there are cars and trucks, with bigger problems. There are those where you have to bang many times to get into reverse gear. There are those that are missing the 3rd gear entirely (spoiled, but not yet repaired. And the boss is not going to spring for a new gear box until the truck is completely immobile. smile.gif ). There are those where you're happily driving along in 4th gear, and it'll suddenly pop into neutral.

I have a motorcycle license as well. And there are bikes (in the "real world") with shaky handle bars / front wheels. There are those where the foot brake does not work. And the handbrake only slows you ever so slightly. Handle bar grips that pops out of the handlebar if you pull it too hard. Imagine that happening when you're making a turn. smile.gif

Of course if you only ever drive your own car, you'll never see these problems. But that driving license you get after you past the test supposedly says that you can drive any vehicle.
HappyCrazyFreak
post Mar 14 2013, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(dkk @ Mar 14 2013, 11:22 PM)
I too failed my first parking test due to the clutch problem. But my opinion is exactly the opposite of yours. It was my fault for not having enough skills to overcome that bad car. Now, many many years later, and after driving many worse cars and trucks, I know that a proper driver would not have been so easily "defeated" by those bad cars at the testing center.

In the real world, there are cars and trucks, with bigger problems. There are those where you have to bang many times to get into reverse gear. There are those that are missing the 3rd gear entirely (spoiled, but not yet repaired. And the boss is not going to spring for a new gear box until the truck is completely immobile. smile.gif ). There are those where you're happily driving along in 4th gear, and it'll suddenly pop into neutral.

I have a motorcycle license as well. And there are bikes (in the "real world") with shaky handle bars / front wheels. There are those where the foot brake does not work. And the handbrake only slows you ever so slightly. Handle bar grips that pops out of the handlebar if you pull it too hard. Imagine that happening when you're making a turn. smile.gif

Of course if you only ever drive your own car, you'll never see these problems. But that driving license you get after you past the test supposedly says that you can drive any vehicle.
Well, given the fact that I was still a noob in driving, I knew that I would have to overcome the faulty car, let me myself drive it, instead of letting it drive me (crazy), but of course, at that moment, it was really hard to struggle to success. I still remember that feeling, never in my life had I felt so frustrated that I said the F-word out loud in the car. Struggled so hard to put the car into the "box", passed, but had difficulty of getting the car out that I just moved forward, even knowing that I would hit the front pole at the corner. My confidence level had since dropped.

The day before my test retake, I had one final lesson, and my mind was really just so off that I kept screwing up. I even cried for a while when I got home, fearing that I would get that kinda lousy car and fail again. But calmed myself throughout the day and night, then in the morning, instructor took us to the testing ground earlier so that we could have a few rounds of practice. I gained my confidence and courage back. So happy when I drove the car out of the 3-point turn area. Really wanted to just jump out of the moving car to dance in delight. laugh.gif
SUSnewly wed duck
post Mar 15 2013, 02:21 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Tokyonite @ Mar 6 2013, 02:34 PM)
- 10 hours / 5 sessions. If suck, take double.

- no hardest part if give kopi-o.

- if give kopi-o, hardest part will be balancing clutch and accelerator over the slope only.
- outside drive test i mati enjin 5 times, but due to rm150 kopi-o, i passed
come out drive bang people

0.0245sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:46 PM