T1R vs RE002 vs RE080, This is my 1st time changing to new tyre

TSShortyeyek
post Mar 5 2013, 04:59 PM, updated 13y ago

im considering re080 but some say its already thailand made and not so good, i also duno what not so good. some shop recommended me t1r and re002. so im kinda confused. tyre size 195/50or55/15.
can someone state some more detail reviews? i need some tyre that are good on dry and slightly good on cornering not to say really good but at least it is safe to whack some corner when i have the feeling of.
jaycee1
post Mar 6 2013, 01:46 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

What car do you drive and how do you drive it?

I feel that the tyres you mention are a bit overkill if you just want to whack a corner infrequently.

dagreatdzul
post Mar 6 2013, 02:36 PM

23 posts

T!R price for 195/50/15 is around rm220-260,
RE002 around rm 280-320

both also good tires, but a bit pricey

mADmAN
post Mar 6 2013, 04:49 PM

10,530 posts

if wanna whack corners.. imho avoid T1R

sidewall super soft.....still can whack corners... but soft sidewall really tak syiok.... but theyre good in the rain though.
TSShortyeyek
post May 4 2013, 07:16 PM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 6 2013, 01:46 PM)

I feel that the tyres you mention are a bit overkill if you just want to whack a corner infrequently.
QUOTE(dagreatdzul @ Mar 6 2013, 02:36 PM)
T!R price for 195/50/15 is around rm220-260,
RE002 around rm 280-320
both also good tires, but a bit pricey
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 6 2013, 04:49 PM)

sidewall super soft.....still can whack corners... but soft sidewall really tak syiok.... but theyre good in the rain though.
I drive a proton Satria 1.6, once a week uphill, can say in between not always and always whack corner la. Plus I only drive my car during rainy days and midnight, as u know midnight sure heavy bait eh ma foot.
torreto
post May 5 2013, 12:51 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 6 2013, 04:49 PM)

agree with mADmAN. the sidewall is super soft. another tires with super soft side wall is the Michelin Pilot Sport 3. RE002.. errm.. ok la not bad.
Nightstalker1993
post May 9 2013, 07:43 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

R1R. hehe
Samurai X
post May 10 2013, 07:26 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 6 2013, 01:46 PM)

There is no such thing as overkill tyres choice. Its the only contact your car had with the road. Getting a set which work like
a charm give you a confident in any situation. Those T1R, RE-002 and RE-080 are decent daily tyres. I used to run on Asymmetric(17"), AD07 and Ad08
on a daily driven Waja. Even Nighstalker1993 is running on R1R.

QUOTE(Shortyeyek @ May 4 2013, 07:16 PM)
I drive a proton Satria 1.6, once a week uphill, can say in between not always and always whack corner la. Plus I only drive my car during rainy days and midnight, as u know midnight sure heavy bait eh ma foot.
Get RE-002. Stiffer sidewall and quite okay in wet. Design more for our road condition too. Japanese added some tofu on T1R to soften the material.
The result is softer compound with less noise for a directional and soft sidewall too laugh.gif .

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 9 2013, 07:43 PM)
R1R. hehe
A right choice, obviously. But I see you changing tyre again soon laugh.gif

Nightstalker1993
post May 10 2013, 03:39 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Samurai X @ May 10 2013, 07:26 AM)
There is no such thing as overkill tyres choice. Its the only contact your car had with the road. Getting a set which work like
a charm give you a confident in any situation. Those T1R, RE-002 and RE-080 are decent daily tyres. I used to run on Asymmetric(17"), AD07 and Ad08
Get RE-002. Stiffer sidewall and quite okay in wet. Design more for our road condition too. Japanese added some tofu on T1R to soften the material.
The result is softer compound with less noise for a directional and soft sidewall too  laugh.gif .
A right choice, obviously. But I see you changing tyre again soon  laugh.gif
dunno. judging by the wear patterns, i'm expecting 6 months of useful life sweat.gif
jaycee1
post May 16 2013, 07:03 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Samurai X @ May 10 2013, 07:26 AM)
The result is softer compound with less noise for a directional and soft sidewall too  laugh.gif .
A right choice, obviously. But I see you changing tyre again soon  laugh.gif
If the TS has no issues to swing 1200+ for a set of RE002s, by all means.

I have used a lot of tyres in the past 6 years on the same car. AD07, RE001, PP2, PS3, GY F1 are few of the better ones.. I used to eat a pair up every 3 months. I used to track quite often and still drive the car fairly hard.

My current tyre, el-cheapo Achilles ATRs... bought on a whim just to try. It has 90% of the grip at 50% of the price. The breakaway characteristics of the cheaper tyre is different but its more on how you have to change how you drive to suit the characteristics of the tyre. its just as quick around street corners...and I can hang the car out on the knife edge just as easily of not easier that I could on the RE001 and AD07 and far better in deep standing water than either of them. In fact, from personal experience the ATRs are better than the MY01, Parada Spec 2, Silverstone Evol8 and Kumho KU31.

For a road/performance tyre, I still prefer the PS3, having had gone through 2 sets. I feel the RE001 (not tried the RE002 yet) had a bit too much compromise. Especially on comfort. The PS3 is a more balanced tyre. Doesn't excel in any one category, but does very well in almost all you could throw at it. Will probably go back to the PS3s when I am done with the ATR.

At the end it depends on how the TS drives and what he is looking for.

I figured if I were to track the car, nothing short of track tyres would suffice. All the street tyres will melt....worst being the T1R....not that you'd enjoy the soft sidewalls either.

And a point to note.... while it is true that you car sits on only 4 patches of rubber, its only 1/2 the story. Your cars suspension setup and the driver is equally important. No point getting a high grip tyre with more than likely abrupt breakaway characteristics. You are just going to crash, at a higher speed. The best litmus test of a good road tyre is its breakaway characteristics. A grippy tyre with an on/off breakaway characteristic will only catch a driver by surprise especially if the suspension if not tuned to match the tyre (hard settings will make it worst)

Like I said, only the TS knows how he drives.

I also drive a 1.6 Satria. And i've out run and out cornered cars with twice the power and on much better tyres when I am using normal road tyres. Why? Because my car is tuned for a very progressive breakaway characteristic, which mean I'm able to exploit 100% of the cars' grip all the time...since I know i can always catch it if it misbehaves....and allows the rear end of the car to steer itself around corners...rare for a FWD car.

Look at this way. While the super grippy tire may have 10% more grip, you may only push it to 90% for fear or breaking loose, while I can exploit the full potential of my tyres' grip....and most will agree, I will be having a whole lot more fun doing it.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: May 17 2013, 08:00 AM
Quazacolt
post May 17 2013, 02:07 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 16 2013, 07:03 PM)

btw used the latest ad08 or ad08r before? as much as i am set to get them a try (even created a bulk to cut down on its insane costs), more feedback is always welcomed to set my expectations straight laugh.gif
jaycee1
post May 17 2013, 07:54 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2013, 02:07 AM)
btw used the latest ad08 or ad08r before? as much as i am set to get them a try (even created a bulk to cut down on its insane costs), more feedback is always welcomed to set my expectations straight laugh.gif
Would like to. Had AD07s before. They were excellent in the dry but marginal in the wet. I drive a lot on highways so I find the PS3 works better in the wet.

Was going to try the AD08s but cost was prohibitive. Last time I asked they were something around 450ea for 195/55/15s... ouch.
How much are you bulking for?

would be interested to hear what people have to say about them.

I find that there was more benefit for me to keep a set of budget semi slicks (was going to test out the Achilles 123) on spare wheels for track or hill runs, instead of going the ultra high performance route for daily driving (and potentially giving up some wet performance in heavy rain, especially at highway speeds). I'm used to swapping wheels....can do it on my own in 30mins...no biggie.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: May 17 2013, 08:01 AM
Quazacolt
post May 17 2013, 08:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 17 2013, 07:54 AM)
Would like to. Had AD07s before. They were excellent in the dry but marginal in the wet. I drive a lot on highways so I find the PS3 works better in the wet.

Was going to try the AD08s but cost was prohibitive. Last time I asked they were something around 450ea for 195/55/15s... ouch.
How much are you bulking for?

would be interested to hear what people have to say about them.
I find that  there was more benefit for me to keep a set of budget semi slicks (was going to test out the Achilles 123) on spare wheels for track or hill runs, instead of going the ultra high performance route for daily driving (and potentially giving up some wet performance in heavy rain, especially at highway speeds). I'm used to swapping wheels....can do it on my own in 30mins...no biggie.
supposedly the ad08 improved a lot in wet since better compound a slightly different tread pattern, probably won't be able to compete against the likes of ps3/gy f1 as2, however i think if you use it in moderation, the extra feedback /grip once you're out of heavy water puddles should be able to balance out the cons

thread's in my signature btw.
for 195/55/15, they are going for 360ea

i am selling the 123 too (also in my signature lol, you just need to find a 4th piece whether new or used somewhere, or just have 2, with 1 spare for rotation or w/e and run ad08r for the other 2) if you wanna test it out, only used once. however i experienced driving them back home from the track day under heavy downpour, very scary experience as if im driving on ice skates with my car. and the ad08r drawn my attention so much i'd rather keep those as a 2nd set of tires. (supposedly having slightly better nvh too, the 123 were just insanely loud LOL)
Speedstar1
post May 18 2013, 12:19 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 16 2013, 07:03 PM)
If the TS has no issues to swing 1200+ for a set of RE002s, by all means.
I have used a lot of tyres in the past 6 years on the same car. AD07, RE001, PP2, PS3, GY F1 are few of the better ones.. I used to eat a pair up every 3 months. I used to track quite often and still drive the car fairly hard.

My current tyre, el-cheapo Achilles ATRs... bought on a whim just to try. It has 90% of the grip at 50% of the price. The breakaway characteristics of the cheaper tyre is different but its more on how you have to change how you drive to suit the characteristics of the tyre. its just as quick around street corners...and I can hang the car out on the knife edge just as easily of not easier that I could on the RE001 and AD07 and far better in deep standing water than either of them. In fact, from personal experience the ATRs are better than the MY01, Parada Spec 2, Silverstone Evol8 and Kumho KU31.

For a road/performance tyre, I still prefer the PS3, having had gone through 2 sets. I feel the RE001 (not tried the RE002 yet) had a bit too much compromise. Especially on comfort. The PS3 is a more balanced tyre. Doesn't excel in any one category, but does very well in almost all you could throw at it. Will probably go back to the PS3s when I am done with the ATR.
At the end it depends on how the TS drives and what he is looking for.

I figured if I were to track the car, nothing short of track tyres would suffice. All the street tyres will melt....worst being the T1R....not that you'd enjoy the soft sidewalls either.
And a point to note.... while it is true that you car sits on only 4 patches of rubber, its only 1/2 the story. Your cars suspension setup and the driver is equally important. No point getting a high grip tyre with more than likely abrupt breakaway characteristics. You are just going to crash, at a higher speed. The best litmus test of a good road tyre is its breakaway characteristics. A grippy tyre with an on/off breakaway characteristic will only catch a driver by surprise especially if the suspension if not tuned to match the tyre (hard settings will make it worst)

Like I said, only the TS knows how he drives.

I also drive a 1.6 Satria. And i've out run and out cornered cars with twice the power and on much better tyres when I am using normal road tyres. Why? Because my car is tuned for a very progressive breakaway characteristic, which mean I'm able to exploit 100% of the cars' grip all the time...since I know i can always catch it if it misbehaves....and allows the rear end of the car to steer itself around corners...rare for a FWD car.

Look at this way. While the super grippy tire may have 10% more grip, you may only push it to 90% for fear or breaking loose, while I can exploit the full potential of my tyres' grip....and most will agree, I will be having a whole lot more fun doing it.
If only there was a like button I'd like this a 100 times

0.0178sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:14 AM