Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!

yeehong89
post May 10 2013, 09:50 PM

147 posts

IM here with a Gray shirt... Correction.. I'm wearing gray Tshirt printed HK No idea wher u guys at? T-T

This post has been edited by yeehong89: May 10 2013, 10:32 PM
yeehong89
post Jun 12 2013, 03:53 PM

147 posts

Anywhere also can... Or you could try diving at MIDE on next month,PWTC, can stand a chance to win OWD certification course too!
yeehong89
post Jun 13 2013, 01:34 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CookehMonsTa @ Jun 12 2013, 11:21 PM)
During my last few OWD also I surfaced with 20 and 30 barr respectively...... It was due to my poor bouyency... quite high from the sea bed thus more currents against me causing me to use more energy..... I carry 5 peices of LEAD still damn slow to descend.... you can imagine how I look in real life  tongue.gif

Wanted to ask since different locations have different densities... how to render myself neutrally bouyent besides doing the fin pivot (cause honestly I don't see anyone doing it).. is there a short cut to get the ideal weights on my weight belt....  icon_question.gif

Thanks in Advance rclxms.gif
Actually is in the OWD should have taught you. You can with full gear jump in water, then fully deflate your bcd. With holding full breath your eye should be level with the water. Hope this help smile.gif
yeehong89
post Jun 20 2013, 11:17 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(kenny B @ Jun 20 2013, 11:11 AM)
errr, can i join? havnt dived in a year since i got my license though
No problem, it's time to refresh ur diving skill... Lolz... 1 person only ke?
yeehong89
post Jul 5 2013, 02:43 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Jul 4 2013, 10:11 PM)
Hey pro divers!,  i got a question to ask.

Just wondering any basic watch to recommend for diving? just to keep track of time only, no budget for dive comp.
Normal Casio G-shock 100m or 200m WR can use for diving?

I got a Casio Edifice Analog daily watch, but saw the manual said "cannot use for diving" although saying that WR 100M, dont dare to bring down water test... hahaha.
I used casio edifice, Ed-503, wear it for diving also, around 10 dive, no problem. Then recently I also use to time my swimming which I think the problem occurred, it started to randomly stop even after changed battery, still hvn sent to repair but wat Chastise said is correct. Don't press any button when the watch immersed in water. I did it and now problem liao sad.gif

This post has been edited by yeehong89: Jul 5 2013, 02:44 PM
yeehong89
post Jul 6 2013, 09:29 AM

147 posts

n
QUOTE(NQD @ Jul 6 2013, 08:12 AM)
hi good morning everybody. I will sign up owc course later atmide. Just want opinion from the seniors, for the first timer which one ok? Perhentian or redang island? Thanks
Anywhere is the same, choose the place that u wanna go. If possible try to get those classes which the confine water classes will be done in pool at kl before your trip so u no nid to spend so much time getting comfortable and reading books over at ur dive site.
yeehong89
post Jul 9 2013, 12:34 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Jul 8 2013, 08:33 PM)
What size u bought? My fren want to buy mares hybrid earlier.. But when ask around they told him mares hybrid tak tahan if use in pool and sea water.. Coz the material have problem with chlorine rclxub.gif anyone heard about this?
Unfortunately he don't found prestige for his size. Hahaa pity him.
Lolz... I brought hybrid pure... Will report again nxt week if got problem wif seawater, didn't have any plan to go for pool yet. smile.gif
yeehong89
post Jul 9 2013, 04:14 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Jul 9 2013, 01:45 PM)
where you going next week?  drool.gif  drool.gif
Pulau Dayang... lolz XP
yeehong89
post Jul 10 2013, 10:45 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Jul 9 2013, 09:11 PM)
Dilemma...  casio gshock rm300+ or suunto zoop rm750 for new diver like me?
Depends on your intention, if you wanted to buy a watch which you wanted to wear daily then go for normal watch; where if you wanted a dive computer specifically for dive purpose then go for zoop, the size make it ridicules to wear it other than diving.
But incase u wanted to do both, you could go for d6i. Lolz
yeehong89
post Jul 15 2013, 12:37 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ Jul 12 2013, 11:52 AM)
heard it will fall out and you have to buy new ones.
Equipment tested and no such problem. MRS+ system is sturdy enough, never budge abit even after 9 dives. Unless you pull it put.
yeehong89
post Jul 16 2013, 03:27 PM

147 posts

Lolz.. Just recently in april I too took my aow at mabul n gone sipadan with billabong, it was so so so nice... I would wanna go bac ther, but mayb not so soon, cuz many other site yet to gone yet
yeehong89
post Jul 23 2013, 10:23 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Jul 21 2013, 02:23 PM)
I dive with a rashguard only. Very comfortable and not feeling cold at all.

My beginner gear for ur reference:
Cheapo ogival mask rm80
Cressi reaction pro fin full foot rm150 mide promo
Mares rashguard rm75 mide promo
Mares puck pro dive comp rm750.
QUOTE(OldKidz @ Jul 21 2013, 07:10 PM)
Great idea, actually am thinking to buy mask with snorkel plus wetsuit with rash guard. For myself, maybe rash guard is enough or yet warm guard?

My gf scare cold so thinking to get her wetsuit instead.

Btw, I have tried mares, cressi even gull mask, all seems able to stick to my face, only issue is my nose part, which with all the masks, makes me feel that I got short nose...  rclxub.gif

Is it norm? Heard that if get a better fit for the nose part thn will be easier to do equalize... what's master here advice ya?
hehehe, buying from overseas ya? can share some light? link/site? haha...

uhmmm normal dive rental doesnt include dive comp?
Actually you can skip the snorkel if your comfortable with wave hitting your face, normally you will just use the 2nd stage. My Snorkel been sit ther since I finish my ow.
IM using mares thermo guard which similar to rash guard but got 0.5 of thin rubber like material and I don't even feel cold in 28/29 °c waters. If your into photography, better take full length wetsuit.
Dive com will cause extra and not all dive centre rent them. Better get yours if your into diving cause the dive com will personalise to your dive profile. Oso act as your log book.
yeehong89
post Jul 23 2013, 06:34 PM

147 posts

Wow... This tread is so heated.. Suddenly come bac saw 2 pages liao... Lolz... Btw, for astro kasih it's free for the food too. Well more details v can talk at TT. My instructor is on the trip. smile.gif
yeehong89
post Jul 25 2013, 10:28 AM

147 posts

Since you buying bootie, buy oso an open heel fin! Lolz... And remember to go try try n try and make sure it fits, oso not too tight till very hard to get it off when getting on boat. sad.gif
yeehong89
post Aug 1 2013, 11:55 AM

147 posts

Lucky I only add ppl who I met in TT b4.
yeehong89
post Aug 1 2013, 12:23 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Aug 1 2013, 12:20 PM)
thx bro....

join group request sent smile.gif
hahaha... brows.gif som1 gonna kena d
yeehong89
post Aug 2 2013, 11:20 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Aug 1 2013, 11:39 PM)
fins buckle ? buckle ke siap fins ? haritu i pergi tioman, dia orang semua pakai apollo bio fin ... macam sedap, terlepas chance nak mintak cuba
Numbers, can try mine when u come join our diving trip... lolz...

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Aug 2 2013, 11:10 AM)
OH anyone heard about the new ruling by sultan of Johor about diving in Dayang, Aur and Jack Rock?
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Aug 2 2013, 11:15 AM)
Diving in Malaysia – Recent Changes
(Dayang, Aur and Jack Rock dive sites)
New regulations were implemented last weekend by the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency.
Previously, all Live On-board Boats ex Singapore, who intended to dive in Malaysian waters, cleared in and out of immigration at Tioman Island. This process was completed within a few hours and enabled Live On-board Boats and their customers to remain and legally dive within Malaysian waters for the weekend. This has been the common practice for the past 20 years.
The Sultan of Johor was recently diving at Pulau Aur. He noticed a high number of scuba divers and coral damage. The Sultan of Johor ruled that any form of diving in the state of Johor is forbidden if the tourist has already cleared out of the immigration checkpoint at Tioman Island.
These changes were given without warning and are effective immediately.  Further to this, dive vessels can not pass through the state of Johor without first clearing Malaysian immigration.  This means all Live On-board Boats are now required to clear into Malaysia at Tanjong Penelih, which is about 4 hours from the Singapore departure point.
Tioman is in the state of Pahang and can only be accessed by passing through the state of Johor when travelling from Singapore.
This new regulation will have an impact on Live On-boat Boat schedules.
GS-Diving customers currently booked on Malaysian up and coming dive trips, will be emailed separately with the new diving schedules, over the next few days.
I tot the case is limit of the divers number. but not many liveaboard in Dayang ba i remembered. They have liveaboard boat but all stay in the resort's Bunk bed
yeehong89
post Aug 2 2013, 11:36 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Aug 2 2013, 11:22 AM)
yea.. and if want to go tioman also need to go immigration in Johor.
but still I find it good to limit 40 divers per day.. cos malaysian divers also a lot and will ruin the corals..
I dun prefer it la... Cuz when less ppl=lower business=lower quality centre. Actually Dayang mostly only 1 small group of Malaysian only... Not like tioman. But then Dayang really pack wif ppl, but they can also handle easily... Very efficient.

QUOTE(chastise @ Aug 2 2013, 11:25 AM)
I wonder how Sultan Johor go diving. Will have underwater scooter police to make way?
I think Sultan Johor didn't went diving, but sailing.
yeehong89
post Aug 2 2013, 01:30 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ Aug 2 2013, 12:12 PM)
bila next dive? tongue.gif
Sept, redang
yeehong89
post Aug 2 2013, 02:35 PM

147 posts

4 dives voucher thumbup.gif i wan one also... lets do 5 dives per day!

0.0549sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:18 AM