Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!

ayanozomireon
post May 28 2013, 05:19 PM

Dear Sirs,

I m planning to take the padi open water course alone in july , likely early in Perhentian. I m considering bayu dive resort or universal with stay in cozy. You guys advices will be highly appreciated. thanks.
ayanozomireon
post May 29 2013, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ May 28 2013, 05:27 PM)
I've only dived with seahorse which is beside universal. Small but friendly people. Not sure about universal cos the seem kinda .......... to me, personal opinion.

Some have dived with others so maybe they can give a better opinion.
thanks, seahorse provide accomodation too or chalets is aroudn there please?
ayanozomireon
post May 29 2013, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(juniorkirk @ May 28 2013, 05:48 PM)
wah, no need so formal lah... Just my 2 cents, if you would want to take OW course in july, why not visit MIDE (Dive Expo) on the first weekend of july in PWTC,KL . I'm 100% sure they have better deals there. Even if you are not signing up for diving course, you can get many useful information there as well.

Why not just tell us why do you choose Perhentian as your O/W Certification trip? If you are going alone, why don't you get your confined water done here instead of doing crash course in the island. Which i would not recommend for Open water.

Mind telling us where you from and we can suggest a nearest dive center for you biggrin.gif Welcome to the scuba diving family.
Evan, they only kinda ....... on peak season only la. I know you side your "sayang" but then dont la so bias...
thanks, i hv been trying to get into diving for years, but due to work, it has been set aside.
mide is good idea, but i think better to do it now rather to delay further.
perhentian is considered as i have never been there.
what is the advantages of doing confined water/theroy and open water separately besides the reason of more relaxing ?
ayanozomireon
post May 30 2013, 03:45 PM

[quote=juniorkirk,May 29 2013, 04:47 PM]
Are you going alone or you are going with friends??

If you doing your confine/course here

Advantage of Taking OW in the city
- You might not have to pay for single occupancy (if you are alone)
- You have plenty of time to read/study/exam
- You don't need to pay more for extra dive eg : confined lesson (so air buffet)
- You don't have to do your swimming test in open sea (some might be rough)
- You will feel more comfortable water before you heading to island (so safety first)
- You will learn more stuff here. (instead of compact everything within 4 days)
- You can always buy/get anything you think you need (if you dont feel comfortable with their eq)
- You will always entitle to special discount price for trips/equipment

can you recommend any1 that doing this with perhentian as the open water course. ( i only came across those with tioman as the open water place). thx
ayanozomireon
post Jun 5 2013, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 4 2013, 09:23 AM)
Just got my OW license.
hmmm...donno why i'm not happy.
maybe to much focus on breathing, equalize, and buoyancy.
sorry, noob reporting in biggrin.gif
hi, mind sharing with me where, and cost u did ur ow?
ayanozomireon
post Jun 6 2013, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(Shiitake @ Jun 6 2013, 12:26 PM)
Hello.
i took with Turtle Bay Diver, Perhentian, Rm 950 for OWDC.
since i did not take any package, so my total expenses was Rm 1370 including OWDC, accommodation, boat transfer, bus, meal, and two fun dive sessions tongue.gif
wow universal quoted me more than 2k without full meals.

0.0208sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:54 AM