Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

fylon
post Jun 6 2013, 04:58 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Hi guys, my 1st post in this section and hopefully I asked my question at the right section.

Anyways, I'm kinda new in this FD thing and ain't really sure whats good and whats not. Here's the case:

My father just retired and had withdraw his EFP fund and he ask me to look for a good FD plan to "grow" his money in a stable way. From I read at the front page I found Affin Bank offer the highest interest amount.

And here goes myquestion is, can my father just cash out part of his money and put it as FD in Affin Bank? Or he need to create a saving account?
fylon
post Jun 6 2013, 07:05 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 06:30 PM)
EPF rate is always better than FD rate.

You father can do a partial withdrawal from his EPF account and deposit it in FD.
And keep the remaining of fund in EPF until your father needs to use the money again.

If I am not mistaken, your father can park his fund in his EPF account to enjoy high interest rate until he reach 75 years old or 78 years old.

You can contact EPF for more info:
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/ms/reach-us/...ffices-location

What FD rate is Affin offering now? I doubt Affin's FD rate is the best, but this depends on the tenure.

Whether is it necessary to open a saving account for FD, it depends on the bank's FD plan.
Hey man! Thanks for your prompt reply on this! icon_rolleyes.gif

By the way, he cash out all the fund already, due the br1m issue. He afraid if dont take now, later the government later go bankrupt and he lost his money. Old man minded. sweat.gif

That's the reason why he ask me to help look for alternative way to "grow" his fund outside of the EPF accounts.

IMO, I dont think can my dad now still "park" the fund back to his EPF account anymore since already been cash out. sweat.gif

Affin Bank - 3.05%, 3.1%, 3.25% and 3.6%

That's what I found from the 1st page.

Highly appreciate for more input. laugh.gif
fylon
post Jun 6 2013, 07:57 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 07:32 PM)
Different person has different thinking, there is no right and wrong.

Maybe you can call EPF to see if your father can re-deposit back the money into EPF account?
But since your father think this way, then go for FD now, no choice.

By the way, government and political party are 2 different things, don't mess-up.

How long do you want to put your FD?

For 1 year tenure, you can consider the followings:

(1) Kuwait Finance House  -- 3.88%
(2) OCBC  -- 3.7%
(3) UOB -- 3.68% (can negotiate a bit if your fund is big or moderate)
(4) Bank Rakyat --  4.01%, can get interest monthly if the deposit amount is RM 20K and above (but no PIDM protection). Rate can negotiate.
                            Some of our member here can get 4.2%

But your father may not like to deposit in Bank Rakyat due to his thought.
Thank you once again for the point out, and you're right, financial and politic are two diff thing but well sometimes is real hard to talk with old man due to the way their are different. blush.gif

Probably 12-24months will be his choice to "grow" part of the cash before he figure out what to do with it.

Not really sure about the figure he gonna invest on FD, but if the amount is bigger then it is possible to negotiate with bank side right? Let's say something around 50-60k.

OCBC seems a good call, since it just within a km from my work place. icon_rolleyes.gif
fylon
post Jun 6 2013, 08:19 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 6 2013, 08:11 PM)
dun mean no disrespect but if it's 50-60k, best to keep in epf, withdraw as and when he needs.

commercial banks have this priority banking status for those who come with a certain amt. varies - some 300k, some 500k.
with that status, can get some privileges, incl slightly better rates for fd. if >1mil, sure better rates.

i know people who withdraw all from epf because they either dun trust epf or have disdain for the perception of how epf "play" with their blood and sweat money. not without reason, though.

besides fd, a retiree can think of other rather hassle free low risk vehicles - blue chip stocks, reits, structured deposits.

normal stocks and gold carry much higher risks, think not suitable for him.

read the various threads - there is some good info here.
The bold part speaks the mind of my father. icon_rolleyes.gif

That's what he's thinking right this mo and also the reason which make him withdraw all by one shot.

Thank you for the head up bro, appreciate your input. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 08:13 PM)
Then no need to think too much, just deposit it in OCBC for 1 year to get 3.7% first to avoid losing
daily interest.

After deposit this money while earning 1 year interest, you and your father can take this 1 year
time to think what you should do next with this money in 1 year later.

I am afraid 50-60K is hard to negotiate.
Yup, actually is more then the said amount but he took out some for house renovation, get any card & etc.

Bold part is what I ask him to do after FD-ed the fund. Just go out and look around the current market before decide which path to go.

Better to earn that 3.7% from 50k rather then let it sit at saving account but grow peanuts. laugh.gif
fylon
post Jun 6 2013, 10:30 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 10:25 PM)
Or you can consider OCBC's 3 months FD at around 3.96% rate

2/3 of fund put in 3 months FD at 4.5%
1/3 of fund put in Smart Savers account for 3 months at 2.9% (need to deposit RM 1000 in Smart Savers in 2nd and 3rd month to get 2.9%)

Average is approximately 3.96%
So for example,

split the fund into:

- 40k in 3months FD
- 8k in Smart Savers + depo 1k @ 2nd month + depo another 1k @ 3rd month

Am I right?
fylon
post Jun 7 2013, 11:01 AM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 6 2013, 10:44 PM)
No...  biggrin.gif
Let's say if deposit RM 50 in total:
(1) 2/3 of fund from RM 50K = RM 33333.34
This RM 33333.34 will put in 3 month FD at 4.5%
(2) 1/3 of fund from RM 50K = RM 16666.66
This RM 16666.66 will put in Smart Savers account for 3 months tenure at 2.9%
In order to get 2.9% for RM 16666.66 in your Smart Savers, you have to deposit
at least each RM 1000 during any working day of the second and third month in your
Smart Savers account, upon open your Smart Savers account.
Please look at this Smart Savers Interest Table - Only look at Revised Interest Rate with Yellow Background:
[attachmentid=3475187]
You cannot withdraw your money from Smart Savers until your FD is matured
in 3 months later.
I see.. Okay, now i got it! biggrin.gif
Thank you so much for the info, it seem extra effort is needed to gain the extra %. Perhaps, stick to the 3.7% for 12 months is the best solution for those that lazy to hop around the counter each month.
Will brief my old man about this and see what's his decision. Thank you once again. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 6 2013, 10:45 PM)
If your father is above 60 then the chances of government changing any withdrawal ruling may not affect him. Since government has changed the retirement age to 60 yrs old, people are concern that EPF may follow and change the full withdrawal age limit.
You father can still deposit back to EPF and the limit is RM60k per year.
I deposited into EPF since the rate is high. In case I need to withdraw, EPF will prorate based on this year dividend announcement. Most likely next year rate will be lower as this year high dividend rate is due to election.
Split the fund into two or three groups, example 20k for 1 year, 20 k for 3 months, 20 k for 6 months. The good thing is flexibility but the bad thing, those promotion rate need fresh fund which may be troublesome to him to play the musical chair when FD mature.
Most banks do not require saving account for FD placement. But some banks which have promotion rate required opening of saving account to deposit the interest rate..most banks provides a very slightly higher rate for senior citizen. Am bank provide free insurance for senior citizen FD placement but the rate is lower than that of banks which have promotion now.
So bro, it is possible to have the fund to be deposit back to EPF but only with 60k max / year right? Sounds good, at least it can be the last resort if there's no suitable solution found.
For the bold part, you're right! Nothing is perfect. For making the fund more flow-able, there's always a game need to hands on.
Will try to walk to the bank ask for their monthly / special promotion for more info since I got the heads up! icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0415sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:24 AM