7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

pinksapphire
post Jun 12 2013, 03:45 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 12 2013, 02:43 AM)
Sorry Sis, I am afraid I mislead you.

All banks do not have obligations to give us free gift when placing a FD; unless they have a promotion stated free gift will
give away when placing FD, and most of the time they will put down on condition provided the stock (gift) is still available.

What I tried to say was:
Just try to ask for free gift when placing FD (especially when signing up new premier accounts, new FD accounts, or place big sum of FD)
even there is no promotion. Sometime bank may have some extra gifts left over from their previous promotion, or they may have
some gifts ready for customers who ask for them.

But most of the gifts from banks are not valuable, like umbrella, coffee mug, diary, back bag, travel bag, towel, shoes bag, and etc..

The gift from bank is just an extra bonus to us, if we can get it, that is great; if not, it is fine for us too. The most important
things for us is the FD rate.

I heard 2 stories from 2 RMs, they used their own money to buy gifts for their new sign-up FD customers:
(1) OCBC - RM 100 Parkson voucher (I think this was for premier customer)
(2) HSBC - A normal diary book (This was for new regular FD customer in a new branch opening last year)
Thanks yea, fully understand it now. And yup, most importantly FD rate is the best out there, otherwise apa pun tak guna.
And wow, those 2 RMs...dedicated or desperate, I wonder. The return on their 'investment' must be quite decent.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 12 2013, 03:10 AM)
No No no no no...  One exception case did happen, OCBC RM tried to cheat my gold art.  mad.gif
I mentioned this con case last time, I believe you knew about it. 

Better to check around and make sure what gift promotion does the bank have before we go. Trust no RM..bruce.gif
What a terrible RM! Hope you've filed a complaint and action was taken against him/her bruce.gif

RM if not ethical, they can be the worst people out there. Hard to find one that cares genuinely for their customers.
pinksapphire
post Jun 12 2013, 11:20 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 12 2013, 07:49 PM)
I got free Mont Blanc pen also worth more than RM1k brows.gif
Lol, I hate you cry.gif
pinksapphire
post Jun 14 2013, 03:22 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jun 14 2013, 03:01 PM)
thanks avfan for the detail explanation.
i think its better to stick with CIMB instead of go for conventional bank.
by the way, is there much difference if the bank in not covered under PIDM?
as for bank rakyat, its covered by under MOF rite?
I don't like CIMB bank. And their FD rate is not one of the best and I don't like their service. Can you believe that I heard of a case where someone went there to withdraw money and the bank told him "We don't have enough money, cannot give you". Lol, like wth, right? The bank can shiok shiok have no money with them. So what if I need as emergency, then how?
pinksapphire
post Jun 14 2013, 07:56 PM

1,264 posts

So far nothing else is new...time flies and it's already mid June.
I asked a UOB officer (random visit) and she told me that even if there's any new promo after this month, the interest rate will not be higher, only lower.
I wonder if anyone's gotten any feedback on the outlook from other banks that they can share?
pinksapphire
post Jun 15 2013, 01:12 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 15 2013, 12:24 AM)
Received called from Hong Leong bank saying there is a FD promotion 5.25% per year. The staff wanted to make appointment to explain to me. I asked her is this 5.25% a pure FD and not reuired to buy any structured products or unit trust etc..she said is pure FD. I told her email to me the detail first begore meeting up...no news thereafter...anyone of you aware of this FD promo?
Cannot be so nice one. Maybe pure FD, but step-up version, etc. Surely won't be effective rate.
pinksapphire
post Jun 21 2013, 01:05 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jun 21 2013, 12:37 AM)
btw, banker cheque increase to RM5 for CIMB sad.gif
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/important_notices/bank/
CIMB must be out of their minds.
pinksapphire
post Jun 21 2013, 06:00 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 21 2013, 04:42 AM)
Enjoy 5% profits per annum with the BNM Sukuk 1Malaysia 2010, available at commercial banks,
Islamic banks, Bank Kerjasama Rakyat Malaysia Berhad, Bank Simpanan National and Agrobank.

Subscription period: 20th May till 13th June 2010
Eligibility: Malaysian citizens aged 21 years and above

- Susuk will have a maturity of 3 years
- Based on Shariah principles
- Minimum subscription of RM1,000 and maximum of RM50,000
- Issuance date: 21st June 2010
- Resaleable before maturity date

Link:
http://www.offerstation.com/offers-promoti...laysia-2010.htm
I missed this opportunity  cry.gif

Anymore good deal like this recently..?
Was it a good thing to get even if it matures only in 3 years? Just wondering.
pinksapphire
post Jun 21 2013, 01:45 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(uglyduckling422 @ Jun 21 2013, 11:20 AM)
not sure but the 5% is really alot. I put in half year then took out oredi.  tongue.gif
Umm, you can take out halfway without penalty?

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 21 2013, 11:30 AM)
Not just CIMB, Affin bank increased to RM 5 too, i got a shock when I found out but no choice had to do it.
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 21 2013, 01:30 PM)
Maybank has been charging RM5 for a while....
Actually, what's the reasoning for charging so high? RM2.15 to me is already expensive, let alone RM5.
pinksapphire
post Jun 21 2013, 03:23 PM

1,264 posts

Seems like there's a HL Mach promo until end of this month. 12 months FD for 3.6%. For those who are so used to their 4% back then will find this inferior and not appealing, lol...
pinksapphire
post Jun 27 2013, 12:19 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Jun 26 2013, 09:20 PM)
the current promo by till end june suppose to have 4% interest right?
4.5% with CASA, so effective rate is lower than 4%, but close enough.
pinksapphire
post Jun 28 2013, 04:33 PM

1,264 posts

I feel like the FD % is slowly going down...and down... No more new promos so far...I hope July will be more exciting.
I'm glad there's OCBC's 3.7%, but 12 months is too long for me.
pinksapphire
post Jul 1 2013, 06:57 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 1 2013, 06:51 PM)
I withdrew my Bonus Saver prematurely and convert it to AUS$ FD, taking up the +5% promo for one month FD. Net rate is 7.43%. Exchange rate is RM2.9381. No penalty on premature withdrawal.
Hi, gsc. How does your net rate work? And by +5% promo, did you mean you get this much for placing a foreign FD for one month? It looks too good unsure.gif
pinksapphire
post Jul 1 2013, 09:49 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 1 2013, 08:00 PM)
One month FD (2.43%) + 5% = 7.43%.
Buying and selling will incur an exchange lost of approximately 2.3%. Conservatively if Aus $ still remain below RM3, I will still get 5%. I took it up because of promo. There were some discussions earlier in this topics and most advised against it because of exchange lost.

I brought this up is merely letting the member know there is no penalty on prematured FD withdrawal if you convert it to other Ocbc product. I actually wanted to use my Smart Saver but not allowed tongue.gif
Yeah, I remembered us discussing something about this not long ago too.
In short, you keep 1 month. The 2.4% is to cover the loss from immediate conversion and the 5% is like a betting amount, yes?
If the AUD goes above RM3, do you lose anything though? Or it's capital guaranteed?

To make my post relevant to FD, yes, OCBC allows for premature FD withdrawal without penalty if you take up any of their investment products.
pinksapphire
post Jul 3 2013, 11:51 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 3 2013, 11:41 AM)
UOB 12-months FD - so far best they could give me is 3.75%
This rate is no longer available.
pinksapphire
post Jul 4 2013, 02:10 AM

1,264 posts

3.3% only and HLB made it looked like it's super high doh.gif
pinksapphire
post Jul 5 2013, 02:52 AM

1,264 posts

Ambank's out of their minds. I won't be locking my money for that long period of time, that's crazy. But that's just me.
pinksapphire
post Jul 5 2013, 04:54 PM

1,264 posts

Heard that KFH is offering 3.8% again for 6, 9, 12 months. If you are okay with that bank, then it's one of the highest that you can go for. Min placement 20k.
Maybank has this eFD promo until mid July, but it's at a super low 3.1 or 3.2%, can't remember. Min placement 100k, siao.
pinksapphire
post Jul 17 2013, 03:16 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 17 2013, 03:10 PM)
You can check how it works here under "OCBC Bank - Combo Plan 3 Months FD 4.5% Ends 30 September 2013":
http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/p/fixed-deposit.html

Smartsavers account details:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac..._SmartSaversAcc

Average effective rate is usually around 3.9%-4%. Definitely not 4.5%, almost all the banks also will use all sorts of methods to attract customers to place FDs with them.
Yup, banks nowadays like to do this. But OCBC's combo is the best to me unlike the other crappy banks which give you way below 4%.
pinksapphire
post Jul 17 2013, 03:47 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 17 2013, 03:40 PM)
It's either RM100k or RM200k to get the highest interest rate possible, which is around ~3%. I don't remember where I put the product information sheet already. Better check with the bank or your RM directly. Good thing about Premier Save Gold is that no need to deposit every month compared to SS. But you need a minimum available funds of RM100k to keep that account open.
Hmm, didn't know about the Premier Save Gold. But I don't think this account is applicable as part of the promotion. Because I remember Smart Savers being the highest available option for savings under this CASA, so...maybe it's not included as an option.
pinksapphire
post Jul 17 2013, 04:19 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jul 17 2013, 04:00 PM)
I can confirm it's definitely applicable for the saving combo promo as I have been placing FDs for their promo using Premier Save Gold. Not sure about their minimum amount required to deposit though.  smile.gif
Ah, thanks. I'll definitely go check it out. Perhaps my minimum amount wasn't high enough, that's why that officer didn't suggest to me, lol laugh.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:01 AM