21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

BoomChaCha
post May 9 2013, 01:29 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 9 2013, 01:22 AM)
Thanks for the info! icon_rolleyes.gif
No problem. biggrin.gif

You have to have a Kuwait Finance House saving account so that KFH can deposit the advance
interest into your saving account.

If you are in Penang, KFH Penang will provide free parking.

I prefer a longer term of FD (like 6 months and above) so I do not need to spend time to renew FD
and monitor new FD rates... it is very tiring.. sad.gif

BoomChaCha
post May 9 2013, 01:53 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 9 2013, 01:37 AM)
I have Aus$ and NZ$ FD with Citi and Public bank. I went in when exchange rate is favorable just like now. A word of caution, the exchange rate may be worst after one month, but I doubt it will drop by 7.3%.

http://www.ocbc.com.my/business-banking/Fo...ange-rates.html

Example, The exchange rate is 3.076, to drop by 7.3 % means, the exchange rate has to drop to 2.86 which is unlikely.
Sorry to take up FD space, please PM .....I am not working nor advertising for Ocbc, just sharing...
Thanks for sharing.

I think you have the talent in investment. But I do not have this kind of intelligence and knowledge. sad.gif

I do not have time to study the OCBC foreign currency FD now.

Maybe I just place OCBC 3.55% for 3 months first... sad.gif

Thanks again

BoomChaCha
post May 9 2013, 04:30 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 9 2013, 04:22 PM)
Last time when I requested for 4.11% p.a., I was told it needed HQ approval...which took approximately 1 week to approve doh.gif
1. The red part, do you mean that we can bargain for more % if our tenure of placement is longer?

Yes, can get a better rate if the tenure is longer.
For example: place for 5 years or 61 months..

The rate for 5 years FD in Bank Rakyat is negotiable, depending on the Ringgit amount.
But the rate for 5 years in MBSB is straightly non-negotiable, regardless of the Ringgit amount.

But I think this depends on the branch (Bank Rakyat) how do they "fight" for the best rate for us..

Can request Bank Rakyat to deposit monthly interest into your Bank Rakyat saving account, if you can meet the
minimum FD deposit (I guess is RM 10K or RM 20K? I am not sure).

For 5 years FD in MBSB, MBSB will pay interest (issue check) every 6 months, so will receive 10 checks
in 5 years time.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 9 2013, 04:41 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 9 2013, 04:54 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 9 2013, 04:36 PM)
Yes, 5 years is 4.5% based on their website. But it is too long period of time and rates could rise higher than that. So I only placed FD for 12 months in BR.
Can get 4.6% if place for minimum 61 months tenure in Bank Rakyat.

I had the same thought just like yours few years back. But 5 years time is passing so fast,
the profit different in between 4% (for example) and 4.6% is significant in these 5 years time.

Whether the interest rise or drop in these 5 years, it is a gamble. It depends whether if we want to
enter this "casino." biggrin.gif

BoomChaCha
post May 9 2013, 05:16 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ May 9 2013, 05:11 PM)
Just put online M2U RM80k for 2.3% monthly interest, but can withdraw anytime since i am not using it.. sweat.gif
Bro RO, you can consider to put in Affin saving account for 2.8%. Can withdraw anytime since it is a saving account.
But issue a check from Affin saving account will cost you RM 5.00

This 2.8% promo for Affin saving account will end on 30 June 2013.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 9 2013, 05:19 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 13 2013, 02:54 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 13 2013, 11:51 AM)
In that case, my interest starts on 13/05/13 & ends on 12/06/13?

So, I don't receive any interest on 13/06/13?
It depends on banks.

For UOB, you do not get interest on the last day of the FD.
For OCBC, you will get interest on the last day of the FD.

If you do not withdraw your FD (let's say 3 months promotion rate) after it is matured, bank will give
you FD normal board rate after 3 months period.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 14 2013, 11:29 AM
BoomChaCha
post May 14 2013, 02:33 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 13 2013, 08:28 PM)

......Any lead about BR's FD?
sorry, I do not understand this question.

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 13 2013, 08:28 PM)

Do I get the interest on the last day?
I think so.., but I am not sure

BoomChaCha
post May 14 2013, 11:47 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ May 14 2013, 02:22 PM)
OCBC NEW SAVING PROMOTION TILL END OF JUNE

4.5 % FOR 3 MONTH FD

MINUMUM FD PLACEMENT = 5000
MAXIMUM FD PLACEMENT = 2X of ur CASA account balance.
*FRESH FUND ONLY
I think you are talking about Bonus Savers Deal (4.5% for 3 months, 1/3 of fund needs to park in CASA) which started since early April.

It is impossible to have a quick increase of FD rate from 3.55% to 4.5% sweat.gif

Furthermore, OCBC updates their FD promo based on quarterly.
The next OCBC FD promo will start from early July until to the end of September.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 14 2013, 11:57 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 15 2013, 12:17 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 14 2013, 11:50 PM)
Anyway, here's one that's related to OCBC FD rate too, but it's for high flyers:

Be entitled for 5.5% p.a. for 3 months when you successfully apply for an OCBC Premier Banking membership and you hold or purchase 3 Wealth Management products.
The worst part is one of the Wealth Management products must be something like a Uni Trust. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 15 2013, 12:37 AM
BoomChaCha
post May 17 2013, 08:31 PM

2,490 posts

This afternoon I went to OCBC and found out I was allowed to open extra Smart Savers account at the same branch,
then I quick-quick placed a 3 Months FD at 4.5%, 2/3 of fund put in FD (4.5%), and 1/3 put in new Smart Savers (can get
maximum 2.9% rate if deposit RM 1k in the Smart Savers during the second and third month).

OCBC calls this 3 months FD promo as Savings Promotion.

Here is the latest promotion flyer from OCBC:

BoomChaCha
post May 17 2013, 08:44 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 17 2013, 07:41 AM)
Bank Rakyat is not under PIDM, is it a bank ?
MBSB is not under PIDM and it's a not a bank.
Bank Rakyat is a bank. That was what Bank Rakyat told me.

MBSB for sure is not a bank.

Both are not under PIDM protection.

BoomChaCha
post May 18 2013, 02:30 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 18 2013, 01:56 AM)
So it's better if we take up this deal by having separate SS account rather than dumping more money over time into the same promo with only 1 SS, yes?
Yes. So that you have the flexible timing to withdraw your first FD together with your first Smart Savers.

If you use one Smart Savers with 2 FDs (2 different FD placing dates), all your funds in one Smart Savers will "stuck" together
until the first day of the 3rd or fourth month.

BoomChaCha
post May 18 2013, 03:08 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 18 2013, 02:54 AM)
You're so lucky they actually allowed that! thumbup.gif To me, this is still the best offer (minus the unflexible withdrawal and getting 'stuck' issue), so this is great.
This has nothing to do with my luck.

Every OCBC branch has their own policy, each branch works independently.

Last time I called OCBC help about to get additional Smart Saver account, they said
this depend on the branch. If you have good reason, they may allow.

You should try to ask for it. Good Luck biggrin.gif

BoomChaCha
post May 19 2013, 09:33 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ May 19 2013, 01:30 AM)
I stop saving combo because in my SS comparatively the fund is bigger than my FD. This hapened because Ocbc dont allowed opening up additional SS account. You really have a good deal because the 3 month FD effectively is 3.9%
Differently branch has different policy.

If your OCBC branch is so straight, then your option is to open a 2nd Smart Savers account
in another OCBC branch.

BoomChaCha
post May 19 2013, 09:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ulai @ May 19 2013, 06:10 PM)
I als have the smart saver acc in OCBC, so now if i put the 3 moths FD then i will get the 4.5% rate?
2/3 of your fund will place in FD at 4.5% for 3 months.
1/3 of your fund will place in Smart Savers at maximum 2.9% (please refer to the first page).

In average, you will get approximately 3.96%

BoomChaCha
post May 23 2013, 12:36 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 23 2013, 12:21 PM)
But over the past 55 year, RM vs SGD, gsc law doesn't apply. biggrin.gif
Ha..ha. ha.. biggrin.gif

I doubt gsc law will apply on RM vs. SGD

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 23 2013, 08:00 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 30 2013, 03:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(alwjmonster @ May 30 2013, 01:56 PM)
what is the rate for both bank?
UOB FD Promotion Rates -- will end on 30 June 2013
fresh fund required

1 year: 3.68%
3 months: 3.48%

OCBC FD Promotion Rates

Fresh fund required:
3 months: 3.55%
1 year: 3.7%

Fresh fund not required:
3 months: 3.4%
1 year: 3.4%

http://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Accounts...Q22013Conso.pdf

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 30 2013, 03:48 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 30 2013, 03:20 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ProperTYcoon @ May 30 2013, 12:57 PM)
UOB and OCBC FD rate is the best among all Banks for now..
Kuwait Finance House
3.88% for 6 months, 1 years, or 2 years
Not more paying advance interest
Promo ends 30 June 2013

Mach Bank
3.6% for 1 year
Promo ends 30 June 2013

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 30 2013, 03:33 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 30 2013, 03:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 30 2013, 03:23 PM)
I thought the KFH is no longer Interest in Advance ? That's what I've been told by the branch in KL Sentral
You are right. Sorry, my info is out dated. blush.gif

I just called to KFH Help Line, KFH is no longer offering pay advance interest.

KFH KL Sentral mini branch can place FD.

BoomChaCha
post Jun 3 2013, 12:48 AM

2,490 posts

Just noticed MBSB has a FD promotion at 4.2% (80% of fund) for 9 months tenure, but 20% of fund needs to put into Saving account:

http://www.mbsb.com.my/misc/Fortune.pdf

MBSB saving account interest rates:
http://www.mbsb.com.my/deposits_savings.html

You have to bundle with normal saving account (2.25% rate) in this Fortune promotion.
Cash Rich saving account (2.68% rate) is not allowed to open in this promotion.

The 20% fund in saving account (2.25% rate) cannot be withdrew until reaching the 9 months maturity date.

So, the effective rate is approximately 3.81% p.a. for 9 months tenure.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 3 2013, 06:31 PM

21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:35 AM