121 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 09:53 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 09:40 PM)
FRIND is not a FD, why post in FD thread.  laugh.gif
Although also contain F & D.  laugh.gif

It is more towards investment already.
Sorry..the post has been deleted.. sweat.gif
HJebat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:59 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:33 AM)
My guess is HJebat is the one from east Malaysia. Disclaimer: old man may be wrong.  biggrin.gif
Maybe...probably...uncertain...perhaps...possibly tongue.gif

From where I come from, the land mass is quite large & less populated (& developed). Not a problem to find local major banks here, but those foreign-owned banks are only available in major cities dry.gif
cherroy
post Sep 4 2013, 10:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 09:53 PM)
Sorry..the post has been deleted..  sweat.gif
Don't need to delete, just to remind for those may not investment savy people.
As those belonged those structured investment category.

As some newbie may confuse FRIND or any structured investment even though there are capital protected, but they are never a FD.
As stated clearly across, those investment is not PIDM, similar to one invest UT with banks, the different is banks structured it become a capital protected only.

It is quite easy to structure a capital protected investment on one onw.
You have 100k and time frame is 3 years.
You put 90K is a AAA rated bond that carrying 3.33% yield. After 3 years, you get back 100K, viola capital protected.

While the rest 10K put in warrant, options, derivatives that may win big, as they carrying leverage power to do so.
So if as planned, the 10k become 20k, the total investment final value is 120K, so equivalent to 6.66% yield investment already.

This is how can a structured investment being crafted out.

gsc
post Sep 4 2013, 10:02 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 3 2013, 11:10 PM)
You'd better double check with OCBC again, OCBC help line said this promo is
already ended during June this year.

RM confirmed today still available till 10 Sept. I dont usually call the help line because they tell what they saw on their website which is not updated or sometimes they just tell whatever come across their minds. This apples to most banks 1-300-xxx.. line...

I always prefer call the bank staffs direct as they are the one hands-on opening and closing account..
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 10:09 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 4 2013, 10:02 PM)
RM confirmed today still available till 10 Sept. I dont usually call the help line because they tell what they saw on their website which is not updated or sometimes they just tell whatever come across their minds. This apples to most banks 1-300-xxx.. line...

I always prefer call the bank staffs direct as they are the one hands-on opening and closing account..
Yup, the 13 months 3.70% is still available. Deposited at 6 pm just now.
TSGen-X
post Sep 4 2013, 10:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 4 2013, 10:09 PM)
Yup, the 13 months 3.70% is still available. Deposited at 6 pm just now.
And you wanted to go with 3.25% tongue.gif Aren't you glad you got people here to make you think twice laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 4 2013, 10:15 PM
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2013, 10:18 PM

- student of human nature -
26,525 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 4 2013, 10:12 PM)
And you wanted to with 3.25% tongue.gif Aren't you glad you got people here to make you think twice  laugh.gif

e
The turning point was when I found out they open shop until 7pm. Rushed from office, reached UOB at 345 pm to uplift (UOB closes at 4pm), then headed over to OCBC. Even got time to chit chat with the banker tongue.gif

If I do the Ambank route, my dad will do the upliftment (pay RM2.15 for banker's cheque) and head over to Ambank for 3.25%.

Haha, yeah this thread is the one that actually prompted me to check OCBC opening hours thumbup.gif
danmooncake
post Sep 4 2013, 10:20 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 10:01 PM)
Don't need to delete, just to remind for those may not investment savy people.
As those belonged those structured investment category.

As some newbie may confuse FRIND or any structured investment even though there are capital protected, but they are never a FD.
As stated clearly across, those investment is not PIDM, similar to one invest UT with banks, the different is banks structured it become a capital protected only.

It is quite easy to structure a capital protected investment on one onw.
You have 100k and time frame is 3 years.
You put 90K is a AAA rated bond that carrying 3.33% yield. After 3 years, you get back 100K, viola capital protected.

While the rest 10K put in warrant, options, derivatives that may win big, as they carrying leverage power to do so.
So if as planned, the 10k become 20k, the total investment final value is 120K, so equivalent to 6.66% yield investment already.

Interesting... how come they used the word "Fixed..Deposit" in their product line? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 10:34 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:43 PM)
Say only, still need proof !!  brows.gif

CIMB one I think the minimum is 50k or 60k, started Jan 2012 for the revised one. Before this one, the rate was better but they recalled it and issued new one. It is Callable !!  biggrin.gif
Then I can show you more than 50 victory battles on 1080p high definition videos, but let me try to upload them to Youtube
first.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 09:36 PM)
Ha you missed my last question on when was the last time the young BoomChaCha was in AmBank ( I edited the message while you replied).

The last FD I placed with Am Bank was about 2 years ago.

AmBank has one last year around May/June which tie up with credit card application (add'l 0.1% interest). The FD was due this year and I pulled it out. But on Jan 2013 they also have another promotion which I also placed FD (have to check the cert for the rate, probably 3.7 to 3.8% range).

I have never wanted to place FD bundled with a credit/debit card.

The CIMB FRNID that I bought is for 10 years duration. But they have been paying out the 5.2% every 3 months.
Good return rate..

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 09:49 PM)
I never want to invest in structured product that is callable.
Totally not in investors control at all.

I experienced before, situation is good and favourable time and can reap good yield time, the bank called back.  mad.gif
Experienced with a Klibor structured investment previously.

So the bank will call back/cancel the plan when the market situation is favor to investors, or vice versa..?

Thank you so much for pointing this out.. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 4 2013, 10:02 PM)

Really ah.. hmm.gif but sometimes if they do not know the answer, they will refer to their supervisor..

Ok anyway..I called OCBC help line this morning, and I double checked again for their FD promo rates,
these 3 FD promo will expire next Tuesday - 10 September 2013.
(1) 3.4% for 1 year (fresh fund not required)
(2) 3.7% for 1 year (fresh fund and joint account required)
(3) 4.5% for 3 months (bundled with CASA - Smart Savers)

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 10:43 PM
cherroy
post Sep 4 2013, 10:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 4 2013, 10:20 PM)
Interesting... how come they used the word "Fixed..Deposit" in their product line?  hmm.gif
FRNID = Floating rate Negotiable Instrument Deposit.

Where got "fixed deposit" term?

FRNID is you give certain amount with the bank, (not the same as saving or FD deposit), by then bank use it for specific investment purpose as stated in the structured product.
gsc
post Sep 4 2013, 10:41 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 07:23 PM)
You are too modest, your numbers should be X10  brows.gif !

Have been using Citibank for years, my housing loan also started with them years ago .......... biggrin.gif
Benefits of Citigold, no annual fee Platinum Visa, free parking, used to have gifts for birthday, Citigold counter etc. Really not many, but as part of spreading out the eggs (not all eggs in one basket, ha ha  tongue.gif )

What is rate offered for housing loan by Citi? The FD rate at Citi is miserable but the service in general is better than that Ocbc.
cherroy
post Sep 4 2013, 10:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 10:34 PM)
So the bank will call back/cancel the plan when the market situation is favor to investors, or vice versa..?

Thank you so much for pointing this out..  notworthy.gif
Really ah..  hmm.gif  but sometimes if they do not know the answer, they will refer to their supervisor..

Ok anyway..I called OCBC help line this morning, and I double checked again for their FD promo rates,
It depends, but previously I am confident that KLIBOR won't rise, so I took the structured product, that if KLIBOR doesn't surge beyond x%, the structured product give good yield.
But sadly the bank call back the product since it has callable option.

Basically it depends on the clause set, not every product is the same, and vary from each other in term of the clauses.

Some callable due to hitting whatever threshold, some callable due to xyz condition etc.
cherroy
post Sep 4 2013, 10:44 PM

25,802 posts

Actually, there is nothing to shout about capital guaranteed.

A 5 years structured product with capital guaranteed, if situation doesn't favourable, result in 0% return aka capital guaranteed get back, one already lose out 15% opportunity cost already.
3% pa x 5.
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 10:54 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 10:42 PM)
It depends, but previously I am confident that KLIBOR won't rise, so I took the structured product, that if KLIBOR doesn't surge beyond x%, the structured product give good yield.

Basically it depends on the clause set, not every product is the same, and vary from each other in term of the clauses.

Some callable due to hitting whatever threshold, some callable due to xyz condition etc.
I am not familiar with any of these investment products at all.

I would like to listen to somebody who has previous experience with these products.

Very simple, if you say yes, then I will probably go for it.

If you say no, then I will not go for it. And this will save my time no need to study the 5 pages of materials/information,
furthermore I also do not quite understand the technical words, as well as the terms and conditions.

Thanks again.... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 4 2013, 11:01 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 11:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 09:49 PM)
I never want to invest in structured product that is callable.
Totally not in investors control at all.

I experienced before, situation is good and favourable time and can reap good yield time, the bank called back.  mad.gif
Experienced with a Klibor structured investment previously.
Yes, exactly. By the way, this CIMB one is also Klibor related. biggrin.gif

They recalled it and issue a new one at lower rate. shakehead.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 11:15 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 4 2013, 10:41 PM)
What is rate offered for housing loan by Citi? The FD rate at Citi is miserable but the service in general is better than that Ocbc.
This old man is way pass housing loan for years, luckily thumbup.gif

No idea now ....................... tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 11:19 PM

6,614 posts

Respect you on your knowledge. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I bought the CIMB FRNID being persuaded by the BM. tongue.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 4 2013, 11:31 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 11:09 PM)
Yes, exactly. By the way, this CIMB one is also Klibor related.  biggrin.gif

They recalled it and issue a new one at lower rate.  shakehead.gif
Banks replaced a lower rate cert..? Banks are very snake.... shakehead.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 4 2013, 11:19 PM)
Respect you on your knowledge.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

I bought the CIMB FRNID being persuaded by the BM.  tongue.gif
But so far you are NOT regret lah...you still made some good money loh.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 5 2013, 02:43 AM
pinksapphire
post Sep 4 2013, 11:57 PM

1,264 posts

Cherroy, I'm not sure what's KLIBOR but my RM did mention that before and wanted me to take that up.
Do you or anyone else have any opinions on this... OCBC has this 5-year term so-called fixed deposit (not PIDM guaranteed, but OCBC guaranteed) and you get like 4.5% calculated daily interest, and you get the interest every 3 months credited to your account. There's also this gap % that they will be paying you for the period over the years to 'make up' for the time.

It sounded okay when briefed on this, but as I'm going to see my RM personally later to learn more, it's good to be able to get your feedbacks on this.
Honestly, I'm still lost as to what it is.
gsc
post Sep 5 2013, 12:11 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 10:34 PM)

Really ah..  hmm.gif  but sometimes if they do not know the answer, they will refer to their supervisor.
The 3.7% is for 13 not 12 months..

121 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:17 PM