121 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

TSGen-X
post Aug 23 2013, 11:29 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 22 2013, 09:40 PM)
If like this, then property should be affected..? Most condos are selling from RM 500 to RM 600 per square feet, how to buy..?  sweat.gif I guess the property market should burst soon..
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 23 2013, 09:35 AM)
Penang property for new launches are at RM600 to >RM1000 psf !! If there is a burst, that will be good news !! Go for some shopping lah !!  tongue.gif
In the last major recession, residential landed property price did not really drop much (commercial and land a different story as prices did drop as no buyers), just that prices did not appreciate for few years. Of course you may get some very good bargain from bank lelongs but not that many around.

Go shopping for property, maybe one or 2 unless you freaking loaded and can wait like a decade or two for it to appreciate 100% (can go up 1000% too especially for land); but, I am talking about shopping spree and making 100% profit in 1 or 2 years, i.e. shares - and once again like I always say, if MBB ever goes below RM4.00 just buy buy buy. Then take profit and hope FD rate goes back to 2 digit like it did last time tongue.gif

No.. sad.gif   I was hoping for the new car price dropped after General Election, unfortunately this never happened..
Bro go get hybrid lah, good price even before the election. Honda got many to choose from or get the Audi A6 Hybrid. Save you money too when you go to the banks, hahaha

If you ask me, the government stupid to reduce car prices, as it is now, traffic is like crazy because everybody drive (which means it is affordable for majority of the people). We also had cheap cars since the days of Kancil and now also can get cheap cars, e.g. Perodua Viva starting from RM24K. This car price reduction thingy is just a ploy by PR to attract voters who are now driving Kancil but thinking they can upgrade to Myvi and those driving Jap cars can upgrade to Audi, MB or BMW, hahahaha.

I took my son to the airport early this morning and on the way home I was stuck in traffic mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif and the numbers of cars on the roads really shocked me because i noted the traffic jam is like extra few km long compared to 1 or 2 years ago.

You mean 2 years ago, all commercial banks offered straight 5% FD..?   sweat.gif
That would be nice, haha. No lah, "any" which means none. Back in 2010 I got 5% with HLB Junior FD (maturing next year), then Citibank 5% but for RM200K only so needed to open several join accounts and then 5% with OCBC (but this one if you recall only sylille and me managed to get full 5% instead of hald AUM). Back in 2011 got 4.5% from HLB Junior Acct which is maturing this year.

Wah two years already since I started FD V2 thread. Time pass really fast.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 23 2013, 11:44 AM
Ah hao
post Aug 23 2013, 11:59 AM

1,619 posts

Is it safe to put FD in Bank Rakyat since its not covered by PIDM ?
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 23 2013, 01:08 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 23 2013, 11:29 AM)
In the last major recession, residential landed property price did not really drop much (commercial and land a different story as prices did drop as no buyers), just that prices did not appreciate for few years. Of course you may get some very good bargain from bank lelongs but not that many around.
When crisis hit, residential houses will drop in term of value???
gsc
post Aug 23 2013, 01:51 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 22 2013, 09:51 PM)
Usually only new FD account (especially big Ringgit amount) will get free gift.
Deposit into Hong Leong saving account will get hello kitty free gift...
Dkck
post Aug 23 2013, 02:34 PM

138 posts

Wnt to ask, i placed FD at OCBC ( 3 month 4.5% ) . Then i check my online banking account, the FD amount was correct, but the 50% place to my existing smart saver only show as current balance, but no add into available balance. Is it normal? The 50% fund inside Smart saver can get 2.9% ?
hcolin
post Aug 23 2013, 02:37 PM

107 posts

Hi all. Just came back from RHB. The FD promo of 3.78% p.a for existing bank acc holder already finished. Only the left is the other FD promo for 3.88% p.a with 90:10 amount split to CASA and must be fresh funds !!

magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:01 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Aug 23 2013, 02:34 PM)
Wnt to ask, i placed FD at OCBC ( 3 month 4.5% ) . Then i check my online banking account, the FD amount was correct, but the 50% place to my existing smart saver only show as current balance, but no add into available balance. Is it normal? The 50% fund inside Smart saver can get 2.9% ?
Thats because its locked to your FD and not available to be used. I think it cant even be used to pledge for OD.

Smart saver has its monthly deposit, to be eligible for its max interest.

Dkck
post Aug 23 2013, 03:07 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 23 2013, 03:01 PM)
Thats because its locked to your FD and not available to be used. I think it cant even be used to pledge for OD.

Smart saver has its monthly deposit, to be eligible for its max interest.
so let's say my smart saver currently got rm10k, the 50% amount was 5k(locked), so the interest i get on smart saver is calculate based on 10k or 15k?

*Every month i will deposit >1k for 2.9%

This post has been edited by Dkck: Aug 23 2013, 03:08 PM
Ah hao
post Aug 23 2013, 03:18 PM

1,619 posts

Maybank 12 month 4.10% pa ?

But confused with this sentence:

*Note: Should there be Overnight Policy Rate changes, the offered rates will be revised.

what is that actually?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions
helob
post Aug 23 2013, 03:29 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 23 2013, 03:18 PM)
Maybank 12 month 4.10% pa ?

But confused with this sentence:

*Note: Should there be Overnight Policy Rate changes, the offered rates will be revised.

what is that actually?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions
This is a step-up scheme. 4.1% is only for month 10-12. The effective rate for 12 month is only 3.5%.

Ah hao
post Aug 23 2013, 03:35 PM

1,619 posts

QUOTE(helob @ Aug 23 2013, 03:29 PM)
This is a step-up scheme. 4.1% is only for month 10-12. The effective rate for 12 month is only 3.5%.
ok, hate the banks, never wat u see is wat u get.
magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:37 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Aug 23 2013, 03:07 PM)
so let's say my smart saver currently got rm10k, the 50%  amount was 5k(locked), so the interest i get on smart saver is calculate based on 10k or 15k?

whatever is in the smart saver is eligible including the monthly RM1 k provided 0 withdrawal.

note: just in case u dont understand, locked or unlocked also will get the interest. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 23 2013, 03:44 PM
magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:40 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 23 2013, 03:35 PM)
That one is considered simple, more tricky ones are around. I do hope you ask for adviced before diving into any scheme no matter how convincing it sound. biggrin.gif

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 23 2013, 03:41 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 23 2013, 03:35 PM)
no, they din't do anything wrong, this is business tactics. You have to calculate yourself.

but maybank is very good already, clearly stated all the info. But i don't why you still don't understand.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 23 2013, 03:42 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 23 2013, 03:40 PM)
That one is considered simple, more tricky ones are around. I do hope you ask for adviced before diving into any scheme no matter how convincing it sound. biggrin.gif
PBB super FD mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
talexeh
post Aug 23 2013, 03:51 PM

One man's meat is another man's poison.
3,097 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 23 2013, 01:51 PM)
Just came back from Bank Rakyat. Apparently they've consolidated their multiple FD plans (if my memory serves me right) into a single plan (Makeen).

Got myself a humble mug for opening a FD there. Considering the fact that I've never received any free gifts for my past FD deposits in other banks, I guess it's a good start. biggrin.gif
magika
post Aug 23 2013, 03:52 PM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 23 2013, 03:42 PM)
PBB super FD  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Whats so difficult ? It 3.324% pa.(savings int not taken into consideration) . Good thing is can withdraw and still eligible for its monthly rate. Quite good for those placing their loose change there. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Aug 23 2013, 03:55 PM
gsc
post Aug 23 2013, 04:22 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Dkck @ Aug 23 2013, 03:07 PM)
so let's say my smart saver currently got rm10k, the 50%  amount was 5k(locked), so the interest i get on smart saver is calculate based on 10k or 15k?

When open the FD accountb on the Bonus Saver 4.5% rate, 50% of FD must be placed in SS and it is locked there for 3 months period. That amount will only get 2.9% rate provided you bank in RM1000 in month 2 and month 3. At the end of month 3 then only it appears as available to use.

With 4.5% in FD and 2.9% in SS, theoretically the effective rate is 3.96% as reported by most forum members here. This is true only provided that a person does not continue depositing/opening into the Bonus Saver, for example in month 2 or month 3...this is because the SS which is avalable after 3 months still being "locked" there because any withdrawal will drop the SS interest rate to 0.5%.

It may end up the SS amount locked is even higher than that of FD itself..
BoomChaCha
post Aug 23 2013, 10:42 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Aug 23 2013, 09:35 AM)
Penang property for new launches are at RM600 to >RM1000 psf !! If there is a burst, that will be good news !! Go for some shopping lah !!  tongue.gif
Life is getting harder with high inflation lately.
I can see the only price drop item is LED TV...

I am very disappointed UOB only offers 3 months FD at 3.48%. sad.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 23 2013, 11:29 AM)
Bro go get hybrid lah, good price even before the election. Honda got many to choose from or get the Audi A6 Hybrid. Save you money too when you go to the banks, hahaha
I will buy a national car only.
My friend just bought Handa Jazz Hybrid CKD for less than RM 80K, but I do not like the small trunk.

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Aug 23 2013, 11:59 AM)
Is it safe to put FD in Bank Rakyat since its not covered by PIDM ?
Is it very hard to answer to your question.

Your question is similar to this question:
Is it safe to drive a less expensive car without abs (like Proton Saga SV)?

If you are worried, then place your FD with banks that offer PIDM protection.

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 23 2013, 01:51 PM)
Just received a SMS from OCBC this morning:
OCBC: Additional 5% p.a. interest rate on top of existing board rates for 1-MONTH FOREIGN CURRENCY TD.
Limited time only. Call your RM today. T&C apply

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Aug 23 2013, 10:55 PM
guy3288
post Aug 23 2013, 11:00 PM

5,879 posts

so low rates now, just wondering when is the 4.5 - 5% FD rate is going to come back........

121 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:38 AM