11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 08:24 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 3 2013, 11:33 PM)
Bro, when you at OCBC, go talk to your RM about their NID (Negotiable Instruments of Deposits) - Capital guaranteed interest  4.5% every quarterly. That is if you willing to lock your funds with them for up to 5 years. Then again, might as well go for BR 5 years, interest paid monthly  tongue.gif   

And the NID mentioned above also qualifies one for the Premier Banking 5.5% 3 months FD, but since you already got PB, I guess you got to open joint account with someone (currently non PB customer) you trust  tongue.gif
Bro the offer #2 not attractive if compare to BR  tongue.gif
I checked on my CIMB, I also have one they called FRNID, FR for Floating Rate. It pays 5.2% every 3 months. I am not too clear on it.

They have one that paid a better rate (need to check the previous rate) but they cancelled it before maturity and came out with the 5.2% rate (it varies a little bit based on the timing that one gets in).

Have been getting the pay out for about 2 to 3 years. But really still a bit blur on the instrument.
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:10 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 08:43 PM)
Everybody is having the same symptom to look for better interest rates when their FDs are going to mature soon.
Old man is like this la.. keg keg (coughing).. ha jiu (flu)... excuse me..  biggrin.gif
I think perhaps the most useful benefit is their discounted housing loan interest rates for Citigold members.

These are the discounted housing loan interest rates for OCBC premier customer:

Loan RM 100K and below = BLR minus 1.8%
Loan RM 100K to RM 200K = BLR minus 2.2%
Loan RM 200K to RM 300K = BLR minus 2.3%
Loan RM 300K to RM 500K = BLR minus 2.35%
Loan RM 500K and above = BLR minus 2.4%
I guess AM Bank has changed their policy. When was the last time you place FD with them?
Young man, don't pretend to be like this old man, brows.gif , still pretend to be strong but need to be out on stretcher under certain situation. rclxm9.gif

You should go and buy a house, don't delay for too long lah ...........

Have been using AmBank since 2012 for FD when they have promotions. Was there this year also. Getting FD cert on the same day. biggrin.gif

So when was the last time young BoomChaCha was in AMBank ?? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:14 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 08:59 PM)
OCBC FRNID's Terms And Conditions (5 pages) - Potential to earn 4.5% interest rate p.a. for 5 years tenure

Effective from 2 September 2013 to 25 September 2013

Minimum principal amount: RM 70K
Maximum principal amount: No limit

Capital is guaranteed
No PIDM
Interest payment on every 3 months basis
Ha ha, so I should be happy with the CIMB 5.2% every 3 months. But it is for 10 years !!!
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:21 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(M3aty @ Sep 4 2013, 07:20 PM)
oh did u get the debit card?

I don't want the debit card but would like to have the online banking services. Wonder if i can cancel the debit card after one month. hmmm
You cannot refuse the debit card. But I intend to cancel the card as the fee for 2nd year is relatively high, something like RM20 or so unless you spend some amt on retail. I told the CS lady that I will cancel it next year, ha ha. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM)
Young goat.. I do not need to use stretcher based on my many years experience, I can PK anyone of them
easily.. biggrin.gif

Did Am Bnak have any attractive FD promo during last year?  hmm.gif

House is so expensive now, how to buy..?  sweat.gif

You made good money from CIMB's FRNID at 5.2% for 2 to 3 years..no wonder you are so young and rich..  biggrin.gif

What do you think of OCBC's FRNID?
Ha you missed my last question on when was the last time the young BoomChaCha was in AmBank ( I edited the message while you replied).

AmBank has one last year around May/June which tie up with credit card application (add'l 0.1% interest). The FD was due this year and I pulled it out. But on Jan 2013 they also have another promotion which I also placed FD (have to check the cert for the rate, probably 3.7 to 3.8% range).

The CIMB FRNID that I bought is for 10 years duration. But they have been paying out the 5.2% every 3 months.

No comment on OCBC's FRNID. I was a bit blur when I bought the CIMB's FRNID. Being their PB customer, the BM persuaded me to buy it.
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 09:43 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 09:24 PM)
Young goat.. I do not need to use stretcher based on my many years experience, I can PK anyone of them
easily.. biggrin.gif

What was the minimum Ringgit amount for your CIMB FRNID? Now you do not have it anymore?
Say only, still need proof !! brows.gif

CIMB one I think the minimum is 50k or 60k, started Jan 2012 for the revised one. Before this one, the rate was better but they recalled it and issued new one. It is Callable !! biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 11:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 09:49 PM)
I never want to invest in structured product that is callable.
Totally not in investors control at all.

I experienced before, situation is good and favourable time and can reap good yield time, the bank called back.  mad.gif
Experienced with a Klibor structured investment previously.
Yes, exactly. By the way, this CIMB one is also Klibor related. biggrin.gif

They recalled it and issue a new one at lower rate. shakehead.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 11:15 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 4 2013, 10:41 PM)
What is rate offered for housing loan by Citi? The FD rate at Citi is miserable but the service in general is better than that Ocbc.
This old man is way pass housing loan for years, luckily thumbup.gif

No idea now ....................... tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 4 2013, 11:19 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 4 2013, 10:42 PM)
It depends, but previously I am confident that KLIBOR won't rise, so I took the structured product, that if KLIBOR doesn't surge beyond x%, the structured product give good yield.
But sadly the bank call back the product since it has callable option.

Basically it depends on the clause set, not every product is the same, and vary from each other in term of the clauses.

Some callable due to hitting whatever threshold, some callable due to xyz condition etc.
Respect you on your knowledge. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I bought the CIMB FRNID being persuaded by the BM. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 12:35 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 4 2013, 11:31 PM)
Banks replaced a lower rate cert..? Banks are very snake....  shakehead.gif
But so far you are regret lah...you still made some good money loh..  biggrin.gif
When CIMB recall, they pay you back. Then they came out new one with lower rate. It is up to you if you want to buy the new FRNID with lower rate. Seeing that I benefited from earlier one, just cursing mad.gif and buy up the new plan with lower rate. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 08:29 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2013, 01:35 AM)
This sounds ok lah.. But it was just too bad CIMB did not allow you to continue
the first plan which brought you more profit. In overall, you made good money,
congratulations to you.  thumbup.gif

From OCBC FRNID, they projected these "Upper Barrier" interest rates:
1st Year: 3.85%
2nd Year: 4.00%
3rd Year: 4.15%
4th Year: 4.30%
5th Year: 4.45%

Because the RM just briefed me on the phone, so I can only roughly share this with you, it works something like this:
If the interest rate hits higher than 3.85% during the first year (2013), then investors will not earn any interest,
and if the interest maintains below 3.85% during the first year (2013), then investors will earn 4.5% p.a. interest,
and the same apply to the following from 2nd to fifth year.

So I guess your CIMB FRNID worked in this same way.
Yes the CIMB Klibor related FRNID is similar. I believe OCBC's one is also Klibor related. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 08:42 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 5 2013, 02:02 AM)
Th potential risk is KLIBOR shoot beyond 3.85%, at third year, and until fifth year, while the structured product is not called back until matured (why bank want to call back if this happen whistling.gif ),
means one get nothing and only get the 1st and 2nd years, of total 7.85%, and need to wait until fifth year for the product to mature, only get back the money.

7.85% for 5 years, it works out 1.57% pa only, which is worst than FD.

While if everything goes find, you get total of 20.75% which average become 4.15%.

So we may have 3 worst, mid, best scenario, based on the info posted, as I have no info about the product.

1. 0% for 5 years, Klibor beyond 3.85% since first years, you are stucked for 5 years, and get back capital guaranteed after 5 years time, long long wait.
2. 1.57%, if Klibor surge beyond 3.85% at 3rd years until 5th years
3. 4.15%.

I am not saying the product is good or bad, just we need to have various scenario outcome, whether it is good or not, depends on individual preference.  smile.gif

It is unlikely Klibor to shoot beyond 3.85% at near future as OPR still at 3%, but we can't rule out anything entirely.
If Klibor does rise and beyond 3.85% in the future, the structured product return may be less than what FD can offer. This is the risk of it, and most important it is not a FD.

Commit 5 years and get 4.15%?
It is good if interest rate is stagnant or go lower in this 5 years.
Thanks for the explanation. One question for the third year, should it be
"Th potential risk is KLIBOR shoot beyond 4.15%, at third year" from your above explanation ?

Similarly for the 2nd to 5th year based on the OCBC table below ?
1st Year: 3.85%
2nd Year: 4.00%
3rd Year: 4.15%
4th Year: 4.30%
5th Year: 4.45%

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 5 2013, 08:48 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 03:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 5 2013, 03:02 PM)
Thanks for the correction, I taught the table is interest rate given as the I do not have the info in the first place (as pic attachment is not available at the time of posting).

The correct one is those are Klibor upper barrier, while if not shoot beyond, one get 4.5%.

So
best 4.5% pa
Worst 0%.
Through your earlier explanation, I have better understanding of my CIMB Klibor FRNID. Thanks ! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 5 2013, 03:37 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 10:21 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2013, 10:00 PM)
I just got MY BR ATM card today.

The BR officer told me the ATM card is only charged for one time fee for RM 8.00,
no more annual fee.

My BR ATM card is printed with Kad COOP...

I guess maybe we have FD there, so we got special offer for one time fee for RM 8.00..?  hmm.gif
Thank you so much for the update..  thumbup.gif
Thanks, saved me from answering on this ATM annual fee issue. rclxms.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 10:24 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 5 2013, 09:47 PM)
goat, reading your posts on this cimb frind thing, i have the same one.
bad news is it is 10 yrs.
good news is 5.2% beats the shit out of everything else! tongue.gif
the other good news is unofficially, cimb tells u if u need to, they will offfer u od at a lower interest, at least until they exercise the call.
u r rite... the one before it was higher at 5.5%, if i remember correctly.
after that, it got lower.
the thing is it is now into 1.5yrs, not called yet whereas all others before it have been called.
i expect it to be called in nov, soon. then from 5.2% -> 3.6% uob? laugh.gif
boom, just a quick browse, i think hat ocbc frnid is similar as the cimb ones but lower interest.
cherroy, agree frnid is not fd. but is there a thread on frnid? i seached for it, nothing. not sure if it's because it's frowned upon as i remember reading a couple of negative comments on it...?

maybe boom can start a new thread then. i think frnid is fine product as long as u know wat u r in for.
Ha ha, we are in the same boat !! thumbup.gif I think the one before it was even higher than 5.5% but have to dig out old documents to check.

I think if they recalled it, it may be good as I think 10 years is too long. The CIMB BM also told me likely it will be recalled as I was hesitating on the 10 years term. Now knowing more about it from Cherroy, I will be happy if they terminate it earlier !! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 5 2013, 10:25 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 5 2013, 11:27 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2013, 10:36 PM)
Is your BR ATM card printed with Kad COOP?

I think the iRakyat website is quite useful, I can see my saving account amount and FD amount there.. thumbup.gif
Ha ha.. my Titanic feeling has decreased a lot suddenly..  biggrin.gif

Thanks for asking me to apply for BR ATM card, and also remind me to use iRakyat site.. You are one of the bests la..  thumbup.gif
but still I do not need a stretcher... biggrin.gif
Yes, my card is printed with Kad COOP also. biggrin.gif

Yes, I have been logging in at least 2 times a month and xfer interest over to my main account. rclxms.gif

Keh keh (coughing), old man glad you are happy ! thumbup.gif Ya, young man is strong and can go on PK'ing, brows.gif while me ? Aiya, look into banks website and check interest and smile as interest accumulate ................. whistling.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 6 2013, 08:04 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 5 2013, 11:43 PM)
I am curious what is the difference in between Kad COOP and regular BR ATM card..?

I hope iRakyat online security system is up to date.
And we'd better change our password frequently.
I think there is pro and con to use ATM card and iRakyat online system, provided the online system is 100% secured.

We can use BR ATM machine to transfer fund (from RM 3K to RM 5K per day) to other banks on the same day, but it will charge RM 1.
Well, I don't even know BR has this Co-Op card and normal ATM card. When I applied, I just want an ATM card which allows me to set up internet account application. Luckily the counter girl know this kia si guy do not want to pay extra every year !! tongue.gif

Since our FD is not eFD, the risk on the account should be more on the SA cash. So long as I xfer it out every so often, then I am not worried about it. Their system has some problem (diff to log-in, slow etc) months ago, but recently seemed to be more stable. All the GIRO xfer done no issue so far. biggrin.gif

I won't change my password for this account frequently unless some issues comes up. Even my other online accounts, also the same. But I do agree that it is better to change the password regularly. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 6 2013, 08:12 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 6 2013, 03:14 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 6 2013, 02:57 PM)
Kad COOP bercip can function like normal Atm card and internet banking. Cost RM5 pa starting from 1 November 2013.

Kad COOP tanpa cip function like loyalty card but without Atm n internet banking function. Free for what purpose ?  rclxub.gif

MBB Atm got yearly charge or not also dont know ?
OCBC, Hong leong, STD CHARTERED ??? Anyone ?  shakehead.gif

I hate changing password for all types of account. Nowadays use password software to remember login id n password for everything under the sun.. icon_rolleyes.gif
What lah, you know more about all these about the BR card than anyone of us notworthy.gif .

Mine one ada cip. So RM 5 starting 1 Nov 2013 ? Then will cancel it as no more use of it now. Alreadt set up internet account. Kiem Siap person brows.gif

Well you better make sure you are not being hacked to get your password. tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 6 2013, 03:21 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 6 2013, 03:06 PM)
Ha..haa. you are going to be suprised.... not by china doll... but just received letter from BR stating beginning of 1 November 2013 there will be annual RM5 fee per year... laugh.gif
What dolls again drool.gif Well, I give up, let BCC have it. I am going back to check my internet bank FD account balance. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 6 2013, 03:21 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 6 2013, 03:24 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 6 2013, 03:21 PM)
Just received letter in the mailbox.

If you cancel the ATM card, automatically Internet Account can use meh....! Not sure also but you cancel and test and let us know... laugh.gif

Too many password and too many login ID.. wat the heck , not bothered changing it. Some sites wont allow you to maintained the same password for too long, so wat to do, changed then changed it back to original. Poor people like me not much to worry about hacking... shocking.gif  touch wood...
It should be OK as the ATM card main purpose is to withdraw money, use ATM terminal, internet acct initial set-up etc etc. Will ask them next week if I decide to move UOB fund to BR. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 6 2013, 03:25 PM

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0365sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:07 PM