Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 5 2013, 06:24 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(iWoz @ Mar 5 2013, 05:32 PM)
totally agreed. Those East Malaysians brings nothing but trouble. Spoilt all the good rappo that have been build up by West Malaysia overnight. Think they are still in the forest ? can simply stabbed ppl as they wish ? Anyway the SG government have slowly declining the renewal of permits for them.
it's pretty obvious, ain't it ?
There are bad apples from everywhere. Not fair to generalise the East malaysians...
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 14 2013, 10:06 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 14 2013, 01:28 AM)
any auditor here work in sg ?

want to get advice regarding work in kl firm or sg firm better based on current economy .

in kl should be around 2.5k for junior associate , how about sg firm?
About the same. In KL I believe it's about 2.8k now. For SG.. I think it's about 2.5k + 16%
Personally, if you still have exam papers to go, take it in KL. Otherwise you can go SG. SG has no study leave/exam leave for you.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 14 2013, 10:46 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 14 2013, 10:44 AM)
That's not true. My company grant exam leave for those company related/approved courses.
Fair enough. I was saying for Big 4 Audit firms though. From what I understand there's no study leave, unless your a diploma student.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 14 2013, 02:49 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hahaha guys. Offtopic d tongue.gif Let's not make this into a big4 thread 2.0
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 19 2013, 08:58 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

I just wanted to rant here after just a few months of working here. One thing I somewhat came to a conclusion to is that I will go back Malaysia after a few years.

I dunno about the rest of you, but the lifestyle here is so much of a pressure cooker. I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful.

I think I'm having issues coping with the generally high stress levels of Singapore.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 19 2013, 09:24 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 19 2013, 09:06 PM)
Guys, quick question to help me do some sums.

How much would you be willing to pay for a common room in a condo (normal facilities, gym and pool etc) that is 2-3 minutes walk from MRT (from MRT platform to condo guardhouse) and across the road from shopping mall?

Basic furnishing ie. queen bed, built in wardrobe, air conditioning and the common bathroom practically for the your use only?

Include utilities (say $200), very light cooking only (instant noodles, rice or porridge) and no overnight or "lounging" (ie. hang out the whole afternoon etc) visitors.

Nearby condos are renting out at $4-4.5K. But they are about 7-10 minutes walk from MRT.
If i'm not mistaken, rooms at Pinnacles@Duxton are going at $1.1k. That should be the approximate amount?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2013, 10:49 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Oh i wanna rant about the taxi drivers here too! They like to stop-accelerate-stop-accelerate. A few times I felt like I was gonna puke..
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2013, 01:03 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hahaha. I guess I feel that way cos I work in Raffles. Crowd crowd everywhere. I felt I'm more at peace when I go out to clients at those business areas like Kallang/Changi etc.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2013, 01:03 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hahaha. I guess I feel that way cos I work in Raffles. Crowd crowd everywhere. I felt I'm more at peace when I go out to clients at those business areas like Kallang/Changi etc.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2013, 05:42 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 20 2013, 04:28 PM)
Have to do the sums carefully. The cooling measures are really screwing things up.

Heard that there will be another round soon... output from a recent meeting the bosses of real estate agencies and companies had with the minister. Source said there will be a 30% monthly limit on a borrower's loan instalments over gross income. And the 30% will include all loan commitments, from car to housing to personal loans.
Hmm.. Such 30% limits hit directly at the lower levels a lot harder. People who find it hard to get by on their small 2-3k salaries are gonna be the ones most alienated by this.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 24 2013, 05:31 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Everyone going back for the coming long weekend? Cheng Beng?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 25 2013, 11:57 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Do you guys face difficulties trying to access MBB Malaysia from Singapore's internet connection? Bloody hell Maybank's website takes FOREVER to load.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 27 2013, 02:08 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

We sound kinda bitter sad.gif Sigh.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 27 2013, 02:23 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 27 2013, 02:10 PM)
and they always complain and complain and complain.

and they think they sacrifice themselves a lot of by going ns.

got one issue i read that sg government give scholarships to students in constructions field,

and citizen get 4k more than PR out of 30k. they say they serve ns for nothing. they only worth 4k.

!!!
Uh, be careful with that sort of statement.
They have a degree of rights as citizens, and that the government, which they elected, is supposed to best serve their interests.
This is their home, for us, we are just here to make money. (unless u are a citizen urself).
They don't have a hinterland called Malaysia where, if shit don't work out in SG, we can always go back. For them, they have to make a stand here, because they don't really have any where else to go.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2013, 06:16 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hi guys, what's a good weekend activity for a bunch of young dudes and dudettes? My 4th month here and I'm struggling to figure out what to do during weekends (other than shopping)
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2013, 06:46 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 06:38 PM)
What did you do in KL?
KL was home. So I generally lazed at home.
My place here in SG needs more things, but i'm too stingy to buy things to decorate/gadgetify my house.

Otherwise will just be go shopping and lim teh around some kopitiam.

So looking for alternatives.

Any good foods worth going on a trip for around Singapore?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 5 2013, 07:47 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 07:37 PM)
Ya lor. You can do exactly the same things in Singapore that you can do in KL. To me, the only difference is that if you don't drive in Singapore,.. things become just that little bit more complicated.

Anyway, I've taken to visiting condo show rooms during weekends. Chit chat with the chickadee agents and bankers, see what's out there and get some internal decor inspiration.
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire)
Any good foods worth going on a trip for around Singapore?
Hungrygowhere.com.sg I guess. Personally, if you live around the north, bus route 86 from AMK takes you past some pretty interesting restaurants on Yio Chu Kang Rd.

138, 851, 852, 853 from AMK does the same around Upper Thomson Rd as they go south into town.
Haha those chickadee agents and bankers won't layan me la. see me oso know no money HAHAHA.
I was bored in KL. But I'm also bored here. Gawd.

Will try out those food recommendations, since AMK and YCK is nearby to me.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 6 2013, 01:26 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Fiona/conqueror go somewhere else if u want to talk abt acca. Im an acca holder and worldprizewinner and I dont think acca is all that great. Youve been brainwashed by all those propaganda ur college and acca has been feeding u. There is always a bigger and better qualification /education elsewhere. Deal with it.

This post has been edited by ThanatosSwiftfire: Apr 6 2013, 01:27 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 6 2013, 03:00 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Eh speaking of credit cards... what cards are u guys using. Im thinking which credit card to apply for.. I saw the citibank deal tht comes with the sgd80 spending money. Seems fascinating.

@ Fiona chin. Alright. Cheers.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Apr 9 2013, 10:03 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hypothetical question.
What increment would you need to get, to convince you to go back to KL/Malaysia? (to make it standardised.. let's put it as a percentage?)

Let's say ur annual salary is $40k. Will u accept to go back Msia is Msia offers u say.. RM55k? RM65k? RM70k? What ratio does everyone have, to consider going back.

0.0581sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:13 AM