Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
S'aimer
Mar 13 2013, 09:12 PM
Not sure if this is the right thread to post here as I am not sure where to post. Could anybody help to shed light on this as I have been googling online but no definite answer I have found yet. Now the question is : For PRs (Permanent Residents), do they need to be physically present in Singapore for 183 days or more in a calendar year prior to renewing their re-entry permits every 5 years? I read somewhere last year on a similar thing but cannot reconfirm or re-verify this as I am now unable to find that particular link. I also read somewhere that a person got his renewal for re-entry permit rejected because he/she was not physically present in singapore 75% of the time, hence the rejection. This post has been edited by S'aimer: Mar 13 2013, 09:14 PM
S'aimer
Mar 13 2013, 10:03 PM
This is where i found the link for being physically present 75% of the time - http://www.expatsingapore.com/forum/index....c,40549.45.htmlThat is why im not sure whether need to be physically present for 183 days or more in a calendar year prior to renewing re-entry permit. QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 13 2013, 10:28 PM) I've never heard of this one. I understand though that if you have been jobless for a while, your REP renewal may have less chance of success. But if you have a job in Singapore, but remain outside Singapore the entire year (or multiple years)... for eg. due to the Singapore company posting you overseas, or you travel overseas frequently (business or leisure, leisure assuming your company doesn't mind you being so leisurely) - you should have no problems renewing your REP. But if you are jobless, and you don't even reside in Singapore, why would they renew your REP?
S'aimer
Mar 13 2013, 11:10 PM
Johnjon82: Yes, it doesn't make sense for the 183 days but thought it would be better to clarify some doubts since there could be certain requirements we might not be aware of? Seantang: I am aware of the tax resident requirement but like i mention before, i did see something similar regarding such criteria, not for tax resident though. Unfortunately, I can't find that link anymore to clarify this after googling for so long. That's why I ask regarding this for the benefit of the doubt.
This post has been edited by S'aimer: Mar 13 2013, 11:10 PM
S'aimer
Mar 14 2013, 02:51 PM
This one ah, I don't know but I have seen before on someone's blue IC that the residence is in JB - Believe it depends on the job thing, location and no of days in a calendar year spent in singapore as that person is from johor and working in f&b industry. (F&B industry alone clocks up alot of hours especially on shift rotation) I guess it all boils down to the criteria for PRs - Age, Experience, Qualification, Family ties & roots in singapore. So I can say Lester's case is not alone nor totally uncommon. QUOTE(7 For All Mankind @ Mar 14 2013, 01:23 AM) Singapore government, under normal circumstances does not grant PR to non-residence. Perhaps you made a 'false declaration' of your residential address ?  QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 14 2013, 02:20 AM) all my SG things are under my aunties house address la, but i do know someone from JBtalks forum that get PR and on his IC, its a JB address. also i heard people telling that doing charity works help as well. I do help SG gov do some charity works some time and i donate blood to their blood bank 3-4 times a year. This post has been edited by S'aimer: Mar 14 2013, 03:02 PM
S'aimer
Mar 14 2013, 03:01 PM
A good company will be concern about employee attrition/turnover most so of course they will try to retain their best employees as less hassle to re-train the newer staffs all over again.
For study leave - seldom have this kind for diploma course because private diploma courses range is around a few k for 1-2 years, its either you take unpaid leave or paid leave to go for exams etc. However if its a sponsorship or scholarship etc, usually a bond is imposed and study leave is factored in BUT it depends on the type of qualifications taken. Eg; degree course fees are not cheap, so a bond will be an assurance for the money paid out) Eg; NUS students on scholarships are sponsored by the govt/school
Unless you take education or personal loan with lower interest or zero interest from the company directly, you will be under a contractual obligation to pay back that loan
This post has been edited by S'aimer: Mar 14 2013, 03:02 PM
S'aimer
Mar 14 2013, 04:59 PM
I have a friend whose brother was on a uni scholarship but had to sign bond with the govt because the govt pays for the course. Even some scholars who take scholarship/sponsorships will have to sign a bond depending on who is the party sponsering the school fees etc in the end. The reason why I seldom see study leave given for diploma course as I have friends who were ex classmates and they are all working adults. As far as I know they never take study leave, only personal leave (unpaid/paid leave), even I was no exception to the leave thing when I was working for my former company during my studies that's why. QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 14 2013, 05:02 PM) Have la, I took a 2 year course, pay myself type, get to leave 1.5 hours earlier from work 2-3 times a week for class, and 5 days study/exam leave per year. Actually 5 days not enough per year. I always over shot because last minute do homework and prepare for exam, total study leave applied is about 10-15 days, but company just close one eye. Was head hunted during my course but choose to stay. So not necessary employee always leave after graduate. Those boss who think so mean they think their company not good enough to keep you there after you upgrade. For other personal exam I also apply for one week study leave to prepare. No problem one. Just be sincere lo don't fake got exam can already. The local uni scholarships are bond free... where you hear need to bond one? The bond is MOE bond for international student, regardless of you get the scholarship or not. Some tycoon scholarship also bond free. Why so good? Charity, reputation etc.
S'aimer
Mar 14 2013, 11:57 PM
Hope this helps. QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2013, 12:21 AM) Hi guys I'm planning to go to Singapore to work hope I can get some answers from ur to get me started. Help pls: 1. I just want to work there don't want to be PR so I don't have to fill that form up right? Yes, dont need to apply for PR if that is not your intention2. So the working pass the company will do everything for me right, when they accept me after interview or I must do it? Yes, the company will help you apply. Normally they will give you an appointment letter that states the 3-6months probation prior to job confirmation, job position, working days & hours, benefits etc you be entitled to after confirmation. However whether you be employed or not, is subject to the medical check which you are required to undertake as part of the work permit requirements. 3. My expected salary I think I'm gonna get there is sgd1500. So the CPf and taxes will be deducted straight from my pay or I have to save my self then pay it when require? CPF is paid by locals and permanent residents. For taxes, the company should be helping you pay the taxes in accordance with IRAS guidelines. 4. Room rental sgd 600 does this come with personal toilet? This price range housemate won't be bangla right??? This is dependent on location, type of room. Housemates, you cannot choose as its the landlord who choose to let out the rooms to the tenants.
S'aimer
Mar 15 2013, 08:14 AM
No. The appointment letter is just a formality that indicate the company's interest to hire you and spells out your job scope, etc and says hiring you is subject to your medical check. Work permit is a green laminated card which will have the type of permit on it, your particulars, foreign identification number, the company employing you and card expiry date, issue dates. For tax, you can look up at www.iras.gov.sg I think it's a yearly thing. Other than that, I can't remember anything else. Can ask other bros here. QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 15 2013, 02:59 AM) Hey bro thanks a lot for answering. 1. So the working pass is just a letter I have to keep??? 2. How they do the tax thing? Is it every month they just deduct a bit of my pay or once a year they give me a letter ask me pay certain amount???
S'aimer
Mar 15 2013, 09:58 AM
I see. I never file income tax before so I can only recall the steps that was done for e-filing issue done by my previous co last time though. QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 15 2013, 10:04 AM) The company doesn't help u pay your taxes. Some companies will help you report your income for the year directly to IRAS. Then you will login to IRAS and declare other income, tax deductibles, etc. IRAS then sends u a letter telling u how much to pay, and u pay either lump sum or by monthly installments. Note that SG got no PCB like Malaysia.
S'aimer
Mar 15 2013, 11:41 PM
JustcallmeLarry, Just as jitshiong mentioned, get the IPA and yes, the company will apply for the work permit on your behalf. Anyway some areas that are far from town, it's possible to get a room for 500-600 without aircon and no attached toilet from what i've seen around. These kind of rooms can be furnished with basic furniture or semi furnished though. For good locations near to town, afraid to say...room rental is high because of the nearby amenities and facilities, not forgeting that alot of foreign expats like to stay near or in town area for convenience sake. QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 15 2013, 10:57 PM) Yes, the company will do the application for you. Ask for the IPA (In Principal Approval) from the company before coming over. SGD1500 is pretty low if you ask me.
S'aimer
Mar 22 2013, 12:26 PM
CW2 to Queen Street is fast - no stops along the way like 170 and takes less than 30 minutes to reach Queen Street. If take CW1 to kranji, then assuming you take train at kranji via North South Line (Red color line), this line travels really slow as there are 18 mrt stops. This will take more than 40-45 min. If taking the East West Line (Green color line), still need to switch train at Jurong East MRT to bugis. Also time consuming. You probably save a little because CW2 is Rm2.50 (About S$1) direct from JB CIQ to Queen Street, compared to the amount you spend on your fare card. QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:08 PM) Ya this one I also curious. Which bus faster after immigration? Some queue for SBS bus because they use SBS to immigration, continue with SBS cheaper? Anyone take CW2 during the weekends? Wait and take CW2 to Bugis faster or take CW1 to Kranji then switch MRT faster? This post has been edited by S'aimer: Mar 22 2013, 12:27 PM