Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 08:37 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 03:41 AM)
haih. this afternoon POSB called me for job interview. after so long! after i've settled to this admin job.

timing is everything i guess sad.gif

i applied for this POSB job long time ago. now only they get to me.  sad.gif
Usually some company process the job application very slow or maybe they dont have other candidate d. btw, why not go for the interview? just have interview experience and get to see what they have to offer so that you can plan for future when u want change job. you have settled mean you already start working?
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 08:43 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 9 2013, 08:37 AM)
Usually some company process the job application very slow or maybe they dont have other candidate d. btw, why not go for the interview? just have interview experience and get to see what they have to offer so that you can plan for future when u want change job. you have settled mean you already start working?
later noon take medical report then.. i'll see whether i'm qualified or not.

if yes, then see when start work lo..
ivanswk
post Apr 9 2013, 09:10 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 8 2013, 12:06 AM)

this?
the better one usually have pork inside thumbup.gif
ivanswk
post Apr 9 2013, 09:14 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Apr 8 2013, 09:28 PM)
If i am you and i can find a job that pays me 2.5k above in Malaysia, i would rather stick to Malaysia tongue.gif
can feel u not going to last another 6 month sweat.gif
ivanswk
post Apr 9 2013, 09:16 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 8 2013, 09:49 PM)
The reception at the clinic I went to, expressed her concern about my different passport number and she said that the government might not approve my pass or might make things difficult for me. I don't have my old passport with me now but I do have a FIN number already. Would that be sufficient when submitting my results or picking up my pass?

I hope you guys know what I'm writing. I'm quite confused myself. lol
thumbup.gif very good
shakehead.gif go and inform the HR, they have the portal to update MOM, it take a day to update the passport no
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 09:22 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 09:19 AM)
What position you apply at POSB?

Maybe you can try to apply working in logistic line, the pay is not bad as well.

Currently, I'm working in a German MNC logistic company is the CS department.

Their basic is at least S$2200 & they you also have other allowances & incentives, so you can easily earn at least S$2500.

I'm also currently on Employment Pass here.
i think i should work with this admin job for at least 6 months?

or i can just jump to another company just like that?

what will happen to my S Pass and stuff sad.gif

i am clueless. i don't want to get myself into trouble..

i did apply to some logistic company, but i didn't get any replies and i am just a freshgrad from malaysia sad.gif

This post has been edited by xtylish: Apr 9 2013, 09:24 AM
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 09:28 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 9 2013, 09:10 AM)
the better one usually have pork inside  thumbup.gif
this one got pork smile.gif
tailtwist
post Apr 9 2013, 09:32 AM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 09:22 AM)

i did apply to some logistic company, but i didn't get any replies and i am just a freshgrad from malaysia sad.gif
Your S Pass is tied to that company name...so if you gonna jump ship....the new company will have to apply the S pass for you...and this is subject to the approval of MOM...WHAT IF MOM rejects...
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 09:40 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 09:26 AM)
Yup..logistic MNC even though is in the CS department you still need experienced regardless you have a Diploma or Degree.
I would advise you to work for at least 1 year before you jump ship to another company.
However, if you really cannot tahan then you may leave after 6 months(minimum).
Your company offered you permanent or a contract position? The benefit is it ok? AWS, medical,dental ?
it's a permanent position as a admin assistant. with OK benefits i can say. $100 for dental, birthday leave(lol) and others.

funny that in my S pass application my salary is $0 and my position is Human Resource & Administrative Officer.

maybe because this company do not have anybody in the admin department now, so they hired me on the spot. and also they know i am over qualified for the job. i know with the questions that they asked me, unlike other interviewers.

i was quite desperate at that moment because i couldn't stay long with my white card. so i treat this as a stepping stone.

currently its the finance department handling the admin job, maybe they think i can take charge of the department in the future? or maybe they hired someone else instead. i wouldn't know for now,

i'll just try to make the best out of it. for now my salary is 1.6k and they say they will adjust my salary after a few months based on my performance. we'll see about that.

but i really do not think admin job is my calling...

This post has been edited by xtylish: Apr 9 2013, 09:59 AM
crazy25kid
post Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 8 2013, 09:49 PM)
I have another question though.

During my application for EP, my company used my old passport number. Before I came to SG to officially start work, I renewed my passport and naturally, my passport number has changed. The reception at the clinic I went to, expressed her concern about my different passport number and she said that the government might not approve my pass or might make things difficult for me. I don't have my old passport with me now but I do have a FIN number already. Would that be sufficient when submitting my results or picking up my pass?

I hope you guys know what I'm writing. I'm quite confused myself. lol
i have a similar kind of issue with u
however, mine was only the passport number for application is different from the 1 when i entered sg.
i was exempted from the medical so this part is different but i think it should not pose that big of an issue
however, the problem u will have is they are most likely going to need your old passport.
when u go to EPSC...bring along your old passport and the new 1 to let them know that it is still the same person.
Fiona Chin
post Apr 9 2013, 10:01 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 9 2013, 08:34 AM)
Haha, because the way malaysia put the figure wont be <1 cent (for 0.86cent), seldom i see got the zero in front, maybe i too used to it and seldom read all the way, i really thought is 0.86 SGD.haha

anyway, i didnt apply for it, because recently heard some staff say the phone bill cost alot, so just asking to see why it is so much. tongue.gif
If call client then no choice one. If use to call back Malaysia home or friends, IT people start to check then you die liao. Most company using IP phone. If your phone got a big screen with Cisco name most likely they are IP phone.
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:02 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 9 2013, 09:22 AM)

My suggestion is that you carry on to work with this admin job, but you attend the POSB interview as well. no harm for you to attend another interview, can gain experience and learn more from interview. i would do that if i were you.dont jump because you also cannot guarantee that you will get the POSB job right? what is the job position? is it the one you want? hmm.gif
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:04 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM)
i have a similar kind of issue with u
however, mine was only the passport number for application is different from the 1 when i entered sg.
i was exempted from the medical so this part is different but i think it should not pose that big of an issue
however, the problem u will have is they are most likely going to need your old passport.
when u go to EPSC...bring along your old passport and the new 1 to let them know that it is still the same person.
If HR help you update the new passport, then i guess wont have any problem. last time when i renew passport , HR just help me update only. nothing much to do, but is not during pass application la.
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:06 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 9 2013, 10:01 AM)
If call client then no choice one. If use to call back Malaysia home or friends, IT people start to check then you die liao. Most company using IP phone. If your phone got a big screen with Cisco name most likely they are IP phone.
Haha, i seldom use office phone, as my boss just sitting behind me only.is not IP phone, just normal phone. tongue.gif
Dendroid_King
post Apr 9 2013, 10:10 AM

75 posts

Recently I just got terminated for an employment less than 2 months in Singapore. My question is:

1) Is it advisable for me to delete that employment in my future resume? I m worried that other companies can check.

2) Will my S Pass or employment pass be greatly affected by the termination?

Thanks in advance.
yhoong12
post Apr 9 2013, 10:35 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Apr 9 2013, 10:10 AM)

Recently I just got terminated for an employment less than 2 months in Singapore. My question is:

1) Is it advisable for me to delete that employment in my future resume? I m worried that other companies can check.

Thanks in advance.
Reason of termination?
1) & 2) is basically based on why you get terminated only you decide what to do, by see your concern there is looks to me that you terminated because you are not performing? blink.gif
yiivei
post Apr 9 2013, 11:02 AM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 10:48 AM)
Well, it would certainly not effect your Employment Pass or S Pass application(unless your new company doesn't have enough quota for S Pass).

I would advise you to delete the less than 2 months employment because it will really give a bad impression. Most likely the company would not do a check if you never stated it. However, if you put it in on your resume, then the company will definitely do a reference check with your ex company.
I disagree.

Bear in mind that MOM has his record. Despite that he can hide it from the potential employer, but he can't hide it from MOM. If i recall correctly, the EP application form require him to fill up his past employment data?

Fiona Chin
post Apr 9 2013, 11:05 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 10:55 AM)
I used to earn RM3000+ in KL but I save only a few hundred only. Need to pay petrol, car, maintenance, parking, rent,etc...
However, in SG i only earn S$2500 but I manage to save at least S$1200(RM3000) which is enough to pay my house loan,insurance,even savings,etc in Malaysia!
If you want to have the same lifestyle in Malaysia and in SG, say car, petrol, parking, landed house, you need to earn a LOT more than Malaysia before converting.
Dendroid_King
post Apr 9 2013, 11:15 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 10:48 AM)
Well, it would certainly not effect your Employment Pass or S Pass application(unless your new company doesn't have enough quota for S Pass).

I would advise you to delete the less than 2 months employment because it will really give a bad impression. Most likely the company would not do a check if you never stated it. However, if you put it in on your resume, then the company will definitely do a reference check with your ex company.

I seriously do not like my resume to be in a mess. Glad to know the termination won't affect the application of the working permit.

keelim
post Apr 9 2013, 11:31 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Apr 9 2013, 10:10 AM)

Thanks in advance.
1) If you could play the termination reason to your strength, why not?

2) As long as your previous employer did not complain you to MOM, you will be assessed like any other individual, on merit. Recently, there are plans to retain (made easier for pass application) work permit holders who have worked for at least 4 years in SG. All in the name of productivity. This could be one of the checklist boxes.

125 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:34 PM