Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

Mackiddo
post Apr 2 2013, 10:39 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dhzh4x @ Apr 1 2013, 11:41 PM)
Up till last Friday I bring in cigarette from Malaysia to Singapore I dun have any issue.. I think this only applies to Singaporean..
true. Malaysian bring in 1 carton also they don't bother. maybe due to diplomatic immunities ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 2 2013, 10:42 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 2 2013, 08:57 AM)
I think Singapore Gomen dun encourage motorcycles...
it's really hard to find motorcycles parking. Even at the MRT, you can see bicycle parking, but no Motorcycle parking.
My friend rides a bike, he always have to risk getting summons from illegal parking. But he's got no choice...
there's always some motorcycle parking lot inside the carpark lot.
JohnJon82
post Apr 2 2013, 11:50 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 2 2013, 10:39 AM)
true. Malaysian bring in 1 carton also they don't bother. maybe due to diplomatic immunities ?
For one unopen pack, if they catch u, fine 200. For one carton, 2000, and some smuggling charges. They don't want you to resell the cigarette.

Caught you smoking no SCDP wordings cigarette in SG, fine 200, issue summon. The argument the checkpoint custom let you pass cannot stand.
Mackiddo
post Apr 2 2013, 02:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 2 2013, 11:50 AM)
For one unopen pack, if they catch u, fine 200. For one carton, 2000, and some smuggling charges. They don't want you to resell the cigarette.

Caught you smoking no SCDP wordings cigarette in SG, fine 200, issue summon. The argument the checkpoint custom let you pass cannot stand.
nah. dhzh4x says can. let him bring all he wants.
jitshiong
post Apr 2 2013, 02:08 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

aiya..very ez only ma.
Dun smoke...dun waste money, give to me better
lol!
Lester1987
post Apr 2 2013, 03:28 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 2 2013, 11:50 AM)

this is only applicable if you were caught smoking in public area. If you smoke in your company compound, before they fine me $200, i fine them 1st for trespassing. true story.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Apr 2 2013, 03:28 PM
JohnJon82
post Apr 2 2013, 04:35 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 2 2013, 02:00 PM)
nah. dhzh4x says can. let him bring all he wants.
Then good luck to him lo.

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 2 2013, 03:28 PM)
this is only applicable if you were caught smoking in public area. If you smoke in your company compound, before they fine me $200, i fine them 1st for trespassing. true story.
O isit, now company more powerful than authority already? Good news then.
xtylish
post Apr 2 2013, 06:23 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 2 2013, 10:02 AM)
Maybe only cost of transportation to work? 60 / 20 working day = 3 per day for return trip MRT/Bus, about there already.
i cannot, my amount is like double shakehead.gif
newaisa
post Apr 2 2013, 07:53 PM

202 posts

Hi All,

I seriously need some advice here.
My contract with my current company is going to expire on Monday, 8th.

I still have 1 day annual leave to utilize before contract expires.

Now, I guess you all know that for contract based jobs, I don't have to resign or give any sort of notice, provided 1 year contract has been fully served.

My current company actually intended to renew me. But they do it in the final week prior to contract expiry.
Anyone who cares about their future will not wait till final week...which means....I have already found a new and better paying job elsewhere.

Now, here's the problem. I have got 1 day annual leave remain and wanted to offset it so instead of working until Monday, my last day will be Friday.
But he won't let me utilize the annual leave!
My boss actually BURNED himself thinking I have got nowhere else to go, therefore decided to take it slowly on renewing me.....

He emailed: "Monday is your last day, then why are you taking annual leave on Monday? We don't have time for that"
(More than 50% of people left under his brilliant leadership, therefore that is why "we don't have time for that occurs")

Can anyone actually give me some advice??

He still proudly thinks this is totally normal to notify me on final weeks whether he wants to renew me or not. And refused to let me utilize my final day of annual leave I am entitled to.

Now this kind of "company leaving" is totally different from resigning from permanent position where you must give notice period.
Since there is no notice period involved, even the last day is considered a "normal employment day" and not "notice period" whereby I can't take any leave.....

I am bad with debating on this kinda stuffs....anyone can tell me how I should reply?

This post has been edited by newaisa: Apr 2 2013, 08:02 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 2 2013, 08:41 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 07:53 PM)
Hi All,

I seriously need some advice here.
My contract with my current company is going to expire on Monday, 8th.

I still have 1 day annual leave to utilize before contract expires.

although the annual leaves is your entitlement, it's still subject to approval from your superior. He got every right not to grand you the leave. He could instead pay you for it when you resign.
newaisa
post Apr 2 2013, 08:45 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 2 2013, 08:41 PM)
although the annual leaves is your entitlement, it's still subject to approval from your superior. He got every right not to grand you the leave. He could instead pay you for it when you resign.
It might sounds weird....but my company policy states annual leave can't be encashed~
Mackiddo
post Apr 2 2013, 08:53 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 08:45 PM)
It might sounds weird....but my company policy states annual leave can't be encashed~
gosh. you should have play you card early. then how are they gonna reimburse you back for the 1 day ? or just let it 'burned' ?
newaisa
post Apr 2 2013, 09:03 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 2 2013, 08:53 PM)
gosh. you should have play you card early. then how are they gonna reimburse you back for the 1 day ? or just let it 'burned' ?
This chinaman boss intended to burn that....I wanted to utilize all my leave long ago...but like you said, subject to approval~

Anyway, if you were in my shoe, what will you do?
I prefer to just utilize my leave instead of begging them to encash it....

How can I say it in a professional way and not in an emotional way?

HELP?
reengurl
post Apr 2 2013, 09:09 PM

199 posts

Hi all,

I've just secured myself a job in SG & will be coming down on 13 Apr onwards biggrin.gif

jitshiong
post Apr 2 2013, 09:10 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 09:03 PM)
This chinaman boss intended to burn that....I wanted to utilize all my leave long ago...but like you said, subject to approval~

Anyway, if you were in my shoe, what will you do?
I prefer to just utilize my leave instead of begging them to encash it....

How can I say it in a professional way and not in an emotional way?

HELP?
Say nicely to ur boss, that you want to leave in good terms. Pose the question to your boss, how to deal with this 1 day leave that you have. Tell him how you intend to do the hand over before monday. He should be able to understand. If all fails, bring it to the higher management.

Company policy is decided by the management (Ur boss included), rules can be bend to accommodate special case.

jungyu
post Apr 2 2013, 09:41 PM

252 posts

hi guys, do we really need to submit last 6 months payslip when applying PR? I just got into my new company for 3 months, confirmed and would like to try for PR but I don't have my previous job payslip. Can I just submit 3 months payslip? (I mean I can but will the application be rejected without being reviewed?)
newaisa
post Apr 2 2013, 09:47 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 2 2013, 09:41 PM)
hi guys, do we really need to submit last 6 months payslip when applying PR? I just got into my new company for 3 months, confirmed and would like to try for PR but I don't have my previous job payslip. Can I just submit 3 months payslip? (I mean I can but will the application be rejected without being reviewed?)
People who met their minimum requirement still got rejected....

If you can't even meet the minimum requirement.....then I guess the answer is pretty clear.
seantang
post Apr 2 2013, 10:07 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 08:45 PM)
Explain that annual leave is an EARNED entitlement.

By working to the end of your contract, you have earned all your annual leave. It has therefore become ENTITLED to you.

There are only 2 possible ways for you to RECEIVE your entitlement.

1. You utilise the leave ON OR BEFORE the coming Friday, OR

2. The company pays you in lieu on Friday.

Please ask your boss to state his decision ie. (1) or (2). Cc HR and your second level boss when you send this email to your boss.

This post has been edited by seantang: Apr 2 2013, 10:14 PM
Dark NT
post Apr 2 2013, 10:09 PM

1,006 posts

Hi Guys, any advice or sharing on this would be appreciated.

I recently got my PR application approved, for me and my family (wife and kids). Now my mom in law (MIL) is currently staying with us in SG under a dependant pass (tied to an employement pass) helping to take care of the kids.

I called ICA today and enquired what will happen to the Dependant pass holder once I complete the PR formalities (it's actually not very clear on both ICA and MOM website).

I was told that the Dependant pass shall be cancelled through MOM (via Company of the employment pass holder, or the EP holder herself). Once the dependant pass is cancelled, a short term visit pass shall be issued for 30 days, which means the Dependant can continue to stay in SG for 30 days (just like a regular visitor).

All these makes sense... However, if my MIL leaves SG within this 30 days (say back to MY for a few days), she might not be able to come back to SG, because a Malaysia passport holder can only stay in SG for a max of 60 days (out of a 90 day period).

Unless my MIL applies for a Long term visit pass, which will take 4-6 weeks to process. I plan to apply this immediately after we get our PR IC (or even earlier if possible). But the risk remains - If within 30 days my MIL don't get her Long term visit pass approved for whatever reason, she has to leave SG, and might not be allowed to re-enter SG. And the issue is of course no one to take care of the kids.

crazy25kid
post Apr 2 2013, 10:56 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 2 2013, 09:41 PM)

do you have an income tax statement?
u might be able to use that.

QUOTE(newaisa @ Apr 2 2013, 09:47 PM)
People who met their minimum requirement still got rejected....

If you can't even meet the minimum requirement.....then I guess the answer is pretty clear.

So you are in ICA approving PR applications?

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Apr 2 2013, 10:09 PM)
Hi Guys, any advice or sharing on this would be appreciated.

I recently got my PR application approved, for me and my family (wife and kids). Now my mom in law (MIL) is currently staying with us in SG under a dependant pass (tied to an employement pass) helping to take care of the kids.

I called ICA today and enquired what will happen to the Dependant pass holder once I complete the PR formalities (it's actually not very clear on both ICA and MOM website).

I was told that the Dependant pass shall be cancelled through MOM (via Company of the employment pass holder, or the EP holder herself). Once the dependant pass is cancelled, a short term visit pass shall be issued for 30 days, which means the Dependant can continue to stay in SG for 30 days (just like a regular visitor).

All these makes sense... However, if my MIL leaves SG within this 30 days (say back to MY for a few days), she might not be able to come back to SG, because a Malaysia passport holder can only stay in SG for a max of 60 days (out of a 90 day period).

Unless my MIL applies for a Long term visit pass, which will take 4-6 weeks to process. I plan to apply this immediately after we get our PR IC (or even earlier if possible). But the risk remains - If within 30 days my MIL don't get her Long term visit pass approved for whatever reason, she has to leave SG, and might not be allowed to re-enter SG. And the issue is of course no one to take care of the kids.
check with ICA...the 60 days may be considering based on the time while on the visitor pass (white card) only
it may not include the time spent here while on dependant pass.
i am not sure, but it sure is worth a try

125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:38 PM