QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 24 2013, 08:40 AM)
Your job doesn't restrict you from buying shares? Need to apply for permission, very troublesome for mine.Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
Apr 24 2013, 10:46 AM
1,172 posts Joined: Apr 2013 From: Singapore / Sabah |
Apr 24 2013, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 24 2013, 10:38 AM) Those who jump mostly are doing contra and can't accept the possibility of bankruptcy. Just invest in your capability and should be fine.QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 24 2013, 11:01 AM) How can compare yourself to me? I am low paid nobody in the bank with no access to any information of value, so they don't care whether I can buy or cannot buy. Elite asset managers of course naturally are different and will have all sorts of restrictions to prevent insider trading mah. I admin help my manager type and photocopy his documents only lah then kena watched by regulators already. Still need to make him coffee and sit lap later. Haiz. |
Apr 24 2013, 12:08 PM
[quote=seantang,Apr 24 2013, 11:18 AM]
please explain.[/quote]I was actually waiting for people to jump down from buildings in 2008. Because that would be the signal to enter the property market (or whichever market you were eyeing). Sadly, nobody did and the fire sale did not materialise. [/quote] Strong eat weak, smart eat stupid, rich eat poor world. Something I kind of agree because look like its the flow now. The recent 2008 downturn don't affect SG much, the properties dip a bit, then go up even more. The big dip for properties is around 1998 and 2003. My dad got this house in the 1998, but the value doesn't really appreciate so much compare to the shares. Recent offer 1-2 years ago by agents is about 5-6 times the original value, but that is over a period of 10+ years. Condos bought during the 2003 and 2006 are about 2.5-3 times and 2 times the original value. The return rate can't really compare to the stock market. Another way of thinking for stock market - the karma side - for every dollar you earn, some one have to come out that dollar. My dad always think the poor is paying for that dollar in the stock market due to the lack and lag of information compare to the rich and he stay out of the stock market. Old man thinking... |
Apr 24 2013, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:48 PM) I from Sabah civil side, no buildings there all tree so I have to come here. Eh... I think I know who you are, you his course mate right? Why you also here?A lot of UTM seniors are here. You know any? Just come on Saturdays and buy Strait Time go back and look for jobs bah. You want big firm MNC then Aecom, TYLin, Arup, Meinhardt, CPG, PB those. Local firm then you have to find yourself to see the company good or not. My opinion is that you find a PE that have time and willing to teach and guide you. More important than salary. After 4-5 years you can and should stand up on your own. Design engineer don't earn much. Consider this 4-5 years as paying for tuition fee because of the pay. I think you need to take a MSc here because PEB don't allow UTM to sit for the first exam. You have to check yourself don't take my words. I only remember one of my UTM friend said something like that. |
Apr 24 2013, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 24 2013, 07:34 PM) Now then you know. No people use their real name in forum one la scare people don't know you? By the way, 1.5m pool is not a toddler pool ok, you want to drown your nephew isit. The pool for him to swim not for you two to enjoy. Lol kns next time you come you don't use |
Apr 25 2013, 10:02 PM
Apr 26 2013, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 25 2013, 10:02 PM) QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 26 2013, 08:49 AM) i am just writing my experience in sg. sorry, not everybody is an elite here driving cars and buying properties here. Apparently calling you little girl is not appropriate. We are helping you in our replies.many people want to come to sg, i am just showing my part of the world. it ain't fancy like yours, but it is real. so why not let people know it ain't going to be rosy for everybody? so typical. kthxbai. For me, I got PR before I came to SG and graduated in local university here. So you can see me as half a local here already. Local very good right? After I started working, I can choose to compare myself with those expat that came to the same company I am with big expat package like housing allowance, transportation and entertainment, and think like you, world is not fair comparing local and expat. We all started some where low, then work hard to go up. You need to see this through yourself soon if you to be successful in life. For you, you are already better than some of the people that come here. You are looking at an half empty cup. The cup can never be full, really. The size of the cup get only bigger when you get better in life, but it always half empty half full. Depend on you how you want to see it. |
Apr 26 2013, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Apr 26 2013, 12:40 PM) Go Google certified translator malaysia, based in kl. Cheok translation center.very quick and accepted by sg gov. Scanned copy in 24hrs, hardcopy in 2days via post to Malacca. Cost me rm100 iianm. Malay is one of the official language in Singapore... are you sure they need translation? |
Apr 30 2013, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 30 2013, 06:00 PM) By the way, anyone know if there's a time limit after you become PR within which you must convert your driving licence? I read in ecitizen.sg that you need to covert within 3 months after getting your PR. But there's no time limit mentioned on TP website. But it's stated in both that you must show that you were outside the country for more than 12 months prior. But "prior" means anytime before or immediately prior to arriving / returning to SG? Don't understand. I thought SG registered car must be driven with a SG license or after converting MY one. After PR formalities done, the license have to be converted before driving, got 3 months grace period? Or the second case, you mean must convert even if not driving or else can't convert later? |
Apr 30 2013, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 30 2013, 07:48 PM) well, in my case, I asked and said all these most likely one of the reason because I wrote wrong year of residing in singapore when requested to add info during the submission? Later police knock your door for fraud in the application form I got my own reason when I ask for others' opinions and ideas. I need to know what is all the possibilities before I plan. It is not like I think they should approve my new application or so. |
May 2 2013, 11:56 PM
May 3 2013, 12:11 PM
May 4 2013, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ May 4 2013, 11:14 AM) Your fellow citizen and voter, Betik bin Kobis, welcomes you back to Malaysia for the polls. Drive Papaya bin Cabbage back into the sea!!! BN is chartering flights from East Malaysia to KL to take Selangor!!! And the thing is... the chartered flights are one way only. These people are not leaving. Saw the board when fetching my sis from KKIA T1, never see the voter army though. Never see any bangla here, maybe other group. There's one dyslexic immigrant douchebag who will disagree, but drive him back into the sea as well. ![]() The website Sarawak Report has a good article about this. ![]() If follow some logic of LYN theory MOM banning the East Malaysian, MOM and ICA will start to ban the whole Malaysia due to these new ICs. Hidup Banglasia! |
May 6 2013, 09:02 AM
May 6 2013, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ May 6 2013, 09:39 PM) good advise there Should be around May and June. But most of them should have secure a job by now. Very few start to find job only after they graduate. Start work period July or August.when do singapore students graduate from uni and enter the job market ah ??? then my chance of landing a job become slimmer/lesser/ more jialat ... already on a month sabatically leaveĀ This post has been edited by Fiona Chin: May 6 2013, 10:27 PM |
May 7 2013, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(toughnut @ May 7 2013, 09:56 AM) hi guys, My 6 months attachment in Melbourne and 3 months training in Sydney there:-i'm not familiar with oz to be honest but if there's prospect to move to oz with slightly better package, will you go? i'm comparing dollar per dollar as the conversion rate around 1.23:1 and tax rate in oz around 20-25% for the package. So equal out, package value about the same in sgd. from what I heard from my friends working in oz, rental and expenses are much more expensive. 1. Your tax rate is about there depends on the pay scale. The lower or mid range will be almost same. Highest rate will be around 30% and 45% after one figure. 2. Rental is cheaper. House is a lot cheaper. 300k AUD can get a landed one storey unit with car porch. 3. Car is cheaper. Maintenance is similar. 4. Food is a lot more expensive. Buy a house and cook on your own will be similar to SG. Eat outside everyday you pay the price later when you are old. 5. Anything that is imported are more expensive due to the tax. 6. PR is very hard to maintain if you don't stay there. Good thing:- 1. If you got PR, no need worry about after you retire or jobless. Unlike SG you have to depend on the saving/CPF that is limited. 2. Life there is good, really good. 5 pm sure off work, my direct boss chase me out of office at 445 pm, happy hour till 6 then go home and cook. A lot of places to visit compared to SG. 3. The food there are fresh. 4. The house is really a house, no grills like ours. Malaysia's house is a prison... to lock ourselves inside. SG is also picking up to be a prison soon. But I won't go there because its very far from home, you cannot go back home once a week or even once a month. Unless they all migrate to Aust. Hidup! |
May 7 2013, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ May 7 2013, 12:59 PM) Most of us here in SG oso won't go back home that frequently lor. My in laws place in JB also we only visit once every 2-3 months. Among all my singapore acquaintances I only know of one elite banker who can afford to fly back to KK almost every single weekend. Different case lo, if don't go back I will kena disowned and kick out of the house. Got one more expat in his own country hiding in this thread taking SG pay but working at home. QUOTE(hokin @ May 7 2013, 01:20 PM) I go back every weekend when I am not travelling (hence I cannot join you all for your gatherings) and there are around 10-15 that I know / noticed who does that or at least travel every forthnightly. See I not the only one going back frequently. QUOTE(toughnut @ May 7 2013, 01:27 PM) I just checked at their website, based on the pay range, tax is around 35% Oh ya forgot need to add in the CPF contribution of 20% or 5k if you want to compare apple to apple for the take home pay. Maybe the other working in OZ thread more info.Housing I just checked with one of my friend there, quite expensive too, area around Perth, Melbourne and Sydney. And yeah, car will be a necessity then due to houses far away from CBD. Food cost wise, already expected as they're "famous" for that. Good thing is that part-time foreigners working there can earn a bit to sustain their education. Anything related to service is highly compensated there. #4 good point is the main reason why I considering there. At least a proper landed house, no need to worry much about security (depends on community too). I work in Sg but only go back home (one of the BN's fort) twice a year due to flight issues. |
May 9 2013, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(mules @ May 8 2013, 09:25 PM) ![]() ishhh.... how come they know this and i dont know? any singapore malaysia special fb izzit? aiyooo i want to support la QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 9 2013, 09:43 AM) for those that missed the one above, pls see below.. saturday 4.30pm Cannot see any event...https://www.facebook.com/events/566706823349917/ |
May 9 2013, 10:52 AM
May 9 2013, 02:21 PM