Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

Double_Ace
post Mar 19 2013, 09:22 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 19 2013, 08:48 AM)
Ofcoz is a high jump, imagine, SGD600 you might get a common room which is smaller(maybe a maid room still price is depend on location), without toilet, >SGD900, you can get a master room which is abit bigger and with you own toilet. basically is like your own small world in the master room, so the price is much higher.

So let me share with you my experience of finding room on what you need to take note of:
-Room rental cost(does it worth the price you paying for? normally within walking distance of MRT would be higher)
-Any agent fee and how much?
-Does rental included PUB?(this is how they address electric bill and water bill)
- Aircond(optional, if don't have can ask if owner provide fan for the room without ceiling fan)(sometime you see your room got aircond doesn't mean you can use, you need to ask)
- Internet(optional)
- what other utility provided?(e.g:water boiler,washing machine)
- cooking allowed?

this is my experience, might not applicable to all, you can take as reference if you want. normally you just ask room rental included what and they will give you all the answer already.
For my experience, i never met any arrogant agent before, all quite nice. they don't want waste so many times to layan you as they got alot customer so you give them your criteria they will look for you, you noneed to rush them, useless one. You can view the room, why not.

hopes this help. blush.gif
Is it ok if i put want to have korean girls as house mate in the criteria? I'm being serious here. Bcs when i had traning in Hotel b4 koreans & japanese are the cleanest guest, they even make thier own beds in the hotel.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 19 2013, 09:24 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 19 2013, 09:06 PM)
Guys, quick question to help me do some sums.

How much would you be willing to pay for a common room in a condo (normal facilities, gym and pool etc) that is 2-3 minutes walk from MRT (from MRT platform to condo guardhouse) and across the road from shopping mall?

Basic furnishing ie. queen bed, built in wardrobe, air conditioning and the common bathroom practically for the your use only?

Include utilities (say $200), very light cooking only (instant noodles, rice or porridge) and no overnight or "lounging" (ie. hang out the whole afternoon etc) visitors.

Nearby condos are renting out at $4-4.5K. But they are about 7-10 minutes walk from MRT.
If i'm not mistaken, rooms at Pinnacles@Duxton are going at $1.1k. That should be the approximate amount?
rcv86
post Mar 19 2013, 09:34 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(twsg008 @ Mar 19 2013, 03:28 PM)
Guyys, can i save much with SGD3500 salary? would like to know how much approx i can save. Will be looking for a HDB room with aircon.
You can save at least $1000 - $2000 with that pay, depend on your spending lifestyle.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2013, 09:37 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Double_Ace @ Mar 19 2013, 09:22 PM)
Is it ok if i put want to have korean girls as house mate in the criteria? I'm being serious here. Bcs when i had traning in Hotel b4 koreans & japanese are the cleanest guest, they even make thier own beds in the hotel.

The agent will likely ask you to fly kite.

Even if the agent doesn't ask you to fly kite, for the measly 1/2 month commission he/she won't be actively looking for a place with korean girls, so you also aren't likely to get a place in a relatively short timeframe.
TSdeodorant
post Mar 19 2013, 09:39 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 19 2013, 08:58 PM)
I dunno about the rest of you, but the lifestyle here is so much of a pressure cooker. I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful.
I think I'm having issues coping with the generally high stress levels of Singapore.

I work and live in the East, so I don't need to experience the rush hour MRT on a daily basis. IMO that is a HUGE factor in my stress levels here in SG. I can easily imagine that having to take the peak hour MRT daily would increase my stress levels a few notches.
seantang
post Mar 19 2013, 09:45 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 19 2013, 09:24 PM)
If i'm not mistaken, rooms at Pinnacles@Duxton are going at $1.1k. That should be the approximate amount?
Thanks. I'm wondering how much of a premium one would pay for the proximity to MRT over a place like Pinnacle. Pinnacle is probably 8-10 minutes walk. What I have in mind is seriously 2-3 minutes from the train platform to the condo, across the road from a mall and a HDB commercial hub next to mall. The most equivalent place would be AMK Centro, next to AMK Hub/bus interchange, AMK Central and MRT.

JustcallmeLarry
post Mar 19 2013, 10:07 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 19 2013, 08:48 AM)
Ofcoz is a high jump, imagine, SGD600 you might get a common room which is smaller(maybe a maid room still price is depend on location), without toilet, >SGD900, you can get a master room which is abit bigger and with you own toilet. basically is like your own small world in the master room, so the price is much higher.

So let me share with you my experience of finding room on what you need to take note of:
-Room rental cost(does it worth the price you paying for? normally within walking distance of MRT would be higher)
-Any agent fee and how much?
-Does rental included PUB?(this is how they address electric bill and water bill)
- Aircond(optional, if don't have can ask if owner provide fan for the room without ceiling fan)(sometime you see your room got aircond doesn't mean you can use, you need to ask)
- Internet(optional)
- what other utility provided?(e.g:water boiler,washing machine)
- cooking allowed?

this is my experience, might not applicable to all, you can take as reference if you want. normally you just ask room rental included what and they will give you all the answer already.
For my experience, i never met any arrogant agent before, all quite nice. they don't want waste so many times to layan you as they got alot customer so you give them your criteria they will look for you, you noneed to rush them, useless one. You can view the room, why not.

hopes this help. blush.gif
Hey bro thanks a lot for ur feedback, really appreciate it. But sgd900 is almost 50% of my salary. I dont need air cond or other stuff. I just need a bed, fan & toilet, my budget is max sgd900 including the PUB. Is this realistic to get at a nice location near public transport spots? If cannot then i have to cancel moving to Singapore in my list. laugh.gif
JohnJon82
post Mar 20 2013, 12:08 AM

716 posts

I just wanted to rant here after just a few months of working here. One thing I somewhat came to a conclusion to is that I will go back Malaysia after a few years.

I dunno about the rest of you, but the lifestyle here is so much of a pressure cooker. I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful.

I think I'm having issues coping with the generally high stress levels of Singapore.
Work no stress. Going out to the city on weekends is more stressful. People everywhere.
Mackiddo
post Mar 20 2013, 12:17 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

I just wanted to rant here after just a few months of working here. One thing I somewhat came to a conclusion to is that I will go back Malaysia after a few years.

funny coz I don't really feel any stress. Probably it's a temporary thing, you'll get used to it in a while.
jitshiong
post Mar 20 2013, 12:27 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 19 2013, 10:07 PM)
Hey bro thanks a lot for ur feedback, really appreciate it. But sgd900 is almost 50% of my salary. I dont need air cond or other stuff. I just need a bed, fan & toilet, my budget is max sgd900 including the PUB. Is this realistic to get at a nice location near public transport spots? If cannot then i have to cancel moving to Singapore in my list. laugh.gif
Find a cheaper room.Or share with ppl.
Single room, i think cheapest would be around $500
seantang
post Mar 20 2013, 02:01 AM

6,624 posts

You might be stressing yourself out.

I've pretty much the same stress level as I did in KL. Just learn to adapt. Taking public transport is stressful, especially when the trains aircond is not at full blast. But I learnt to set aside a few hundred a month and just take taxi to work. And with the car prices coming down so much lately due to the loan restrictions, I'm seriously considering buying a car. But that might increase my stress back to KL levels because everybody else are just such lousy drivers yawn.gif

Finding parking in PJ during lunch time was damn stressful. Now I just head out to lunch at 11:30-11:45 and take my pick of lunch spots along Orchard Rd. No problem finding a seat. Occasionally I just take advantage of those special seats at food courts. You know, the ones that have free tissue paper. Sometimes the food courts provide free newspaper, free umbrellas. I even have a few free Blackberry holsters. I don't why the food courts here at Orchard give away freebies to encourage you to fill up their empty seats, but I'm not complaining. After 12, can do bird watching when the crowd swells.

Just go with the flow. I found that a lot of stress disappeared when I let go of wanting things to be "just like it was in KL".

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 20 2013, 02:02 AM
yhoong12
post Mar 20 2013, 08:40 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

If you saying go back to malaysia still depend on location, if KL, i don't see any different stress level as i always see my friends driving car complaining jam here jam there while i am already back home surfing net.

you said:"I feel stressed at everything. Going to work is stressful. Trying to find a place to eat at Raffles is stressful. Finding a seat is stressful", then tell me, what thing is not stress in our life? before you married, you stress on saving money, buy house,car and so on, after married you stress of getting a child, maintain a family and so on.

maybe working here is a bit stressful, but how sure you are working in malaysia is not stressful?
yhoong12
post Mar 20 2013, 08:45 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Mar 19 2013, 10:07 PM)
I helped whatever i can because i understand how it feel to move in singapore without any help.haha

the problem you facing now is toilet, 900 with attached toilet near public transport spots(i guess you mean mrt because bus stop is everywhere), you need to search for the room harder, maybe you will find one, because is quite a big sum for a single tenant, i bet alot of tenant want this kind of tenant as they get quite a sum but only one tenant at that room. i suggest you try to find room where the unit only got two room, one master room and one common room, definitely you will be the only one use the toilet while you rent the common room, the different thing is toilet not attached to your room..

if a girl looking for attached toilet i can understand, but can i ask why you want a attached toilet so badly? hmm.gif
Kravo
post Mar 20 2013, 10:42 AM

1,230 posts

how's bus stop service? do anyone find it inconvenient at time?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Mar 20 2013, 10:49 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Oh i wanna rant about the taxi drivers here too! They like to stop-accelerate-stop-accelerate. A few times I felt like I was gonna puke..
LiangZhuge
post Mar 20 2013, 11:00 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 19 2013, 09:06 PM)
Guys, quick question to help me do some sums.

How much would you be willing to pay for a common room in a condo (normal facilities, gym and pool etc) that is 2-3 minutes walk from MRT (from MRT platform to condo guardhouse) and across the road from shopping mall?

Basic furnishing ie. queen bed, built in wardrobe, air conditioning and the common bathroom practically for the your use only?

Include utilities (say $200), very light cooking only (instant noodles, rice or porridge) and no overnight or "lounging" (ie. hang out the whole afternoon etc) visitors.

Nearby condos are renting out at $4-4.5K. But they are about 7-10 minutes walk from MRT.
I would think $1500++ but honestly I would not pay that high because I am kedekut biggrin.gif

One thing to note that this is a common room, so I guess there will be some other people (owner, other tenants) in the condo ? A colleague of mine is renting a condo near Novena MRT (1 bedroom studio) for around $3000 so he get the whole unit for himself.

Since you mention that someone is renting out $4000 to $4500 for a common room ( sweat.gif ), you could try within that range and see if there is anyone biting. Good luck.

seantang
post Mar 20 2013, 11:02 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 20 2013, 11:00 AM)
One thing to note that this is a common room, so I guess there will be some other people (owner, other tenants) in the condo ? A colleague of mine is renting a condo near Novena MRT (1 bedroom studio) for around $3000 so he get the whole unit for himself.

Since you mention that someone is renting out $4000 to $4500 for a common room ( sweat.gif ), you could try within that range and see if there is anyone biting. Good luck.
Oh... $4-4.5K is for the entire condo. 2 bedrooms. So just owner + tenant. Max is owner+companion + tenant.

r1v3r
post Mar 20 2013, 11:03 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Kravo @ Mar 20 2013, 10:42 AM)
how's bus stop service? do anyone find it inconvenient at time?
Use the local apps like street directory. You can check arrival of any bus at any bus stop. Use that to plan your time.
crazy25kid
post Mar 20 2013, 11:18 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 20 2013, 10:49 AM)
Oh i wanna rant about the taxi drivers here too! They like to stop-accelerate-stop-accelerate. A few times I felt like I was gonna puke..
i feel u on this.
ALL OF THEM DRIVES LIKE THAT
i wonder is that what is taught in driving schools. sweat.gif sweat.gif
newaisa
post Mar 20 2013, 11:48 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 20 2013, 11:18 AM)
i feel u on this.
ALL OF THEM DRIVES LIKE THAT
i wonder is that what is taught in driving schools.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I believe there is something to do with the meter ticking?
Perhaps accelerate + brake continuously will make meter tick more for the same distance?
Since not their car...they just don't care about maintenance cost...daily rental cost fully utilize....

125 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:19 AM