post Mar 2 2013, 11:04 PM, updated 13y ago

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

URL for Previous Thread (v12): http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2506532

Chat Thread is Here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2220419
Gathering Thread is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are always available for those with higher education level & in-demand work experience. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB
5. eFinancialCareers.sg

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG. Do note that you can only stay 30 days at a time, and a total of only 60 days out of every 90.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Employers/Gen-Info...ri/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD600 and above per room (with or without utilities). You can still find small & cramped sub-SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD1000 onwards per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/
http://www.sg-house.com/
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm
SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg
Directions: http://gothere.sg/maps or http://maps.google.com.sg/

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/lta/en/motor...fsingapore.html

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

TO CHECK FOR YOUR PR APPLICATION STATUS, KINDLY VISIT THIS LINK
https://ienquiry.ica.gov.sg/index.do

TO CHECK EP APPLICATION STATUS, VISIT THIS LINK
https://eponline.mom.gov.sg/epol/PEPOLENQM0...isplayAction.do

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 22 2013, 07:39 PM
TSdeodorant
post Mar 2 2013, 11:05 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Further Information about Converting your MY license to SG license:

QUOTE(hokin @ Jul 11 2012, 08:45 AM)
Officially Malaysian converting to Singapore driving license has to 'surrender' or have their M'sian driving license revoked.

Officially there is a law that requires our Malaysian driving licence revoked if anyone would like to convert the licence to a Singapore driving licence. See the extract below from the JPJ Driver’s Education Curriculum handbook (on page 113 – 114). It does add on that one can still get back a Malaysian driving licence and that whilst holding a Singapore driving licence one can still drive a Malaysian registered car in Malaysia and Singapore.

So to say JPJ blacklist your Malaysian driving license is not correct and misguided, they are just doing their job as required by law. However many would like to keep both driving license, hence the 'extortion'.

V12 Top 10 Contributors:

yhoong12 221
Mackiddo 152
deodorant 144
seantang 116
r1v3r 83
alaskanbunny 76
crazy25kid 71
momijigari 68
ivanswk 60
megadisc 60

This post has been edited by deodorant: Mar 2 2013, 11:06 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 2 2013, 11:16 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 2 2013, 06:51 PM)
This is just a no-consequence, no-impact, no-meaning response that does not represent the views of the majority of people who commented on this post in FB.

Some of those comments are sickening. One woman commenter even complained that foreign workers were following her when she walks, when she jogs and when she cycles. I mean... WTF?  doh.gif
at least some had shown some appreciation after being enlightent

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 2 2013, 09:53 PM)
Send them back to the dorms and lock them in after working. Work permit meant to work here, but not to go out on the streets. Need to apply another permit to go out. The most ideal scenario some want. Soon there will be COW, certificate of walking on the street. The street are not big enough for all anymore.
Feel great empathy towards them. We are the same in some sense.
yea, a lot of ppl dont understand how lower level workers like me have to face everyday...

QUOTE(ViLenG @ Mar 2 2013, 09:58 PM)
What if its a nerd...with average english spoken. less active.  he/she can enter sg companies easily?
easily? no.. nothing is easy... a little effort and luck.. u might just make it
megadisc
post Mar 2 2013, 11:39 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 2 2013, 11:16 PM)
at least some had shown some appreciation after being enlightent
yea, a lot of ppl dont understand how lower level workers like me have to face everyday...
easily? no.. nothing is easy... a little effort and luck.. u might just make it
yup ...i need the luck ...

havent got shortlisted yet ...aisay ... blush.gif
nicknick
post Mar 3 2013, 12:06 AM

199 posts

Just a quick clarification guys.

I'll be moving down to Singapore next Saturday. Was wondering if I could bring in my used electronics such as Mac Mini and Xbox or do I have to declare it at the customs?
zul_n
post Mar 3 2013, 12:28 AM

461 posts

keep it movin!
Mackiddo
post Mar 3 2013, 12:53 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(nicknick @ Mar 3 2013, 12:06 AM)

I'll be moving down to Singapore next Saturday. Was wondering if I could bring in my used electronics such as Mac Mini and Xbox or do I have to declare it at the customs?
any problem in declaring ? It's not that difficult actually, go to red lane instead of green

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Mar 3 2013, 12:54 AM
seantang
post Mar 3 2013, 12:55 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Just bring it in. No need to declare.

momijigari
post Mar 3 2013, 01:02 AM

189 posts

Do anyone of you feel hated and not welcomed from reading those news or articles related to foreign workers/talents?

By the way, any of you registered your marriage in Singapore?
anderson2009
post Mar 3 2013, 01:20 AM

111 posts

Felt uneasy reading the comments.
JohnJon82
post Mar 3 2013, 01:40 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Mar 3 2013, 01:02 AM)
Do anyone of you feel hated and not welcomed from reading those news or articles related to foreign workers/talents?

By the way, any of you registered your marriage in Singapore?
Don't feel anything.

Unless you are really a talent and can keep it that way, and work on EP forever, then you are a FT. If not, after some years, your skills degenerate, become normal worker. You apply and get PR, SG put you inside their resident stats. Grow old a bit, start family, pay house pay car, suddenly everything so exp. New batch of younger, more updated skill FT come in, then you will be one of the author of those articles. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Mar 3 2013, 02:03 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 3 2013, 09:02 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Mar 2 2013, 11:39 PM)
yup ...i need the luck ...

havent got shortlisted yet ...aisay ... blush.gif
opportunity will come... be patient

if it is used, should not be a problem... dont bring it is with its original box... if afraid just declare it

QUOTE(anderson2009 @ Mar 3 2013, 01:20 AM)
Felt uneasy reading the comments.
hahaha, wait till banglas, arabs, iranians, indons, pinoys read our kopitiam...

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 3 2013, 01:40 AM)
Don't feel anything.

Unless you are really a talent and can keep it that way, and work on EP forever, then you are a FT. If not, after some years, your skills degenerate, become normal worker. You apply and get PR, SG put you inside their resident stats. Grow old a bit, start family, pay house pay car, suddenly everything so exp. New batch of younger, more updated skill FT come in, then you will be one of the author of those articles.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
hahaha... agree rclxms.gif
rick16
post Mar 3 2013, 11:33 AM

Dear all, I'm a Malaysian plan to work in Singapore as an audit assistant...
May i know how much is the expected salary for an acca fresh graduate working there?
RabbitS
post Mar 3 2013, 12:49 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(rick16 @ Mar 3 2013, 11:33 AM)
Dear all, I'm a Malaysian plan to work in Singapore as an audit assistant...
May i know how much is the expected salary for an acca fresh graduate working there?
Acca fresh... 2k-4k/month.. Avg 2.6k
newaisa
post Mar 3 2013, 02:17 PM

202 posts

Wow....v13...time flies...

And....without me realizing...I would have been in here for 1 year already by this month....
newaisa
post Mar 3 2013, 02:25 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(momijigari @ Mar 3 2013, 01:02 AM)

Almost every single time when I am in a cab the driver would start to complain foreigner as well...(I take cab everyday to customer site)

I would say I got used to it....they never realize I myself is foreigner....I always respond with "oh...ok..."

Then they will continue with their stories like....

"u know...government should increase all local people salary first before bringing in more foreigner...how can they bla bla bla"
I replied in my heart "If you are such a good planner you wouldn't be driving taxi already lor" icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

Anyway, hatred towards foreigner exists in every single country to some extent.
Just get used to it as you can't shut people's mouth nod.gif
strison
post Mar 3 2013, 03:51 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 3 2013, 02:25 PM)
Almost every single time when I am in a cab the driver would start to complain foreigner as well...(I take cab everyday to customer site)

I would say I got used to it....they never realize I myself is foreigner....I always respond with "oh...ok..."

Then they will continue with their stories like....

"u know...government should increase all local people salary first before bringing in more foreigner...how can they bla bla bla"
I replied in my heart "If you are such a good planner you wouldn't be driving taxi already lor"  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif

Anyway, hatred towards foreigner exists in every single country to some extent.
Just get used to it as you can't shut people's mouth  nod.gif
Ya, I face the same condition too, just wondering why always the taxi drivers complaning regarding
the foreign labours??
LYR
post Mar 3 2013, 05:14 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(strison @ Mar 3 2013, 03:51 PM)
Ya, I face the same condition too, just wondering why always the taxi drivers complaning regarding
the foreign labours??
because they were jobless. that's why they become taxi driver. whenever they're jobless, they will think that foreigners grabbing their jobs.
newaisa
post Mar 3 2013, 05:32 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Mar 3 2013, 05:14 PM)
because they were jobless. that's why they become taxi driver. whenever they're jobless, they will think that foreigners grabbing their jobs.
My thought exactly.....
And when their bright children go overseas next time...those young generation face the same mad.gif mad.gif thing...
It's a vicious cycle icon_rolleyes.gif
crazy25kid
post Mar 3 2013, 05:36 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ Mar 3 2013, 05:14 PM)

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 3 2013, 05:32 PM)
My thought exactly.....
And when their bright children go overseas next time...those young generation face the same mad.gif  mad.gif  thing...
It's a vicious cycle  icon_rolleyes.gif
driving a cab is a very high paying job with flexible working hours if u put in the same amt of effort to climb the corporate ladder
some singaporeans resign from their job to be a cab driver.
less stressful.

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:56 PM