8,188 posts

newbie post
rclxub.gif

i am new in this.
hi, every one. icon_rolleyes.gif

Suggestion required. icon_question.gif

situation:
i got burned VERY badly in the UT investment during the 2000 tech stock bubble crash. cry.gif

now i am 50 yrs & recently jobless.
with 3 dependents.(2 very young kids + wife + me = 4)

i hv some $$ left.

20% of my asset is in emergency cash they would be enough for about 4-5 years expenses
40% in EPF (5 years later hopefully can take out unless the govt up the retirement age)
40% cash.... that i would like to invest.

what would you "SIFU" of this forum (especially "Pink Spider") would suggest to invest with the 40%?
should i also divert some of the 20% emergency fund, if yes,. how much and to what?

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 23 2013, 02:42 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 23 2013, 04:18 PM

8,188 posts

yklooi already said that he's 50 years old and jobless, go for a Conservative portfolio of course.
No, don't touch the emergency cash. You're 50 yrs old, and you've got dependents, don't risk it. Your wife still working?

But at the same time don't leave all the cash sitting in savings account which yields meagre interest.

Give u an idea, u may improvise/change as u see fit.

- keep maybe 3 months worth of expenses in savings account
- divide the balance (4-5 years less 3 months) into 12 portions
- go to the bank, place 12 FDs. 1 for 12 months, 1 for 11 months, 1 for 10 months, 1 for 9 months ... ... 1 for 2 months and 1 for 1 month, so that u will have 12 FDs that mature within a month of each other
- when the 1-month FD matures, renew for 12 months. When the 2-months FD matures, renew for 12 months and so on

This way, your emergency cash will give u interest income at 12-month FD rate icon_idea.gif

As for the 40% cash, consider to invest in some well-managed UT funds, don't take excessive risk.

Some recommended funds for u:

Fixed Income:
OSK-UOB Income Fund
AmBond
Hwang Select Bond Fund

Balanced:
OSK-UOB KidSave Trust
Hwang Select Balanced Fund

Equity:
Hwang Select Opportunity Fund
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund
Alliance Global Equities Fund

If I were u, I'd allocate 50% for Fixed Income, 30% for Balanced and 20% for Equity. That'll make it effectively a 65% bonds + 35% equities UT portfolio.

Do Dollar Cost/Value Averaging, don't go in at one lump sum. Spread your entry over 1 year maybe.

U just joined LYN forum today...just to post here? rclxub.gif

[/quote]

hi, thks fo the response, just for info

geee,..i already started the FD at a 3mth FD period per withdrawal, ex..1 FD for 3 mth, another for 6 mths another for 9 mths,....and so on
each FD can cover for 3 mths expenses.....so when the FD mature for ea FD i will take out for the 3 mths expenses

rclxms.gif agree with the "don't take too excessive risk" statement

65% bond + 35% equities ???? i hv another 40% in EPF with ave 5% int pa. wouldn't it be high on bond?
having said "bond" most bond performance for last year already started to drop to about 5% some are even less
Bank Rakyat "Makeen deposit i-a/c is giving 4.5%pa for a 5yr FD

yep,..i just joined today to post here,

why DCA? if the mkt is coming dw then is good, but now seems like the world is full with liquidity....i expect the mkt to go up.
but i too may be wrong doh.gif

if i where to go into bond and equities,
what allocation would be appropriate? need to divers to which sectors or geographical zones?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 23 2013, 04:42 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 23 2013, 05:20 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 23 2013, 04:51 PM)
u just said that u kena burnt badly during 2000s tech crash, u not scared? Also, now u 50 yrs old already, time is not on your side...and you've got dependents. sweat.gif

u got other passive income like rental income?

Why don't u work backwards...let's say u need RM5K a month, and u have got RM1mil. So, u need a portfolio that can yield 6% p.a. Then u try to build a portfolio that can potentially achieve that without taking excessive risk.

If market is at/near bottom, lump sum investing will make u richer than Ah Huat White Kopi. But, who are u and I to say where the market will head next? Even ppl with Phd in economics dare not say with certainty tongue.gif

And Bank Rakyat...5 year FD nia...how many more 5 years that u have? Just kidding laugh.gif

Why don't u try to study FSM's Recommended Portfolios first? Especially the Conservative and Balanced portfolio. I also construct my portfolio using that as a rough guide. nod.gif
thanks yr Points noted! appreciated. will do the "work backwards " as advised and check with FSM to see where it leads
get back to you later
SUSyklooi
post Apr 25 2013, 05:05 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 24 2013, 02:44 PM)
40% in EPF..does this includes account 2 or you have withdrawn all in acnt 2? Also you can only withdraw 20% of balance after deducted rm90k from acnt 1 every 3 months. What you can invest from EPF would be quite minimal.
gee, already taken out from a/c 1 for PM UT. thanks for asking.

i jus did some "homework" on funds for my portfolio

due to my age of 50yrs, hv 3 dependents....i opted for conservative portfolios.
here is a list of funds and the % of my intended allocation

20% RHB Islamic Bond (FSM risk rating 1)
8% Hwang AIIMAN Income Plus (FSM risk rating 1)
10% Hwang Select Bond (FSM risk rating 2)
8% RHB Golden Life Today (FSM risk rating 3)
10% OSK-UOB Kidsave trust (FSM risk rating 5)
8% Pacific Select Balance (FSM risk rating 5)
8% Ambalanced (FSM risk rating 5)
8% Amtotal return (FSM risk rating 5)
5% Alliance Global Equities (FSM risk rating 7)
5% Hwang AIIMAN Growth (FSM risk rating 8)
5% Hwang Select Opportuinty (FSM risk rating 8)
5% Hwang Asia Quantum (FSM risk rating 10)

Total 12 Funds...too many?

Advise needed::: what you think of these funds??
any overlap of allocation?
how reliable is the FSM risk rating?

like to hv yr expert opinion on these...Pink spider...and others
sorry to trouble you all

SUSyklooi
post Apr 25 2013, 05:23 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 25 2013, 05:11 PM)
12??? Need so many funds or not??? rclxub.gif

I suggest removing a few funds that overlap with other funds...
what about these then? rclxub.gif

20% RHB Islamic Bond (FSM risk rating 1)

20% Hwang Select Bond (FSM risk rating 2)

20% OSK-UOB Kidsave trust (FSM risk rating 5)

20% Amtotal return (FSM risk rating 5)
5% Alliance Global Equities (FSM risk rating 7)
5% Hwang AIIMAN Growth (FSM risk rating 8)
5% Hwang Select Opportuinty (FSM risk rating 8)
5% Hwang Asia Quantum (FSM risk rating 10)

now is 8 funds

i kind of like RHB islamic bond over the Hwang AIIMAN income plus

what you think of the above...if ok and no more suggestion from other experienced investors... icon_question.gif
i would like to go show hand all i got ...... thumbup.gif

SUSyklooi
post Apr 25 2013, 06:19 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 25 2013, 05:38 PM)
That's effectively bond 50/50 equity...u sure about that? hmm.gif

Btw, do u have other side income to sustain your family?

RHB Islamic Bond appear better due to last year it written down a bond, then this year the bond revalued...hence this year it gained a lot. Go dig the old FSM articles and see.
ya-lah...ooops..did not think about this 50/50 equity/bond after minus this and that funds.

my intention is to hv 80/20

will need to recalculate...any helps from lyn is welcome.

hv to did into previous saving to sustain-lor...did a few calculation....can still survive but not lavishly-eer

thanks for highlight the 50/50 part

SUSyklooi
post Apr 25 2013, 06:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 25 2013, 06:43 PM)
Boss last time u work as what? Ur savings seems alot coz can sustain ur family. This is pure hard savings or last time investment that grow till now?
geee,,.last time still single and young, ventured into UT & stock, got burnt by tech bubble burst year 2000, & 2007 very badly,...
started saving about 25years ago. got into stock mkt, UT and betting here and there. some stock make $$ some dun't and some UT till now also cannot get back even if where to calculate with interest lost.

now married and getting old with 3 dependents...now everything changed, hv to think cos got limited resources can not afford to loose.

SUSyklooi
post Apr 26 2013, 06:39 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 26 2013, 10:47 AM)
AmTotal Return looks pretty decent, though not really outstanding. What makes u pick it? This fund escaped my radar all this while hmm.gif

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...number=MYAMTTRN
picked Amtotal Return after having seen the
1) FSM 3yrs Risk Return Ratio Rating
2) Sharpe Ratio
3) Performance records history over 10yrs
4) my risk appetite

now just completed a new planned portolio

20% RHB Bond Fund
20% Hwang Select Bond Fund
14% OSK-UOB KidSave Trust 
14% OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond Fund 
17% Hwang Select Balanced Fund 
3% AMB Dividend Trust Fund 
7% Hwang Select Opportunity Fund
5% Hwang Asia Quantum Fund

with the above plan, i got
70% bond, 23% M'sia Equities, 7% Asia X Jpn Equities

what you think of this?

(was thinking of reducing the m'sia eq exposure
(now that the KLCI is high and the upside movement would be lesser)
and i intent to go more to Asia Equities....any suggestion?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 26 2013, 06:53 PM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 26 2013, 06:49 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 26 2013, 03:01 PM)
account 1 or 2? I was referring to account 2 that you can take out all when reach 50yo.
Thanks for the info,...i did not know about this.
checked the KWSP website....it is confirmed as what you said.

any idea or suggestion as to what to invest for 4 yrs that can get about 5-6.5% pa with no risk.
(5~6.5% assuming the EPF int, and assuming EPF no Risk)
with the safest is bond, but most bond are now less than epf

SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2013, 01:05 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 26 2013, 09:37 PM)
Eh, why your latest draft portfolio no more AmTotal Return? tongue.gif

FYI, AMB Dividend Trust is also managed by HwangIM (the last time I checked. Dunno lately got change or not. Go see its prospectus/financial statements), u know that? The life or death of your portfolio lies on the hand of HwangIM brows.gif

Great choice I'd say, all are solid funds with history of regular distribution, that will suit a retiree investor like u. If u invest thru FSM, all distributions would be reinvested. U can just sell the distribution units for cash, that would give u some cash flow to sustain your living.

One point I feel warrant raising, your portfolio got zero exposure to markets other than Asia Ex-Japan...u don't want to have a bit exposure to US, Europe, Japan?
Removed the AM total Return cos need to calculate the allocation.....Amttl rtn i think is high on m'sia equities.
you are correct....AMD divident Trust is managed by Hwang (external mgr...that is what is stated in the prospectus) as long it can get a stable and good returns...then i think it should be ok.
wow,...you can remember what has been mentioned in the prospectus???? that is amazing....how do you do that?

could not find any good and reliable Equities funds in the FSM that are focused in the US europe and Japan, china, india or asia......what is see now is "bad" track history records....

any you could recommend/suggests for me to evaluate?

yea, yea, yea....past performance is NO guarantee of future performance......
but at least i can evaluate the fund mgrs.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 27 2013, 01:06 AM
SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2013, 11:11 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 27 2013, 01:18 AM)

OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield managed to track its benchmark, MSCI AC World index quite closely.
Alliance Global Equities though fail to beat its benchmark (which is 64% Asia Ex-Japan + 36% US+UK+Germany+France+Japan), managed to beat MSCI World index.
Pacific Global Stars used to be quite solid, but its overweight of China and mining stocks wiped out it's good work for the past 2 years or so.

Maybe consider to allocate 5% for a global equity fund?
thks, Alliance Global equities look promising for my portfolio
might hv to remove the Hwang Sel Opp and add this..will consider rclxub.gif
wondering why, FSM conservative portfolio selection suggest holding Pac Global Stars.. hmm.gif any idea?

i read in this thread that one can switch out of AmDynamic Bond to other fund....
wondering once switched out...can get back in meh? i thought the AmDynamic is already closed.

Does FSM has "Trust Nomination" option....whereby if i passed away,..all a/c in FSM will be passed over to my assigned nominee.

SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2013, 05:47 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2013, 04:51 PM)

This time, plan to re enter (top up) Malaysia funds after GE13.
just point of query, why after GE13? it may go the other way.
"if" drop by how many% then it is the right time to go in?
mind to share?

SUSyklooi
post Apr 27 2013, 09:45 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2013, 07:36 PM)
Bro.. After GE so i know who is the winning party le. If opposition win, i foresee market drop more. So it is opportunity.

If BN wins, maybe drop not so much and then ride the wave up.

Whoever wins, i think in medium future term klci will up due to regional asia market and US market will up. Also investors been on the sideline since sometime already with alot of liquidity, so will push market up too
oh, i see, may i know from yr experience, if the KLCI were to drop 5% (85 points) assuming over 5 days......
how many % would the price of yr fund drop?? guess??

SUSyklooi
post Apr 28 2013, 10:28 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 27 2013, 10:56 PM)
Bro.. I have no idea. Haha..

I have fix income fund to balance or migitate the drop of my equities. So wont hurt so much. I have other regions equity as well. So if MY funds drop, maybe other region up. So no idea at all the percentage drop.

What I can say if all equities drop 5%, overall portfolio wont drop by 5%. It will balance up by my fix income as my bond is like 60% now.
wow, good to know that you can have (Almost a save heaven for yr investment) if the KLCI drops.
what i am interested to know is any idea what the M'sia Equities Funds would behave is the KLCI were to drop 5%?
what about yr whole portfolio behave if the global stock mkt crashed like for example 2007/8?
SUSyklooi
post Apr 28 2013, 02:28 PM

8,188 posts

may i know, if i were to buy Hwang's or Am or others Fund thru FSM,
will Hwang or Am or others sent me the holding reports also? or i just get the holding reports from FSM only?
SUSyklooi
post Apr 29 2013, 10:27 AM

8,188 posts

can i confirm, FSM in Malaysia only charges the Sales Charges one time only...and the purchased funds in the investor a/c are no more charged no matter how long it is? except for some funds that has exit fees when redeemed.

i found this below from the web,,,it is regarding the platform fee in FSM??

http://jadedjeremy.blogspot.com/2010/04/de...dsupermart.html
SUSyklooi
post Apr 29 2013, 12:28 PM

8,188 posts

It's better to hang out with people better than you. Pick out associates whose behavior is better than yours and you'll drift in that direction.

Warren Buffett

readings of posts in this forum did made me
SUSyklooi
post Apr 29 2013, 03:50 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 28 2013, 02:32 PM)
No.

If I'm not mistaken, HwangIM, AmInvestment etc won't even know who u are. Investments thru FSM is pooled and parked under a Nominee Account.
i was about to finalize my FSM a/c opening when i read this from FIMM...seeking me to tick.....

A company may market and distribute unit trust funds using a nominee system. If you are investing through a company which uses a nominee system, your rights as a unit holder may be limited. Have you found out if your rights as a unit holder will be limited in any way?

what does this mean "your right as a unit holder will be limited...?"

unit trust purchase thru FSM is pooled and parked under a nominee a/c......anyone got any idea what this limitations are?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Apr 29 2013, 03:51 PM
SUSyklooi
post May 2 2013, 06:40 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ May 2 2013, 03:59 PM)
AmDynamic Bond got significant holdings in toll operators whistling.gif

For that reason alone, I've just dumped about 1/6 of my AmDynamic Bond today, keep in Cash Management Fund laugh.gif

If PR takes over and KLSE crashes...gonna shopping there brows.gif
AmDynamic bond fund has been closed,..if you dumped some of it, can you get back in next time??
SUSyklooi
post May 4 2013, 12:03 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 4 2013, 09:41 AM)
Let's go shopping next week ya...
could you pls tell me what you bought? i got readied funds ready just a few days back for this occasion.
can i go to the FSM office to submit the payment and other related documents.
What is the FSM office do?

bcos this FSM thing is very new to me...i intent to spread the risk even more by opening a/c with
RHB investment bank, Hwang and FSM
to that does not have much different SC variance will go to RHB.
what you guys think?

This post has been edited by yklooi: May 4 2013, 12:06 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:43 AM