Fundsupermart.com v2, Learn about DIY unit trust investing

Hevrn
post Mar 6 2013, 07:41 PM

4,017 posts

Quick question. I noted recently that OSK-UOB GEM Bond Fund announced a dividend (ex-date 27th Feb, held them way before that). Till today I have yet to receive any crediting of additional units. Does it take a while for it to appear?
Hevrn
post Mar 23 2013, 09:44 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 22 2013, 10:31 PM)
And I'm still waiting for OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond's...
Same here. AmAsia Pac Reits are my first UT dividends, so seeing the email was a cherry popping moment for me. Hehe.
Hevrn
post Mar 23 2013, 09:57 AM

4,017 posts

Haha yea I read thru a few pages back on how dividends are actually a 'taking from our left hand and giving us on our right hand' situation. Nonetheless, its nice seeing the value of my investments spike up after the drop during ex-date.
Hevrn
post Mar 23 2013, 10:13 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 23 2013, 10:00 AM)
BIG DROP - rise - drop - rise - drop - BIG RISE

That's why I usually stop recording the NAV movements of a fund that went ex, I just "freeze" it at last NAV price before ex-distribution, then update the movements again after the crediting of distribution so as not to mess up the IRR of my portfolio.
Hey, thats a good idea. Just recomputed my XIRR. Even before receiving back my OSK OUB EM Bond Fund dividends, it stands ta 9.45%... What took me so long to jump on the UT bandwagon lol. I've been contented with subpar FD rates for so long.

Hevrn
post Mar 23 2013, 10:54 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 23 2013, 10:25 AM)
yes please share your portfolio.. i wish to learn more about UT in this few months, then when the FDs mature can invest in UT instead..
Haha, very humble investments la. most of them purchased during the FSM 0.5% promo, so the break even was much quicker.

AmBond ~18%
RHB Bond Fund ~11%
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond ~17%
Hwang Select Balanced Fund ~10.5%
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity ~18%
AmAsia Pacific REITs ~14%
Hwang Asia Quantum Fund ~12%

approx at that range to date, based on current value. I do a monthly topup to whereever I see value and based on the recommendations of the sifus here.

Hevrn
post Apr 19 2013, 09:27 AM

4,017 posts

Portfolio took a big hit today. From a XIRR high of +9%, its now dipped to around 4.75%, mainly due to big drops in my Aberdeen World Equity Shariah Fund and OSKUOB Emerging Markets Bond Fund.

This post has been edited by Hevrn: Apr 19 2013, 09:28 AM
Hevrn
post Apr 19 2013, 11:21 AM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 19 2013, 09:42 AM)
Mine dropped from a high of 6.3% to mid-5% now. I bet yours must be equity-heavy, easily >60%, right?
Yeap, pretty much

0.8085sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:43 PM