Fundsupermart.com v2, Learn about DIY unit trust investing

SUSPink Spider
post Mar 20 2013, 08:14 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 20 2013, 07:48 AM)
got a question on FSM.

if 1 day, FSM decides to close shop, will the users be affected? or will the UT stay tied to the user's name? thus can trade the UT at other institutions?

silly question right sweat.gif
Post #1 > Click FAQ link
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 20 2013, 01:50 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 20 2013, 08:18 AM)
You top up whatever funds got hit, I'll buy those two since I don't have them yet  biggrin.gif
FSM global funds:
Eastspring Investments Global Leaders
OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield
Pacific Global Stars
Alliance Global Equities
CIMB-Principal Global Titans

Aberdeen Islamic World Equity
AmOasis Global Islamic Equity

What makes u choose them? Let's discuss and share...
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 20 2013, 05:01 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 20 2013, 04:45 PM)
I'm looking at the 3-yr Volatility and Sharpe ratio. They are about the same on volatility but sharpe ratio signifcantly higher. Not sure if the numbers are correct but here what I got from FSM

OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield - 10.99 - 0.17
Pacific Global Stars - 9.66 - 0.11
Alliance Global Equities - 10.87 - 0.47
CIMB-Principal Global Titans - 11.57 - 0.24

Also FSM has switched half of their global fund from PGS to Global Titans for their recommended balanced portfolio.
I knew it tongue.gif

The numbers have changed significantly from the past few months due to the strong rally in US and Europe. Pacific GSF used to be 2nd highest after Alliance GEF, 3rd was OUGEY followed by CIMB-Principal GT.

When downturn, Alliance GE would be the one hit hardest due to its investing style which remain invested most of the times, it has the worst "Preservation" Lipper rating amongst the four.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 21 2013, 08:21 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 21 2013, 07:43 AM)
I have different opinion. I would look for how well a fund can recover after a downturn. If you look at 3 years chart, all the 4 funds tracked pretty closely with Alliance perfoming the best when it can withstand the selloff in Nov'12 while the rest of funds are recovering from it. This is post recession. If you look at 5-years chart, Pacific performed the best and recovered ahead of others, Alliance and CIMB about the same while OSK did not really recover from it. Base on this chart, I would avoid OSK-UOB and go with either Pacific, Alliance and/or CIMB. BTW, I have both Pacific and OSK and plan to keep only Pacific and buy into Alliance and CIMB. If you look at how their NAV moves for the past few years, it track the stock market pretty well. I would expect the NAV to drop significantly around May-July timeframe and rise again in couple of month. If you perform VCA well, you should be able to get pretty good IRR over 5-10 years period. I look back at my PM funds, I did get 16% IRR for PFSF and PISSF, 13% for PISEF and 12% for PIEF and PIDF and I did not really perform VCA but DCA quarterly as allowed by EPF. So IRR more than 10% is achievable, just how well you can take the risk. It might not be for everyone. I know many would freak out when they have just 10% drawdown.
Very well said thumbup.gif

My Hwang Global Financial Institutions were down -25% at one point sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 21 2013, 08:22 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 21 2013, 08:55 AM

16,872 posts

Sharpe ratio and fund ranking can reverse in a matter of years. IMHO, just go for a fund with decent rating and whose investing style/mandate complements your portfolio.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 21 2013, 10:09 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 21 2013, 01:50 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Mar 21 2013, 12:39 PM)
anybody ever exercise the 6 days cool off period?
how it works?
do they give you back the sales charge deducted?
since its 6days, how they count? is it from the first day when you place the order, or T+4 (once you see your fund shows up in ur account) then only start the 6 days from there
Read the prospectus.
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 22 2013, 09:40 AM

16,872 posts

Cyprus shock not heavy enough...nothing to buy yawn.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 22 2013, 04:17 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(s_kates81 @ Mar 22 2013, 03:02 PM)
A little question about Annual Trustee fee, when it's charged? Is it one year after we purchase a fund or in January every year?  What if we sell the fund before it reaching a year, say, in 11 months? Do we still have to pay this fee?
Go read Post #1 tonight after 9PM, I will insert a new FAQ on fees and its impact on NAV valuation
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 22 2013, 10:31 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 22 2013, 10:24 PM)
Distribution statement for AmAsiaPacific REIT and AmDynamic Bond are out.
And I'm still waiting for OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond's...
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 22 2013, 11:00 PM

16,872 posts

s_kates81 read Post #1 icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 09:15 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 23 2013, 08:40 AM)
Yup, me too... I think can only see the statement around 1 month time, rite? Same case with my OSK-UOB Asian Income Fund's
The standard is about 1 month from ex-date. Now my OSK-UOB Income Fund is next to go ex doh.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 09:50 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Mar 23 2013, 09:44 AM)
Same here. AmAsia Pac Reits are my first UT dividends, so seeing the email was a cherry popping moment for me. Hehe.

Refresh yourself on what UT dividends mean to us investors...read Post #1 lest u thought that it's some sort of windfall for u tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 23 2013, 09:50 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 10:00 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Mar 23 2013, 09:57 AM)
Haha yea I read thru a few pages back on how dividends are actually a 'taking from our left hand and giving us on our right hand' situation. Nonetheless, its nice seeing the value of my investments spike up after the drop during ex-date.
BIG DROP - rise - drop - rise - drop - BIG RISE

That's why I usually stop recording the NAV movements of a fund that went ex, I just "freeze" it at last NAV price before ex-distribution, then update the movements again after the crediting of distribution so as not to mess up the IRR of my portfolio.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 23 2013, 10:03 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 10:20 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Mar 23 2013, 10:13 AM)
Hey, thats a good idea. Just recomputed my XIRR. Even before receiving back my OSK OUB EM Bond Fund dividends, it stands ta 9.45%... What took me so long to jump on the UT bandwagon lol. I've been contented with subpar FD rates for so long.
rclxms.gif

Share with us your UT portfolio breakdown? icon_idea.gif

E.g.
Fund A XX%
Fund B X%
Fund C XX%
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 10:35 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 23 2013, 10:25 AM)
yes please share your portfolio.. i wish to learn more about UT in this few months, then when the FDs mature can invest in UT instead..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3314350

This palia portfolio delivered IRR of 6.2% as at end of Feb-2013 blush.gif
- Started in 2008
- 2010-2011 disposed a lot of funds, kept only a little
- Major revamp and restarted investing at 2012

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 23 2013, 10:36 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 10:59 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 23 2013, 10:54 AM)
rclxms.gif thanks.

haih im only having 3.xx% from FD for the past 3 years.. last year moved some funds to REITs, getting 6.xx%. this year will move some funds to UT. i currently have UO asian income fund, and its only because the bank agent managed to persuade meĀ  thumbup.gif

UO AIF ex-date soon right? do u suggest i top up?
Go to Post #1, read the FAQs sleep.gif

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Mar 23 2013, 10:54 AM)
Haha, very humble investments la. most of them purchased during the FSM 0.5% promo, so the break even was much quicker.

AmBond ~18%
RHB Bond Fund ~11%
OSK-UOB Emerging Markets Bond ~17%
Hwang Select Balanced Fund ~10.5%
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity ~18%
AmAsia Pacific REITs ~14%
Hwang Asia Quantum Fund ~12%

approx at that range to date, based on current value. I do a monthly topup to whereever I see value and based on the recommendations of the sifus here.
Your UT portfolio is like a "Greatest Hits" compilation thumbup.gif

That's effectively about 60% in equities, 40% in bonds...

Thanks to FSM, we can have most of the great funds under 1 distributor, convenient and cheap rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 23 2013, 11:04 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 11:28 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 23 2013, 11:18 AM)
do you mean the part of : dividend is just "left hand go right hand"?

i understand this.. so at rm1.00 now, if after ex-date it goes to 0.90. and i bought it earlier at rm1.00, buying it again at .90 brings down my average to .95 right? is that how we do it in UT? bear with me pleaseĀ  sweat.gif
Just a simple example to illustrate, but that's essentially how it works...

You hold 100 units at RM1.00 each. RM1.00 x 100 = RM100
Let's say you get 10 units extra from distribution. After distribution you hold 110 units at RM0.9091 each. RM0.9091 x 110 = RM100

Now, let's assume you top up RM10 after ex-date,
RM10 / RM0.9091 = 11 units bought

Your holdings now:
(110 + 11) x RM0.9091 = RM110

Initial value: RM100
Top up: RM10
Total: RM110

Yes, topping up after distribution ex-date brings your unit cost down. BUT AT THE SAME TIME the value per unit i.e. NAV price also comes down - IT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE whether you top up before or after ex-date. Cost per unit in UT means little in isolation, the difference between cost per unit and NAV price multiplied by your units held is what matters.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Mar 23 2013, 11:41 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 23 2013, 11:47 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 23 2013, 11:40 AM)
i see! thanks for the insight! learnt something new today ^^
You're welcome. Just inserted your question as another FAQ on Post #1 smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 24 2013, 10:37 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(johnnywzm @ Mar 24 2013, 10:28 AM)
EI Asia Pacific equity had drop below it's benchmark.. haihz.. =(
It has never/rarely beaten its benchmark tongue.gif

The Shariah variant perform better... icon_idea.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Mar 25 2013, 12:21 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(speedo @ Mar 24 2013, 11:33 PM)
i sell some of my unit, i think it would take 24 hours with the current price, however, im wrong. which means its quite complicated to lock in profit.
Click the FAQ link on Post #1

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:55 PM)
hello sifus, im thinking to park some of my money into bonds, looking for low to moderate risk bonds. from FSM's webpage, one of the recommended bonds are

Bonds - Asia
United Asian Bond Fund Class SGD

Bonds - Global
LionGlobal Short Duration Bond Fund

Bonds - Money Market & Short Duration
Cash Fund

Bonds - Singapore-Centric
LionGlobal Spore Fixed Inc-A
United SGD Fund Cl A

any advise on any of these?

and how do i calculate past performance of UT? when i view 'fact sheet', i see some numbers, but cant figure how to count =/
Are u aware that u are looking at FSM Singapore website? hmm.gif

38 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0455sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:45 PM