Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

ic3rock
post Apr 6 2013, 02:41 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Any bros here use waxco rain repel before? Should I go for it or rain x?
ic3rock
post Apr 6 2013, 09:53 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 6 2013, 09:35 PM)
I have. Performance is about the same but RainX last longer....much longer...
I see, but waxco is 50% cheaper than rain x, and the staff intro me glaco soft99...
ic3rock
post Apr 9 2013, 11:09 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Just want to ask, after I apply rain act on my car fronreams rear screen, how come the rear 1 will have haze at night? I wash my car this morning and apply waxco rain act in the afternoon, any sifu know what's wrong? Besides, my car is 7 years+ old...

This post has been edited by ic3rock: Apr 9 2013, 11:20 PM
ic3rock
post Apr 10 2013, 11:05 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 10 2013, 09:14 AM)
Not sure why. But I also got something like that with any kind of glass protection on, RainX, Rain Act, Rain *whatever*, Aquapel, Rainaway, etc. Not haze...but something like morning dew kinda thing. Normal? Don't know la....
I see, I keep use wiper but the haze keep come back within a minute, I still thought the way I apply was wrong. This morning I see my car, all windscreen seems ok...

Besides, can I store my waxco rain act into a spray bottle (the bottle that ppl use for haircut or iton cloth that type)?

This post has been edited by ic3rock: Apr 10 2013, 11:06 AM
ic3rock
post Apr 10 2013, 05:39 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 10 2013, 11:11 AM)
that sounds serious.

you used rain x before right? did that happen to rain x? if no, you know your answer already.
Nope, this is my 1st time use waxco rain act, never use rain x before. But today rain whole day, no haze at the moment, will update again tonight...
ic3rock
post Apr 13 2013, 11:19 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 13 2013, 02:41 AM)
eh what does PRU has anything to do with mood  sweat.gif
Maybe he want to CHANGE~
ic3rock
post Apr 15 2013, 02:34 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Plan to buy a car wax for my car and my relative recommend me soft99 metallic, is this brand good? And metallic car wax suitable for solic paint? Because my car is metallic paint while my aunty car is solic white, we plan to share use...
ic3rock
post Apr 15 2013, 03:45 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 15 2013, 03:35 PM)
no idea bro, i am using meguair's wax  thumbup.gif
I can't find that brand at my hometown, even turtle brand also don't have...
ic3rock
post Apr 15 2013, 11:12 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 15 2013, 10:38 PM)
i thought kura kura is mainstream as hell lol
No idea le, my hometown don't have jusco, tesco or Carrefour, only have giants but there don't have...
ic3rock
post Apr 16 2013, 11:22 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 16 2013, 09:24 AM)
Giants ada Sonax.

Is sonax good? Better than soft99?
ic3rock
post Apr 16 2013, 01:03 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 16 2013, 11:37 AM)
sonax is a very established brand from Germany. dont think you can go wrong with it smile.gif

check out http://www.sonax.my/ for more info.
Thanks for the info, will go giant take a look when I'm free...
ic3rock
post Apr 19 2013, 05:13 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Just back from giant, don't see any sonax product selling there. Only power k and TY brands...
ic3rock
post Apr 24 2013, 08:03 AM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Is liquid wax good? Anyone using before? Which brand is recommended?
ic3rock
post Apr 24 2013, 01:22 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 24 2013, 10:37 AM)
You'd be fine with any 'liquid wax' from those well established brand:
Meguiars, Mothers, DuraGloss, Optimum, 3M, Sonax, Autoglym, etc.

As for those Jap/Asian brands like Soft99, TurtleWax, PG, etc....can't really say. I've tried a *very* few with mixed results (or maybe I'm just too easily influenced to the hypes from the 'mat sallehs' brands....).
I see, but if compare liquid wax with wax paste, which 1 give better result?
ic3rock
post Apr 24 2013, 02:15 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 24 2013, 01:56 PM)
Paste wax will have better results. In terms of durability and appearance.

But with the weather that we are having now, I don't think you can see the difference.

Freaking hot then suddenly the sky "pee" for a short while, enough to cause more dust flying everywhere.  sad.gif
Oh ok, think will try wax paste on my 7 years+ car and my dad 11 years+ car. Can't tahan see those shining cars outside...
ic3rock
post Apr 24 2013, 02:23 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 24 2013, 02:13 PM)
Technically...if it's the same made, for example Megs NXT liquid wax and Megs NXT paste wax, there shouldn't be any much of a difference other than application methods and techniques. For example, the liquid waxes are more friendlier when applying it with a machine whereas the paste waxes are normally targeted for hand application.

Other than that, I haven't really ventured into looking for the differences in 'results'. Of all the liquid sealants and paste waxes that I've tried, 'results' are mixed and I haven't observed any one is better than the other except for the above. Unless you're talking about 'better look' (but a little lacking on the durability side), than I would say that paste waxes (in general) could give a better look as some of those that are advertised to have high natural (carnauba) content are mostly paste waxes.

Oh....many people would put on a liquid sealant then top it up with a paste wax to get (so claimed) the best of both worlds (durability + looks).

Just my 2 sen.
I think I should think 1st before I ask cause now I feel my question very stupid, if both give same result, who still want use wax paste? But Megs consider most expensive brand I've seen so far, their towel for car selling Rm7x...

ic3rock
post Apr 24 2013, 05:16 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 24 2013, 02:59 PM)
LOL...there's really no such thing as 'stupid' questions. And yes, for some reasons, local Megs' prices are really cut-throat.

I think, for a start, it would be better if you think of it another way. Instead of liquid waxes or paste waxes, think of them as sealants/waxes in LIQUID FORM and PASTE FORM. If there are any differences, it would mainly be due to the chemical contents devised to give them their FORM.

And for 'older' cars, may I suggest you find something that can also 'clean' the paintwork - 'clean' as in able to remove embedded/stubborn dirt and stain so that your car would 'shine' better. The cleaner the paintwork or the lesser the defects (swirls, scratches, marring, etc.) in the paintwork, the better the shine. We normally termed these kind of 'waxes' as an All In One (AIO). They would *very* lightly polish, clean and protect the paintwork. Examples would be something like Duragloss #501...and....errr....I can't think of anything else better or more economical....hehehe...
Ok noted with thanks notworthy.gif

Will buy waxes in paste form to wax my and my dad car this weekend. My dad saying me wont so hardworking to wax car, sure will give up after few times. Then he keep ask me buy in liquid form, spray and wipe, easy job...

ic3rock
post Apr 28 2013, 08:16 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Hi all bros, may I know what the different between wash & shine and wash & wax car shampoo? 1 give shine effect and another 1 give wax effect or?
ic3rock
post Apr 28 2013, 10:53 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 28 2013, 09:25 PM)
I think same stuff la...just different manufacture use different term. Maybe one contain systhetic polymer (sealant) and the other contain more natural wax.
Oh? 1 of my friend told me got wax 1 is for wax protector if ur car got apply wax, I got no idea. If as u say, I better go for shine 1 cause cheaper~
ic3rock
post Apr 29 2013, 03:21 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Anyone the price of sodt99 metallic & pearl wax price? Just now I saw at supermarket selling @ Rm37.9, it's that standard price?

0.0284sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:15 PM