Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

ic3joker
post Jul 27 2013, 01:22 AM

328 posts

Hi all, any good wax and polish shop in penang island? getting new car soon, would like to send for waxing.
ic3joker
post Aug 13 2013, 10:51 PM

328 posts

hi guys can i know where can i get megs product(since it is recommended here) with reasonable price in penang? is there any different between those cheapo MF cloth and those exp?
ic3joker
post Aug 28 2013, 09:03 PM

328 posts

hi guys should we use clay bar with water wiping entire car then only apply spray wax or we can directly use clay bar with spray wax wiping entire car?
ic3joker
post Aug 29 2013, 08:06 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 28 2013, 11:10 PM)
use clay bar with clay lube or car shampoo.

and do NOT use clay bar with wax, it's a waste.
QUOTE(Waregem @ Aug 29 2013, 12:17 AM)
I will wash my car (panel by panel), let it remains wet then clay the surface with the aid of clay lube.
After that, rinse off then wipe dry the car and apply spray wax.

The purpose of claying the surface is to remove the contaminant.
Waxing is to provide protective layer to the surface.

If you were to use clay bar with spray wax, the clay will adsorb the wax and causes the waste of the spray wax.
If wrong statement, senior member kindly point out. Also newbie in car care.
thanks for reply, i search thru youtube and found meguiar tutorial using clay bar + spray wax to clay the car @@ rclxub.gif
ic3joker
post Sep 1 2013, 06:08 AM

328 posts

for penang megs fans, you may visit to parkson in gurney, all megs product get 10% discount. just bought a few items there on friday to start my first diy.
ic3joker
post Sep 1 2013, 10:17 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(Waregem @ Sep 1 2013, 10:06 AM)
Are Meguiars Mirror Glaze #26 Hi-Tech Paste Car Wax and Meguiars #21 Synthetic Sealant 2.0 available there?

I tot parkson all the while giving 10% discount to Megs products?
is it? previously i shop in ace hardware. no discount at all.

ohya guys for drying MF which one is better? cobra or meguiars water magnet?
ic3joker
post Sep 1 2013, 12:34 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(Waregem @ Sep 1 2013, 10:53 AM)
Ace hardware no discount and the Megs Products are very limited.
Parkson items with 10% discount are highlighted in orange in the price tag if I'm not mistaken. Whenever I passed by, since a couple years back always 10% discount for Megs.

Cobra is superb but megs water magnet is sufficient.
ya, i think all product are on orange tag biggrin.gif . is there any different btw Ultimate Wax Liquid and NXT™ Tech Wax 2.0 Liquid? which one will be easier for a beginner?
ic3joker
post Sep 1 2013, 07:11 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 1 2013, 01:45 PM)
can someone recommend me some clay? brand and where you buy it?

the seller for 3M clay in this forum seems sold out or not responding or dont wanna have business..hmm
I found some one selling 3m clay bar rm18/pc if you need link pm me. Its from a chinese forum.
ic3joker
post Sep 2 2013, 12:42 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Sep 1 2013, 11:09 PM)
Pls share the info here. I need some clay too.
its from another forum can we share here?
ic3joker
post Sep 3 2013, 01:06 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Sep 2 2013, 10:27 PM)
Can, why cannot? Dont worry, you wont get banned.
if thats the case, tongue.gif here

This post has been edited by ic3joker: Sep 3 2013, 01:08 PM
ic3joker
post Sep 3 2013, 01:20 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Sep 3 2013, 11:58 AM)
You can get 5 pieces at USD20 if you shop online
any link for that?
ic3joker
post Sep 7 2013, 06:46 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 6 2013, 09:41 PM)
Today i just wash my car with Meguiars Ultimate Wash & Wax , did any of u face windshield haze when switch on wiper ?? Because i do use Wash & Wax on the windshield and all the window , i wonder why it will haze when i on wipe @@"
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 6 2013, 11:47 PM)
Maybe because of the wax....????
same issue here but mine only on rear windscreen. front a bit blur when raining, thinking to coat on rainX but heard that it kill wiper is that true? blink.gif
ic3joker
post Sep 9 2013, 09:51 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Sep 9 2013, 08:22 AM)
Suggest you to look closely before buying, demo if possible.

Because we don't think by just having a nozzle, you can get such pressurized water lor...

Anyway, why can't you have water and electricity at the same time?

Or maybe this would be better : http://static.ph.groupon-content.net/81/88/1349079098881.jpg
lol. what is this looking for nozzle too. any link for detail? can see it clearly the photo is soooooo small. sweat.gif
ic3joker
post Sep 9 2013, 03:52 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Sep 9 2013, 10:05 AM)
Something like this, only if you think extension cord is not an option.

http://www.groupon.my/deals/national-deal/...247&a=715827970
walao, this one need to manually pump somemore. wash+clay+wax using hand almost die d some more need to pump this thing terus gg. sweat.gif how much does a pressure washer cost for normal use unit?
ic3joker
post Sep 10 2013, 05:44 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Sep 9 2013, 08:46 PM)
i dont expect to be like those RM300~400 powerjet , but more than enough to wash a car more easy haha , i already place order , would be get it next week  biggrin.gif  , u know what , the garden hose sprayer u need to keep on press it , with EZ u just trigger it and let it do the job.
if possible, post some feedback and photo regarding the EZ. biggrin.gif
ic3joker
post Sep 10 2013, 03:51 PM

328 posts

guys a few questions here,

1. can we apply double layer using ULW? or its just a waste to do double layer?

2. if yes, how long should we wait after wipe off for the first layer and go for second layer?

3. how many layer do we need to apply for rainX?

4. can we use car wash shampoo as lub for clay?
ic3joker
post Sep 11 2013, 01:48 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 11 2013, 09:04 AM)
1. Some say 'double' layer is one on top of another, others say it's just for even coverage. Try a 50/50 with one half a single layer and the other half double layer and see if there's any difference in performance/durability/looks/or whatever you're looking for.

2. I would suggest overnight or at least 12hrs or more, just to make sure the 1st layer is well cured. If the 1st layer hasn't cured then there's no point in applying another fresh layer. I always use the analogy of like applying lacquer to timber/wood with a brush. If the 1st layer isn't properly cured then the 2nd layer would just soften/melt the underlying layer making the whole thing uneven and patchy.

I like it when I'm able to 'bake' the wax/sealant (after application and buffing off) under the sun as I found that it makes the wax/sealant perform better. You can try 'layering' after a few hours if you like. After the 2nd layer, if you see streaking/patches or it takes far longer for the 2nd layer to dry (or won't dry at all), that would mean the 1st layer hasn't properly cured yet.

3. I've only been putting on one layer of RainX and I don't see any advantage of putting on more than that.

4. Yes, just remember to rinse afterwards. Also take note that most shampoo has wax/gloss enhancer/etc in it and leaving it to dry on it's own *could* result in dry residue/marks. Nothing like a *very* mild paint cleaner/polish couldn't remove though.....
A clean and well protected (wax/sealant/coating) paint is ALWAYS easier to dry. Lots of people would ask me what cloth am I using but I just smile at them....hehehe. The cloth is only half the reason....

what if i apply 1 layer of ULW how long do i need to wait to apply UQW?

This post has been edited by ic3joker: Sep 11 2013, 01:49 PM
ic3joker
post Sep 11 2013, 07:29 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 11 2013, 03:49 PM)
I can't say for sure cuz I haven't really tried UQW before...only had some sample of it. But I would think that the same principle applies. Best is to wait a few hours or so or do it the next day until you're sure that ULW is cured. But I think Megs says you can straight away use UQW right after ULW so I might be wrong here. Anyway, try la....again, if anything you can judge by the results whether it becomes patchy/streaky or not. Or, again, do another 50/50 and see how both performs.
QUOTE(mav3rick @ Sep 11 2013, 05:14 PM)
when i re-wax with ULW, i usually wait for the next day before topping up with UQW. but to be honest, even with ULW, its looks very shiny already tongue.gif. UQW i find adds more depth and has a darkening effect.

The key about ULW is to always ensure you apply a very very thin layer. Else you will get streaking issues. The UPW is more forgiving.

oh and just an update my ULW experience. i recently had the 'opportunity' to really test out the durability of ULW. I did not had the time to top on with my fav UQW for 2 weeks running due to lack of time. only a simple wash with NXT wash. I'm into the 3rd week now, in rain and shine. Water beading is still present, although deteriorated slightly at the lower panels and boot area. The shine is still there but the paint does not feel buttery smooth like after the first application. Already went through a couple of real heavy rain sessions. I just have to say that ULW is definitely able to last longer than i expected during the rainy season. I remember seeing someone post before that ULW does not make it past a week during rainy seasons, but i seem to be having a different experience. Anyhow,  I'm not gonna allow another week to go by and not topping up with UQW. I rather not take that chance.. biggrin.gif
after reading through meguiars website and you guys' reply i will stick for 1 layer and apply UQW on next weekend when i wash the car. btw, where can we get sonax product locally? how you guys protect your headlamp? should i go for 3m headlamp tint or just normal wax it? can we wax headlamp using ULW? too much questions tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ic3joker: Sep 11 2013, 07:30 PM
ic3joker
post Sep 15 2013, 11:20 AM

328 posts

what do you guys use as a cleaner? just done wash + clay + wax yesterday and i found there were a few "spot" on my paint. cant remove it with only clay and quick detailer. is there any good cleaner? and i having some issue with those plastic exterior what should we apply on them? ca we apply UWL on them?
ic3joker
post Sep 16 2013, 12:23 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 15 2013, 05:42 PM)
Water spots? Try an AIO or light polish like DG501 or Megs SwirlX or the like. Or, if you want to try cleaning them up with a 'liquid', for water spots you'd need something acidic like vinegar, lime, etc. or dedicated water spot remover like DG505 Water Spot Remover (which smells very similar like vinegar).

For plastic exterior, you'd need a dressing that's meant for rubber/plastic. Silicon/gel type would last longer, water based dressings won't but they're easier to apply. Plenty of them out there and my favourite for exterior is Megs Ultimate Protectant if silicon/gel or DG321 if water based.
my car only 2 month old so should i polish it using ultimate polish? or just use megs swirlX to remove those water spots? will vinegar hurt the paint?

gonna get Ultimate protection this weekend. really like megs product. they smell so good. thumbup.gif

0.2497sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:18 PM