Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

haushinka
post Aug 27 2013, 02:51 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 22 2013, 11:09 AM)
Have no personal experience using this one. But this product is catagorised under 'cleaners' at soft99 site and described as 'cleaner & wax'. Should be an AIO - paint cleaner, polish and wax. Also, should be safe to use regularly (bi-weekly or monthly) but I don't think it would be a durable wax...its sound to be more for getting the paint shiny/glossy.

http://www.soft99.co.jp/english/products/c....html?pid=10133
Bro,

I have slightly different product i used compared to this 1, its soft99 meta clean. Google around and found out that it can be considered as AIO also. But in the website it is categorized under car wax. Its stated can removed the swirl marks unfortunately it didnt in my case sad.gif .... Can i know the product which can remove the swirl? Noobie here and everything i did only by manual (by hand).
haushinka
post Aug 30 2013, 04:31 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 27 2013, 04:47 PM)
look up osren/megs/sonax polishing products smile.gif
Thanks bro for the help. Actually my ride is quite new (bought the car early 2013). Unfortunately, the car have lots of swirl mark due to regularly send the car to car wash center. Lesson learnt, i wash the car by my self already smile.gif

Now i was thinking to detail the car abit so that i can reduce the visibility of swirl mark. Hope that sifus and pros here can suggest me the exact product for :

1) claying
2) polishing
3) waxing

I'm a noobie in this car detailing thinggy, and everything that I'm planning to do is by hand. Please do suggest a brand and product above, preferable not so expensive but can deliver descent result cool2.gif
haushinka
post Aug 30 2013, 04:52 PM

178 posts

Lolx....all the product u recommended is megs...bet you are the fan of megs hmm.gif hehehe... since its quite pricey....i might get the basic stuff first (clay kit, polish & wax) for starts. Thanks dude for the help again ^^V

haushinka
post Nov 13 2013, 02:02 AM

178 posts

I have one noob question here, i hope sifus here can answer it smile.gif...

How effective if we use normal foam applicator to polish the car by hand?
haushinka
post Nov 13 2013, 01:05 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 13 2013, 08:49 AM)
Machine are there just to make working easier and faster. How effective would depends on how much effort you put into it. With products like Megs Ultimate Compound you would be able to remove most of the defects like mild swirls and scratches, put in some extra efforts (and time) you can even remove some deeper scratches. Also with products like Megs Ultimate Polish you can get the paint to quite a decent level of shine and gloss. The major differences would only be time and efforts. I'm not sure whether working by hand can achieve the same level of finish/result as compared to working with machines, but I know you can definitely get a very decent level of results nonetheless.
Thanks bro krismas for the input given...i know that the most effective way is using machine..however due to budget constraint i think i will settled with manual (by hand) first. Further more, my expectation is not very high..not like some of you guys who are really into this hobby

I understand that the end result by hand is on how much effort we put..but does the type of applicator pad oso play parts? If it does, how much impact it give?

haushinka
post Nov 13 2013, 03:55 PM

178 posts

Thanks bro krismas for ur detailed explaination...since u mentioned about
CCS foam, do u have any idea where to get it here? Tried to google but seems that its not available online..i mean local online seller.. I wish to get a set of ccs foam pad (orange, white and yellow pad)
haushinka
post Nov 13 2013, 05:26 PM

178 posts

Thanks bro CoffeeDude and bro krismas....ur help is much appreciated thumbup.gif
haushinka
post Nov 25 2013, 11:09 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Nov 23 2013, 03:53 PM)
First time doing so much work on my 5 yr old car. Wash with optimum shampoo, polish with Osren 2.4, seal with Collinite's 476, wax with DG aquwax 951. All by hand, I feel like both my arms were not belongs to me anymore.
Result is blue sky reflection on surface is stunning .
Bro,

Share some pics and share with us ur happiness and satisfaction smile.gif
haushinka
post Nov 26 2013, 11:55 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(kww @ Nov 25 2013, 07:51 PM)
Here you go. The camera capture less blue than naked eye can see but anyway is still good.
I just realized I got sun burnt on my back and a lot of small details thing not done properly; like polish over to the black plastic skirting and gaps and etc. But I am satisfy with my first time job.  whistling.gif
Nice bro...how many hours uve spent to detail the whole car by hand? U did it in 1 day ke?

0.0424sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:27 AM