Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

CoffeeDude
post Nov 10 2013, 03:20 PM

1,609 posts

When you do paint touch up you have to do wet sanding.
You can mix the base coat and clear coat together before dipping it into the scratch line.
For an excellent finish you'll need to do the touch up and wet sanding a few rounds.

Check out YouTube for instructional videos.
CoffeeDude
post Nov 11 2013, 05:02 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Nov 11 2013, 04:58 PM)
Thanks sifu KrisMas. I will get DG105 + DG951(as top up) then. I just need a longer lasting sealant.
If you are going for Duragloss products then get DG501 to clean/polish the paint, followed by DG601 +DG105 to protect the paint.
CoffeeDude
post Nov 13 2013, 01:28 PM

1,609 posts

I've also read that polishing by machine is actually easier because the pad is perfectly flat against the paint and the force/pressure applied on the pad is evenly distributed.

If you use hand to apply pressure, the force applied tends to be uneven.
Therefore more skill and also energy is required if you were to do it by hand.
CoffeeDude
post Nov 13 2013, 05:00 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Nov 13 2013, 03:55 PM)
Thanks bro krismas for ur detailed explaination...since u mentioned about
CCS foam, do u have any idea where to get it here? Tried to google but seems that its not available online..i mean local online seller.. I wish to get a set of ccs foam pad (orange, white and yellow pad)
You can get it from www.duragloss.com.my or http://www.osren.com/

CoffeeDude
post Nov 14 2013, 12:17 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Nov 13 2013, 10:09 PM)
hmm...budget about RM300-500, i dont know if i should start on my own or i hire ppl that does this for their job, and observe for 8 hours...

wanna do it myself cos i sayang my keta, but...scared i will scar it for life  rclxub.gif
Homefix is having sales right now.
You can go check it out.

You can get Meguiar's Ulitmate Compound, Ultimate Polish and either a sealant or wax.

Wax is more glossy and shiny but sealant lasts longer.
CoffeeDude
post Nov 18 2013, 11:38 AM

1,609 posts

You can get Duragloss products from these shops.

FAH LIAN HERBS & FOOD SDN. BHD
16, Jalan Hujan Rahmat 2,
Taman Overseas Union,
58200, Kuala Lumpur,
Wilayah Persekutuan
Tel:03-77816786/0377831680
Fax:03-77831679

PASARAYA MEGAHERBS & FOOD SDN. BHD.
Lot 10991, Jalan SS24/28,
Taman Megah,
Petaling Jaya, 47301,
Selangor D.E.
Tel:037806 4992
Fax:03-78065992

but the stocks looks pretty dusty sweat.gif
CoffeeDude
post Nov 18 2013, 03:30 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Nov 18 2013, 03:03 PM)
I am not staying in Selangor/KL area. Haha. Do they provide shipping to other places? Anyone tried before?
Where do you stay?
If you are in JB you can get from Singapore.

CoffeeDude
post Nov 18 2013, 03:41 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 18 2013, 03:18 PM)
5 hours... i think not only is my car gonna be set on fire...

but nice work.. looks like it was new out of the showroom...
5 hours to clay, polish and wax is considered fast lo .... laugh.gif

I need
1.5 hours to wash
1.5 hours to clay
1.5 hours for paint cleaning
1.5 hours to polish/glaze
1.5 hours to wax

I don't do everything in 1 day though.
It takes a few days biggrin.gif

and that's just for the exterior laugh.gif
CoffeeDude
post Nov 18 2013, 03:48 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 18 2013, 03:46 PM)
my patience is like the fuse of a dynamite... i'll never live through that...
It is not called detailing for no reason brows.gif icon_idea.gif
CoffeeDude
post Nov 19 2013, 09:11 PM

1,609 posts

CoffeeDude
post Nov 19 2013, 11:27 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Nov 19 2013, 09:49 PM)

Something like this?
Looks like swirl marks plus water marks.
Need to clay first followed by compound with a cutting pad.
CoffeeDude
post Nov 20 2013, 09:38 AM

1,609 posts

Where to buy Megs Wheel Brightener?
CoffeeDude
post Dec 2 2013, 03:48 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Nov 29 2013, 09:08 PM)
It's pretty nice working with Meg's UC, UP and UPW. UP smells like the vanilla filling in twinkies, while UPW smells like white chocolate.  drool.gif
Got pics of the end result?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0836sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:58 PM