Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

arj
post Nov 13 2013, 01:47 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 12 2013, 09:58 PM)
i see, much thanks for the input.
so what the longest lasting duration you think reload can go? have you tried topping over it? (eg: wax, or other spray waxes) would topping over it improves it's durability?
Nope haven't tried topping over it. No idea on the durability as I never left it on my car long enough. Longest is probably a month before I applied something else laugh.gif
TSKrisMas
post Nov 13 2013, 01:51 PM

QUOTE(haushinka @ Nov 13 2013, 01:05 PM)
I understand that the end result by hand is on how much effort we put..but does the type of applicator pad oso play parts? If it does, how much impact it give?
Yes, it does. As with machine pads, you can also vary the aggressiveness by using different kind of pads or even by using cloths. For example, lets just say you're trying to remove a deep scratch and you've already sand it down to 2000/2500 grit. You can use the foam applicator, with e.g. Megs UC, and do 5 rounds of polishing to totally remove the sanding marks. Or what you can do is, you can do the first two rounds with a cotton cloth and might just only need another round with the foam to finish just as good. Or you can go over the scratch with a jean cloth + compound without even needing to sand, then follow up with the foam to finish.

In general, the order of aggressiveness is Jean > Velvet > cotton > microfiber > foam. Oh...and I also noticed foam pads from different brands are also different in aggressiveness. The Megs yellow foams are quite soft, the Lake Country red ccs foam is a little bit stiffer and also a tad bit more aggressive, those yellow (can't remember the brand) foams that are sold in Giant/Tesco....well....I wouldn't really want them to touch my paints....hahaha....

If you're into it, you can try and experiment with different cloths that are available around you like table cloths, 'good morning' cloths, cotton towels, those cheap mf cloths sold in supermarkets, etc.
Quazacolt
post Nov 13 2013, 02:31 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Nov 13 2013, 01:47 PM)
Nope haven't tried topping over it. No idea on the durability as I never left it on my car long enough. Longest is probably a month before I applied something else laugh.gif
wa so rajin laugh.gif
maybe i'll reserve the spray sealant for my iswara since it does have some troublesome curves/trims that could damage my new foam pads lol

and just standalone application for it
y4ng
post Nov 13 2013, 03:38 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

hello all sifus,

I wanna try doing detailing to my 2009 black satria neo:

so far from what i've read (or skim)

1. wash, either using soap or detergent - do i really need to use meguiars?
2. claying - erm, 3M / PG / Mothers / meguiars? lube use water or need diluted soap?
3. wash again?
4. polish, this is the part where i do not know what to use, can recommend?
5. sealant? is this required? if yes what to use
6. wax, i looked around, i see some brands like mothers and turtle, even meguiars but i really dont know what to choose.

can get some advice please? product aint cheap >.< haha

things i gotta get would be MF, clay bar, soap, power tool (pinjam from friend, he has a skil polisher), time and space?

thank you very much!
haushinka
post Nov 13 2013, 03:55 PM

178 posts

Thanks bro krismas for ur detailed explaination...since u mentioned about
CCS foam, do u have any idea where to get it here? Tried to google but seems that its not available online..i mean local online seller.. I wish to get a set of ccs foam pad (orange, white and yellow pad)
CoffeeDude
post Nov 13 2013, 05:00 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(haushinka @ Nov 13 2013, 03:55 PM)
CCS foam, do u have any idea where to get it here? Tried to google but seems that its not available online..i mean local online seller.. I wish to get a set of ccs foam pad (orange, white and yellow pad)
You can get it from www.duragloss.com.my or http://www.osren.com/

TSKrisMas
post Nov 13 2013, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(haushinka @ Nov 13 2013, 03:55 PM)
^^^^Sifu above replied.

QUOTE(y4ng @ Nov 13 2013, 03:38 PM)
You're looking at a whole package of detailing products from start to finish there matey. Any budget in mind?
haushinka
post Nov 13 2013, 05:26 PM

178 posts

Thanks bro CoffeeDude and bro krismas....ur help is much appreciated thumbup.gif
windskill
post Nov 13 2013, 07:55 PM

49 posts

Today my car just passed by a road where some white paint was thrown to the road. When I got off from my car, there're speckles of paint near the right door-side of my car.

I Google and some people said use alcohol, nail polisher, or maybe claybar. I just washed my car and the paint are still there. The house paint can only get off if I use my hand to rub it (I stop this as I am afraid I might end up scratching my car).

So any idea to solve this?
windskill
post Nov 13 2013, 08:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Nov 13 2013, 03:38 PM)
hello all sifus,

I wanna try doing detailing to my 2009 black satria neo:

so far from what i've read (or skim)

1. wash, either using soap or detergent - do i really need to use meguiars?
2. claying - erm, 3M / PG / Mothers / meguiars? lube use water or need diluted soap?
3. wash again?
4. polish, this is the part where i do not know what to use, can recommend?
5. sealant? is this required? if yes what to use
6. wax, i looked around, i see some brands like mothers and turtle, even meguiars but i really dont know what to choose.

can get some advice please? product aint cheap >.< haha

things i gotta get would be MF, clay bar, soap, power tool (pinjam from friend, he has a skil polisher), time and space?

thank you very much!
1. Wash, make sure you use two-bucket system. Not necessary need to use meguiars. There are still other cheaper products out there (eg: mothers, optimum car wash, etc.)

2. Lubricant can be quik detailer. Cheaper way would be using diluted car shampoo. Should be fine. For the type of claybar, need other sifu to point out too.

4. I leave this to other sifu too. Not very experience on this.

5,6. I guess wax and sealant, you just apply either one. I would say the term wax refers more towards natural wax whereas sealant is more about synthetic wax. Natural wax gives you glossy and wet shiny look. Synthetic provides last longer protection.

These are what I know. I am still a beginner/learner too biggrin.gif Feel free to correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by windskill: Nov 13 2013, 08:35 PM
TSKrisMas
post Nov 13 2013, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(windskill @ Nov 13 2013, 07:55 PM)
Today my car just passed by a road where some white paint was thrown to the road. When I got off from my car, there're speckles of paint near the right door-side of my car.

I Google and some people said use alcohol, nail polisher, or maybe claybar. I just washed my car and the paint are still there. The house paint can only get off if I use my hand to rub it (I stop this as I am afraid I might end up scratching my car).

So any idea to solve this?
Go find some mineral spirit and remove them ASAP!!! If difficult to find then can go for petrol/diesel/turpentine then wash the oily leftovers afterwards. Hopefully they're 'house paints' and not metal/wood paints....

Oh....if you're worried about harming the paintwork then can try those liquid/spray type tar remover also.....

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Nov 13 2013, 09:08 PM
y4ng
post Nov 13 2013, 10:09 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

[quote=KrisMas,Nov 13 2013, 05:11 PM]
^^^^Sifu above replied.
You're looking at a whole package of detailing products from start to finish there matey. Any budget in mind?

hmm...budget about RM300-500, i dont know if i should start on my own or i hire ppl that does this for their job, and observe for 8 hours...

wanna do it myself cos i sayang my keta, but...scared i will scar it for life rclxub.gif
windskill
post Nov 14 2013, 12:00 AM

49 posts

[quote=y4ng,Nov 13 2013, 10:09 PM]
[quote=KrisMas,Nov 13 2013, 05:11 PM]
^^^^Sifu above replied.

hmm...budget about RM300-500, i dont know if i should start on my own or i hire ppl that does this for their job, and observe for 8 hours...

wanna do it myself cos i sayang my keta, but...scared i will scar it for life rclxub.gif

[/quote]

If you have time, do it your own and enjoy the satisfaction at the end of the process smile.gif
CoffeeDude
post Nov 14 2013, 12:17 AM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ Nov 13 2013, 10:09 PM)

wanna do it myself cos i sayang my keta, but...scared i will scar it for life  rclxub.gif
Homefix is having sales right now.
You can go check it out.

You can get Meguiar's Ulitmate Compound, Ultimate Polish and either a sealant or wax.

Wax is more glossy and shiny but sealant lasts longer.
Lalaman
post Nov 14 2013, 03:58 AM

1,111 posts

ish damn tomorrow i wanna go checkout at homefix man... have been waiting for their sales a long time, if wanna self do full detailing i think budget need around RM3XX and above. sad.gif

just want to ask opinion, those deal site can be trusted or not ? i just saw full detailing deal there using Meguiars for RM48 wonder if it's too good to be true ?

anybody try before deal like this ar? if really RM48 no hanky panky really don't mind for once to give car full treatment. starting to build up a lot of tar at the bumper below tyre there hard to clean.

Compelica
post Nov 14 2013, 04:46 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(Lalaman @ Nov 14 2013, 03:58 AM)
ish damn tomorrow i wanna go checkout at homefix man... have been waiting for their sales a long time, if wanna self do full detailing i think budget need around RM3XX and above. sad.gif

just want to ask opinion, those deal site can be trusted or not ? i just saw full detailing deal there using Meguiars for  RM48 wonder if it's too good to be true ?

anybody try before deal like this ar? if really RM48 no hanky panky really don't mind for once to give car full treatment. starting to build up a lot of tar at the bumper below tyre there hard to clean.
I'd really be in doubt... with the amount they're getting they're bound to skip a few steps here and there. To the untrained eye your car will definitely look better than before but it's in the other details that they would probably miss out.

I know most detailers advertise that they use Megs but in reality it's only on certain products that they use. Quite difficult for RM48 to pay off their employees, maintain the rental of the place and to purchase their items, no?

Also, nothing beats DIY wink.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: Nov 14 2013, 04:47 AM
e_mc_square
post Nov 14 2013, 08:44 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Nov 13 2013, 08:35 PM)
1. Wash, make sure you use two-bucket system. Not necessary need to use meguiars. There are still other cheaper products out there (eg: mothers, optimum car wash, etc.)

2. Lubricant can be quik detailer. Cheaper way would be using diluted car shampoo. Should be fine. For the type of claybar, need other sifu to point out too.

4. I leave this to other sifu too. Not very experience on this.

5,6. I guess wax and sealant, you just apply either one. I would say the term wax refers more towards natural wax whereas sealant is more about synthetic wax. Natural wax gives you glossy and wet shiny look. Synthetic provides last longer protection.

These are what I know. I am still a beginner/learner too  biggrin.gif  Feel free to correct me if I am wrong.
what is two bucket system? hmm.gif
TSKrisMas
post Nov 14 2013, 08:47 AM

QUOTE(Lalaman @ Nov 14 2013, 03:58 AM)
just want to ask opinion, those deal site can be trusted or not ? i just saw full detailing deal there using Meguiars for  RM48 wonder if it's too good to be true ?

I haven't heard of any good things about those 'offer'...not even one....
TSKrisMas
post Nov 14 2013, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(y4ng @ Nov 13 2013, 10:09 PM)

wanna do it myself cos i sayang my keta, but...scared i will scar it for life  rclxub.gif
Forgot....new car is it?

Anyway, you can get plenty with that budget...but not sure if can cover everything.

Ok....here's the deal. Best is if you put MAINTENANCE as priority. No point getting the car to shine but gone in a couple of months. And generally, most of the times 'scarring' actually comes from improper washing and drying techniques.

Basically, for maintenance:
1. Shampoo
2. Wash mitt, brushes, etc.
3. Drying cloth
4. All purpose cleaner for wheels, interior, etc.
5. Wax/sealant or Spray wax/sealant
6. Applicator for wax/sealant
7. Some general purpose microfiber cloths
8. Dressings for the wheels, exterior plastics, etc.

I'm not too sure about the pricing but if you go and visit Osren, I think you should be able to get all the above for round-about RM300....maybe less. Osren's maintenance products are quite decent and quite reasonably priced. It's a good start to learn about product range and their applications from thereon.

If you have any balance in your budget, then you can consider getting some products for corrections and defects removal. You can get these at a later stage....no problem, cuz the MOST IMPORTANT part would be to get the MAINTENANCE tip top first. Basically what you'd need are:
1. Clay
2. A heavy compound
3. A medium polish
4. A few more applicators

You can get the clay from Osren too, or soft99 would do. But for the compound/polish, I'd suggest getting the Megs Twin (Megs Ultimate Compound & Ultimate Polish) as Osrens compounds/polishes are more geared towards machine/rotary use.

Note: I have a feeling that there's something I've missed out on the above....just can't put my finger on it.... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
HeReLiSm
post Nov 14 2013, 11:39 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Nov 14 2013, 08:44 AM)
what is two bucket system? hmm.gif
i read about it online. its a system where you wash your car using two different buckets; one for your washing bucket (water+shampoo), another is for clean water. first, you dip your sponge/wash cloth into washing bucket, then apply them to your car. then after that, before you re-dip the sponge/cloth back to the washing bucket, you have to rinse it first with clean water from another bucket. this is to remove all dirts that collected by the sponge/cloth before you continue.

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 14 2013, 09:32 AM)
bro, can you suggets to us new-car-owners for the items you listed.

4. All purpose cleaner for wheels, interior, etc.
5. Wax/sealant or Spray wax/sealant
6. Applicator for wax/sealant
7. Some general purpose microfiber cloths
8. Dressings for the wheels, exterior plastics, etc.

because there are many products in store, so maybe you have ur personal preference? smile.gif

p/s: my car's colour is solid white. is there any special products that i have to use to maintain / improve the quality? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by HeReLiSm: Nov 14 2013, 11:41 AM

133 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:32 PM