Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 02:47 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 28 2013, 02:28 PM)
LOL... I'm not really a hardcore user of their products. Only bought a few like their shampoo, APC, AIO and glass polish (crappy stuff),

The longest lasting tyre dressing I've tried so far, Meguiars Endurance Tyre Gel. Applied it a week ago and the picture below was taken after washing the car this morning, still looking very good. The car did over 500km in between. Tyres and rims was cleaned with only a wool mitt and leftover shampoo from washing the car.

Price per bottle might look a bit pricey at RM50+ but you only need very little and only need to reapply every 2-3 weeks, 4 if not much rain and don't travel long distance. I usually apply 3 coats with 5 minutes drying time in between. I bought my bottle over a year ago and only used half!
eh so all of them you're using = crappy stuff? or you're referring to the glass polish only? which glass polish in particular btw? please elaborate as much as you can notworthy.gif

oh and i plan to get megs tire gel too once my random castrol tire dressing that came as a free gift when my mom changed her tires finishes XD
good to know it's performing well biggrin.gif
so does the gel version and the spray version have any differences? im guessing the gel would last longer...
arj
post May 28 2013, 03:07 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 02:47 PM)
eh so all of them you're using = crappy stuff? or you're referring to the glass polish only? which glass polish in particular btw? please elaborate as much as you can  notworthy.gif

oh and i plan to get megs tire gel too once my random castrol tire dressing that came as a free gift when my mom changed her tires finishes XD
so does the gel version and the spray version have any differences? im guessing the gel would last longer...
Only the glass polish, 755 Nu-Glass Polish. Lazy la to type banyak2 hehe... Check out the detailing section at the Autoworld forum for lots of feedback on Duragloss products icon_rolleyes.gif

From reviews, gel is better. Last longer and glossier.
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 03:20 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 28 2013, 03:07 PM)
Only the glass polish, 755 Nu-Glass Polish. Lazy la to type banyak2 hehe... Check out the detailing section at the Autoworld forum for lots of feedback on Duragloss products icon_rolleyes.gif

From reviews, gel is better. Last longer and glossier.
much thanks for the feedback bro biggrin.gif
TSKrisMas
post May 28 2013, 05:34 PM

Megs Endurance is good.....I loike..... icon_rolleyes.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 05:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 28 2013, 05:34 PM)
Megs Endurance is good.....I loike..... icon_rolleyes.gif
ooo sifu seal of approval brows.gif
MyWifeCar
post May 28 2013, 08:05 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

http://www.turtlewax.com/images/demostore/...tires_T348R.jpg

I use KING of tire spray. No dispute.
TSKrisMas
post May 28 2013, 09:06 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 05:43 PM)
ooo sifu seal of approval  brows.gif
....with a qualification: it would produce different look on different rubber. Personally, too much shine/gloss to my liking on my Eagle GSD5, just nice on my Nexen N6000, a PITA to get it even on the stock NCT5, also looks nice on the Maxxis directional, only so-so on RE002. But, the sheen/shine can be adjusted by putting on another layer (more shine) or wiping it off after a while (less shine) or applying it on wet/damp rubber instead. But 2 things I'm very sure about: It's damn durable and it takes longer for the brownish look to come back. It's the one tire dressing that is a 'must have' for me.
Compelica
post May 28 2013, 09:30 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(arj @ May 28 2013, 02:28 PM)
The longest lasting tyre dressing I've tried so far, Meguiars Endurance Tyre Gel. Applied it a week ago and the picture below was taken after washing the car this morning, still looking very good. The car did over 500km in between. Tyres and rims was cleaned with only a wool mitt and leftover shampoo from washing the car.

Price per bottle might look a bit pricey at RM50+ but you only need very little and only need to reapply every 2-3 weeks, 4 if not much rain and don't travel long distance. I usually apply 3 coats with 5 minutes drying time in between. I bought my bottle over a year ago and only used half!

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 02:47 PM)
eh so all of them you're using = crappy stuff? or you're referring to the glass polish only? which glass polish in particular btw? please elaborate as much as you can  notworthy.gif

FYI, Meg's Endurance Tyre Gel is solvent-based - those damage rubbers over time, but I think your rubbers would go botak first before you see any adverse effects tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 10:26 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ May 28 2013, 08:05 PM)
I use KING of tire spray. No dispute.
lolwut? you use TW? and why is it king? hmm.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 10:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 28 2013, 09:06 PM)
....with a qualification: it would produce different look on different rubber. Personally, too much shine/gloss to my liking on my Eagle GSD5, just nice on my Nexen N6000, a PITA to get it even on the stock NCT5, also looks nice on the Maxxis directional, only so-so on RE002. But, the sheen/shine can be adjusted by putting on another layer (more shine) or wiping it off after a while (less shine) or applying it on wet/damp rubber instead. But 2 things I'm very sure about: It's damn durable and it takes longer for the brownish look to come back. It's the one tire dressing that is a 'must have' for me.
wow thanks for the pointers, that really is convincing enough biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 10:31 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 28 2013, 09:30 PM)
FYI, Meg's Endurance Tyre Gel is solvent-based - those damage rubbers over time, but I think your rubbers would go botak first before you see any adverse effects tongue.gif
that is a valid concern; however yes as you probably already know: my tires only lasted me a year, about 30-40k km, and its due for change next month with me driving very reservedly during rains as the treads are very close to TWI on all 4 tires sad.gif
Compelica
post May 28 2013, 10:43 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 10:31 PM)
that is a valid concern; however yes as you probably already know: my tires only lasted me a year, about 30-40k km, and its due for change next month with me driving very reservedly during rains as the treads are very close to TWI on all 4 tires sad.gif
I'm on a cheapo RM10 water based dressing - given enough drying time and prep, it works - dare I say - as well as Meg's. But Meg's does retain its wet look for much longer.

I actually prefer my tyres with a slight matte look - I apply the dressing sparingly, and it's only after a few days when the dressing wears off a little which I get my intended effect. Keeps the car body as the center of attraction biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by colinwong89: May 28 2013, 10:44 PM
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 10:47 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 28 2013, 10:43 PM)
I'm on a cheapo RM10 water based dressing - given enough drying time and prep, it works - dare I say - as well as Meg's. But Meg's does retain its wet look for much longer.

I actually prefer my tyres with a slight matte look - I apply the dressing sparingly, and it's only after a few days when the dressing wears off a little which I get my intended effect. Keeps the car body as the center of attraction biggrin.gif
oh my car body is just a box, don't need that much attention rolleyes.gif
in fact the tires and rims, actually worth 2/3 of the car's market value LOL
Compelica
post May 28 2013, 10:53 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 10:47 PM)
oh my car body is just a box, don't need that much attention  rolleyes.gif
lol box.

ps: go get some security for your shoes. Lots of thefts reported by fellow members recently.
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 10:59 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 28 2013, 10:53 PM)
ps: go get some security for your shoes. Lots of thefts reported by fellow members recently.
thanks for the reminder, will definitely get it on my next trip to the tire shop hehe
ChiaKhai
post May 28 2013, 11:02 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 10:47 PM)
oh my car body is just a box, don't need that much attention  rolleyes.gif
lol, at least its a metal box?
Quazacolt
post May 28 2013, 11:31 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ChiaKhai @ May 28 2013, 11:02 PM)
lol, at least its a metal box?
i guess lol
TSKrisMas
post May 29 2013, 09:50 AM

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 28 2013, 10:43 PM)
May I make a suggestion. If you get the chance, do try Duragloss 253 Tire & Rubber dressing. Waterbased and, when applied sparringly, would give a very decent 'new rubber' matt/satin look, and quite durable too, not to mention also works on exterior plastics (ie. minimal runs after rain). This and the Zaino Z16 is my go-to on my GY F1 GSD5 where matt/satin look is much more prefered.
Compelica
post May 29 2013, 11:28 AM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 29 2013, 09:50 AM)
May I make a suggestion. If you get the chance, do try Duragloss 253 Tire & Rubber dressing. Waterbased and, when applied sparringly, would give a very decent 'new rubber' matt/satin look, and quite durable too, not to mention also works on exterior plastics (ie. minimal runs after rain). This and the Zaino Z16 is my go-to on my GY F1 GSD5 where matt/satin look is much more prefered.
Thanks for the tip. wink.gif
arj
post May 29 2013, 01:19 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Bro KrisMas have you tried Max Protect coatings before? The rubber coating looks very cool!

http://max-protect.co.uk/

http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=269

133 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:54 AM