9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V27, Jump Around, Jump! Jump!

miaopurr
post Sep 27 2013, 07:51 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Sep 26 2013, 05:34 PM)
go back to the shop and ask!
fork? FOX!
fox very difficult to get spare parts. by difficult, i mean everything must be sent and done by KHcycle.

rockshox or xfusion would be the better options. not sure about performance tho

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Sep 27 2013, 08:26 PM
miaopurr
post Sep 30 2013, 06:10 AM

587 posts

yup. yesterday was hot! up to 45C!

any suggestion for an all-rounder XC tyre? i'm going to go tubeless, so i'm looking a tyre with durable sidewall (not schwalbe).

i'm on crossmark 2.1 UST at the moment. it's great when it's dry. in the mud, it gets clogged up really fast and doesn't shed the mud.

before this i was on non-UST conti race king 2.2. i couldn't get it sealed and the sidewall was paper thin.

i love UST, but doesn't really work with ztr crest rims. so now looking for a tubeless ready tyre.

from previous versions, you guys discussed about maxxis high roller and ardent. how are they when climbing and how do they roll and are the sidewalls durable?

any suggestion? other suggestions?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Sep 30 2013, 08:20 AM
miaopurr
post Sep 30 2013, 09:53 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Sep 30 2013, 09:46 AM)
why not swalbe? they no good or too expensive? nevegal? can grip in pretty much all conditions. not sure about its tubeless perofrmance though. thought about going to tubeless but the benefits does not seem to outweight the cost.
schwalbe, those on them say great performance (very grippy yet rolls well), but compromise on the durability.
i love low pressure setup.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Sep 30 2013, 09:54 AM
miaopurr
post Sep 30 2013, 10:15 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(kakashi... @ Sep 30 2013, 10:09 AM)
kenda nevegal is a good choice... grippy but slow rolling
okay. will consider it.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Sep 30 2013, 10:13 AM)
schwalbe, those on them say great performance (very grippy yet rolls well) or kenda nevegal is a good choice... grippy but slow rolling.

the classic pick 2 out of 3, grippy, fast, durable. pick any 2. not very accurate but you get idea.
yeap i understand. can't have everything.
miaopurr
post Sep 30 2013, 12:13 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Sep 30 2013, 11:48 AM)
My Schwalbe Nobby Nic, grips well, performs well and have excellent grip and rolling resistance... the threads are chunking off (see pic below) especially when going through lots of gravel, rocks. Side walls are thicker than Rocket Ron and losses less air on a tubeless setup too.
i can literally see money disappearing!

can't wait for the new nevegal. i'm without tyre at the moment
miaopurr
post Sep 30 2013, 05:12 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(pussylover @ Sep 30 2013, 03:01 PM)
not sure how true is this, but both KHS and samy bt cave said prices for bikes/parts would be going up from oct onwards tho
KHS or KSH?
miaopurr
post Oct 1 2013, 02:14 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Sep 30 2013, 06:20 PM)
how low pressure do you go?
i used to run my nevegal/ larsen tt combo at 30/35 psi running tubes.
23/25 psi

QUOTE(Broadica @ Sep 30 2013, 08:22 PM)
hahah ...under 2k is big NO

have you check the price for a pair of chris king hub and bladed spokes?
ztr, hope hub and regular spokes is already 1.5k +-

well, these 2 are the best place ofr custom wheel build so far.
i tot a pair of ck hub oredi 2k+ ?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 1 2013, 02:18 AM
miaopurr
post Oct 1 2013, 09:45 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Oct 1 2013, 09:37 AM)
Lower, sometimes tires can pinch/ding rims on some rock/drops. Think you guys all using wide rims.
oo like that aa... i mana tau. i was on crossmark and at 30 it kept slipping uphill. so i dropped the pressure until it was ok. and comfy too. or maybe my technique still sucks (newbie laaa). ok i will up the pressure.

my rim is wide or narrow oso i dunno. i pakai je.
miaopurr
post Oct 1 2013, 11:34 AM

587 posts

yeah where to register?
miaopurr
post Oct 2 2013, 03:17 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Oct 2 2013, 09:57 AM)
Anyway registered again... for the next madness to come! drool.gif
registered. this will be my first mtb event.

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Oct 2 2013, 09:57 AM)
2. I use CK, reliable, fit and forget. Besides that you get it in nice anodized colors blush.gif You can try Hope which is slightly cheaper too. Have not seen any Cane Creek 110 locally. Others not too sure.
i think i need to change my FSA too. got loose and contaminated with sand pretty quick. cane creek ksh ttdi?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 2 2013, 03:20 PM
miaopurr
post Oct 2 2013, 09:08 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Oct 2 2013, 06:54 PM)
If it is just lousy cartridge bearing seals (which most FSA headsets suffer from...) you can just buy some better headset angular bearing - from eBay or from Enduro Bearings.
u just deprived me of an excuse to buy new stuff. coincidentally, got some stuff to buy from RWC. will look for the bearings too.

QUOTE(eohl79 @ Oct 2 2013, 06:54 PM)
My experience, general rule of thumb... declared value of item <USD100 or < Euro100 or <UK100... usually no tax. Most of the time customs will release it. If your stuff gets stuck at customs, ask you to pay 10% sales tax, just pay it. Don't be too smart ask them to re-calculate tax rate for item... may end up paying more. Usually it is 10% sales tax + XX% duty. Think bike frame duty is 25%... Chinese stores online, eBay dudes usually can under declare the value of the item. UK/US sellers usually don't do that kind of stuff. Don't do it by too much as the custom officers also not that dumb. Best if get somebody to carry it back for you as personal item.
usually anything rm500 and above (including shipping cost), will get taxed. even if u get free shipping, our customs will get the shipping cost quote from pos malaysia, and add it up to ur order. for example, if ur goods value is rm480 and u get free shipping from wiggle for example; when it arrives at our customs they see free shipping. pos malaysia quote the shipping should be rm80. now the total cost becomes rm560. and u get taxed for rm560. happened to my friend
miaopurr
post Oct 3 2013, 12:14 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mangkukbleu @ Oct 2 2013, 11:51 PM)
hi i want to know whats the ideal weight for an XC bike? im 75kg and 173cm.
anything within a budget u willing to spend
miaopurr
post Oct 3 2013, 11:43 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(wke002 @ Oct 3 2013, 11:26 AM)
Dear All,
Have gain insight on some MTB parts here and there. I have narrow or target 2 bikes which I can't seem to find anywhere which frame is better.

1. Butted Superlight Aluminium Frame
2. 6067 Alloy Ultralight Hydroformed

Can share which is of the better one or possible advice the positive and negative of the above 2 frames.

thanks.
not sure about others. i'd choose the frame that looks awesome, nice colour scheme, nice finish, reputable manufacturer, good aftersale support and warranty, suitable geometry, and within my budget.

have never bothered about superlight/ultralight, 6067, 7075. butted tubes means it can save weight, hydroformed is manufacturing technology which supposedly better.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 3 2013, 11:51 AM
miaopurr
post Oct 4 2013, 12:34 PM

587 posts

if @ their warehouse, maybe much easier.
miaopurr
post Oct 4 2013, 02:06 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 4 2013, 01:59 PM)
how much are nobby nics?
rm149 retail @ rodalink before 5% discount. can get cheaper @ other shops
miaopurr
post Oct 4 2013, 04:59 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 4 2013, 02:57 PM)
If you'd ask me, I would say Schwalbe Hans Dampf EVO SnakeSkin thumbup.gif

Air pressure around 30 psi (i dare not to go under the factory recommended psi on tubes), jumping around in DD UP4, no problem. Fast rolling too.
u don't go tubeless? if go tubeless, is it safe to go below recommended minimum 30psi? the 30psi is to ensure bead seating safely or is it to prevent snakebite?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 4 2013, 05:12 PM
miaopurr
post Oct 4 2013, 08:20 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 4 2013, 05:45 PM)
can right? if not 30 psi got tube can also run. snakebite only happens with tubes lah.
i meant;

30psi to ensure bead seating safely on the rim for tubeless

OR

30psi to prevent snakebites for tubes

?
miaopurr
post Oct 5 2013, 01:14 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 4 2013, 09:45 PM)
"The high-volume Snakeskin carcass is supple enough to remove any wooden rattle on harder surfaces, and it moulds to the ground superbly if you drop pressures right down.

When rocks have allowed we’ve regularly run it below 20psi for ultimate filthy grip without burping or creeping, and at those pressures it’ll perform as well as even the best winter specialists."
bikeradar review on Schwalbe Hans Dampf Evo Trailstar 2.3
20psi! too bad 2.1 doesn't come with snakeskin

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Oct 4 2013, 10:32 PM)
Nope, i dont believe in tubeless... tongue.gif
aaa i see... so far 30psi works just fine, so ok la right
miaopurr
post Oct 6 2013, 07:09 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Oct 6 2013, 06:10 PM)
Tubeless can go at 20psi n heard some go at 18psi.
No problem. No need snakeskin.

U need constant top up sealant to avoid leak.
okay. that's good to hear. thanks. will give it a go

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 6 2013, 07:09 PM
miaopurr
post Oct 8 2013, 08:07 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 8 2013, 06:23 PM)
but i when think about joining pcc, it is just too awesomely demanding bah. mau masuk close season liao and just go trainign ride at frim or find a way to get to ttdi without driving my car.
i've registered man.... u make me kancheong

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.8798sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:40 AM