Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V7, truly the Nexus beast; at least for now.

SSY22
post Feb 26 2013, 09:54 PM

111 posts

Nexus 4 User here. Btw , i wan to share something here.

If you want to sign up DG rm48+1499 price for ZERO CONTRACT , go to DEALER store

DG centre only allow you to sign up RM68+1499 for ZERO CONTRACT

BTW no advanced payment needed. I got my nexus 4 today. Been waiting for so long.

This why sometime you see got people able to subscribe 48 plan.

This post has been edited by SSY22: Feb 26 2013, 09:55 PM
SSY22
post Mar 1 2013, 01:56 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(kopykopy @ Feb 28 2013, 05:03 PM)
Before I got my nexus from digi, I had 2 phones.
Phone A: Maxis line (daily use) and Phone B:Maxis line for family to call me only (don't use much but pay >RM150 due to contract)

I am also a existing digi user under contract for a 3rd phone (used by someone else).  when i went to digi to get nexus 4, they gave me 2 options:-

1. Just buy the phone at RM1499. no commitment.  OR

2. RM499 to buy phone and sign 2 year contract with minimun commitment of RM148 per month.  They collect another RM1148 (I can't remember how this figure is derived) in advance but will be deducted progressively from future monthly bills. 

Since my Phone B: Maxis contract just over already and I still pay >RM150 per month (I don't know why cause I dont use it much) then i decided to cancel my Phone B Maxis Line.  Then I opted for Option 2.  So no differnce for me in terms of monthly expenses.

I asked the sales girl whether can terminate the Digi Plan she said must use for at least 3 months then only can cancel.  when cancel they have a formula to calculate how much you have to pay when cancel.  anway if after 3 months cancel, the "loss" is equivalent to RM100 penalty + First 3 months bill.  You probably need to top up some money so that the cost of the phone is still RM1499.
I think I will terminate after 3 months instead of commitment RM148 for 24 months which will make the phone very expensive.  then for my 2nd phone I just buy a RM30 per month prepaid card is good enough.

In hindsight I should have just bought the phone at RM1499.

Update: I just checked digi website, I think for existing digi user now no need to pay the advance rm1148 anynmore
For your information,

Zero Contract or 24 Month Contract , Your device price will be RM1499. The website indicates phone price after Saving. Or you can try to click buy now.

The different is you get RM25 rebate x 24 = RM600 months for 2 years contract and pay RM43 monthly . And NO ADVANCED PAYMENT. This is when i went to DG centre and Dealer , i tot i could get phone price at RM899.

You can terminate after two days, this is what the staff told me.

Use 1 month first then only terminate . Total will be RM68+RM100=RM168. because no advance payment during u purchase the device.

You can check first page. Purchasing channel there. RM1499- RM200 SKMM(if u got) + RM68 or RM48+ RM100= The total amount you have to pay. RM48 you want , go DEALER store . DG centre dont allow you to get RM48.

This post has been edited by SSY22: Mar 1 2013, 02:01 PM
SSY22
post Mar 1 2013, 02:07 PM

111 posts

The "stock" u guys mentioned is " Original Firmware By Google" right? My first android , was iphone user. Got influenced by my brother galaxy nexus and love nexus 4 now. no wan go back iphone. Again this is personal preference.
SSY22
post Mar 1 2013, 02:49 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Scavia @ Mar 1 2013, 02:39 PM)
Haizzzzz.. Just thinking to buy n4 8gb. Now should go to 16gb.
Go 16gb you wont regret thrust me. 16gb is sufficient and little bit more.

SSY22
post Mar 6 2013, 08:19 PM

111 posts

Anyone can recommend the app to wake up phone w/o using power button.

I dont want ROOT. Currently , im using Smart Screen On but i feel still okay only. Any other apps allows us to double tap on screen to wake up? Smart Screen On require sensor and wave.

This post has been edited by SSY22: Mar 6 2013, 08:21 PM
SSY22
post Mar 6 2013, 10:13 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Mar 6 2013, 09:32 PM)
touch control still drain battery, as admitted by the developer.
the drain rate still unacceptable.
Really ? @@

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 6 2013, 09:28 PM)
No root no talk.

Double Tap/Slide to wake is available in Touch Control. You need root for that.
You can't even get it to work with just root. You need a custom kernel also.

This is a kernel level integration. Any other apps that achieve similar function will surely generate a lot of wakelock thus drain battery faster.
Thanks you !

I would stick Smart Screen On first see how the battery goes.
SSY22
post Mar 6 2013, 10:26 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 6 2013, 10:23 PM)
do keep us updated with the battery life. im looking for alternative also. so far i tried a few all cause drain, and those drain are not just 1-2%, they drain around 6-7%  shocking.gif
Sure but i'm not sure how to check the battery drain properly.

I just test with my experiences. Smart Screen On is use proximity sensor. Wave your hand to screen on
SSY22
post Mar 6 2013, 10:38 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 6 2013, 10:29 PM)
check 1st night without the apps running (freeze it or uninstall it), then 2nd night with the apps running. that's how i did it. then u compare if while the apps is install and the drain is higher overnight, means it drains battery
I think it sure will drainning battery just how much it drains only. I will check it out and let you know =).
SSY22
post Mar 6 2013, 10:57 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 6 2013, 10:43 PM)
thanks. actually drain battery i dun mind, even if 3% is acceptable, but anything that is above 5% is consider too much to me for 1 night (7-8hours)  sweat.gif
I try 2 situations.

Night w/o smart screen running
Night with smart screen running

Day w/o smart screen (Daily use)
Day with smart screen (Wave hand, Sensor detection will consume battery)
SSY22
post Mar 8 2013, 02:06 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Mar 7 2013, 05:46 PM)
is there anyway to disable autofocus? its hard to take photo when it keep focussing. its easy if its only focus once we touch the screen.
Try Camera Zoom FX . Once you tap on screen to focus , the focus will remain there. Unlike stock camera , will refocus at middle which i dont like.

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Mar 6 2013, 10:43 PM)
thanks. actually drain battery i dun mind, even if 3% is acceptable, but anything that is above 5% is consider too much to me for 1 night (7-8hours)  sweat.gif
I think you could give Smart Screen On and Smart Screen Off and Lock. Im using both. One for lock and for open screen.

My observation : Dont really drain much battery. I would stick to this.

SSY22
post Mar 12 2013, 12:42 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Mar 11 2013, 06:29 PM)
Just wondering if we use proximity sensor to wake up our beloved device and if we are not using flip case,when we put our device in pocket will the device wake up frequently due to this proximity sensor.

Any idea? 

P:s did tried taking a peek in my pocket while walking.people must think me crazy.haha
Depend on what type of gesture you use. Like me is wave hand. So i put inside pocket wont wake up.

So far no problem at all.

I use Smart Screen On btw.

This post has been edited by SSY22: Mar 12 2013, 12:42 AM

0.1202sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:20 PM