Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V7, truly the Nexus beast; at least for now.
devinz
Mar 11 2013, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 11 2013, 10:32 PM) I'm not really sure about this as I have no first hand experience with the newly changed DiGi Nexus 4 Smartplan; so anyone who subscribed after the change and terminates on the spot might be able to help to clarify this. Anyway I digged the FAQs under http://www.digi.com.my/PhonesDevices/LG_Nexus_4.do and can't find the formula that you used (but yeah, I do remember seeing something like that in DiGi's Device Bundle Smartplan). Anyway, this is what I found under the FAQs for Nexus 4: Q11. Will I incur a penalty if I terminate my contract before the end of my tenure?A11. Yes, you will incur a pre-mature contract termination fee at the flat rate of RM200 (inclusive of RM100 administrative fee) when you terminate any DG Smart Plan™ 58 or DG Smart Plan™ 88 device bundles under a 24-month contract.
Note: Purchases via Easy Payment Plan (EPP) will not be subjected to a pre-mature contract termination fee.So, the only confirmation that we could get are the new subscribers which terminate within the 24 month contract period. I got mine long ago when Zero Contract by DiGi was still around  Most likely that it'll not be refunded. Although DiGi states that the device price for Nexus 4 is RM1169, that price are however achieved via monthly rebates of RM10 x 24 month (DiGi Smartplan monthly charge @ RM58) and thus making the actual device price for on-the-spot terminations at RM1169 + RM240. Yup  Thanks bro. Am currently trying out matr1x kernel...
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 11:49 AM
hi guys,
I have just purchased the franco kernel updater. On Playstore it mentioned US 4.99 but US 5.19 was charged to my credit card.
Anyone able to advice??
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 01:58 PM
Running on matr1x now. Immediate changes I seen in fact is the display. Much sharper display... Hmmm wonder if it is the changes from the kernel. As for battery seems too early to tell. But initial observation may not be great. 50% battery with 1.5hrs SOT all 3G...
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Mar 12 2013, 03:01 PM) did you UV cpu and change the garvenor? Everything stock bro...
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 03:07 PM
Dear bros…
Been reading quite a lot about Paranoid Android rom and am itchy to try that out.
However, there are something which I am a bit unclear which hope can get assistance here:
1. Once I flash PA rom, will I lose all my settings, sms, apps etc? how can I ensure all will be intact? Does nandroid back up help? 2. I am quite like matr1x kernel, but am confuse once I am on PA, which matr1x should I download? The normal version or CM version?
Thanks in advance for all advices.
I am quite technically noob. Tried to do some reading and these 2 still cant get any answer though…
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Mar 12 2013, 03:09 PM) 1:titanium backup 2:i think it doesn't matter thanks bro. QUOTE(josh. @ Mar 12 2013, 03:11 PM) Apps and SMS you can use titanium backups. For the settings I suggest you re-set it yourself because different roms have different kind of settings, that's the reason why we switch from one to another, explore their features and tweaks whatever you rikey. Also, do a nandroid backup of your current phone before you flash the other roms in case you want to switch back to your current rom. I think for kernel wise, just make sure that the kernel is supported for the Android version (4.2.1, 4.2.2 etc). But it shouldn't be a big deal (correct me if i'm wrong). ok, got it. QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Mar 12 2013, 03:13 PM) should be normal matrix..but some ppl using CM version also no prob..Btw,are u playing candy crush? ok will try normal matrix since i have already downloaded. Nope, not fan of candy crush? does it matter anyway?
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 04:49 PM
Dear sifu,
Appreciate advice if my understanding is correct. Say after I flashed PA ROMs. Google release Key Lime Pie, how do I update?
Do I actually reflash stock 4.2.2 and get OTA?
Then if I wanna use the lasted PA ROM I just do the same flashing again?
devinz
Mar 12 2013, 07:04 PM
Bros, 1 more quick question..
i am considering flashing Paranoid Android to my stock 4.2.2.
Can i just proceed without factory reset?
What will be the consequences be?
devinz
Mar 18 2013, 01:30 PM
Just to share a shot I took with N4 during my short break recently... Attached thumbnail(s)
devinz
Mar 19 2013, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Chartry @ Mar 19 2013, 02:36 PM) I'm currently using the out-of-the factory screen protector, the one with the +- and on/off sign. it attracts fingerprint. just wondering if the one from Nilkin attracts fingerprint too? Come across a matte screen protector at LYP. Cheap and so far so good. No obvious finger print mark. Better for me compare to nilikin though... This post has been edited by devinz: Mar 19 2013, 02:55 PM
devinz
Mar 19 2013, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(nsg86 @ Mar 19 2013, 03:03 PM) Can send me the url of that SP seller? Thanks  I mean Lowyat Plaza. Got it from a kiosk opposite Samsung outlet.
devinz
Mar 19 2013, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Mar 19 2013, 07:53 PM) Never encountered such problem so far, speed's awesome (but I'm at KL area) The last time I tested @ my apartment:  As for unrar-ing, I usually just extract it directly from Astro file manager. I'm only pretty sure that Maxis shares their tower with U-Mobile where U-Mobile will use Maxis' tower when they have no coverage. But not sure the another way around  The contract ended/terminated somewhere inbetween Q3/Q4 last year, IIANM. AFAIK there's only one stock firmware for Nexus 4 currently which is occam. This is what I get a month or two ago. Downtown KL... Attached thumbnail(s)
devinz
Mar 20 2013, 12:08 AM
Guys need some advice.
I have flashed my N4 with PA rom pair with matr1x kernel.
Say if I wanted to flash the latest PA ROM and matrix kernel, should I just straight
1. Flash new PA ROM 2. Gapps 3. New matrix kernel?
Or do I:
1. Flash stock kernel 2. Flash new PA ROM 3. G apps 4. New matrix kernel?
Appreciate advice.
devinz
Mar 20 2013, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Mar 20 2013, 12:12 AM) Don't need to flash gapps again. Just dirty flash the rom, reboot, flash kernel. That's the way of mine though. Dirty flash means just flash without reset right? QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Mar 20 2013, 12:12 AM) If you wanna flash new PA updates and matrix update,then first wipe cache and dalvik cache,then install ROM update first,after that kernel So it is straight ROM then kernel? Need to boot in between?
devinz
Mar 20 2013, 07:29 AM
QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ Mar 20 2013, 01:57 AM) Dirty flash means flash without reset, correct. But it's recommended to flash gapps. You don't have to boot in between. In recovery, flash rom, flash gapps, flash kernel, wipe dalvik and cache. Thanks bro!
devinz
Mar 20 2013, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(zero_hour @ Mar 20 2013, 04:49 PM) hi anyone know if i can replace internal battery to let say 3000mah? I am interested to know too...
devinz
Mar 20 2013, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(zero_hour @ Mar 20 2013, 05:01 PM) try to google but no answer, im will to void my waranty to change to higher capasity batery  You've got a bad battery bro? What's your average SOT?
devinz
Mar 20 2013, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(zero_hour @ Mar 20 2013, 05:28 PM) 3hr 15min on data, no wifi/bluetooth  you mean on 3G without wifi? I thought that was already pretty good bro. i am getting only around 2.5 hrs with 3G.
devinz
Mar 21 2013, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Mar 21 2013, 10:24 AM) using CM with Matrix 8.0..i get around 3.5-4 hour screen on. Using all 3G? Or mixed WiFi?
devinz
Mar 21 2013, 12:27 PM
Just replaced my matr1x with Franco milestone. Immediate difference is the display color and sharpness.
Prefer matrix' though...