ancap cant really use for malaysia, be it Honda toyota or proton. they got compulsory side airbags and curtain right?
curtain or extra airbags will not grant any car full star rating. Most of the time it is ESC. The different with Preve AU and Preve MY is whereby all variant in AU have ESC as standard. Proton do this because they do not want ANCAP pick the lowest end and not achieving the full star rating.
This was happened to Saga FLX here in Asean NCAP testing. Saga FLX lowest variant was picked, instead of the highes variant which have better safety rating. But this is not the case with Honda City whereby the highest variant was picked by Asean NCAP.
better than pay RM69k but got shitty 1 airbag skeleton dugong..but still, proton basher say its waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy better than 5 star ancap preve, thus many bought that skeleton dugong x cukup sifat
None 72k car have full star rating yet. Only preve cfe.
Do note this ancap test is done on latest methodology with the pole impact test. Some car model before 2009 might see lower rating due to the ommision of pole impact test.
i thought e36 hartage fanboy mentioned that ESC was standard so i did not bother mentioning about it. curtain and side airbags minimise side impact, im very sure they will affect the overall rating..
Airbags will affect rating, but will not achieve full star rating alone with all the airbags. ESC is compulsory for full star rating.
no its not. Australian version got more airbags, ours lack 2 airbags minimum to get ANCAP 5 star
It is not the airbags get full star rating. It is the ESC. ESC is missing in malaysian non-cfe variant.
If proton smart, they will equipped esc for all variant for local market before the Asean NCAP start testing C segment car. And there is rumors spec preve is on the roll out.
DRB said that future cars will have standard spec for import and domestic.
So what missing is ESC. Other than that it is the same. No ESC car will max only get 4 star rating. As good as preve non CFE will get 4 star.
i already posted a long time ago back then... ive emailed Australian NCAP and they said the side or curtain airbag was a requirement for the 5 star rating dude.. jap mana pigi itu email.. if u rajin search back my post lol.. i in lazy mode now..
but the preve does have good ESC from Bosch
Are you saying car without ESC can get full star rating?
its not a thought.. jap im tring to find back that email from australian ncap lol.. i postedit last year.. explained what was the requirement for 5 star aus ncap.. thats why i said asean ncap is crap.. honda city with 2 airbags can get 5 star..
If you search in ANCAP site, there is car with only dual airbags get full star rating. But that was quite old. You might be right ANCAP increase the requirement to have side/curtain airbags on top of dual frontal to achieve fullstar. In this case, local Preve CFE is still a 5 star car.
And Honda City E might not be a 5 star car if ANCAP standard.
This post has been edited by ruffstuff: Feb 26 2013, 12:53 AM
My dear friend, I have lived here long enough to know how things work.
This news is definately the break Proton is looking for. NOw they will slowly phase out saga BLm and focus on this car. Since this car is as 'good' as BMW, they will increase it to RM85k.
Then they will tell all Msians, u want good car, u have to pay for it lor.
Of course this wont happen overnight. It may take 5 years. U mark my word la.
Saga BLM will be replaced by P2-30A GSC. Better feature and better safety. We'll pay more if it is actually good car.
There are people who actually willing to pay 80k for Preve given that the equipment is better (more airbags, bigger rims, leather seat etc). But the majority are not willing to pay for that price. Preve is actually Proton car that people want to buy it, not because they forced to buy.
This only the starting point for Proton to have more quality cars. Proton have the image of cheap cars (although it is not actually cheap due to excise tax).
of course proton is smart. Malaysian market is different from Aussie or other country. safety is not much of a concern for most of their customers here. cars are overpriced here. proton's products are high in cost. how to remain competitive? 1. brandname = elek 2. performance = elek 3. quality(in cosumer's view and in reality to a certain extent) = elek 4. advance features = elek 5. low price = WIN how to remain low in price when the cost is so damn high? reduce safety features. things that the poorer malaysians couldn't care less. they just need a ride. couldn't afford any better.
Is different in Aussie market. they won't be able to sell a single car if they skimp on those safety features. other brand cars have all those features with almost the same price. 5-star NCAP. so what? that's not the only thing people look at when buying a car. especially at the same price range/segment. it is more like a minimum requirement when the playing field is level, like over at Aussie.
You are the perfect example of typical malaysian. Safety came second. That is why toyota can sell non VSC camry, single airbags almera and top selling is myvi.
It is not Proton who practice the uneven safety spec and equipment, it happened to ALL manufacturer who sell their cars in malaysia. We get low spec and low safety cars. This all because there is no NCAP to begin with (not until ASEAN NCAP was established).
you are precisely right my dear sir. I'm the typical poor Malaysian that can only afford a proton with minimum safety features. tell me. what new car that can fit a family of 4 with 5-star NCAP can I buy for 50k and below?
safety do comes first of course. instead of relying on those expensive gadgets that I can't afford, I just have to realise that i'm driving a tin can and I have to be extra careful on the road.
of course the other manufacturers have to sell their cars at low safety specs here. they have to lower their cost while remaining profitable/competitive. thanks to the high cost of cars. thanks to our government's policy to protect a certain car manufacturer here.
now, which part of high cost do you not understand?
You certainly have no idea how much profit non-local manufacturer had for each cars. Their taxes are the same with Proton. Wake up bro. The government has been feeding you with misinformation and giving the idea that Proton is the reason other car is expensive. In fact, they are protecting their pockets across all manufacturer.
Oh, didn't i tell it before that people are forced to buy proton. You are the perfect example again.
I certainly have an idea of how profitable the non-local manufacturers are. are you implying that they are making less profit in other country? selling their cars with full specs while making less profit than what they're making in Malaysia?
Yes. That is the case. You compare price in langkawi. That is without the excise and import duty. But that is still expensive based on what the car was declared at Customs
did u read what i posted.. even last year u need curtain airbags for 5 stars dude..
What car is 5 star with dual airbags in AUS NCAP and which year. For 2012 and above u definitely need curtain airbags for 5 stars. Its a compulsory spec.
It mentioned in the email that side airbags one of the requirement on top of dual frontal airbags. So, by that standard our preve cfe have that.
But the trend in AU whereby 4 airbags is no longer an attractive spec since AU are very particular on safety. Most equipped 6 airbags as standard.