Nokia Lumia 920 V3

GothFebrio
post Mar 8 2013, 03:38 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

My phone never restarts itself unless i turned my data connection on. most of the time is when it has a very low 3G signal. have been using the phone since 21st of december last year. if your phone restarts even if your data connection is turned off, you might want to check your apps. some people here reported that old apps causes this as well. the updates u mentioned doesnt seem to affect my phone.

my solution in my case is use wifi for most of the time, and use data if needed and if the signal is good.

I currently have around 55 apps(including preinstalled apps) and 35 games on my phone. music+videos(dont listen/record much =P) around 3.39GB and 3.85GB of pictures. the apps and games used around 6.64GB of my storage.

still waiting for the official portico update via OTA, dont wanna lose apps data. Microsoft should have implemented apps data backup. owh well, hopefully it will come sooner or later. =(
GothFebrio
post Mar 16 2013, 03:22 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

owh come on, why havent they release the update yet. i would have update it manually. but the sad thing is i have so many saved games and apps. is there a way to update it manually without losing all this. microsoft should implement backup apps data together with everything else. =(
GothFebrio
post Mar 17 2013, 01:48 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Mar 16 2013, 11:22 PM)
ok, updated to the GDR2 firmware. very easy. in the middle of downloading apps, i cancelled and decided to search back 1 by 1 of my apps, while removing apps i dont use. took screenshots of my apps so its quite easy also.
its a firmware update from nokia. not an os update like the portico. the latest firmware still runs on portico(gdr1). and yet. nokia/microsoft malaysia still failed to deliver portico to existing customers. which is lame. i dont wanna lose my apps data and games progress by updating manually. vmad.gif
GothFebrio
post Mar 18 2013, 10:54 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

And nokia have a huge market in india. Lumias are selling like hotcakes.
While blackberry may depends on indonesia, because in indonesia, people dont ask for phone numbers, they ask for your bb pin. Lol.
Looks like wp will win the battle of the 3rd OS. Since BB currently only have the z10 targeting for the high end market.
Malaysia need more ads. I managed to get 6 of my friends switched to lumia 920 though biggrin.gif
GothFebrio
post Mar 18 2013, 11:01 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(jie88 @ Mar 18 2013, 09:28 AM)
ya this is exactly what i wanted to ask .. lolz... there are just so many flaws in windows phone os yet ..
You can "developer unlock" your phone to install self developed or unpublished app in the form of .xap(iphone is .ipa) file You can too install cracked apps to your phone, however, there is no cracked apps available. biggrin.gif
GothFebrio
post Mar 18 2013, 11:11 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Mar 18 2013, 11:04 AM)
This only applies for those who support external memory card
There are various methods to push .xap file to the phone. For a developer, theres an official tool to do this, but u can google for 3rd party xap push tool. Same method like pushing using visual studio.(im a windows and windows phone developer). Maybe youre confused with the store sd xap installer.
GothFebrio
post Mar 22 2013, 01:07 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

guys, stop calling the update GDR2. GDR2 is scheduled to be release around summer. GDR1 was portico. its an OS update from microsoft for wp8. the new firmware is a new firmware from nokia, still running on portico.

i wonder if nokia malaysia will release the portico update together with the new firmware..
GothFebrio
post Mar 22 2013, 02:03 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Mar 22 2013, 01:44 AM)
the OS revision number is still the same; 8.0.10211.204

the latest one that we updated should be called what then?  hmm.gif
"the latest firmware" haha. because microsoft clearly stated that theyre releasing GDR2 around summer(edit: probablly earlier, because there will be GDR3 by then). and GDR1 was indeed Portico. its the WP8 OS update http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/how-to/w...-update-history . any OS update can be found there. Nokia on the other hand, updating their firmware to make the os and hardware works better for their customer. thumbup.gif

saw few people posted on facebook they have manually updated to gdr2 doh.gif

just a picture where Windows Phone 8 aka Apollo is going.
RTM(8.0.9903.10) ->GDR1 aka Portico(8.0.10211.204) -> GDR2(???) -> GDR3(???) -> "Blue(???)"

hope to see "apps and games data" backup feature in one of the update, so that i can flash updates manually since nokia malaysia is very slow at it.

This post has been edited by GothFebrio: Mar 22 2013, 02:23 AM
GothFebrio
post Mar 22 2013, 12:17 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Mar 22 2013, 07:14 AM)
Ok, start calling it 0008.
found this on the internet, since 0008 is regional and the firmware that comes with portico(GDR1) is PR1.1.

"Lumia 920 (RM-821) SW version PR1.1.5 (1232.5957.1308.xxxx )
- SW release for certain country variants, PR1.1.5 is not a mandatory release.

NEW FEATURES, UPDATES AND ENHANCEMENTS IN PR1.1.5

Stability fixes
Phone freeze during idle/ does not switch on fix
Automatic proxy sensor calibration
Ambient light sensor improvements
Support for eMMC temp file Storage Cleaner application
Silent installer implemented to reduce the time of the first boot"

so we can call this firmware pr1.1.5. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by GothFebrio: Mar 22 2013, 12:32 PM
GothFebrio
post Mar 22 2013, 11:46 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

For those who have the voucher, dont claim at nokia the gardens, they will throw bullshit at u saying the voucher is valid per item. While the voucher clearly state per transaction. Used mine at nokia the curve on 2 DC-16 portable chargers(rm99 each) for me and my girl, add 48 ringgit. And the gardens selling the same thing for rm109.
GothFebrio
post Mar 23 2013, 02:23 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(Codyx @ Mar 23 2013, 01:57 AM)
what voucher  shocking.gif  ?
for those who pre-ordered the phone before 21st december 2012.
GothFebrio
post Mar 23 2013, 09:10 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

Nokia DC-16 portable charger rm99
another square portable charger rm189
bluetoooth headset BH-111 rm158
another BH-112 rm79 if im not mistaken
case CC-1043 rm39
dual usb car charger rm49
monster purity earphone rm319

thats all i can remember. U can get multiple items per voucher. But some store will try to scam u saying its per item. Your voucher is per transaction.
GothFebrio
post Mar 23 2013, 09:24 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Mar 23 2013, 09:11 PM)
Was that the price in KL? Monster Purity WH-920 is RM 299 in Gurney Nokia store...
yes its kl price. Just trying to give ideas whats available in malaysia. Hope its available in gurney too. I saw phone car holder as well. And the monster headphone i think its rm719 or something.
GothFebrio
post Mar 28 2013, 11:44 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(KayK @ Mar 28 2013, 11:40 AM)
guys do you know which app that provide access to the wifi/flight mode/data settings that are capable of customising the tile's color?

dont need have tiles to show whether is on or off...prefer a simple one...
looked into "connectivity tiles" and "quick settings" but "connectivity tiles" cant change tiles' colour while "quick settings" is show the toggle on its tiles...
Im using Dashboard. Not sure about changing the colors. You can easily pin the tile shortcuts, no ads or anything. Good app.
GothFebrio
post Mar 30 2013, 03:45 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(troy29 @ Mar 30 2013, 03:42 PM)
emergency question,

Did we still nid to setup the APN(Access point) settings ?

if we already subscribed to internet package and data connection is on under mobile network tab.

I can't see the symbol H beside the signal bar even my data connection is on.
check in settings -> access point. is your operator settings active?
GothFebrio
post Apr 5 2013, 01:32 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(LalaluSan @ Apr 4 2013, 11:50 PM)
MY only got white/black/red/yellow  sad.gif
SG getting cyan blue and grey
Malaysia have Grey as well. It would be great if they bring cyan, more choice for customers.
GothFebrio
post Apr 8 2013, 02:59 AM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Apr 8 2013, 01:45 AM)
iPhones are probably the only (perceived) premium smartphones on the market. The other companies suck at managing consumer perception when all they do is release flagship phone after phone, which in turn results in consumer confusion and a perceived lack of value when the RM2000+ phone you bought 6 months ago from a company (Nokia/Samsung/HTC..whoever) now has a new and better version. A lot of non-Apple users get pissed off at the random release cycle but Samsung is slowly learning and is copying Apple's style.
its not about consumer perception. Apple sell their phones to dealers and retailers with a price not far from the retail price even in bulk. So when dealers cant compete that much, the price maintains, and they tend to bundle stuff with the phone instead of reducing its price.

0.0499sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:55 AM