camry 2.0g, Camry 2.0g issue

6UE5T
post Feb 22 2013, 10:26 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(feelfree @ Feb 21 2013, 10:36 AM)
Are you kidding, ALTIS! How could you compare the Altis with Camry, interior space Altis is totally out, too small, even compare to other C-segment like Civic, Sylphy.... Altis is time to get a whole new car.
QUOTE(theanswer @ Feb 21 2013, 05:47 PM)
thats why toyota can sell camry..ppl always looking for a size without realizing tht camry is using old vvti with old 4 speeder. pls check altis 2.0..smaller than camry..use new dual vvti..new cvt..of course will give better fc. i'm not comparing size..but looking at the spec, of course altis is better with stability control. even new civic is using old r20 engine and sylphy got no stability control and using rear drum brake.  smile.gif
QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 22 2013, 06:43 AM)
No point to buy to the car had offerred 2.5/3.0V6 and grab the smaller CC of 2.0L to present you're the boss who seat inside of D-Segment car and suffer about the weight with FC.

When not enough money to afford an going the lower models such as Civic, Altis, Elantra, Sylphy still alot to suit as you need.
QUOTE(feelfree @ Feb 22 2013, 12:45 PM)
This is the first time I heard such comment!!!  shocking.gif
Probably only in Malaysia a car the size of Camry/Accord/Teana etc. can be sold like peanuts with just those little 2.0 NA 4 cyl. engines! Thanks to ridiculous Malaysia road tax regulation I guess. smile.gif
6UE5T
post Feb 23 2013, 12:02 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 22 2013, 10:56 PM)
Ahem, no?

Ford Mondeo Ecoboost 1.0... yes, it has a turbo, but still, 1.0 3 cylinder. In the highest tune it has around 120 hp. The Passat has a 1.4 with 122 hp. Yes, you can top up and get more powerful engines, but standard engine is that 1.4. I guess the most popular engine in the Passat though is the 105 hp 1.6 TDI. And yes, this is Germany. The country where 50% of the highways have no speed limit, and people drive that way. Most people IMHO drive around 140, including small underpowered ones. Or big underpowered ones. I usually drive around 140-150 with a 75 hp C segment car. I don't think many top up to get stronger engines. The most powerful petrol engine you can have in the D segment Toyota Avensis has 152 hp. And yes, that's a 2.0.

WHAT ON EARTH DO YOU NEED 150 OR 180 HP FOR?! In Malaysia?! The country of the slowpokes. Where the speed limit is 110, people are usually way below the speed limit (rather than always above) and accelerate slower than turtles. Heck, I'm driving a brick wall with 75 hp here, and usually outaccelerate others, and usually I'm the one flashing my headlights trying to get past someone blocking the right lane. With a car as aerodynamic as your average kitchen cabinet. For the speeds I see on Malaysian roads the 1.2 liter engine from the Proton Savvy would be more than enough in D segment cars.
Hahaha, naah I would never want to own such underpowered cars! What on earth do I need 150 or 180HP for in Malaysia? Well now I'm driving >200HP 2.5ltr car everyday, already red line it many2 times (which means using the max 200HP already, right?). Now already feel bored and slow with it, and a bit regretting why I did not buy something really fast like an Evo 9 instead! sad.gif Later I'm planning to search for piggy back to at least add a bit of kick to it to keep it interesting once again. I guess power is addictive, at least for me. Heck if I don't think of other more important priorities, I'd supercharged my car too and add 50% more power!

I guess the Germans are bit odd too eh. For Malaysia, I'm quite sure the stupid road tax plays a big part in shaping up people's mind here in choosing cars (big cars with smaller engines). Heck I my self if not for that stupid road tax would have opted for >3.0ltr car if going for NA engine! It does affected my choice a bit, it does not change my mind and opinion though. If not for that, quite sure those underpowered cars would not sell that well here. Like in Indonesia, there's NO Accord/Camry/Teana/CRV/X-Trail 2.0 even offered on sale! This despite the hellish traffic jams in Jakarta which makes jams here just like peanuts/kids play! smile.gif

Well anyway people have their own preferences. I'm not here to stop anyone buying any cars be it underpowered, ugly, or whatever, it's not my money anyway. smile.gif

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Feb 23 2013, 12:05 AM
6UE5T
post Feb 23 2013, 07:49 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 23 2013, 04:30 AM)
Road tax increases with cc in most countries in this world I guess. Europe is no exception. Big cc means spend big. And there the fuel consumption is much more important as petrol and diesel is heavily taxed.

The reason why French car makers were never offering powerful cars was that big cc cars were taxed very heavily, so that no one would buy them. 2.5 liter is quite excessive in a D segment car.

Why do Germans buy the not so powerful versions? Simple, you think everyone is rich? Taxes are higher, and you can spend RM 40k more for the same Passat, just with a bigger engine (the rest stays exactly the same). The entry level engine, or maybe one level up is more than enough to drive fast. Maybe they are more willing to touch the accelerator than Malaysians? hmm.gif The underspec'ed cars here wouldn't sell there though. 6 airbags are expected as a minimum on a B segment car, ESP of course too. A D segment car that is as ridiculously dangerous as the Japanese ones sold here couldn't sell. Or cars that handle as poor as some of the Japanese ones here. You should be able to drive at least 150-200 without almost losing control due to the poor handling and steering. Don't know, maybe people here are more obsessed with numbers and the way how powerful the engine feels when you touch the accelerator only slightly?

Anyway, how fast are you driving that you redline that car? Because most people in Malaysia drive annoyingly slow.
True that many countries also increase roadtax with cc as factor but usually not the only factor like in Malaysia. Like in Indonesia, the cars market price, model type and class are also affecting roadtax amount. In US if I remember correctly, there's gas guzzler tax which is based on how fuel efficient the car is, so even if the car has big engine but if fuel consumption can match smaller engines then it does not necessarily have to pay gas guzzler tax. But here, it's the only factor, hence becomes a bit unfair IMHO, for example: a guy who buys a Peugeot RCZ turbo (which is >200K sports car) pays less roadtax than a guy who buys a Proton Inspira 1.8. Then there's the guy who owns Lancer Evo pays the same roadtax as those who owns Proton Inspira 2.0 just because both cars have 2.0ltr engine, even though the Evo drinks fuel like a 3.0 car or even more if on boost. smile.gif

As for mine, I cannot red line from 4th gear onwards cuz my car has that bugger 180kph speed cut which is not that simple to remove like most other Japanese cars. So I've redlined 1-2-3 lah to enjoy the full acceleration. I do like the sensation of having good power ready on tap at the tip of my foot.
6UE5T
post Feb 23 2013, 07:51 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 23 2013, 01:23 PM)
Main problem with DSG from what I heard from Germany is when you switch between D and N while still moving. It hates that. Otherwise it should last longer.

Actually only Japanese cars are horribly overpriced. From what I have seen with VW, Ford etc. is that they are similarly priced to Germany/Europe. The main difference is that you can only get high spec contis here, the affordable entry level versions are missing. Japanese cars however are speced as good as contis in Europe, at similar prices. But once they come to Malaysia they have lost everything, while still keeping the price.
Really? How much is a Golf GTI in Germany? I thought still much cheaper than here.
6UE5T
post Feb 23 2013, 10:34 PM

1,704 posts

That system makes more sense, not just blindly based on displacement like here. To generalizing/simplistic if just based on that.

Ic, then how about more expensive cars like BMW & Mercs or Italian & British cars, also almost the same prices for comparable specs in Germany??

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Feb 23 2013, 10:36 PM
6UE5T
post Feb 24 2013, 05:31 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Feb 23 2013, 11:48 PM)
Lots of work configuring those cars... so many options! I would guess so, but haven't checked.

I wish Malaysians had the option of ordering the car they actually want, not the car that the importer things people want.
Yeah that would be great! I'd just order basic manual car with minimal electronics (just power window & locks) & A/C but using the most powerful engine option! smile.gif

0.0154sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:12 PM