Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V18, FEB OTA 4.1.2 XXDMB4 - NO CHANGELOGS

GAERY
post Feb 21 2013, 11:38 AM

all sifus here, I'm new in GSN-II, with some questions biggrin.gif,
I recently found out many ways of rooting by dr.ketan, youtuber's cursve4eva.

each different, either comes with recovery 1st, or comes with root with odin 1st, and also comes both together root+recovery with odin. and their recovery .. might seem old version, PhilZ Touch recovery (CWM based) version 4.35..?

1) which method i should use with, can I download latest cwm 6.0.27 and flash with odin?
2) after i got recovery, i flash this CF Auto Root package with odin , or find only root file, flash with cwm?? ..
3) for the counter, are you all still at 1+ after flashing roms, only use triangle away when going to claim warranty?
or straight away use it after it raise to 1?
4) I'm going to flash omega, kernel from "STOCK ROM". go to cwm
-Factory reset.
-Wipe dalvik
-Format /system
-Install omega v12.
-Boot
-Go back to cwm / twrp
-Install perseus
-Wipe cache / dalvik
-Fix permissions
-Boot, is that right?

(my sd card is on partition ext4)

it's kinda confusing for me dont know which to choose 1st, and im afraid of softbrick, becuz my internet speed slow like...512kbs, take hours to download stock firmware from sammobile. help me~

This post has been edited by GAERY: Feb 21 2013, 11:44 AM
GAERY
post Feb 21 2013, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(tot31 @ Feb 21 2013, 11:50 AM)
Ok ask yourself first why do you want to root ? Do you want to root and have a custom recovery ? or you just only want to root to run any apps that needs root ( this is my case. as I only root and don't have any custom recovery). If you want to root and to try out any of thge custom roms then a custom recovery is a must.

If you look at dr. ketan's guide and you are still on 4.1.1, then you should choose the most easiest method i.e using the ExynosAbuse apk but if you are already on 4.1.2 then you can use CF Auto Root. My recomendation is to get Mobile Odin Pro where you can flash custom recovery or even official roms without the intervention of a pc.

Don't worry as rooting will not brick your phone and the first thing you should do after rooting is to backup your EFS, this is extremely important.
Thanks, I'm on 4.1.2, so I use CF Auto Root right?
The reason why I want to root is change kernel, and roms for performance and massive battery saving ( I saw on posts.)

GAERY
post Feb 21 2013, 01:18 PM

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 21 2013, 11:50 AM)
1) Easy way for me was root using chenglu method which comes with custom recovery USING odin
2) Since chenglu recovery is outdated, so flash new philz recovery or TWRP  USING recovery
3) Then you can flash omega - format system, wipe data, flash rom, reboot (VERY IMPORTANT TO MAKE SURE THE ROM ZIP FILE IS ALREADY IN YOUR INTERNAL/EXTERNAL SD BEFORE FORMAT SYSTEM)

No need to meddle with TA unless you wanna go warranty claim
Thanks! flex.gif after format system, wipe data, flash rom, reboot , i back cwm and flash kernel can ?

are you using custom kernel too? it's really that butter smooth and battery saving good? brows.gif
GAERY
post Feb 22 2013, 02:23 AM

helpppp.... I TRY TO FLASH PHILZ RECOVERY V.435, 1ST IT RESTART TO ANDROID SCREEN, STOCK RECOVERY STILL, THEN I UNTICK AUTO REBOOT, AND FLASH AGAIN WHEN IT SAID RESET IN ODIN, I KEEP PRESSING ON TURN OFF BUTTON AND IT GOES TO POWER CHARGING, THEN PRESS AGAIN, GO TO HOME SCREEN AGAIN. . WAT A NICE DAY OF FAILS.
GAERY
post Feb 22 2013, 02:27 AM

QUOTE(joytest @ Feb 22 2013, 02:25 AM)
Dude, STOP IT WITH THE CAPS. THAT'S SHOUTING. If you continue this you will be ignored.

Try to get into recovery mode and clear cache and perform a factory reset. Otherwise just reflash stock rom from PC Odin while in Download mode.

BTW, good night all.
oh sorry i forgot to turn off caps lock. what I meant is i failed to flash cwm, and im using pc odin while in downloading mode.

This post has been edited by GAERY: Feb 22 2013, 02:28 AM
GAERY
post Feb 22 2013, 11:43 AM

did any 1 here using cwm to do a nandroid backup of stock rom include kernel?
GAERY
post Feb 22 2013, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 22 2013, 08:14 AM)
Try again lor or try TWRP. Or flash chenglu recovery first then only flash philz from cwm. etc etc etc....
I EVEN TRIED CHENG LU cwm, I MARK AUTO REBOOT, FRESET IN ODIN, THEN STARTED, AND SAME BOOT INTO ANDROID, AND IT SAID PASS. when press vol up+ home + power, stock recovery, some 1 here help me?

FIXED: SUCCESS ON 8 ATTEMPTS. KEEP FORCE IT TO RUN

This post has been edited by GAERY: Feb 22 2013, 12:44 PM
GAERY
post Feb 22 2013, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 22 2013, 01:50 PM)
1 stop writing in caps or i will be reporting your post
2 list down all the exact steps u take including link to the file you download n flash. 
3 show me a screeshot of ur stock recovery. 

Please give more info. No one can help as none of us is sitting beside u.
1.im sorry ,it's a bad habit playing too much games owning people.
スベタ.
2. i listed down already, if it isn't clear enough for you, i find another way out.
3. as i said stock recovery.. it's the same dude.

btw i fixed dy, and using omega with persues kernel now biggrin.gif thx for ur kindness.
and dont worry, i did a nandroid backup and efs too.

This post has been edited by GAERY: Feb 22 2013, 09:09 PM

0.0395sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:50 AM