30 yrs old Msian Investor on SG Business Times, Portfolio worth MYR10m (SGD4m)

kochin
post Feb 20 2013, 12:18 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

why is it that someone sharing story and kena flamed left right center?
someone claims he's underperforming and not so great.
someone claims he's gonna be burnt soon.
why do people generally sows hatred?
why can't we just wish him well and continued success.

to those invested, may you continue to prosper.
to those not invested, may you find your true calling soon and prosper as well.

somehow continuous wishing and anticipating of bad misfortunes to bestows on others intrigues me. where's the source of the hatred to begin with?
kochin
post Feb 20 2013, 11:06 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(cockee @ Feb 20 2013, 10:26 AM)
I dont quite get it why people has to think 'quiting your daily job' as a sign of success.  biggrin.gif
Sometimes, the 'day job' can be equally as financially-rewarding as being a 'full time investor'.

Just like taking up to RM8mil of debt to earn RM7.5k nett.. while some high performance employees can earn more than at the same age.
Of course, there are upside to it like capital appreciation and more personal time.
But there are also big risks and headache that an employee would not likely to face; like increase in interest, bubble burst etc. Also if you manage so many property you still need to spend time 'working' for your tenants. You dont get shit from the boss, but you get it from the tenants, or sometimes from the bank manager or ah long when times are bad..  tongue.gif

During my younger days, I kept hearing people saying that 'dai kung chai' (employee) cannot get rich. Now, I realized how mistaken those 'wisdom' is. There are many millionaire employees out there, actually.
Just like taking up to RM8mil of debt to earn RM7.5k nett.. while some high performance employees can earn more than at the same age.
agree. but an employee exchange his time/effort for the monetary rewards instead of tenants/properties/investment working for the investor.

Of course, there are upside to it like capital appreciation and more personal time.
fully agree.

But there are also big risks and headache that an employee would not likely to face; like increase in interest, bubble burst etc.
i think the risk of lay-offs, low increment, termination, redundancy, global financial meltdown is equally high if not higher

living off investment vs daily job
take shit from tenant vs take shit from bosses
can ask tenant to go fly kite (look for new tenant) vs can ask boss to fly kite (resign)
capital appreciation vs bonuses/esos
property bubble risk vs lay-offs/termination/vss/retirement

but time wise, i think there's no dispute that investment is better off then daily job.

millionaire employees? sure, tonnes of them (through collective building of income over time vide epf).
hell, anybody who STOP contributing to epf when they have rm300k total today would still a millionaire 25 years later with just 5% dividend annually.

millionaire / annum, sure, no problem too. just look at genting group's ceo salary alone or syabas's ceo salary per annum.

fact is, i think it's nice that someone have the option to just quit their daily job.

kochin
post Feb 20 2013, 05:08 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(bbbformoney @ Feb 20 2013, 04:57 PM)
for those repeated postings about being interviewed by press la this laa that laa, should we welcome these kind of postings?
boss, first and foremost, i do not know the fella.
if you are referring to 'repeated' posting as in spamming, then yes, i condone with you that i'm in disagreement over spamming. but do not recall repeated postings for this chap. are there others?
whether i welcome or not is irrelevant, it is TS's right to post it and moderator to figure out whether such topic is appropriate here.
besides, TS have also come clean on intention to gain publicity of their ventures.

of course, someone agrees, someone disagrees. that's life lor. otherwise everybody is the same liao.
just on personal note that i do not think that we need to go as far as in to undermine him that's all.

peace boss.

0.0278sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:05 PM