Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL Official Thread V2, 5", 4core, 2GBram, 13mp, LTE, waterproof

ck.chunkeat
post Feb 23 2013, 11:22 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Feb 23 2013, 11:21 PM)
Based on the leaked spec of s4, other then the a bit faster proc, i think xz will do well this tym. I knew it quad core is the limit so far for mobile phone. As long as xz is using quad, i already happy enough. What i can c from the latest proc such as snapdragon 600 is a higher benchmark score. In term of daily usage or performance i think we wont c much different.
Yes,and on top of that,with sony's support for the custom dev,im sure we can get much more from the phone. smile.gif

Still,the Touchless gestures for screen navigation rumoured in S4 might be something interesting that might snatch away market share from htc and sony..

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Feb 23 2013, 11:26 PM
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 23 2013, 11:46 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(refnulf @ Feb 23 2013, 11:36 PM)
Wait, the dock is coming with the pre-order only?

I wonder how much the dock is when sold separately?

from UK prices, looks like it's about RM100+
Just rumours...Dont believe anything till its announced... tongue.gif
Yea,should be around that price..
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 24 2013, 01:07 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Feb 24 2013, 01:02 AM)
Need opinion from u guys, will xz sell like hot cake? i not sure shud i pre order or buy on the spot once it sell?
hmm,imo,hot cake or not,we should still wait for the 1st batch guinea pigs to go test it 1st.. tongue.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 24 2013, 01:09 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

wow,just checked htc one thread..htc zoe have awesome features!!
always smile,object remove,one sequence shot mode.. hope these feature are portable and will come to xperia Z rclxms.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 24 2013, 01:45 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Feb 24 2013, 01:40 AM)
always smile is available in xperia phone long ago it is called smile detection

object remove sony also got, but dono under what name in google play store
u will need to buy it, there r more like motiongraph etc
look at sony google play account for extra camera app tat bring stop motion,
time lapse, video editing, video convert & more, but these u have to pay for it  tongue.gif

search 4 these term in google play, so tat u can see more sony app
Sony Digital Network
SONY MOBILE DEVELOPER WORLD
SONY MOBILE COMMUNICATIONS
SONY ELECTRONICS ASIA PACIFIC
SONY CORPORATION

there r few more & some not available in asia
kk,wll check it out when i got the time. tongue.gif
thanks!!
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 24 2013, 07:01 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(teckyang97 @ Feb 24 2013, 06:20 PM)
FYI,all Sony water resistant phone is not designed for swimming even ip57,its design for accidental damage,raining,and bathing
Think it will survive swimming..theres a video demo from soyacincau where he brings it along for swimming and demo-ed the underwater camera feature..and as long as you dont brings it too deep as the deeper underwater it goes,the higher the water pressure..What i think is that the phone will survive at 1m depth for more than 30min but will not survive 30min at a deeper depth,e.g. maybe 5m?
Just theory though,no hard evidence to support this..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=2147051&page=2

Some replies from someone over at the xda..
(IP)(5)(7)

IP = Ingress Protection

5 = Dust protected
Desc - Ingress of dust is not entirely prevented, but it must not enter in sufficient quantity to interfere with the satisfactory operation of the equipment; complete protection against contact

7 = Immersion up to 1 m
Desc:
Ingress of water in harmful quantity shall not be possible when the enclosure is immersed in water under defined conditions of pressure and time (up to 1 m of submersion).

Test Routine:
Test duration: 30 minutes
Immersion at depth of at least 1 m measured at bottom of device, and at least 15 cm measured at top of device

The reason why it's not 8 because for you to be able to get IP58 is

8 = Immersion beyond 1 m
Desc: The equipment is suitable for continuous immersion in water under conditions which shall be specified by the manufacturer. Normally, this will mean that the equipment is hermetically sealed. However, with certain types of equipment, it can mean that water can enter but only in such a manner that it produces no harmful effects.

Test Routine:
Test duration: continuous immersion in water
Depth specified by manufacturer

and to get the IP67

6 = Dust tight

Desc: No ingress of dust; complete protection against contact

The highest level is IP68 which requires a dust tight and is capable of staying underwater for an unlimited time. Like submarines.

But this isn't dust tight because of the open ports. And also this can't emerge underwater for an unlimited time because the body isn't airtight and moisture can develop inside the case if submerged longer.

So.......... It is only stated to last 30minutes underwater because that's the criteria level of IP rules is not very specific enough.

So sony only have 2 choices for this... Either go with the rule to state the device that it can be submerged 1meter for 30 minutes or state that it can be submerged down below the water for centuries

So to summarize it all the 30minutes 1 meter is not the device limitation but just the certification's description.

ck.chunkeat
post Feb 24 2013, 07:01 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

Edit double post.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Feb 24 2013, 07:01 PM
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 25 2013, 01:18 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(eugenetwh @ Feb 24 2013, 09:01 PM)
Questions... It says... 1m submersion for 30mins.... So after 25mins i remove it from water.... will the time left for future submersion will only be 5mins or will it reset back?

Follow up... if it resets back... how long do i have to wait to submerge it again?

sudden realisation sweat.gif sweat.gif
someone else's replies from xda..

(IP)(5)(7)

IP = Ingress Protection

5 = Dust protected
Desc - Ingress of dust is not entirely prevented, but it must not enter in sufficient quantity to interfere with the satisfactory operation of the equipment; complete protection against contact

7 = Immersion up to 1 m
Desc:
Ingress of water in harmful quantity shall not be possible when the enclosure is immersed in water under defined conditions of pressure and time (up to 1 m of submersion).

Test Routine:
Test duration: 30 minutes
Immersion at depth of at least 1 m measured at bottom of device, and at least 15 cm measured at top of device

The reason why it's not 8 because for you to be able to get IP58 is

8 = Immersion beyond 1 m
Desc: The equipment is suitable for continuous immersion in water under conditions which shall be specified by the manufacturer. Normally, this will mean that the equipment is hermetically sealed. However, with certain types of equipment, it can mean that water can enter but only in such a manner that it produces no harmful effects.

Test Routine:
Test duration: continuous immersion in water
Depth specified by manufacturer

and to get the IP67

6 = Dust tight

Desc: No ingress of dust; complete protection against contact

The highest level is IP68 which requires a dust tight and is capable of staying underwater for an unlimited time. Like submarines.

But this isn't dust tight because of the open ports. And also this can't emerge underwater for an unlimited time because the body isn't airtight and moisture can develop inside the case if submerged longer.

So.......... It is only stated to last 30minutes underwater because that's the criteria level of IP rules is not very specific enough.

So sony only have 2 choices for this... Either go with the rule to state the device that it can be submerged 1meter for 30 minutes or state that it can be submerged down below the water for centuries

So to summarize it all the 30minutes 1 meter is not the device limitation but just the certification's description.

ck.chunkeat
post Feb 25 2013, 03:39 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Feb 25 2013, 03:25 PM)
Technical issues aside, pen-tile = not as sharp as standard RGB. See screenshot below. Left = standard RGB pixel arrangement. Right = Pen-tile.

Some people can tell the difference, others can't. For those who can't, keep it that way. Once you can tell the difference, it's hard to be unseen and you'll feel irked every time you view a pen-tile display.

holy shiat...that pentile thingy looks fugly!! shocking.gif

i wonder what other phones are still using that type of screen?? hmm.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 25 2013, 03:58 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13970_7-57570...aunch-march-14/

Looks like s4 will launch about a week after xperia z's launch in malaysia..dont know when the s4 will reach malaysia but i will wait for its launch before deciding 100% that im going with xperia z. biggrin.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 27 2013, 05:46 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

if sg is selling it at 884 sgd,after converting is rm 2200..i think its possible for us malaysia to have that rrp or maybe even cheaper as things usually get cheaper when they reach malaysia...
So,1999-2099 is not impossible..

This post has been edited by ck.chunkeat: Feb 27 2013, 05:47 PM
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 27 2013, 06:00 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

audio will definitely be poorer because it needs to be water proof,i think that sacrificed the audio..
ck.chunkeat
post Feb 27 2013, 06:18 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Feb 27 2013, 06:02 PM)
Mentioned was audio output, not loudspeaker. There should be no compromise for wired audio quality.
oh,sorry,my bad.. tongue.gif

ck.chunkeat
post Feb 27 2013, 06:42 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Feb 27 2013, 06:39 PM)
i get the xperia Z & ZL developer set ady
going 2 use them as my new fancy alarm clock lar  laugh.gif

DOCK!!
how you get a developer set btw? hmm.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 1 2013, 11:51 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Mar 1 2013, 11:13 PM)
It's not the gap that I'm annoyed with. I want the gap. It's the lack of when typing fast. LOL

Previously using the Acro S, no issues with that. Xperia S? No issues with the haptic there too. Neither with the Arc or the X10.

Edit: Here's a video of it, I realised it's much easier than trying to explain. LMAO.. my explaining needs improvement. biggrin.gif

pew pew pewpew pewpewpewpew pew pew pewpew pew... sweat.gif
doh.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 2 2013, 06:16 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

yea,thats the same thing that happened with arc.. rrp 2199 but i can get it with the freebies that it comes with at 1950..
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 3 2013, 12:05 AM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 3 2013, 12:02 AM)
To XPZ owners, can you find the option for 'Screen Calibrations' in the settings? Can't find it on mine.
some rumours it will only be in 4.2...
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 3 2013, 05:13 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

yea,dummy set or demo set? why would anyone want to test a dummy set?for what purpose? hmm.gif
ck.chunkeat
post Mar 4 2013, 11:45 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

nevermind la,at least we will get it at a cheaper price. smile.gif

ck.chunkeat
post Mar 8 2013, 12:46 PM

Change.
1,327 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Mar 8 2013, 12:39 PM)
Just wana share suntin, the sony logo will b gone if u removed the anti shatter sheet.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2180036

So dun removed it if u dunwan to lose ur sony logo. Use a sp immediately as the anti shatter is easily scratch.

Or removed it if u wan a no brand phone nexus lookalike hehe.

With this info i just hope that since the logo wasnt printed within the screen glass, better make sure that the logo is perfectly place, no mis aligment before u bought it.
Nice,so now the choice is do we want a 2 layer thick screen protector or a clean glossy glass which can also act as a mirror.. tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0483sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:24 PM