US T Bill 6 months is paying 5.5% . Include FX appreciation, EPF dividend should be more than 5.5% . If lower, EPF can fire their fund managers
EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
Oct 26 2023, 08:12 PM
550 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
US T Bill 6 months is paying 5.5% . Include FX appreciation, EPF dividend should be more than 5.5% . If lower, EPF can fire their fund managers
Nov 16 2023, 10:15 AM
If this elephant doesn't squeeze out at least 5.5% dividend yield, I don't know what to say already
Nov 18 2023, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 18 2023, 02:20 PM) This is a known practice by Epf since time immemorial... It is not new. If the big elephant posted less than 6%, I think those who have over 1mil may take out the excess to put into High grade bond.One can basically call this robbing from Paul to pay Peter, where Paul and Peter are different members at different stages of their life with diff EPF amounts. EPF claims this is to build buffer to smooth out the dividend yield and to be so called fair woh... (I remember reading this in some old articles by kwsp, but it was so long ago so I don't even know how to find the article anymore) |
Nov 18 2023, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 18 2023, 04:37 PM) unfortunately, what is the yield on these high grade bonds, as you mentioned? high grade rated by whom? If you explore the bond market, especially government bonds (local and foreign), u can easily get 6%.yield is a important factor, but there are more to it than just that. Safety is the other. Try interactive brokers |
Nov 18 2023, 05:33 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 18 2023, 05:01 PM) Then, u should choose Ringgit corporate bond by GLC. There's no perfect solution. Stay in EPF, get lower yield than 6% and money locked up.But if EPF dividend stay lower for longer, I think many will start to look for alternatives. Money goes to where it's best treated |
Nov 18 2023, 05:36 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Nov 17 2023, 10:28 PM) yes, dun waste ur time doing i-invest. i learnt my lesson the hardway, but luckily only a bit a bit test water Amazing to see big elephant throw them a bone just to keep them alive. Luckily, fintech and global ETFs have opened up a lot of choices for the people. Either UT change or get eliminated. |
Nov 18 2023, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 18 2023, 06:06 PM) I was just trying to show you why people still keep their money in EPF, vs your statement of putting the excess fund into high grade bonds. In your opinion,what is the return that will trigger capital flight from EPF to other vehicles?there are many more reasons why some prefer EPF: it is not all just about yield when it comes to managing one's finances. that is also provided one can even find something high enough in terms of yields with similar risks, including currency risk. GLCs can go bankrupt also... |
Nov 18 2023, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(batman1172 @ Nov 18 2023, 08:10 PM) I’m happy with 2.5% rental on my properties as long as it has land. Ask me to sell house earn 6% on bond or equity also I don’t want. But I’m ok to invest in people and small boring business. Assuming 4% appreciation, your total return would be 6.5% only. If you deduct repair , maintenance and management, then net return would be lower. That also includes illiquidity and taxation risk.From investment point of view, I don't think it's better than 6% gov bond. But from personal point of view, I think I understand your choice |
Nov 19 2023, 12:51 PM
'Investment' in your own career is still the best way to retire comfortably
Nov 20 2023, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Nov 20 2023, 11:19 AM) The book tells you to give to your loved ones jf you have extra, but to do it while you are still alive and not wait till you are dead. I totally agree with giving some assistance to children during the time when they most needed it....like buying 1st car, 1st home....some form of help like downpayment.....No freebies....Some parents cut off any form of financial assistance to their children after graduation. They only pass down whatever left after they spent their own funds. By the time they passed away, their children no longer be needing their money because they're already in their 50s. Major events of their life already over & most probably, their children already have millionsLets say you retire at 60, and you have a child who is say 30 at that time. Lets say you expire at 90. Your child will be 60 at that point. At 60, it maybe nice to get a few million RM, but is it really that impactful to his life? Compared to say, buying the child his first home or paying for his student debts in full. Basically, the book encourages you to give when the child is younger, where they need financial help the most. And you get to share their happiness together. It does give very interesting perspectives on how we should see money. This post has been edited by boyboycute: Nov 20 2023, 11:36 AM |
Dec 1 2023, 10:14 AM
We know from the numbers, our government debt is around RM 1 trillion.
We also know EPF held around 50% to 60% of their portfolio in bonds. There are a lot of types of fixed income instruments held in there but Gov bonds and MGS are by far , still the largest holding. Most bonds are held until maturity. So, there is no question of duration risk there. I don't think EPF will sell those bonds anyway. Most likely, it's the price taker rather than negotiater. But what if we mark those bond holdings to market? OPR has risen about 1%. The long duration bond value would go down tremendously , in theory. This is just a theoretical question because there wouldn't any liquidity at all, even if EPF wanna dispose their holdings. |
Dec 29 2023, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(virtualgay @ Dec 26 2023, 08:59 AM) Tak faham macam mana boleh contribute 100k per year This is where you must understand that money doesn't fall from the sky. Gaji doesn't fall from the sky. EPF withdrawal also doesn't fall from the sky.I think the increments of self contribution rate to 100k only benefited t20 Those m40 and B40 totally see no benefits of this initiative by Gov Any reason why gov previously want to increase it to 100k? Any benefits to gov? Taxes, Gaji, Pencen, bonus, or EPF withdrawal (whatever the label) must come from someone else, who is more productive and prudent in his financial management. He probably work harder and practise delay gratification too. Without someone maximizing the EPF contribution to RM100k per year, EPF would have dispose its assets ,most probably at huge discount, because no institutional fund will buy asset from EPF at higher prices and deprive their shareholders/investors. Always remember that money doesn't fall from the sky. Some "free" stuff like education, health care and scholarship came from "affirmative policies" to take from the productive segments (milk cow) of the society to "transfer" to certain ethnic group. Milk cow is running dry now & some are leaving the country for greener pastures. Talented people goes to where they're best treated. This post has been edited by boyboycute: Dec 29 2023, 03:14 PM |
Jan 4 2024, 09:13 AM
Mar 5 2024, 03:04 AM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 4 2024, 10:29 PM) Its not about hindsight but being more knowledgeable in more types of investments. Risk free? Nothing is risk free. The return reflects the risk premium.Epf is risk free and its a great savings vehicle. However, if one is unhappy with epf returns (not beating personal inflation, ringgit depreciation) then one has to take some risks. And EPF is risk free only in MYR terms. If one big worry is a depreciating MYR (like many here are) then it makes sense to add other assets with low correlation to MYR. Personally, I have a big chunk of my retirement savings in EPF. As I said its risk free and it give decent returns. I never withdraw anything. However, I dont like to add either (except to max the income tax allowance) prefering to put my savings in other things (which I have over fhe years gained some knowledge off). (Personally also, I think all.these fixed funds like EPF, ASB really spoil Malaysians) As for gold, I only started seriously in 2017. It was about RM175 per gram and it didint move much for more than a year. In 2019, it started to move up. |
Mar 5 2024, 03:10 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Mar 4 2024, 05:25 PM) how many can consistently beat EPF year in year out? I can say in my 18 years of working life I lost to EPF in about 5-6 years out of 18. Of course those included '09 Financial crisis, '18 trade war, '20 Covid and perhaps another 1 or 2 other black swan events big and small. Had I did something foolish during those times I could be wiped out but I also could have 10x'ed during those times if I were more astute, bold and careful. Nonetheless, as I approach the 2nd half of working life I start to appreciate the safety aspect more and more. If it's safety that you're looking for, then your return will reflects it as well. Most retireee here is looking for higher EPF dividend to hedge the rise in cost of living. It's disappointing to get under 6% since gov bond are paying higher + stock All time high. Looks like EPF owed their members a good open explanation. Keeping quiet on it and hope it will go off will only spark more speculation |
Apr 1 2024, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 30 2024, 03:14 PM) Epf target is to beat CPI by 2%. The CPi is rolling 3 years average. 2% is correct if the basket consists of the wages of employeesOf course, CPI is the official.measure of inflation calculated by DOSM based on a defined basket of goods. Everyone personal inflation is not the same. But I agree, if you want tonhave accurate you have to track your annual expenditure and build your own backet. |
Apr 18 2024, 02:11 PM
If account 3 can give 4.5% return, not many will put in FD anymore
Apr 25 2024, 04:33 PM
May 13 2024, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ May 12 2024, 05:44 PM) Hmm, but from dividend/returns perspective, the downsides of locking funds into ACC1 isn't that bad right? Considering that EPF's returns have been above standard mortgage rates thus far which makes redemption for housing loan less ideal except for peace of mind (of settling mortgage early) Unker value peace of mind more than anything else. Maybe you are still young and have too much hair to understand thatThis post has been edited by boyboycute: May 13 2024, 12:22 PM gobiomani, CommodoreAmiga, and 1 other liked this post
May 13 2024, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(gashout @ May 12 2024, 01:12 PM) according to cpi calculation, 10k in 1992 is only rm21k today. Unker bought a PJ house almost 30 years ago for RM40k. Already 30x...Young fella running the numbers will never understand inflation like old fellahttps://www.dosm.gov.my/cpi_calc/index.php up to you to believe |
| Change to: | 0.0628sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:58 AM |