EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

KIP21
post Feb 11 2020, 01:43 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Feb 11 2020, 10:20 AM)
Every 1% is equivalent to 3 months expenses for me and I also need to pay off debts. I need min 6% if I exclude other income generating sources.  icon_question.gif
You mean you withdrawing the yearly dividen to support your month expenses? How? Unless you are already above age 55?
KIP21
post Feb 11 2020, 10:27 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Feb 11 2020, 02:06 PM)
No. Still a long way till 55 for me. I am out of a job at the moment, so yeah, I'm using my EPF savings to supplement whatever income I can manage. There are many provisions to withdraw EPF if you meet the withdrawal criteria(s).

It's the best I can do at the moment. The job market is tough.  cry.gif
Ah.. 1mil plus. 👍
KIP21
post Feb 18 2020, 09:09 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Feb 18 2020, 03:46 PM)
Hilarious.... I see this forum very strong, since 2013....more importantly, same forumers (older by 7 years), n hopefully no one with dementia...

But still recycling same question of when dividend n how many %.

This forum will likely continue indefinitely as long as we keep healthy n sane.
Hi. I basically new here.. age 44 and join lowyat for epf forum kind off.. i hope to reach 2mil by year end in epf. Need a good passive income.. only then ventures to others.. is gold good ? Where to buy sell?

A lot sifu here..

You in 50s?
KIP21
post Feb 18 2020, 09:18 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Feb 18 2020, 09:14 PM)
Got snapshot of the epf savings? Can take out all the sensitive data first...
Dont believe? Why? FEB 2021 after annouce 2020 dividen.. i show u. 😊
KIP21
post Feb 18 2020, 10:15 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Feb 18 2020, 10:01 PM)
Im part of the B40 category.
There's a Gold Investment thread, ASNB FP thread... Just search. No need to show proof to others.
Wow, you have the makings of another HNWI, eg. Uncle Prophetjel. Congrats!
I am actually43. B40 is those already retired n enjoying dividens passively yet get nice government perks 😅. I hope i can as well soon. No point in T20. B40 is good.

I wouldnt show proof as me just a small fry here. Paiseh. I am learning from the sifus here.

A lot of thing on timing..
KIP21
post Feb 19 2020, 10:07 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 19 2020, 08:36 AM)
yes,....how can it justify that performance.....Historically for XX yrs it never did

the conspiracy theory side of my mind...just my mind no evidence yah....
If EPF did beat ASB this time.....my conspiracy theory is....PNB is partially emptied too like TH
but in order not to spook the stock mkts....it just diam diam

hmm.gif unless epf is in the same status quo too devil.gif  innocent.gif
KWSP has like 800bil and 30% foreign investment while PNB has like 300bil and 8% foreign investment ( trying to reach 30% too in 2-3 years time ). KWSP 30% foreign investment brought in 37% of the income..

We shouldnt baseline the dividen reference of like historically kwsp payout lesser on this.

PNB need to change :
"PNB group chairman Tan Sri Zeti Aziz said: “We will continue to strengthen our investment portfolio in this challenging period via our diversification strategy, tighter risk management and enhancing our internal capabilities through a progressive organisational transformation plan.”

Too much local bailout i guess ...

Hope hope EPF give 6%+ for 2019.. 2020 will be tough due to this Covid19

KIP21
post Feb 19 2020, 10:26 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 19 2020, 10:10 AM)
That's probably too fast too soon!  laugh.gif
😁😅 i do agree on your view.. but that was in news from Zeti to reach 30% by 2022.. personally i dont think they can diversify that fast due to too much bailout string attached. Maruah to cut ... decision making still tie a lot to political survival or feeds to the grassroots .. i think. But maybe i am wrong ... 😅
KIP21
post Feb 19 2020, 10:32 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 19 2020, 10:18 AM)
going for another 22% into overseas investment in the next 2~3 yrs....??
will this cause the deduction of local mkts investment?....maybe that is why local mkts had been in the doldrum?
20% from 300 billion out from the KLCI? impact in the next 2~3 yrs?
We look long term loh.. good one cam buy then buy loh.. depend on risk appetite.. and age. The market need FDI but hmmm 2-3 years will be difficult.

PNB sell n hope foreign buy as foreign also globally if somewhere going down, they still need to move the investment somewhere.. now its time for the goverment to attract ...

Well, i still think EPF safest to invest in.. self contribute..
KIP21
post Feb 21 2020, 09:11 PM

90 posts

Today Telekom annouce profit net of 632mil for FY19 whereas was just 153mil for FY18. EPF owns like 15% of telekom.. Well for FY19 may not be that bad also la...

I think 6% 🤞
KIP21
post May 5 2020, 08:44 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(afif737 @ May 3 2020, 07:05 PM)
I have posted a few replies in other threads that I do not touch my EPF money, not a single sen, ever. I'm a strong believer in that actually haha.
I have this concern, maybe too long lockdown in house. What if EPF suddenly without consulting the 1mil gang members, epf with the new chairman n new powerful Sr Minister, out of the context of saving the government, totally eliminate this clause on withdrawing any amount if more than 1mil option?

Can epf do this? Legally. IF they planning to, do with have a window for us to withdraw the excess of 1mil to own bank whether put in FD whatever, still safer...

Thoughts?
KIP21
post May 30 2020, 09:49 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ May 24 2020, 11:42 PM)
I wish the govt would raise the $60K annual limit for self-cuntribution, up to $100K at least would be nice.
If you already have extra 40k per year, i think can fill up form form epf of from your HR to deduct your monthly salary more than 11%, say push it to 20%.. provided you are salaried and .. well, i didnt explore on whats the max personal can contribute monthly via monthly salary.
KIP21
post May 30 2020, 10:04 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 26 2020, 02:31 PM)
In the interest (pun intended smile.gif  ), in order to stimulate the economy, one cannot keep the money in EPF account but must spend the bonus dividend. Maybe throw the money into respective contributor's e-wallets run by companies that Epf has a stake in, and put restrictions that the money must be spent on certain purchases, medicine, or donations to charities. It is purely to stimulate the economy.
You have my vote as the finance minister. Clear cut thinking instead of some dodgy supposed RM100 give pack to the poor but endup on RM35 on actual goods whereas RM65 maybe on logistic dunno to who handle n benifit.

The e wallet thing is the going forward clear on all transactions. I remembered that time they had this RM30 to e wallet n must spend within a time period. Government want to pump money, should pump it this way to excite the spending.
KIP21
post May 30 2020, 10:06 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 28 2020, 03:05 PM)
Yeah. JUst wondering if I can dump Rm60k into my wife's account since she's not working anymore.
If you have say RM1.5mil in your EPF, you can even transfer RM400k direct to your wife EPF account from yours instead of RM60k yearly. If both already more than rm1mil category then nothing much to figure out.
KIP21
post Nov 16 2020, 10:27 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 16 2020, 09:42 PM)
However, Tunku Alizakri emphasised that this facility is not a "withdrawal" but rather an "advance", pointing out that eligible members will need to replenish the amount withdrawn.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/money/topstories/...c?ocid=msedgntp

just guess have to wait till 18 Nov for the more details of how the 'Replenishment" are gonna be.....
sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Year 2020 dividen.. will be then lower or higher .. with this sudden 14-16bil withdrawal?

KIP21
post Nov 17 2020, 07:27 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 16 2020, 11:46 PM)
isn't that depends on the investment returns?

1000 billion if got 6% = xxxxxx
100 billion if got 6% = xxxxx
10 billion if got 6% = xxxx

still dependent of the 6%....(ROI)??
Yes i agree on investment return. I am just seeking opinion.

Say, sudden pullout from investment may affect tge year ROI right? I recall i read somewhere that EPF said this nove will effect the dividen payout to overall epf contributors...

KIP21
post Nov 17 2020, 12:15 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 17 2020, 08:54 AM)
Assuming previously epf needs xx billions to payout dividend for the pool of money they held... Now after the withdrawals,... The pools of money became less, thus epf will now need to pay out lesser money
Say example in 2020, they generate 46bil to payout BUT now they want the cash and they dont want to liquidate that much to pay .. well, they will just us the partial of 46bil dividen payout to handle the government request.. so, ultimately, in Feb 2021, div payout going to be bad even 2020 ROI is good.

Epf has like 32k people more than 1mil in epf.. say 1.5mil average out.. if the div like 2% next year, and these 32k people withdraw 500k each, epf will be in delima.. thats 16bil need to fork out.

Just cross check, say some MT in 1st Jan 2020 to current YTD, its still like 6% even covid averaged out... if EPF only give 2% , then we know the what happen to the earning...

The CEO need to consider the div payout carefully... hard decision.
KIP21
post Nov 29 2020, 01:47 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 29 2020, 01:12 PM)
What if the tier rate is only applicable to Account 1?

Not sensible to give a higher rate to Account 2, as Account 2 is meant for withdrawal for special purposes before the member reaches age 50.

The main argument for the tier rate is this:

"As per the EPF annual report, 0.4% of account holders own more money than the bottom 51.91%.

In fact, 28,727 EPF members having about RM47.2 billion worth of savings in EPF - or an average RM1.64 million per depositor.

As EPF's primary goal is to ensure all Malaysians have adequate savings in their old age, I see no reason why the richest Malaysians should enjoy a completely risk-free (all EPF deposits are guaranteed by the government) above market rate dividend from EPF every year."

If the government borrowed from EPF or issued bonds to EPF at a preferred rate, it would have to be in a much larger amount. And the bulk of the returns gained by EPF goes to the upper 1% of the EPF members.

--------

edit: 0.4% of account holders (EPF members) is holding more money than the bottom 51.91%.
I kind of think you must be those civil servant that dont have to worry about retirement with worry free pension from government....

Say 1mil in epf n retired. Government gauranteed 2.5%, just means RM2,083 per month for husband n wife... already in B40 and even at this old age, worry about insurans, heath, etc.

Why the forum seems denggi on those work n plan well to save to have a better security aftet retirement?

Ps. No wonder a lot fund move out from Malaysia and invest overseas buying houses and land in NZ, ANz, London.. etc..
KIP21
post Nov 29 2020, 03:54 PM

90 posts

If you now have sudden RM10k cash dump into you account, what would you do?
1. Keep in acct n slow slow wait n see
2. Spend it to settle house n car loans
3. Spend it for cuti cuti Malaysia
4. Buy more food and better meals
5. Buy new car/bike
6. Buy new house
7. Buy unit Trust and pump in klse equity
8. Buy overseas equities
9. Buy new phones, new tv
10. Renovation
For me, i would.. 1,3,4,7,8... smile.gif. FYI, i am employed, not retired, T20.. wondering how would that simulate the economy... maybe to local food and lazada ( china imports )

Ps. I bet epf div will be 4.5% next year Feb 2021..
KIP21
post Dec 24 2020, 07:54 AM

90 posts

For 2019, EPF dividen was 5.45%.

Looking back 2019. Quarter over quarter with 2020.
Q1 9.66bil vs 12.16bil
Q2 12.32bil vs 15.12bil
Q3 13.4bil vs 17.33bil

Q4, EPF involve in KLSE like crazy n i think they gain a lot, .. projected better than 2019' Q4.

How can dividen less than previous 5.45%?? What story they will cook? 2020 profit to anticipate 2021's iSinar withdrawal?

Denominator lesser growth as so many people withdrew iLestari since April i guess...

KIP21
post Dec 24 2020, 09:24 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 24 2020, 08:24 AM)
Why would withdrawal in 2021 affects 2020 profit?
Should not. If should not, then we should assume 2020 dividen more than 2019?

Will you call for 5.45% for 2020 dividen? smile.gif...

I am just thinking what story EPF may cook up for a dividen less than 4.5% or less..

0.0389sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:36 AM