EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Jordy
post Feb 13 2019, 04:36 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(silverviolet @ Feb 12 2019, 11:29 PM)
what's the benefit of doing self contribution?
For those with no idea where to invest for 5% or above interest, then EPF is a great choice for retirement savings.
Instead of spending the extra money and making others rich, why not consider to make self contribution into EPF to make your future self richer?
Jordy
post Feb 13 2019, 04:39 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Feb 13 2019, 04:35 PM)
Yeah.. basically saving your funds into EPF is guaranteed by the government with a minimum dividend payment of 2.5% per annum for the conventional EPF as stipulated in the KWSP Act.

The drawdown is that withdrawal of the savings would need to wait till at least 50 years old to withdraw Account 2.. For the full withdrawal, you need to wait till the age of 55 years old.

But withdrawal for the other purposes could be applied such as Account 2 withdrawal for downpayment, etc, as shown in their website.
Why the rush to withdraw your EPF funds? hmm.gif
IMHO, 55 years old is a good age to withdraw the full amount from EPF. You should only start living off your EPF savings AFTER 55, not before.
Jordy
post Feb 13 2019, 05:25 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 13 2019, 04:44 PM)
Well, heard some did rush to withdraw because there are often rumors EPF going bankrupt
Your fund is guaranteed in EPF, how can it go bankrupt? Even the minimum dividend of 2.5% is guaranteed.

Capital and minimum returns are guaranteed in EPF's case, can you recommend me another better option than EPF.
Jordy
post Feb 13 2019, 05:41 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(HonMun @ Feb 13 2019, 05:29 PM)
ASB ? haha
If only you are Bumiputera (which is kinda discriminating towards the non-Bumis though).
Anyways if you are Bumi then you have many other sources of Government guaranteed investments, unlike non-Bumis.
Jordy
post Feb 15 2019, 12:00 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(onetwoswitch @ Feb 15 2019, 11:27 AM)
When is the latest they should declare?
Usually 2 months after the financial period end they have to declare their financial report (and together with the dividend rate).
So financial year end of 31 December will mean they should report their financial report within this month.
Jordy
post Feb 18 2019, 03:49 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(bluesky_1985 @ Feb 18 2019, 10:33 AM)
hello all, my wife not yet register the I-akaun, can she get the activation code without go to EPF office or Kiosk?
Go to any Aeon Mall with the Aeon Credit Center and your wife can get the activation code there. Most of the time no need to queue to use the EPF kiosk. Can print out over there as well.
Jordy
post Feb 19 2019, 12:55 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(logi89 @ Feb 19 2019, 12:25 PM)
this morning, my boss (age 31) printed his EPF stmt and I saw got RM 210K...I am 2 years younger and only at RM 100K (half)..feeling so low..
That's the difference. But don't feel down as your boss earns 10x more than you, but his EPF only double your amount.
He should be ashamed of himself, and it would be glad knowing that not many people can even save 50k in EPF at your age.
Be grateful for what you have at this age. You have a great future.
Jordy
post Feb 19 2019, 02:53 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Feb 19 2019, 02:47 PM)
The boss probably didnt make any withdrawals at all, and has a higher than average salary of above RM15K per mth
Well, usually bosses do have salaries of above RM8k, which is no surprise at all. No other ways for them to pay themselves.
Plus the annual bonuses they pay themselves in one lump sum, I wouldn't be surprised if he has RM200k in his EPF.
Jordy
post Mar 12 2019, 03:01 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 11 2019, 09:27 PM)
EPF i-Akaun Secret Image and Secret Phrase so easy to change without even need TAC/OTP via SMS.
Haven't tried, but I don't think it would jeopardise our security that much though.
Afterall, there's nothing one can do with the i-Akaun portal without our signature.
So at least we can still sleep through knowing that our account is still safe.
Jordy
post Mar 20 2019, 09:45 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 19 2019, 04:59 PM)
The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) said today it anticipated further reductions in contributions as more workers go into the informal sector.

EPF’s new chief executive Tunku Alizakri Alias told international investors here that the total number of workers who contributed to the EPF had dropped drastically to just 40 per cent from 48 per cent from a few years ago.

“There might be a day that EPF may not even exist anymore,” Tunku Alizakri told Invest Malaysia 2019, a conference on capital markets here.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/201...ays-ceo/1734229

No more EPF  cry.gif  cry.gif  where to invest & get good "dividends" yearly
EPF will definitely continue to exist as long as the monies are still in the fund. Less contributors does not mean that they are taking out the money. The contributions rate still outweigh withdrawals rate. Even if it reverses, EPF still has enough money in its coffers to exist until we are no longer in this world.

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 19 2019, 05:04 PM)
this is interesting info....

EPF’s new chief executive Tunku Alizakri Alias told international investors here that the total number of workers who contributed to the EPF had dropped drastically to just 40 per cent from 48 per cent from a few years ago.

......The pension fund’s immediate challenge is to convince contributors to keep their money with the EPF, the CEO added.

https://malaysia.yahoo.com/news/one-day-epf...-081115433.html

innocent.gif if giving averages 6% pa yet the number of workers who contribute to EPF had dropped 8% for the past few years, thus will giving more % reverses the trend?......
I don't think it is possible. Total AUM still will keep growing annually despite at a slower rate. As long as the fund size keep growing, we will still see similar % of distributions. Distribution % will only increase drastically if there higher rate of withdrawals. From what Tunku mentioned, I don't think that is the current situation. It just meant that the 8% have stopped contributing leading to a lower rate of AUM growth.
Jordy
post Mar 20 2019, 12:56 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 20 2019, 11:25 AM)
thumbsup.gif will keep to 6% for my simulation model for now.
was "wish fully thinking of 7% soon"  sad.gif
For my longer term simulation I prefer to use around 5.5% as we do not know what will happen over the next 10 years. So what we don't know, we should always anticipate lower. Anything more will be bonus.
As EPF fund grows larger and larger, 7% will be harder to come by. It isn't easy to achieve a consistently high return rate for a big fund which is required to pay annual dividend. They are just too big to gamble with our money.
Jordy
post Mar 22 2019, 06:16 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 21 2019, 08:33 AM)
“There might actually come a point in time in our lifetime when the EPF might no longer exist, because the amount of money being taken out will no longer be able to [be] supplanted by the amount of money coming in,” said Tunku Alizakri at the Invest Malaysia forum here yesterday.

Would you trust a CEO who makes statements like this?
Well, at least it is not happening right now. So we can still sleep without worry. There *might* come to that point, but we are not at the equilibrium yet, even when it reaches equilibrium, it will take a good several decades to exhaust the money in EPF. So rest assured we will not see it in our lifetime icon_idea.gif
Jordy
post Apr 6 2019, 11:58 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 5 2019, 08:31 AM)
Malaysians unable to keep up with EPF spending guide: iMoney

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...pcY5qAHsOqO2.99
I read this too yesterday with disbelieve in my eyes and felt disheartened. Why oh why do Malaysians need to spend SOOO much just to satisfy their wants?
RM2,490 should have been more than enough to sustain a very comfortable life, I don't see a need for Malaysians to overspend up to RM2,695?? What do they use the additional RM205 for? hmm.gif
They spend so much, and then they complain salary insufficient to sustain, and blame everyone else but themselves for not saving.
Jordy
post Apr 9 2019, 12:17 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Apr 6 2019, 12:12 PM)
depends on how you define comfortable life. if comfortable life means every meal must be nando, then 2490 / 90 = 27+, then just barely enough for meals and nothing else. if comfortable life means every meal must be dinner plate KFC, then there is RM1000 per month to spend for everything else including toll, carpark, fuel, phone usage, internet, rental etc since the survey mentions single car owner.

the single most essential expense for anyone is the meal cost. if one can keep that down, then there will be excess money for the rest.
I have just completed a small survey within a small community group, food is not the major cost in one's budget. It is actually the rent and car loan repayment. Many that responded kept food below RM1,200 threshold, but car repayments can take another 1k or more away from the budget. Rental can take up between 600-1k for a room. Actually spending anything between RM900 - RM1.5k on food is already comfortable enough, depending on one's location.

As an avoidance of doubt, I define comfortable as in not having to just constraint one's self in eating instant noodle. You can afford to choose to eat out at a food court that cost around RM12 - RM15 per meal, with the occasional sushi or Kenny Rogers fix. It doesn't necessarily have to be a full 30 day KFC or Nando diet. RM15 x 2 meals x 30 days = RM900. Any extras you can splurge on whatever restaurant that you wish.

So it does depend on how one views as a comfortable life. For you it could be Nando's everyday, but for me it could mean the ability to go eat economy rice or 'dai chow' everyday.
Jordy
post Apr 10 2019, 11:42 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 9 2019, 01:27 PM)
Food highly depend on places.

Living in KV food can be killing. Even raw materials is selling at a premium price. Which I don't really understand. On what point that those raw material can be expensive then rural area that having a way higher transportation fees?

So I went intern for a month in my hometown. I spend only 40-50% of the total spending on food alone compared to what I had spend a month in KV. The gap is that big. I too, surprised. No huge diff on type of food. Same daichow, chap fan, pao, coffee, tea. Same portion, different prices.
I am living in KV too ya, more specifically I work in Klang and I stay in Setia Alam laugh.gif
My total expenses for food in March 2019 was RM 780.25 out of my monthly budget of RM 1,800. I eat out almost everyday for lunch and dinner, and that amount is for 2 people.
I reckon if I were to eat alone for the whole month, the expenses for food won't go over RM400.
So food expenses is not an issue for me anywhere I live. Throw me in the heart of KL and I can still survive with say, RM 900 for my own? That is a lot of food in KL that you can eat below RM15 per meal.

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Apr 9 2019, 07:23 PM)
exactly. it really depends what someone's definition of comfortable life is. and meal cost will become a major expense depending of that definition. not surprise me someone wants to eat tgif, or din tai fung etc as part of the definition of comfortable life.

for someone who aim lower and define food court as comfortable life, then the needs is smaller. and someone else who aims even smaller and define self cooking as comfortable life, then the food expense can be kept very low indeed.
Comfortable live could also be defined by the type of car one drives, the type of house one stays in, and also having a higher discretionary expenses for shopping. We can't just restrain the definition mostly to daily food expense. I believe that a weekend out on good food won't affect the budget by that much. Well, I am merely stating the results I gathered from my small survey, and the result is quite obvious that most people try their best to keep food under RM 1,200 per month. It simply also means that a bigger portion of the salary is spent on the other categories.
Jordy
post Apr 10 2019, 12:11 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 10 2019, 11:48 AM)
Work in klang stay in SA....
Damn pity for the jam. Is the jam still the same pre LRT 3 or worse?

I rarely enter SA after LRT3.

SA food pretty expensive compared to BBT area.
What jam? I do not feel it biggrin.gif
Use la highway, why use LRT3 way? Hehehe.

"SA food pretty expensive compared to BBT area."
You stay at BBT area? So you should not complain about the food expenses lol. I can still get chap fan below RM13 for 2 people for my dinner in SA. So I confirm you can go for that too in BBT.
There are so many food stalls in BBT ma, char kuey teow for RM6 per plate is still widely available. Or daichow for RM6 per person also have.
I do not see the reason for you to spend more than RM15 per meal for 2, unless you are bringing a family of 4 to eat la icon_idea.gif

Have been living in Klang for the most part of my life, so I know it will never cost that much living in Klang.
Jordy
post Apr 10 2019, 01:01 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 10 2019, 12:38 PM)
No jam meh.. NKVE to klang there. Last time I back from Sg Buloh so must use NKVE to enter. Kesas my wallet gg. I stay BBT so from KL must die die follow Jalan Langat and HTAR because no toll.

SA me long time no go liao. Now I know a lot Chinese shop gooding. But pricing little bit high lo compared to BBT. BBT got one shop nice. "Boon Min Kee" Charxiew and Xiu yok veli nice.
Going down to Klang in the morning no jam because most people go towards KL direction. Going into Klang in the evening is jammed especially between Bukit Lanjan and Setia Alam. After Setia Alam exit less jam also.
You lagi geng than me la, stay BBT work KL. I cannot afford to do that lol.

I eat many food here below the range of RM10 per pax here in SA wor. Are you sure they are high? Haha.
I can eat charsiew and siu yok here for RM9 per pax. Even then also you don't need to spend over RM1,200 on food gua hmm.gif

Unless you are talking about 'masat masat' in BBT then of course your living expenses is going to be high la, I know there a lot brows.gif
Jordy
post Apr 21 2019, 04:13 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 21 2019, 11:01 AM)
The EPF website has a new layout for the statement. I find it to be confusing and not user friendly as it does not show the month total for the accounts. The old layout is very clean and organized. I have sent them a feedback. Anyone know if there is a way to revert back to the old layout?
I don't understand what you mean. From my side I can view every single detail. It shows me the consolidated summary for my Account 1 and Account 2 in a simple view, and then it shows the breakdown of contribution by month just as before. Every information is clearly stated in the new layout so I don't understand what is the fuss on the new layout is all about.

Jordy
post Apr 21 2019, 04:52 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 21 2019, 04:19 PM)
It lacks the total accumulated amount after each month. Also, only the month of caruman now, not the exact date.
Take a look at the image attached to my previous reply.

1. Jumlah (cumulative total) for both Account 1/2 and also Jumlah for total contribution are stated.

2. Take a look at my monthly caruman, the exact dates for each contribution are also clearly shown.

Edit:
I added another photo here with the highlights just in case you missed the previous photo.

This post has been edited by Jordy: Apr 21 2019, 04:58 PM
Jordy
post Apr 22 2019, 09:43 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 21 2019, 05:04 PM)
My bad on the dates smile.gif Thanks.

What I meant for the cumulative total is for each month, not only for the current month.
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Apr 21 2019, 07:19 PM)
yeah, no more ROLLING TOTAL for each month.
But why do you need that rolling total anyways? You have the opening balance, total contributions and grand balance under Ringkasan Akaun.
That should be enough to serve its purpose. But if you want it for the purpose of calculating your dividend, then you will have to do your own spreadsheet for that.
Even with the previous version, I don't think you can just export the data out into .csv or some other spreadsheet readable format. You would still have to create your own spreadsheet.

0.0382sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:27 AM